Author Topic: MySwag Members Trip "Fraser Island 2012"  (Read 26438 times)

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
Re: MySwag Members Trip "Fraser Island 2012"
« Reply #25 on: February 21, 2012, 03:48:59 PM »
Hey yogi, holidays are looking good mate, so put our name on the list!

Daz or maybe it's Bec  :angel:

Offline Rusty

« Reply #26 on: February 21, 2012, 05:39:05 PM »
keen for this trip will let you know when it is a bit closer  :cup:
2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #27 on: February 21, 2012, 06:34:36 PM »
The leave request went in today for myself and Deb. Lets hope its approved and we will be there with bells on!!

MySwag Members Trip "Fraser Island 2012"
« Reply #28 on: February 21, 2012, 09:46:56 PM »
Given the amount of interest ...... we might even have MySwag shirts and MySwag Fraser Island stubby coolers available.

Happy to help with organising tailor made merchandise for the trip Yogi...

« Reply #29 on: February 21, 2012, 10:07:35 PM »
Happy to help with organising tailor made merchandise for the trip Yogi...

Thanks sounds good ..... will send you a PM shortly 8) You guy's can't make it ???

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #30 on: February 24, 2012, 09:20:37 PM »
Hey Yogi ,
Can you please add my name to the list .
After Sandy Creek , I would be a fool to pass up on another My Swag group outing ...

It's been a long , long time since I was at Fraser .
I used to go at least 2 or 3 times a year when I was younger .
I even broke my collarbone up there once riding a Honda 3 wheeler .
( or should that read ;  crashing a Honda 3 wheeler ! )

I've been reading the official notes :
Can you make a group booking , and they reserve that area for you ?
And are fires only allowed in certain areas . Is that an area you hope to get ?

Assuming I don't get a full time job by then , I should be all go ! :cheers:
Can you write an official note for my kids to get a week off school ?   :laugh:

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #31 on: February 25, 2012, 09:50:48 AM »
All info and questions will be answered in the first post to help keep it central.

UTE 701 ...... As for the note. Just tell the teachers that your kids are going to spend a week with yogi and they will understand that their going to learn more about what not to do than they could ever have learnt at school in a life time ;D

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #32 on: February 25, 2012, 07:18:53 PM »
The leave request went in today for myself and Deb. Lets hope its approved and we will be there with bells on!!

Yogi you can add our name to the list - my leave was approved yesterday.  Should be another great Swaggers trip

« Reply #33 on: February 25, 2012, 07:27:59 PM »
Can't wait :D

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #34 on: February 26, 2012, 01:20:08 PM »
wow , lots of rule changes since I was there many years ago . :o

Although , upon reading the fine print I don't see anything that says " Flashing disco lights are not permitted after 9 pm " , so we should be right there !!!!    :laugh:

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline Shane083

« Reply #35 on: February 26, 2012, 04:06:27 PM »
We might come along, however we would camp up just north of ocean lake, hope thats not being to rude. Have you considered shifting the camp north to the waddy/orchid/ocean lake area? In my opinion its a far nicer place to stay.
If god didn't want you to play with it, he would have put it in the middle of your back

« Reply #36 on: February 26, 2012, 04:49:25 PM »
gupatrol02 .... open to all suggestions ........ it is nice up there but not so newbie friendly. I haven't camped there for ages and can't remember if there is room enough for 20 camper trailers in close proximity ? Let me know as all input it's much appreciated ?

Offline Shane083

« Reply #37 on: February 26, 2012, 06:31:51 PM »
probably not as many large areas but there would be spaces where 4 and 5 cts could camp, probably could get quite a few in at ocean lake. Heres some pros and cons for both.
Dundy pros - closer to the touristy things, an hours less drive to get there, good campground, larger areas to camp on the beach
Dundy cons - very busy beach (not kid friendly) generally its bloody windy, can be quite crowded
orchid pros - more protected from the wind, better camp sites ( more shaded areas), less crowded, no backpackers, can launch   boats at waddy
orchid cons - bit of a hike to get up there, to far to go and do the touristy things, no backpackers.
The fishing can be good at both but there is more options at orchid (beach fishing in gutters, boat, rock fishing or if the wind comes up its  only a half hour drive to wathumba creek on the western side)
could probably add more but that will do for now, if anyone has any questions i'll do my best to help out
Cheers Shane
If god didn't want you to play with it, he would have put it in the middle of your back

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #38 on: February 26, 2012, 07:41:57 PM »
The only other problem with ocean lake is if Fraser island hasn't had much rain in the weeks before Indian head is going to be a bit of a mission for those that are going who have stock standard vehicles towing a fully loaded camper trailer. And the tracks up of the beach at ocean lake will be just as challenging,sorry just my 2 cents worth will be a great trip where ever you end up camping sort of wish we could make it  :'(
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

Offline Shane083

« Reply #39 on: February 26, 2012, 08:36:21 PM »
yeah the soft sand could be a bit of a drama for some, although i think if enough air was dropped out there would be no problems at all

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #40 on: February 26, 2012, 08:55:08 PM »
sort of wish we could make it  :'(

Simple Fix : I'll go to Cape York instead , and you go to Fraser !   :laugh:

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #41 on: February 26, 2012, 09:56:54 PM »
Deal UTE but you take your car cause I'll need mine for Fraser  ;D
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #42 on: February 27, 2012, 09:23:17 AM »
Deal UTE but you take your car cause I'll need mine for Fraser  ;D
Nice try ... BUT ... my car doesn't have the correct rated tow points , and I know yours does after the 3 hour inspection.

So it looks like I'm taking yours to the Tip .

I'll look after it .... Trust Me  >:D

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #43 on: February 27, 2012, 03:47:06 PM »

I will now start posting in different threads for important topics so that information is more easily located. From now on could all interested parties please post in the new thread.

gupatrol02 .... happy for you to be a part of this trip and looking forward to meeting you if you come along. Please note anyone coming along is free to camp where ever they like. Although if you would like to organise your own trip could you please start your own thread in the main section to prevent confusion here. Obviously there a pros and cons for any location and I have posted why we chose the current location. I normally camp at Sandy Cape but not everyone is going to want to camp there, be able to get there unassisted and be totally self sufficient for a week as it's a "what you take in you take out" camp zone. Part of this trip is about introducing newbies to Fraser and to MySwag so camping together is all part of the fun. I am planing a couple of day trips for interested parties and they will be leaving from the central camp location. Departure times will be based on the tides and could prove a problem if you're camped 45-60 minutes away. Let me know if you would like your name added to the attendees list ?

« Last Edit: February 27, 2012, 03:51:35 PM by yogi »

Offline bert56

« Reply #44 on: February 29, 2012, 06:53:53 PM »
Hi Yogi,

Just wondering if there is any vacancies, I maybe up to this one.

Bert

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #45 on: February 29, 2012, 07:06:27 PM »
Bert your just plain greedy 2 trips in a row ;D ;D

« Reply #46 on: February 29, 2012, 07:30:54 PM »
Bert ...... like all trips .... people always pull out so if your keen I can put your name down ? You can fish right in front of camp and teach the kids a thing or two on how to beach fish 8)

Offline bert56

« Reply #47 on: March 02, 2012, 06:00:08 PM »
Bert ...... like all trips .... people always pull out so if your keen I can put your name down ? You can fish right in front of camp and teach the kids a thing or two on how to beach fish 8)

What fish in front of where we camp, now I will have try extra hard to get there. Be good to see you Yogi to.

bert

« Reply #48 on: March 02, 2012, 08:00:17 PM »
Yeah mate ..... will be good to catch up again and for you to tell us all of the stories first hand from the 2012 Cape trip ............ Jew's, dart, whiting, flathead ...... you name it just about anything ;D

Offline paul4nat

« Reply #49 on: March 07, 2012, 05:44:06 PM »
Yogi we will love to join the trip, see you there, am really looking forward to it

Nat
"The Bucket list just keeps on going, and going, and going"