General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Carlisle Rogers on October 22, 2011, 11:33:41 AM

Title: Carlisle needs your help
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on October 22, 2011, 11:33:41 AM

Fellow travellers,

I write to you with an entreaty and a promise, as someone who loves his job.  8)

If you only buy one issue of Camper Trailer Australia this year, make it issue 46, on sale October 26th. It concludes our big Kimberley Expedition, and has a DVD of the whole trip on the cover.

This is more of a call to arms than an advertisement, so no apologies for posting it in the General Discussions. One of my greatest passions is filmmaking, and that’s under threat. ???

You see, the bean counters at Camper Trailer Australia have given me a bit of an ultimatum. It went something like, “Carlisle, either your Kimberley DVD sells a few extra copies of the magazine, or there will be no more DVDs for the magazine.”
“Are you crazy?” I said, arms in the air. “I have a few friends whose kids have watched that Cape York DVD we did last year so many times, it’s become a form of torture for mom and dad.” Yet, my protestations fell on deaf ears.

So please, help me to do what I love. Help me to convince these old buggers that it’s worth everyone’s time to keep doing these things. Like I said at the top, if you don’t even usually buy the magazine, pick this one up. Have a look at what we’ve done with a couple of cameras and a month in the bush.

It’s now or never. Thanks everyone!

And as for the promise – if you catch up with me in the bush, remind me that you looked after me and I’ll have a cold beer in a CTA stubby cooler in your hand before you can say ‘Strewth!’  :cheers:

Carlisle
Title: Re: Carlisle needs your help
Post by: singo-26 on October 22, 2011, 11:41:34 AM
I hope it works out for you. Personally I enjoyed the style of your Cape DVD.
Post by: kiwimark on October 22, 2011, 11:52:36 AM
Who needs bean counters. Just trying to justify a job behind a desk and jealous. Love your work.
Post by: sol on October 22, 2011, 11:57:11 AM
Hi Carlisle,
Best of luck mate.We always buy the mag anyway.
Top quality read!
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on October 22, 2011, 12:06:35 PM
Hi Carlisle,
Best of luck mate.We always buy the mag anyway.
Top quality read!

Guess I owe you a few beers...

Carlisle
Post by: Moto Mech on October 22, 2011, 12:06:52 PM
I have to say that I dont normally buy your mag, would grab one occasionally if I needed a read but not to often.
I bought the last issue and boy, loved it. In fact was tempted to subscribe. Ill definately buy the lastest issue and more than likely subscribe. Keep up the great mag.
Post by: GeoffA on October 22, 2011, 12:27:24 PM
Sorry Carlisle, but I believe I won't be much help.
We subscribe, and thoroughly enjoy every anticipated issue.

Good luck. The Cape video was excellent!! :cup:

Geoff
Post by: Duchess on October 22, 2011, 12:39:56 PM
What the...!? No more DVDs because they don't sell magazines!? Rubbish!

I thought you guys were planning on a few more DVDs than you have done and have been surprised to not have seen as many with the mag.

+1 for getting this issue with the Kimberley trip.
Post by: mystq on October 22, 2011, 12:48:03 PM
Ok then I will, about that Beer,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ;D
Post by: morgue on October 22, 2011, 01:06:32 PM
I'll throw a couple of scheckles over the counter for a mag to help out....

You could come at it from a different angle....convince the bean counters to create a tablet app (andriod or iOS) for the CT Mag...then with the app you can throw in a few videos....
Post by: briann532 on October 22, 2011, 01:23:50 PM
What $$$ driven BS............

My kids, mates and fellow travellers love the DVD's,

I'm going to buy a couple to help out and spread the word as best I can.
My little fella loves nothing more than watching his "outback" dvd collection.

beats the hell out of simpsons and all that other rot.

Cheers, and I'll shout the beers when we do catch up!
Post by: Gunna Do on October 22, 2011, 01:55:15 PM
Carlisle, how about shouting any Myswag member a CTA stubbie cooler when they post up a pic in this thread of themselves holding Issue #46 of Camper Trailer Australia and the Kimberley DVD.

Come on, we'll help you out if you help us out.
Post by: Jon on October 22, 2011, 02:13:37 PM
^
Quid pro quo Carlisle ;D
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2011, 02:17:27 PM
whats a Mom?
Post by: Symon on October 22, 2011, 02:17:45 PM
Hang on, isn't issue 46 the one that has the Myswag Cape Trip in it?  All you need to do is say that and everyone on this forum will buy one.
Post by: Gunna Do on October 22, 2011, 02:22:08 PM
Hang on, isn't issue 46 the one that has the Myswag Cape Trip in it?  All you need to do is say that and everyone on this forum will buy one.

No need to buy the magazine Symon, we've all seen the comprehensive trip report already and also seen the video. 

Oh that's right the so called video is still coming isn't it?
Post by: singo-26 on October 22, 2011, 02:23:06 PM
No need to buy the magazine Symon, we've all seen the comprehensive trip report already and also seen the video. 

And poor Troy is still holding his breath!
Post by: mystq on October 22, 2011, 02:26:04 PM
Carlisle, how about shouting any Myswag member a CTA stubbie cooler when they post up a pic in this thread of themselves holding Issue #46 of Camper Trailer Australia and the Kimberley DVD.

Come on, we'll help you out if you help us out.

Great idea :D
Post by: Symon on October 22, 2011, 02:27:42 PM

Yes I know, it is coming.... had a few issues that I am still sorting out.
Post by: Gunna Do on October 22, 2011, 02:37:41 PM
Quote from bigjules July 06, 2010
"Commercial operators who participate on the forum are welcome,.................However, that welcome does not extend to  blatant self promotion in any area other than Showroom Floor."

We can probably overlook your slight breach of the Rules for the Showroom Floor vendors if the stubbie coolers are forthcoming.

EDIT:  or a fridge would be even better.

Post by: mystq on October 22, 2011, 02:41:18 PM
And poor Troy is still holding his breath!
HA  ;D
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on October 22, 2011, 02:43:23 PM

Symon,

Indeed, mate. My personal favourite shot from the article is a Mazda towing an Aussie Swag down what has to be Gunshot (that's what I wrote in the caption!). The drop looks fun, but what really makes the shot is the bloke holding a can of XXXX Gold checking out the clearance on the stone guard.

Mom is seppo for Muther.

And a stubby cooler for everyone, eh. I have a better idea. Post a pic of you with issue 46/ DVD and I will randomly pick one winner. I think I should be able to get a fridge to put up on the block. Question TBA.

Carlisle
Post by: mystq on October 22, 2011, 02:48:52 PM
Top effort Carlisle :cheers:
Post by: Symon on October 22, 2011, 03:01:01 PM
My personal favourite shot from the article is a Mazda towing an Aussie Swag down what has to be Gunshot (that's what I wrote in the caption!). The drop looks fun, but what really makes the shot is the bloke holding a can of XXXX Gold checking out the clearance on the stone guard.

That would be this one?  ;D

26th October you say? I'll be on the look out for it.
Post by: JCOJ on October 22, 2011, 05:17:04 PM
I subscribe - and have done so for a few years now.
Post by: Roo on October 22, 2011, 06:52:15 PM
Bought my first one today...wrong one....I suppose I can stretch to another one for the sake of the DVD.....and possibly bling :cheers:
Post by: Janbo on October 22, 2011, 08:14:40 PM
Consider it done
Post by: McGirr on October 22, 2011, 08:17:30 PM
That would be this one?  ;D

26th October you say? I'll be on the look out for it.

Well I should get a stubby cooler for :

1 supposedly burning out berts clutch

2 wrecking a $52,000 campers stone guard

3 leading a great bunch of people to the Cape

Post by: Carlisle Rogers on October 23, 2011, 08:14:07 AM
Well I should get a stubby cooler for :

1 supposedly burning out berts clutch

2 wrecking a $52,000 campers stone guard

3 leading a great bunch of people to the Cape

Mark - having taken a few people up there myself, I'd say you definitely earn a cooler, and a few beers to test it out with.

Carlisle
Post by: SteveandViv on October 23, 2011, 08:51:22 AM
Symon,

Indeed, mate. My personal favourite shot from the article is a Mazda towing an Aussie Swag down what has to be Gunshot (that's what I wrote in the caption!). The drop looks fun, but what really makes the shot is the bloke holding a can of XXXX Gold checking out the clearance on the stone guard.

Mom is seppo for Muther.

And a stubby cooler for everyone, eh. I have a better idea. Post a pic of you with issue 46/ DVD and I will randomly pick one winner. I think I should be able to get a fridge to put up on the block. Question TBA.

Carlisle

I'm going to get it, I would anyway but this time I have to check if the pics are up to standard seen as this is my back yard..

And Carlise, you owe me an email, did you still want those pics?
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on October 23, 2011, 08:56:34 AM
And Carlise, you owe me an email, did you still want those pics?

Steve - I sent you one last night, mate. And yes, I do. Better instructions and address on the email I sent.

And I hope the pics are up to scratch!

Carlisle
Post by: Brett B on October 23, 2011, 09:42:46 AM
I subscribe - and have done so for a few years now.
X 2 its a good read Carlisle :cheers:
Post by: Joff on October 23, 2011, 09:24:47 PM
Spose I'll buy 2 then  :cup:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 23, 2011, 10:10:38 PM

I already subscribe and I already got a stubbie cooler. 

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-j-GTJEzLiO4/TqQEH6x21AI/AAAAAAAAAe4/OwQwWjCNnWY/s400/CTA+Stubbie+Cooler.jpg)
Post by: Claireliza on October 24, 2011, 08:56:22 AM
Kit_e,

Now we have a new logo you'll need a new stubby holder!

Claire
Post by: kiva on October 24, 2011, 04:59:55 PM
My copy arrived in the post today - nice   :D
Post by: BigJules on October 24, 2011, 05:19:12 PM
Do subscribers get the DVD? I have really enjoyed the Kimberely and NT editions Carlisle, and have subscribed again. You rwriting style and that of your contributors is entertaining.

I'll say it here, I continue to subscribe as well to the other mag BECAUSE of the DVD, as I also enjoy that one, so I am surprised that your team don't think that movies sell mags. They sure do.
Post by: fitzyfootlong on October 24, 2011, 06:13:46 PM
Do subscribers get the DVD? I have really enjoyed the Kimberely and NT editions Carlisle, and have subscribed again. You rwriting style and that of your contributors is entertaining.

I'll say it here, I continue to subscribe as well to the other mag BECAUSE of the DVD, as I also enjoy that one, so I am surprised that your team don't think that movies sell mags. They sure do.

x2  ;D
Post by: kiva on October 24, 2011, 06:19:13 PM
The DVD arrived as well. Every time there has been a DVD, it has arrived with the mag.
Post by: rockman on October 24, 2011, 06:20:14 PM
x3

In fact I just buy the mag to see if you smile , rumour has it that you smiled and changed the tone of your voice back it 2002 , I am yet to find this on a video , but ... I keep trying .
One day , you will slip up ... and smile again .

Ok .. enough crap , well done on the mag , if has come along way quickly , it is now the only mag that I bother to buy .

Good luck with the future .

Post by: mystq on October 26, 2011, 05:01:38 PM
Ok here is my effort,

(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/312943_299036160109529_100000094435238_1285467_2007700853_n.jpg)
(http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/306477_299036200109525_100000094435238_1285468_2142813633_n.jpg)
(http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/319186_299036293442849_100000094435238_1285470_1840993128_n.jpg)
(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/166912_299036393442839_100000094435238_1285473_1500685065_n.jpg)
(http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/293615_299036366776175_100000094435238_1285472_174226422_n.jpg)
Post by: Gunna Do on October 26, 2011, 05:09:56 PM
Classic mystq.   ;D ;D ;D
Post by: rockman on October 26, 2011, 06:32:01 PM
Ok here is my effort,

(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/312943_299036160109529_100000094435238_1285467_2007700853_n.jpg)
(http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/306477_299036200109525_100000094435238_1285468_2142813633_n.jpg)
(http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/319186_299036293442849_100000094435238_1285470_1840993128_n.jpg)
(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/166912_299036393442839_100000094435238_1285473_1500685065_n.jpg)
(http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/293615_299036366776175_100000094435238_1285472_174226422_n.jpg)

LOL ... mystq .. you can be Carlisle's mentor with that sort of grin .
Post by: ehsc on October 26, 2011, 06:57:16 PM
I subscribe and luv the mag and the dvd's  :cup: i dont wan't a fridge or stubbie cooler i have heaps i just want to know how you get a job ,were you get to spend a month at a time camping taking photo;s and doing what we all love to do.

Carlisle do you need a 50 year old apprentice, keep up the great work and tell the bean counters to p--- off  :cheers: :cheers: ehsc
Post by: MDS69 on October 30, 2011, 06:05:01 PM
Well I bought the mag last week with the DVD and read the mag straight away. I have bought probably the last half dozen issues and generally enjoy it. I was watching some 4WD Action DVD's, the Simpson and Cape York ones from the "destination" series or what ever it is and then rememberd the CTA Kimberly DVD.  What a refreshing change it was to watch this. I liked the way it was put together and the mandatory product reviews were great. There is some stunning countryside out there and it was showcased well. Apart from 2000kVA :o generator and the 900cm barra :laugh: it was a great way to end a lazy Sunday.
Post by: Flemo on October 30, 2011, 08:04:17 PM
I'll be un pc honest and say the yank accent in the narrative of a past DVD was painfull  ???. Sorry mate but I don't buy anymore.
As for DVDs they are expected these days of a mag attachment. The surfing mags I buy have a DVD every 3rd issue, paid for by sponsors and massive free advertising. Get advertisers to pay for the added DVD?
Post by: areyonga on October 30, 2011, 08:29:48 PM
Loved the scenery in the DVD, keep up the good work and I dont give a s*#t about the accent, its the landscape I like.
Post by: rockman on October 30, 2011, 08:45:30 PM
x3

In fact I just buy the mag to see if you smile , rumour has it that you smiled and changed the tone of your voice back it 2002 , I am yet to find this on a video , but ... I keep trying .
One day , you will slip up ... and smile again .

Ok .. enough crap , well done on the mag , if has come along way quickly , it is now the only mag that I bother to buy .

Good luck with the future .

I brought the mag today and just watched the DVD .... bugger me ...YOU SMILED or possibly even LAUGHED ( nice barra by the way ) , so I will take back most of the things I said .

Well put together mag .... I would love your job in a heart-beat , problem being , I'm not really a 'people's' person .

Post by: Burnsy on October 30, 2011, 08:46:59 PM
Carlisle

I will pm you for an adress of where to send the fridge ;D
Post by: Chippy76 on October 31, 2011, 11:45:30 AM
Hey Carlisle,

So I made the trip into town today, and ransacked 3 newsagents shelves before I found it ..... I snagged myself a copy and hightailed it home to watch the DVD .....WOW! The scenery is fantastic. Now I have itchy feet and cant wait to get out there and see some of the amazing sights this country has to offer!
Great mag and love the DVDs!

Cheers Chippy :D

ps ..... Ive done my bit .... now it is time to do yours! ;)
Post by: Gunna Do on October 31, 2011, 12:20:59 PM
I couldn't wait to get home and watch the DVD to see what all the fuss was about!

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/33832-1/CTA2+012.JPG)
Post by: gibbo301 on October 31, 2011, 04:38:58 PM
Bugger must remember to take my specs into the newsagent tomorrow bought the wrong one  :'(
Post by: DingoDog on October 31, 2011, 06:56:05 PM
Carlisle

Got mine geez that's a few fridges so far  :cheers:..  HAHA  ;D
Post by: DingoDog on October 31, 2011, 07:04:32 PM
And a stubby cooler for everyone, eh. I have a better idea. Post a pic of you with issue 46/ DVD and I will randomly pick one winner. I think I should be able to get a
everyone a
fridge to put up on the block. Question TBA.
Carlisle

Oh a late arrival of a few extra words how did they get there ?

Sorry Carlisle all started with Burnsy and his address quip

Post by: SteveandViv on October 31, 2011, 07:10:12 PM
You'll just have to trust me this week. Was down on Cable Beach last night for a swim. I'l get the pic to you with the DVD when I get back from Beagle Bay on Thursday.

I also thought you did my home justice withe the production and views mate, well done. Still p1ssed off I didn't know you were in town though >:(
Post by: Symon on October 31, 2011, 07:15:27 PM
Do I win?  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: DingoDog on October 31, 2011, 07:27:27 PM
Seems like everyone is out to buy one
Post by: Renno on November 01, 2011, 12:45:48 AM
Slow night.
I just finished watching the DVD and thought it was really good, one of the better ones actually.
Well done. I would love to do the Kimberley......
Renno
Post by: dno on November 01, 2011, 05:16:56 PM
For anyone that missed it here's the smile  :o
Thanks Carlisle.
Post by: Malcur on November 01, 2011, 05:30:52 PM
(http://i271.photobucket.com/albums/jj159/malcur_2008/IMGP6828r.jpg)

Loved the DVD, haven't read the mag yet, will do so this weekend.

Mal
Post by: Gunna Do on November 01, 2011, 05:33:51 PM
Carlisle was sporting a wild hair do in that scene wasn't he Dean.

Some great cinematography in the video, and Carlisle's descriptive prowess, and use of the English language takes some beating.  Overall a top effort with the video.

Wish I could go on a touring holiday and keep swapping camper trailers along the way, and all brand new also.
Post by: JCOJ on November 01, 2011, 06:21:42 PM
Myself and the kids LOVED IT!!!!

Keep the dvd's coming Carlisle!

(http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/929/img5541rh.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/10/img5541rh.jpg/)

Post by: GS on November 01, 2011, 07:06:19 PM
Loved the latest mag and the DVD was brilliant and the best DVD yet. Good balance between content and advertorials.

DVD at a good time for us as we are in the initial planning stages for a Kimberly trip.

The GSsss' are hoping to get away soon but to get our Camper Trailer fix we had a camp out in the garage.

(http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg156/Taltarni/Goldstream/CTMag.jpg)

GS

Post by: Brett B on November 02, 2011, 04:48:19 PM
Keep the dvd's coming
Good stuff mate :cup:
Post by: monahanajj on November 02, 2011, 04:58:20 PM
Its the advertisers mate, i didnt even know about this mag...

Thanks for letting me know - good luck....

Post by: RW on November 02, 2011, 05:32:01 PM
I won't have to buy mine as we spotted the Pavey's at Mission Beach and Mike said to catch up with them and he would give me a mag!. I'm off to find him now!
Post by: lilstookie on November 02, 2011, 05:37:50 PM
My wife bought me this mag with the DVD. Never saw this thread until mow , we just watched it last night.
Will buy it again for sure.
We really want to go there now
Post by: Mrs CRW on November 02, 2011, 06:43:57 PM
Hi Carlisle,
Bought the mag today, finally found a newsagent that had stock.  We usually pick one up, but I made a special effort.  Now hubby and I can fight over who reads it first.

Julieanne
Post by: blackcat on November 02, 2011, 07:01:51 PM
I bought mine last week and I bought it at coles while doing the grocery shopping! How handy was that!  :cup:
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on November 02, 2011, 07:30:27 PM
Guys,

Thanks for all of the kind words. That you liked it means a lot to me.  :cheers:

Now that I'm back in town from a grueling week up in the Vic High Country (who am I kidding, it was freaking awesome), I'm going to make good on my offer. I think I can round up a few stubby coolers, and I'm still going to get something much better for your troubles.

Flattery will get you everywhere...

Carlisle
Post by: ozbogwam on November 02, 2011, 07:39:10 PM
Been loving the double Kimberley coverage in the last two mags. Haven't watched the DVD yet maybe tonight.

Hope you were gentle with my brother on the weekend :D haven't spoken to him yet about the trip
Post by: GS on November 02, 2011, 07:43:01 PM
We're watching the DVD again tonight!

Whoever it was that had a go about Carlisle's accent can go back in his cave now!

Post by: gibbo301 on November 02, 2011, 07:46:11 PM
Wore my specs at the news agent this time and got the right one  :D
Post by: rockman on November 02, 2011, 08:03:53 PM
We're watching the DVD again tonight!

Whoever it was that had a go about Carlisle's accent can put go back in his cave now!

That be me ... ever heard of ' having a joke ' .
Sorry if you where offended by my sense of humour GS .
Best go back and watch the dvd again .... especially the bit where Carlisle smiles .
Post by: D4D Wok on November 02, 2011, 08:07:42 PM
Got mine the other day and watched dvd straight away. Great job Carisle would love to get there one day

Rodeowok
Post by: GS on November 02, 2011, 08:47:47 PM
Sorry if you where offended by my sense of humour GS.

Hey not offended, as I'm sure you won't be.... now back in your cave ;-)
Post by: blackcat on November 02, 2011, 09:15:19 PM
Hey Carlisle, think you overtook us on Tues arvo on the Hume Hwy in a blue twin cab?? Just saw the campertrailer australia logo sticker plastered over the rear window and didn't notice the make of the car...
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on November 03, 2011, 06:04:40 AM
Hey Carlisle, think you overtook us on Tues arvo on the Hume Hwy in a blue twin cab?? Just saw the campertrailer australia logo sticker plastered over the rear window and didn't notice the make of the car...

Blackcat,
We were heading up to Bright to get into the High Country with a bunch of camper trailers for Offroad Camper of the Year. It's out January. Let the speculation begin...

That would have been Marco, who writes the Bush Mechanics stuff in the magazine.

Carlisle
Post by: TOY80ST on November 03, 2011, 06:10:37 AM
How do sales look fo the last issue so far Carlisle?

I bought it just for you and I hardly buy mags these days because I never get the time to read it. I can say though it was a bit above the norm as far as magazines are these days. Layout was pretty good. I liked the DVD also. Thanks
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on November 04, 2011, 01:29:04 PM
Hot off the press - here's a preview trailer for the Kimberley DVD.

If you haven't already grabbed one of these - this is a super quick taste of what you're missing...

http://vimeo.com/31582079 (http://vimeo.com/31582079)

Carlisle
Post by: Gunna Do on November 04, 2011, 01:34:31 PM
How do sales look fo the last issue so far Carlisle?

Paul, I'd say with 8500 members on Myswag, allowing 1/4 of these to be old inactive memberships, and maybe another 1/3 who don't buy magazines, I'd say Carlisle should have at least sold 4000 copies of this issue.
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on November 04, 2011, 01:42:06 PM
Paul, I'd say with 8500 members on Myswag, allowing 1/4 of these to be old inactive memberships, and maybe another 1/3 who don't buy magazines, I'd say Carlisle should have at least sold 4000 copies of this issue.

Gunna Do,

With Stu, our circ manager, up the bush with me over the last couple of weeks...the only thing I know is it's supposed to be up 10% or so in four days. That's fantastic news, and no doubt it has something to do with the support of people like yourself.

I'm just really excited that everyone seems to like it. It may sound corny, but that counts for a lot more than the money.

Carlisle
Post by: Gunna Do on November 04, 2011, 01:48:28 PM
I'd say with a 10% increase in sales, you had better pack your gear again and get ready for another trip away with the cinematographers, because there is no way they are going to can the DVD program now.  Job well done by the looks.
Post by: rockman on November 04, 2011, 02:04:08 PM
Gunna Do,

With Stu, our circ manager, up the bush with me over the last couple of weeks...the only thing I know is it's supposed to be up 10% or so in four days. That's fantastic news, and no doubt it has something to do with the support of people like yourself.

I'm just really excited that everyone seems to like it. It may sound corny, but that counts for a lot more than the money.

Carlisle

Looks like to get to keep your job then ...
Post by: britts on November 04, 2011, 07:36:24 PM
throughly enjoyed the DVD  :cup: and if they become a regular feature i may even be talked into a subscription ;D
Post by: dooguss on November 04, 2011, 07:54:27 PM
id have to agree britts ;D
Post by: MattNQ on November 05, 2011, 01:09:00 AM
I bought mine last week and I bought it at coles while doing the grocery shopping! How handy was that!  :cup:

You are lucky. You can hide it in the shopping so the wife doesn't notice!
Our supermarkets don't carry CTA (or even that other CT magazine) They only have caravan magazines...  ???... Really? I'm sure there are way too many  Jaycos in the world as it is anyway  ;D ;D
Post by: blackcat on November 05, 2011, 07:40:41 AM
You are lucky. You can hide it in the shopping so the wife doesn't notice!

Hahaha, I am the wife!  ;D
Post by: Moto Mech on November 05, 2011, 04:57:10 PM
(http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/NIDOBY/IMG_1317.jpg)
Quality reading.....what ever your doing 8)
Post by: gibbo301 on November 05, 2011, 05:02:04 PM
Glad to see you got the toilet paper and not using the magazine  ;D ;D
Post by: JCAT on November 05, 2011, 06:19:15 PM
Picked up my copy from the local newsagent today. Keep up the great work Carlisle. The family loved the DVD.
Post by: MDS69 on November 07, 2011, 09:14:52 AM
Got the CTA enewsletter via email this morning and was reading through it and recognised some quotes from readers that were used :cup:

That would have to be worth a stubby holder surely ;)
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on November 07, 2011, 09:20:53 AM
Quote from: MDS69
That would have to be worth a stubby holder surely ;)
[/quote

Mate - I'm working on securing enough stubby holders for everyone who posted a pic on here with the mag, and I'm still chasing something a bit more exciting for one of you lucky swaggers.

I will be in touch with everyone shortly...and yes, MDS69, we definitely look after those who look after us... :cheers:

Carlisle
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on November 07, 2011, 11:03:11 AM

Yay!  It got deliverd end of last week and we spent Friday night watching the DVD.  Nice.

Post by: singo-26 on November 08, 2011, 06:31:19 PM
Here is my proof. Not much help to you Carlisle, I buy every month anyway.
(http://i569.photobucket.com/albums/ss137/singo-26/SANY1066.jpg)

I like the style of writing in your magazine, The touring and the readers rigs.
Post by: Butsy on November 08, 2011, 07:18:09 PM
Got it already. Good presentation. good luck with trying to get bucks from the bosses. I think it's tight everywhere except at the top levels where they just throw the cash away.
Post by: CTnewbie on November 09, 2011, 04:50:53 PM
I subscribe, here is my 4 year old reading the magazine, he wanted mummy to buy a drifta kitchen, I explained to him that mummy already has a kitchen in the camper trailer so he wanted a toy drifta kitchen just for him.
(http://i584.photobucket.com/albums/ss284/gabylec/IMG_20111105_082708.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on November 09, 2011, 06:21:24 PM

Simply Child Abuse     >:D
Post by: JAB on November 09, 2011, 07:55:44 PM
Hi Carlisle,

I have only got my hands on your magazine a couple of times due to a subscription with another mag, however once the subscription ends I will be reassessing the next mag to subscribe to (getting a bit bored with current mag, same old stuff and not based on touring which is of more interest to me now).

The good news is I bought the current mag for my birthday Friday 11/11/11 so can't wait to open it 

You may have a new subscriber in the future

JAB
Post by: bussoboy on November 10, 2011, 07:30:57 AM

The good news is I bought the current mag for my birthday Friday 11/11/11 so can't wait to open it 

happy birthday for tomorrow............  :D
Post by: sol on November 12, 2011, 02:44:10 PM
Hi Carlisle
Well done mate.Beautiful pix!
Can't wait to get a hold of the book
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on November 25, 2011, 05:09:41 PM
OK guys - congrats to JKohn for the most enthusiastic picture of the bunch.   :cup:

Although Moto Mech’s bog-time reading is a close runner-up. In fact, it kind of leaves one wondering, who was holding the camera, and assuming it was the missus, how the heck did you talk her into that one?  ???

I have stubby coolers for everyone and a couple of special prizes for you guys too. I’m going to be lazy and ask everyone to send me their mailing addresses to crogers@acpmagazines.com.au. I’ll be doing the rounds with private messages later anyway, in case you miss this thread.

Thanks for your support. It looks to be doing quite well, and the boys just might let us do a couple more films next year!  :cheers:

Carlisle

Post by: sol on November 25, 2011, 08:09:33 PM

Good news mate.

Post by: Chippy76 on December 02, 2011, 08:29:50 AM
Hey Carlisle

I received a nice surprise today to come home and find a parcel here with my stubby cooler! You are a man of your word! :D The wife wasnt so impressed (her comment was "Not another bloody cooler" hahahah)

I like the content of your mag, and the dvds are great. Like many other posts have said just ease up on some of the advertising content a bit (yes I know it pays for the mag) and it would be even better.

Post by: Carlisle Rogers on December 02, 2011, 08:35:24 AM
Chippy,

Yeah, I have a pretty scary collection too.

To everyone else due one, hold tight, just waiting on postage stuff to get the rest out...

Carlisle

Hey Carlisle
I received a nice surprise today to come home and find a parcel here with my stubby cooler! You are a man of your word! :D The wife wasnt so impressed (her comment was "Not another bloody cooler" hahahah)
Post by: JAB on December 02, 2011, 09:00:10 AM
Can't believe its about 3 weeks since I opened the last mag.  For what its worth, feedback on the dvd is that it should be a certian inclusion, was good quality, entertaining and informative. :cup:

In terms of the magazine, well I went to the newsagent yesterday and was caught between CTA and a couple of other mags.  One mag had a gadget, others had a dvd but for the dollars and knowing your product I selected the CTA mag again.

Obviously enjoy the mag and can't fault it.  Keep up the good work Carlisle and team.
JAB
Post by: Benduro on December 02, 2011, 06:51:59 PM
Signed up for a subscription @ the Melbourne Leisurefest in October under the premise that the November issue would contain the Kimberly DVD and have held off purchasing thinking it would be in the mail.
It's now December so I guess I've missed the boat on the November issue/DVD :-[ as it's no longer on the shelf in newsagent.
Will look into purchasing on back order if this is available and look forward to the December issue hopefully being in the mail ???.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 02, 2011, 07:23:59 PM
Thanks for your support. It looks to be doing quite well, and the boys just might let us do a couple more films next year!  :cheers:

Carlisle

Can you let them know from me that a DVD is a sure fire way to sell product?  I can believe the stunning photo's (it is Australia after all), the wonderful commentary, and the "something for nothing" factor.  If it works for another prominent magazine ...

Regardless.  I have to say that the photography was absolutely Perfect!  Such images make me yearn for another jaunt down the dusty road (which appears to be getting paved alas).  We did the Gibb in 1996 when El Questro wasn't as famous and the graders had made it 1/2 way ... a trip I will never forget ... even if the (old fashioned) SLR did have issues at the time.  I got Zero photos but memories that will last my entire life ... so thank you for giving me those stunning photos.  Seems things have gotten a little more "tourist oriented" since I was there last.

I think I hear the sounds of then,

Laugh and think, this is Australia.

Post by: Carlisle Rogers on December 03, 2011, 10:49:24 PM
Benduro,
Hey mate, despite the machine that works out subscriptions not always running smoothly, thanks heaps for becoming a subscriber. You're part of the family now.
PM me your address and I'll make sure you get both of the Kimberley issues we did, and the DVD.

Carlisle

Signed up for a subscription @ the Melbourne Leisurefest in October under the premise that the November issue would contain the Kimberly DVD and have held off purchasing thinking it would be in the mail.
It's now December so I guess I've missed the boat on the November issue/DVD :-[ as it's no longer on the shelf in newsagent.
Will look into purchasing on back order if this is available and look forward to the December issue hopefully being in the mail ???.
Post by: Benduro on December 04, 2011, 07:25:56 AM
Thanks Carlisle,
Now thats customer service :cup:

Contacted subscriptions and they said that my first magazine would be the December issue, so more than happy to pay for the back issues.
Love the mag and the previous DVDs you have produced... Great stuff!!!

Ben.
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on December 04, 2011, 05:05:56 PM
Hi Carlisle
Well done mate.Beautiful pix!
Can't wait to get a hold of the book

Now you can...here:
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=18287.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=18287.0)
Post by: Gunna Do on December 04, 2011, 05:12:09 PM
Thanks Carlisle for sending the stubbie cooler.  It turned up on Friday and you can rest assured it will get plenty of use.
Post by: Heiny on February 06, 2012, 09:01:32 PM
Congratulations Jkohn, hows about some pics of you with the new fridge  :worthles:

And congrats to you all on some very imaginative pics :cup:

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on February 06, 2012, 09:35:25 PM

Loving my can o coke cooler Carlisle.  Thanks so much!!

Post by: JCOJ on February 10, 2012, 01:52:13 PM
Congratulations Jkohn, hows about some pics of you with the new fridge  :worthles:

And congrats to you all on some very imaginative pics :cup:

I would love to Bubba but I haven't recevied it......Carlisle???
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on February 10, 2012, 02:43:57 PM
Hey I can't do a fridge, but I do have a couple of books here. Want one of those, JKohn?

Carlisle
Post by: JCOJ on February 10, 2012, 03:32:40 PM
Sure - thank you!  :cheers:
Title: Re: Carlisle needs your help...... part 2.....
Post by: jw2170 on December 29, 2016, 07:45:19 PM
Ok, I realize this is a VERY old thread but...

The Missus and I were watching Carlisle's latest show on Aurora and we discussed his accent, so we Googled....

Found this old tread and had a great read....

I believe I have the MySwag Youtube video of the cape trip, but the question is: "Does anyone still have a copy of the DVD that was discussed?"

Would love to see a copy...     :-*    :-*    :-*
Title: Re: Carlisle needs your help...... part 2.....
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on May 20, 2018, 10:50:08 AM
Ok, I realize this is a VERY old thread but...

The Missus and I were watching Carlisle's latest show on Aurora and we discussed his accent, so we Googled....

Found this old tread and had a great read....

I believe I have the MySwag Youtube video of the cape trip, but the question is: "Does anyone still have a copy of the DVD that was discussed?"

Would love to see a copy...     :-*    :-*    :-*

Hey I just saw this thread and had a laugh myself!

I reckon I've got a box of these DVDs somewhere in my shed. If anyone wants one just PM me and I'll try to dig them up.

Carlisle