Author Topic: MySwag Members Trip "Fraser Island 2012"  (Read 26433 times)

MySwag Members Trip "Fraser Island 2012"
« on: February 02, 2012, 11:46:30 AM »

as per my many fire side promises of organising a trip to Fraser Island ..... well wait no longer as I am heading over to the Island on the following dates.

Dates .... currently looking from Friday 27/07/2012 to Sunday 05/08/2012.

Tides look good for getting on and off the Island. High at lunch and Low in the morning and afternoon so perfect for day trips.

Fishing should be good with a full moon late in the week and approaching Taylor Seasson.

Weather should be mild with light on shore winds and warm day time temperatures and cool nights.

Camping location will be on the Eastern Beach between Cathedral Beach (perfect for people who like caravan parks) and Dundaburra. This allows people the option of a hot shower and use of the porcelain.

PS(For those who have sent PM’s and those wondering about why the dates are not during school holidays. The main reasons are Fraser get’s very busy during any kind of holiday making it harder to find a nice spot where everyone will be able to camp together on the beach and also the natural attractions become very busy, as do the inland tracks and beach.)

Members interested :-

Boo Boo
seqfisho
maverick01
nick 08
sablesoft
Hill and Andrew
Chippy76
jetcrew
bundyfamily
cancan
ehsc
Nomad
Symon
DAZnBEC
Rusty
Frostd
UTE 701

For those who are interested here are some handy links and info.

Usesfull LINK :-

A Map of Fraser Island.
http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/parks/fraser/pdf/fraser-island-map.pdf

General information about Fraser Island and various other topics.
http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/parks/fraser/index.html

Fraser Island Conditions Report.
http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/register/p01663aa.pdf

Open fires: fires are prohibited on Fraser Island. The only exception to this prohibition is in communal fire rings provided by Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service at Dundubara and Waddy Point camping areas. Refer to Bushfire Safety when planning your trip. Campers wishing to use these fire rings must supply their own clean, untreated milled timber for firewood and firelighters for ignition. It is an offence to collect living or dead plant materials in the national park. Fuel stoves are recommended for cooking.

(We have used an OzPig on the open beach with out issue from the Rangers as long as there is not a total fire ban and you bring your own timber)

The only places there is Group bookings avliable are at the folling locations :-
Dundubara group camping area 20-40 people max no generators and no noise after 9pm
Waddy Point group camping area 20-40 people max tent camping only and right near the Ranger station. It is also a bit of a walk to the beach
Central Station group camping area 20-40 people tent camping only and it's no where near the beach and will be cold that time of year
Cornwells group camping area 20-50 people max right near the Police and Ambulance stations
We will also need Indemnity and public liability insurance. Thus we are not going as a registered group simply like minded individuals doing what we love best camping.

Staying safe

Don't let your trip turn to tragedy—drive safely. Fraser Islands’ beaches change every day—beware of washouts and take care at creek crossings. Driving at high hide is dangerous—don’t place your passengers, yourself or your vehicle at risk. Be dingo-safe. Always be close (within 5 metres) to your children. Keep food and waste locked in your vehicle at night.

Fraser Island’s beaches can be risky places for children. They may not hear vehicles over the sound of the surf; rips and sharks are common. Stay close to your children. Photo: DERM

Read all information

Many safety and regulatory signs warn visitors of dangers, rules and regulations, and ways to help conserve Fraser's special features. Walking track entrances, camping areas and day-use areas have information and orientation signage, including site-specific interpretive materials. For your safety, please read and pay attention to signs.

Driving safely

To keep visitors safe, new laws are being introduced for 4WD hire vehicles. See the Department of Transport and Main Roads (DTMR) website for more information.

Fraser Island’s beaches and sandy inland roads are suitable only for 4WD vehicles. Engage 4WD and lock hubs just before you start driving on the sand. Most inland tracks are only suitable for high clearance vehicles. Read and pay attention to all signage. All road rules apply.

Don't let your trip turn to tragedy.

Slow down when passing pedestrians and beachgoers, especially around the Maheno wreck. Pedestrians and beachgoers often cannot hear approaching vehicles above the sound of the surf and wind. Vehicles must give way to pedestrians in shared zones.

Stay alert when driving on Fraser Island. Reckless driving and silly pranks have led to accidents. Passengers have suffered serious spinal injuries in vehicles travelling too fast for the road or beach conditions. If your driver makes you feel unsafe in a vehicle—say something. Slow is safe!

Beaches have particular driving hazards.
Deep washouts can happen at anytime, particularly after heavy rain and rough seas.
Wave action can expose dangerous rocks overnight.
Weather conditions and tides can wash up logs and erode dunes, leaving trees and roots exposed.
Big high tides can cover the entire beach, with waves washing up to the foredunes and leaving no option but to drive through salt water. This is dangerous. Your vehicle may sink, roll over or be quickly flooded by the rising tide.

Driving on the western beach is not recommended.

The ever-changing weed banks that lie buried under the sand along the western beach (and occasionally on the eastern beach) deceive even experienced drivers. Your vehicle may sink quickly. Tow trucks are many hours away. Drive with another 4WD or enjoy a walk instead.

Do not enter areas along the western beach, which are closed to vehicle access. Check your map for details.

Normal road rules apply

All inland roads, vehicle tracks and beaches are designated roads and normal road rules apply. Police patrol all areas of Fraser Island. Speed checks and breath testing can happen at any time of day. Maximum allowable blood alcohol level for drivers in Australia is 0.05 (0.00 for those on a licence equivalent to a learner or provisional licence).

Police also conduct random drug testing for illegal substances, such as marijuana, ecstasy, speed and ice. If you are planning to drive, plan not to drink alcohol and never take illegal drugs.

Look for speed signs on the upper dunes of beaches.

Speed limits on the island:
80 km/hr (maximum) on the eastern beach
30 km/hr on inland roads and beach pedestrian areas
50 km/hr on Hook Point inland road
40 km/hr shared use areas.

Always drive to suit conditions. Driving on sand is very different to driving on normal roads. Slow down and follow vehicles at a safe distance. A safe driving speed may be lower than the signed speed limit.

Only use indicators when overtaking, turning or pulling out from a parked position. Keep to the left of oncoming vehicles at all times.

Seatbelts

Everyone must wear seat belts when travelling in the vehicle—it’s the law!

A driver (and any passenger over the age of 16) breaking these laws risks a $300 fine and (for Australians) three demerit points. The driver will also have to pay an additional $300 for every passenger not wearing a seatbelt, regardless of the passenger’s age.

Giving way

All standard give-way rules apply. However, most of the roads are narrow and carry two-way traffic. When safe, give way to buses, trucks and to vehicles travelling downhill or towing trailers. Passing bays are frequent. If possible, drive forwards into them.

Aircraft landing zones are signposted along the beach. Planes need to land on the harder sand close to the water’s edge. Vehicles should move to the upper beach, but not onto vegetated dunes.

All wildlife is protected. Approach dingoes, resting shorebirds and all other wildlife slowly, and carefully drive around them.

Tyre pressure

Reducing tyre pressure, within manufacturer’s specifications, helps to maintain traction on inland tracks and soft sand, particularly at Indian Head bypass and further north. Select low gears for soft, dry sand.

If you choose to reduce your tyre pressure, avoid turning sharply and braking suddenly, as tyres can come off their rims. Re-inflate to resume speed on harder sand, bitumen and for driving on the mainland.

Avoid top-loading

Top-loaded vehicles roll easily. Pack light, pack right and stow gear low inside your vehicle. Distribute your load evenly and do not overload your vehicle—the weight of passengers plus gear must be under your load rating.

Since 1 April 2010, it is illegal to load luggage on the roof of a 4WD hire vehicle. All hire 4WD vehicles must:
carry no more than eight occupants, including the driver
store all luggage securely inside the vehicle (not on the roof).

Best travelling times

Best driving times are two hours either side of low tide. Avoid driving during the two hours either side of high tide, as some areas may be affected by tidal activity and onshore winds. For safety, avoid travelling at night. For up-to-date information check the Fraser Island conditions report (PDF, 198K)* and park alerts.

Stick to tracks across dunes

It is illegal to drive on sand dunes. Stay on the formed tracks when entering beach camping areas. Go slow and stay alert for pedestrians.

Caravans and off-road camper trailers

Caravans are not recommended on Fraser Island.

Conditions at some barge landings and on inland tracks, including Indian Head bypass, can be soft and boggy, making it difficult to tow trailers or vans.

Your type of 4WD, its clearance and load size will effect where you can go on the island. Your sand driving experience and the beach or track conditions will determine accessibility and driving or towing comfort during your visit to Fraser Island.

Creek crossings

Be very careful when crossing Eli, Wyuna and Coongul creeks. Large volumes of water create steep creek banks. Before crossing any creek, if safe, walk through it to check the depth of water and softness of sand. Never stop your vehicle midstream; your vehicle may sink or stall. Never attempt to cross Wathumba Creek or Moon Point estuaries.

Aircraft

Aircraft landing zones are signposted and marked with orange cone markers along the beach. Planes need to land on the harder sand close to the water's edge. Vehicles should move to the upper beach, but not onto vegetation. Drivers should pay attention to aircraft traffic controller directions.

Dingo safety

Fraser Island's dingoes are wild and unpredictable. They are possibly one of the purest populations of dingo in Australia and are protected by law. You cannot feed dingoes or any wildlife on Fraser Island. Rangers do check and you will be fined. Plan carefully to be dingo-safe. Follow the guidelines given in brochures and signs.

Bring strong lockable containers to lock up food and rubbish from animals. Do not hang rubbish, food, fish, bait or burley from cars, trees or tents.

Be dingo-safe at the rubbish bins
Never go alone or at night.
Leave no rubbish lying around—bin everything!
If a bin is full, please use another.

Important: report dingo encounters

Please report any negative or close encounter with dingoes to the nearest ranger as soon as you can. Alternatively, phone (07) 5486 9966 or email dingo.ranger@derm.qld.gov.au

IMPORTANT information for FRASER ISLAND

Barge options for getting onto Fraser Island :-

Inskip Point Rainbow Beach
http://mantarayfraserislandbarge.com.au/

Fraser Venture Barge ex River Heads to Wanggoolba Creek
Kingfisher Bay Ferry ex River Heads to Kingfisher Bay Resort
Fraser Dawn Barge ex Urangan Boat Harbour to Moon Point
http://www.fraserislandferry.com.au/barges.html

Tips to a safe Fraser Island trip.

1. Educate your self and family about dingo safty especially the kids. Dingos are wild animals and should never be fed or interferared with in any way. All food including things like soap, tooth paste, bait, rubish and scraps should be stored secuerly at all times. Never walk alone especially if your a child or slight of build. If confronted by a dingo do not run but fold your arms and back away slowly calling for help, if attacked defend your self with vigar. If your worried you can camp at Dundaburra as it if fully fenced.

Dingo safty video
p://www.derm.qld.gov.au/media/parks_and_forests/dingo_csa.wmv

General Dingo information
http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/parks/fraser/fraser-island-dingoes.html

Dingo managment information
http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/parks/fraser/dingo-management.html

2. If you have never done any sand driving or are not well seasond I would suggest traveing with at least one other vechile of similar size, carry your own recovery gear, air down your tyres on both the tow veichal and the trailer and limit your speed accordingly. Always travel in the tidal zone where the sand is hard and compact.

http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/parks_and_forests/activities_in_parks_and_forests/fourwheeldriving/driving_at_the_coast.html

3. Best time to travel on any beach is at low tide. Give your self plenty of time to get to your desiered location and keep the speed down. There are several "Shared Zones" on the eastern beach and all road rules are enforced by permantly station police officers. Open beach speed limit is 80kph, Shared Zones are 40kph and inland tracks are 35kph. These speed limits are a maximum and should only be traveled at if the conditions are safe to do so.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 06:41:51 PM by yogi »

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
Re: MySwag Fraser Island Trip 2012
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2012, 08:28:52 PM »
Yogi, we could be up for this, even if we have to hire a camper. :cheers:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2012, 08:51:44 PM »
Will be a good trip for the new bub 8) Hope you got the kids a new rod each for Christmas Glen ;D

Offline maverick01

« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 09:28:44 PM »
Sounds like a trip we would be keen on as we have always wanted to go to Fraser but never go around to it
If you never go, you'll never know

Offline nick 08

« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2012, 09:46:47 PM »
I was just talking today with a couple of mates at work about this, we have been every yr for the last 5 now so this might be this yrs fraser trip good thinking yogi :cheers:

Might even have a new Modcon foward fold HFD to go with the trip ;D
« Last Edit: February 02, 2012, 10:04:31 PM by nick 08 »
08 Triton GLX R with all the gear
Trackabout Deluxe tourer camper

« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2012, 09:57:25 AM »
maverick01 ...... It's always nice to go with a group if it's your first time anywhere. Once it get's closer to leaving we can try and tea up a meeting point prior to hitting the beach for those who are unsure and want to travel in a group. Have you driven on the beach before with your camper ?

Nick ...... sounds like a plan but make sure that wife of yours leaves the niko pens at home ;D

Offline maverick01

« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2012, 10:59:10 AM »
No not with the camper as we have only had the chance to use it once but I have driven on the beach plenty of times before

Thanks and yea a meeting point would be good
If you never go, you'll never know

Offline Shoey

• Living the dream
    • Our Big Trip
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2012, 08:49:07 AM »
Its a great place to visit we spent a week there early Jan will definitely go back again
shoey and Jilly
Toyota Landcruiser LC200
gone to the darkside sorry now have a 21 foot van traveling Australia in retirement

Macca357

« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2012, 10:46:38 AM »
We'll be there 4 weeks earlier. Can give you a conditions report if needed. For anyone that hasn't been to Fraser Island but has been thinking about it all I can say is Don't Hold Back.
 :cheers: Macca.

Offline Boo Boo

« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2012, 03:07:12 PM »
We'll be there 4 weeks earlier. Can give you a conditions report if needed. For anyone that hasn't been to Fraser Island but has been thinking about it all I can say is Don't Hold Back.
 :cheers: Macca.

Do agree with your comment Macca357 as this will be Yogi's 7th trip and my 6th to Fraser.  Fraser would be one of his favorite spots and loves to share with others with similar interest.

Amanda

Offline sablesoft

• Green Cub Supamatic Escape Off Road
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2012, 04:20:47 PM »

Sounds like a good idea, We very much wanted to make the last trip, but Glenda busted her ankle which messed it up.

Glenda and I would  be on to go.

Ray
Green Cub Escape Off Road

« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2012, 12:17:38 PM »
Looks like we have a few takers already ...... once it get's closer I will start a list of who is coming, for how long and where they are camping. If you could indicate where you plan on camping and how long you plan on staying I will note it down in post one along with you location ie Beach, Cathedral or Dundaburra. Also if you post up where you plan on getting onto the Island I can also advise of conditions and the best way to get to the camping spots.

Offline Hill and Andrew

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2012, 09:41:59 PM »
Hey Yogi

Hill and I would be interested , and looking forward to catching up with you guys at sandy creek

« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2012, 01:01:08 PM »
Andrew ..... Will be good to camp with you guy's again on Fraser ..... will be good to catch up again ... see you at Sandy Creek 8)

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2012, 08:11:43 PM »
Hey Yogi,

Are you looking at camping in the same location as the last Fraser MySwag trip?

Wasn't a bad spot with the freshwater lake/Bretts carwash close by. :cup:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2012, 09:43:57 PM »
Yeah mate same location as last time ..... Nice and flat plenty of room and close to all the stuff we need ;D

Yogi 

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2012, 06:29:00 AM »
Id be keen, would love to take the fam to Fraser ....
I love it over there .
Chers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2012, 07:54:57 PM »
I'm in too master chef ;D ;D

Jetcrew :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline bundyfamily

« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2012, 11:33:08 AM »
We are pretty keen for this trip Yogi, just have to check out when I am rosted on for work. I will let you know as soon as I can.
Live life on the edge buy a Hayabusa!!!

« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2012, 01:20:57 PM »
Hoorah...I have the OK for this. Possibly Saturday to Saturday. Will be good to see how the Audi tows in the sand.

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2012, 08:22:05 PM »
Hey Yogi

Id be keen for this trip also hav'nt been to fraser for 14yrs prior to that 5 years in a row . i will have to check work ect . I think a few other bundy members maybe keen also .

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: ehsc
2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback

« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2012, 08:23:43 PM »
After the Sandy Creek meet ...... it looks like there might be a large turn out for this meet ........... fancy that :cheers: ........ we might need to ask the mods to turn this into it's own thread as there are a heap of newbees going and there will be a lot of info needed to be posted on this trip if all come along ???

Given the amount of interest ...... we might even have MySwag shirts and MySwag Fraser Island stubby coolers available.

Plus if there is a very large turnout there will also be more than the usual day trips organised ;D

PS(we are up to 10+ already plus 5 or 6 that said they were interested ...... plus the usual stalkers >:D although not as big as Sandy Creek there are a few more options for getting there as well as it's hopefully a little harder to get to as well as there is going to be more to see and do and a longer trip)
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 08:31:57 PM by yogi »

Re: MySwag Members Trip "Fraser Island 2012"
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2012, 08:32:58 PM »
Lurking lurking...............thinking about the planning with the Mrs...............lurking some more.

« Reply #23 on: February 21, 2012, 09:25:10 AM »
Hmmm.... just looking at my leave account and I do believe I may be up for this.

Pencil me in good sir.

Offline bundyfamily

« Reply #24 on: February 21, 2012, 01:57:10 PM »
Nomad, if you are coming up to Bargara surely you can push your luck with the Mrs for a Fraser trip as well?  :cheers:
Live life on the edge buy a Hayabusa!!!