Author Topic: Storm damage  (Read 33109 times)

Re: Storm damage
« Reply #100 on: December 11, 2014, 05:25:44 PM »
The Gympie radar is showing we might get a little rain here in Tin Can. No hail by the looks of it.

The mountains seem to split the storms on the way in when we get 'em.

Offline PJ80

« Reply #101 on: December 11, 2014, 05:25:56 PM »
Was on a virgin flight from Melbourne to Brisbane. Due to land at 5pm EST. Flight diverted and now sitting at Coffs Harbour airport. Told we will here at least an hour. At least they let us off the plane and the bar sells XXXX Gold. Could be a long night
80 Series and Lifestyle Breakaway 2 Plus (Trackabout Safari now sold)

« Reply #102 on: December 11, 2014, 05:26:10 PM »
It will be done ASAP, sent you a PM
You're a legend Swannie, cheers for pulling some strings for us  :cup: :cheers:

Storm damage
« Reply #103 on: December 11, 2014, 05:39:22 PM »
Control tower cleared us to take off, eventually. Really eerie sight as we took off into the edge of the storm and came out through the edge of it. Hope everyone ok.
Just landed back in Melbourne.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2014, 05:44:50 PM by scarpsD40 »

« Reply #104 on: December 11, 2014, 06:13:22 PM »
You're a legend Swannie, cheers for pulling some strings for us  :cup: :cheers:

:cup: :cup: :cup: good work swannie

And have a look at our radar now. we are going to cop it soon

« Reply #105 on: December 17, 2014, 03:49:25 PM »
Heads up Nomad and Jeepers one coming your way ...

« Reply #106 on: December 17, 2014, 03:54:07 PM »
Heads up Nomad and Jeepers one coming your way ...

Nomad's gunna get it and I can see it from here, it looks pretty menacing too, but should miss us.

« Reply #107 on: December 17, 2014, 04:14:25 PM »
Oh poop, I might have spoken too soon.

On the Gympie radar, its turned a bit towards here.  :-[ Either way, its got a bit of red and purple in it, so its gunna be good whoever does get it.

Anyone camping on the North Shore/ Teewah Beach might get a tad wet and windy.

« Reply #108 on: December 17, 2014, 05:10:48 PM »
Nomad's gunna get it and I can see it from here, it looks pretty menacing too, but should miss us.

Didn't that take a different turn

« Reply #109 on: December 17, 2014, 07:00:31 PM »
We got about 3 minutes of rain.........bit of thunder and lightening..........but not very very frightening......

Usually misses Noosa....Maroochydore can get hail and flash flooding and we get a sun shower. Not sure why that is but usually seems to twist around Buderim and go offshore before hitting us.

« Reply #110 on: December 18, 2014, 05:15:13 AM »
we got 2 storms out of it, bit of lightning and thunder, some tiny hail and 14mm of rain over the two of 'em.

« Reply #111 on: December 18, 2014, 05:27:23 PM »

« Reply #112 on: December 18, 2014, 06:38:01 PM »
http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ20038.html    Stay safe people

Just passed us here, but of heavy rain, lightning etc, about 2omin all up and it's gone.

« Reply #113 on: December 18, 2014, 08:31:04 PM »
« Last Edit: December 18, 2014, 08:33:05 PM by edz »

« Reply #114 on: January 31, 2015, 06:23:20 PM »
We'll that was an interesting end to this afternoon....yesterday we got our smashed windows repaired from the storm that hit Brisbane about 10-12 weeks ago. This afternoon we've just copped another hail storm that lasted for a east 15 minutes, hail bigger then marble size and just didn't want to stop falling. Thankfully the new windows held up this time around, so all appears ok....have seen pics already of golf ball sized hail that hit the neighbouring suburb of Oxley, so thinking plenty of vehicles will get written off around Brisbane after today.

« Reply #115 on: January 31, 2015, 06:56:43 PM »
Yep it appears it's happened again!!!!

« Reply #116 on: January 31, 2015, 07:00:00 PM »
some poor dude is fightin for life after being struck by lightning and a 12 week old kid with him...

« Reply #117 on: January 31, 2015, 07:18:42 PM »
some poor dude is fightin for life after being struck by lightning and a 12 week old kid with him...

Nah mate, The Courier Mail is reporting he died now.... poor bugger.

« Reply #118 on: January 31, 2015, 07:28:32 PM »
We'll that was an interesting end to this afternoon....yesterday we got our smashed windows repaired from the storm that hit Brisbane about 10-12 weeks ago. This afternoon we've just copped another hail storm that lasted for a east 15 minutes, hail bigger then marble size and just didn't want to stop falling. Thankfully the new windows held up this time around, so all appears ok....have seen pics already of golf ball sized hail that hit the neighbouring suburb of Oxley, so thinking plenty of vehicles will get written off around Brisbane after today.

Man. We are just lucky were we are, I know people at Helensvale that got smashed again, but we only got  a bit of heavy rain again.

« Reply #119 on: January 31, 2015, 07:36:44 PM »

Offline Rusty

« Reply #120 on: February 01, 2015, 07:09:06 AM »
I was at Greenslopes hospital when it hit got 1/2 way back to my cruiser when it started to hail only pea size ones and a few bigger ones no damage thankfully as I put the car under there awning at the main entrance
2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

Offline avotrol

« Reply #121 on: February 02, 2015, 09:27:22 AM »
Ahh Queensland, beautiful one day  8), smashed by hail the next  >:(!

You poor buggers haven't had much luck lately. Hopefully you don't cop too many more bad storms so you get a chance to recover! All the best in coping with it all.

:cheers: Avo
GU Patrol with home away from home.

Offline GUEY

« Reply #122 on: February 02, 2015, 11:03:58 AM »
Saturday arvo's effort at Runcorn. Few new dents in the work ute.

2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #123 on: February 02, 2015, 11:40:39 AM »
My old GQ was in the carpark at the QEII hospital when the hail hit with some up to golfball size. Had a look at the old bus later and could't see any dents.
The hail duration lasted longer than it does in other recent storms though interestingly.

« Reply #124 on: February 02, 2015, 05:56:55 PM »
My old GQ was in the carpark at the QEII hospital when the hail hit with some up to golfball size. Had a look at the old bus later and could't see any dents.
The hail duration lasted longer than it does in other recent storms though interestingly.
My old Ford Maverick ute has got quite a few dents in it from the pre xmas storm that hit...I didn't see many of them for several days after the storm and thought the vehicle was ok, but as i sat in traffic i kept noticing more and more dents on the bonnet (also noticed them on the roof aswell). Considering those sections of the vehicle were under a carport, it just shows how sideways that hail was coming in that day with the massive winds we had. Doesn't bother me about that damage as it's just a cheap work ute i bought, it did cost me $45 the other day to replace the smashed drivers side mirror from that same storm though.....lol