Author Topic: how much does you camper weigh?  (Read 11326 times)

Offline jasonw

how much does you camper weigh?
« on: January 11, 2011, 03:52:02 PM »
im sure this has been done to death and i did try doing a search but didnt come up with much.  ???
so how much does your camper weigh full loaded? i weighed ours today (jimboomba excalabur) i wasnt really suprised as it felt heavy and has felt heavy to tow, the plate reads 1200kg empty and fully loaded except food, clothes and the spare room it came in at 1640kg with a ball weight of 220kg. the problem is i wanted to load up the rack with stuff for our 3 month trip but the camper has a max weight of 1700kg.
this probably explains why our car (petrol pajero) sucks a fair bit of juice. and the rear spring are on the stoppers (time for an upgraded tow veichle)
« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 04:00:38 PM by jasonw »
jimboomba excalaber camper

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
Re: how much does you camper weigh?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2011, 04:10:24 PM »
That's getting up there mate.

Never weighed mine but would guess around 1200 loaded as it is 900 empty.

Your trailer looks to be skinned with alloy. If so I'm surprised at its empty weight.

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2011, 04:23:13 PM »
Chuck some Polyair bags in the back of your Paj, never, ever check your fuel consumption, and never visit a weigh bridge again, and all will be good.   1,640kg Wow!!!! :o :o

Not sure what mine weighs, but I'd be surprised if it wasn't at least 1,500kg.

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2011, 04:29:20 PM »
1200!!! maybe I'm dreaming  ;D

I'll take GD's advice and never check.

« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2011, 04:39:25 PM »
1640kg :o  So much for light weight ally  ???

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2011, 04:49:34 PM »
I had our Cameron Canvas HD Offraod camper put on a weighbridge recently for rego purposes. 860kg dry. Not sure when it is all loaded up.
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

Offline Blinky Bill

• 2013 Pajero auto diesel & 2000 Kimberley Kamper
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2011, 06:12:38 PM »
I'm not sure what my Kimberley weighs in at but I am planning on checking it out on the weigh bridge. I'd be guessing around 1100 dry.  ???

One thing I reckon for sure though is that if jason's CT came in at 1600kgs, there would be a hell of a lot of caravans out here needing to go on a diet.  :D

Happy trails - Wayne

Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.
W. C. Fields (1880 - 1946)

Offline ntpryce

« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2011, 06:30:39 PM »
Between 750-1400kg, depending on how much stuff we carry!
Proud owner of a new Challenge 'Meridian' off-road Camper Trailer.

:cup: May 2010 POTM Winner :cup:

Offline Fivid

« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2011, 06:58:39 PM »
I don't want to know, I know it is heavy but it tows OK when I'm not in a hurry.  I figure that when going camping it is time to relax and not get to stressed so just take it easy, pull over and let people pass if we have to...  Adds a bit to fuel consumption but not heaps.
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline Paul and Bern

• Living for Holidays
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2011, 07:41:37 PM »
 :D About 1400kg and 160/180 d/bar, could be less drawbar by now with recent mods.  Bit of a worry when the empty weight of trailer exceeds tare by 300kg  ??? Then fill tanks and jerry cans  :-[
Can every day be made a public holiday?

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2011, 07:42:17 PM »
I weighed ours the other day, Tambo Cooper, as I want to fit new springs before we go away later this year.Ours came in at 1060kg, we needed to add food and a couple of jerry cans of weigh to that so around 1150kg max. fully loaded.Bear in mind, we wont always have water tank (50lts) and 4 25lt jerrys full at the same time.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline camdyson

« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2011, 10:13:14 PM »
Casuarina soft floor - 880 empty and I shudder to think how much loaded but 1200 kg wouldn't surprise me. Gearstick on my 98 petrol Prado needs some stirring up hills when loaded...

Cam
Set your chickens free

V8TL8

« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2011, 10:46:08 PM »
Camprite TL8
VIN Plate: Tare 780 kg; AGTM 1300 kg.

On the weighbridge in October 2010:
ATM: 1220 kg fully loaded.

GTM 1100 kg.

Towball weight around 120 kg.

Offline jasonw

« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2011, 05:54:36 AM »
mmm might have to change the campers nickname from starship enterprise to fat boy  ;D
its an all aluminum body with steel gal chassis. the only things we have added are camp chairs, chainsaw, porta potti etc plus i filled the 170 litre water tanks. everything else like the genny comes std and the optional rack isnt light either.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2011, 12:50:11 PM by jasonw »

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2011, 09:48:52 AM »
 Our Jimboomba Explorer weight in at 1320KGs, ball 120KGs. We have the generator, 85 lt w/t, two batteries and two jerry can holders. We had enough gear to stay out for a couple of weeks, also was carrying about 100KGs of fire wood. We carry a bit of gear in the 4by and do not put heavy gear in the front tool box. Having the double t/b jasonw you can put a lot of gear in there maybe why the large ball weight  ;D. Also with the air suspension the Jimboomba ATM is 1700KGs.   
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2011, 12:32:02 PM »
You guys !! - Tardis comes in empty at 300 Kgs - fully loaded 600 Kgs ... Costs 1.5 litres per hundred extra ..

Jeep - 10L/100 ---- Jeep plus Tardis - 11.5L/100 ....

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

ITS A JEEP THANG !!!  ;D ;D
Going back to basics - sort of ...

Offline jasonw

« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2011, 01:00:08 PM »
Having the double t/b jasonw you can put a lot of gear in there maybe why the large ball weight  ;D.   
all i have in the front box is 2x campchairs, plastic table, hot water service, shower tent and a couple of hoses. behind that in the side doors are the genny and on the other side is 2 more campchairs, portapotti, chainsaw, rope bag and peg bag. above that is a stack of poles. i guess it all adds up.

Offline jasonw

« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2011, 01:03:48 PM »
grr double post
« Last Edit: January 12, 2011, 01:05:27 PM by jasonw »

Offline TrevJel

« Reply #18 on: January 12, 2011, 02:27:00 PM »
Had mine weighed last month for rego and it was 620kg empty with just the tent on top, dunno about fully loaded

Offline turbojoe

« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2011, 07:58:46 PM »
went to the local public weigh bridge today and i was supprised at the figures .Trailer 80% fully loaded came in at an even 1000kg , The 4x4 came in at 2850kg  fully loaded with three passengers in her. The hitch weight came in at 100kg.

« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2011, 09:05:58 PM »
My trailer with the water tanks full and with no camper comes to 750kg, I hope when it is finished with the camper this time it will be less than 1100kg.
So far it has got to 902kg with the rebuild, but I still have no batteries or kitchen, but I should be ok I think.

Offline jasonw

« Reply #21 on: January 17, 2011, 07:46:12 AM »
i took the rack off the top yesterday. it weighed about 100 to 150kg :o all up with the table etc (came off in 4 pieces and 2 of us struggled to lift the main part), then i went for a short drive and i seem to have dropped about 3-4 litres per 100k's  :cheers:

Offline SUPA105

• Saw it....wanted it....chucked a fit....got it
« Reply #22 on: January 17, 2011, 10:56:16 AM »
7x4 offroad 100mm chassis with 12 ft Soft floor and awnings and beds for 4 ppl, 70ltrs water, kitchen, BBQ, tables/chairs, 2x 6volt 220amp batts, 120 amp Solar panel, Trailblaza fridge (full), toolbox (full)incl Genny & chainsaw..........1100 Kg

2000 GXL Landcruiser with toy's
2004 Wallaby camper
& bugger all time to get the two together.....

« Reply #23 on: January 17, 2011, 10:58:56 AM »
Ours is 1.5t fully loaded on the weigh bridge, legal to 1.6t.

« Reply #24 on: January 17, 2011, 07:00:11 PM »
I might geta a fright if I way the Panda ::)

but compliance plate is ATM 2079kg, I'm pretty sure we dont go near that.