Author Topic: QLD sale to NSW person & no safety certificate supplied ?  (Read 10632 times)

Offline matt150

• Family man, 3 kids and wifey...
QLD sale to NSW person & no safety certificate supplied ?
« on: May 04, 2012, 11:19:19 PM »
As the heading says..

About a month ago I bought a camper trailer in QLD. The seller (a member here) couldn't give me the rego papers as they had got wet etc. He reckons he is going to send the replacement papers inn the mail. My question is, should the seller have supplied me (the buyer) with a safety certificate ?

[Current ride] - 2012 150 Series Prado GXL TD Manual

[Camper] - 2008 Lifestyle 360i

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
Re: QLD sale to NSW person & no safety certificate supplied ?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2012, 11:37:18 PM »
No. What should have happen is the Camper should have been deregistered and then issued with an unregistered vehicle permit to cover you until you got home. Then you would need to do the roadworthy and rego for NSW.

It is all on the QLD Transport site. We just when through this by selling Jill's brothers SS Ute to a buyer in SA.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2012, 11:44:01 PM by Brett »

Offline matt150

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2012, 11:48:33 PM »

So would it not be right to sell a trailer with no certificate to a interstate buyer ?
« Last Edit: May 04, 2012, 11:51:11 PM by matt150 »

Offline RichardW

• Out and About from North Rocks, Sydney
    • Profile and Images
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2012, 05:59:52 AM »
Bought mine from a mate in Qld which was registered and I also had him write out a Bill of Sale.
Was stopped in Toowoomba on the way home and asked for the papers and they also gave the whole rig a good look over.
Had it blue slipped and re registered when I got back to Sydney.
Richard
2005 Landcruiser TD100 & Wallaby Hard Top Camper Trailer
Profile and Images

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2012, 06:22:54 AM »
Hi Matt,
Three years ago when we bought our Swan in QLD, this is how it worked for us(May have changed since)
Camper sold with QLD rego, was given Reg papers and gas certificate,, tow back to NSW.
Take plates off and hand into RTA(at the time).
Weigh Camper$$, Get Blue Slip$$, pay Stamp duty$$, register$$, Grumble whinge.

« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2012, 07:31:38 AM »
What everyone else has said
Wayne

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
QLD sale to NSW person & no safety certificate supplied ?
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2012, 11:10:03 PM »

So would it not be right to sell a trailer with no certificate to a interstate buyer ?

Matt,

It's up to the interstate buyer or any buyer in general to ascertain weather the vehicle / trailer in good condition or not. Don't just rely on a bit of blue paper.

The unregistered vehicle permit covers your 3rd party etc so if your pulled over they can't get you for anything as you have done the right thing by having the permit.

If I was concerned about the condition of the trailer I would walk away and find another. But you could ask the seller for a safety inspection to be done by someone like RACQ prior to sale.

But as I said above, no blue slip / roadworthy required when sold to interstate buyer. Qld blue slip is useless in any other state except Qld.

Now that I've said all that, by rights the seller should have already gotten a safety certificate as you need to display it on the vehicle while it is for sale in qld.

In our case we had the safety cert but didn't give the buyer a copy as we removed the plates and used the unregistered permit for him to travel back to SA.

Seeing as you have surrendered the plates you should have gotten a receipt the RTA. You can now apply for a refund of the remaining rego from TMR qld.

« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2012, 08:11:02 AM »
all you will need to do is fill in a stat declaration stating you own the camper and then go through the normal registration procedure which includes getting certified by gas plumber and sparky -- no big issue

Offline tanz

« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2012, 09:22:37 AM »
But as I said above, no blue slip / roadworthy required when sold to interstate buyer. Qld blue slip is useless in any other state except Qld.

Brett,

Is the process for certificates on trailers different to vehicle safety certificates in Qld? I know that all other states accept Qld light vehicle safety certificates, it's just Qld that don't accept anyone elses.

Sorry for the thread jack.

« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2012, 10:16:03 AM »
What is a safety certificate??

Do you mean a Blue Slip?? If thats the case, no cause its only valid in the state you buy it in.

« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2012, 10:35:22 AM »
From reading, this it should have had a safety cert at time of sale, but once sold to an interstate resident Qld rego is irrelevant. Expired papers and a transfer of ownership recorded at the home state registration dept make it a lot easier to deal with the RTA to show it wasn't stolen though.

Buying a used vehicle?

If you are buying a used vehicle you need to ensure that there is a current Queensland safety certificate displayed. A safety certificate identifies the authorised inspection station that issued the certificate, and it must be displayed on the vehicle from the time it is offered for sale.

If a Queensland safety certificate is not displayed, it is likely the vehicle has not been checked and should not be considered for purchase.

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Registration/Buying-or-selling-a-used-vehicle.aspx

Customers who reside interstate, but have purchased a Queensland registered vehicle

To register a vehicle in Queensland, the vehicle must be garaged at a Queensland address. Because of this requirement, a vehicle cannot be transferred to an operator who intends to garage the vehicle interstate.

If you reside interstate and purchase a Queensland registered vehicle, you need to consider any necessary arrangements regarding registration of the vehicle.

As you will not be able to transfer the Queensland registration into your name, you may consider arranging for the seller to attend a Transport and Main Roads Customer Service Centre with you to cancel the vehicle’s registration. You will then be able to apply for an unregistered vehicle permit to enable you to return home with the vehicle.

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Registration/Transferring-registration/Interstate-vehicle-transfers.aspx

Do you mean a Blue Slip?? If thats the case, no cause its only valid in the state you buy it in.

It is basically a pink slip inspection.
A blue slip is really just a pink slip where they look at the chassis and engine numbers and then charge you double for it >:(.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2012, 10:38:45 AM by Hoyks »

Offline GFM449

« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2012, 11:39:17 AM »
I understand you indicated that the rego papers were not provided, so in that case did you check the trailer had a current rego sticker? If so, with a letter of sale signed from the owner you were fully covered on your way home.

If there were no rego papers and no rego sticker you must assume it is not registered and act accordingly.

« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2012, 10:37:46 AM »
The simple answer is this, if it is unregistered, you can't tow it in NSW legally, regardless of any permits, certificates or any other paper work from QLD, it has to be registered.

To register here in NSW, tell the RTA you bought it unregistered, you will need proof of purchase, the QLD registration papers will help in getting it done smoothly.

« Last Edit: May 07, 2012, 10:40:36 AM by Redback »

« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2012, 08:00:40 PM »
The simple answer is this, if it is unregistered, you can't tow it in NSW legally, regardless of any permits, certificates or any other paper work from QLD, it has to be registered.

To register here in NSW, tell the RTA you bought it unregistered, you will need proof of purchase, the QLD registration papers will help in getting it done smoothly.

Baz, before I went to Qld to pick up my new van, I rang RTA and they told me it can be legally towed with no rego.....with a Qld issued travel permit.. (  which states that you must use the most direct route to your home  )

I got a 7 day one ..$170..... not thinking that I should have only got a 2 day one ??

Even if I had brought it back with it regoed, I would still have to get a blue slip....weigh bridge ticket....etc..

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2012, 08:09:06 PM »
Is the trailer under or over 750KGS gvm.

Trailers in QLD below 750kg so genrally without elec brakes in campers do not require a saftey cert. that aside

When selling a trailer to an interstae buyer the trailer must be derigistered by the owner ,and as said a travel permit provided.

This is what I did for my sale to another member on here. and the refund on my rego enabled me to pay for the travel permit.

It protects the buyer and the seller to deregister it in the owning state get the permit to travel and then re register it in your state.

There is no way I would allow my trailer to leave here with it regoed in my name if I knew it was going interstate.

Jet ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline namoidowns

« Reply #15 on: May 07, 2012, 08:14:09 PM »
having bought a C/Trailer in QLD in the last six weeks, the process is very simple. Attend Dept of Transport in QLD pay for an unregistered vehicle permit, hand QLD plates in and tow vehicle back to NSW, then attend local mechanic get a blue slip, then attend RTA with your blue slip and receipt of sale, pay your money and get NSW registration. Alternatively drive it back to NSW as a QLD registered trailer and within 3 months change the rego over.

Offline tanz

« Reply #16 on: May 07, 2012, 09:08:43 PM »

Lost,

yep that's what the call them up here. But our inspection is valid interstate, as I've done a number of them on vehicles for interstate travelers. I don't inspect trailers, hence my question.

Offline matt150

« Reply #17 on: May 07, 2012, 09:13:39 PM »
Thank you everyone for the assistance. Turns out as we have a letter of sale from the seller, I can blue slip it and rego it in NSW. Yeah, got the run around saying telling me the rego papers were damaged or lost or something, they promised to mail them straight to me, once they were replaced and basically didn't bother sending them to me.

Thanks again for the guidance.. You live and learn as they say.