33 (16.2%)
Medium Well
25 (12.3%)
Well Done
17 (8.3%)
Charcoaled
4 (2%)

Total Members Voted: 202

Author Topic: How do you like your steak cooked?  (Read 18377 times)

Re: How do you like your steak cooked?
« Reply #50 on: October 14, 2017, 07:03:45 AM »
Hi All, My favorite is My own Home killed 3 year old grass fed bullock once dead hung in the cold room for a two weeks. Best cut for me is a T bone cut not to thick then grilled with no char marks till just cooked past medium so there is no blood but still rearly juicy, if its good meat should be able to eat it with just a fork, Craig 
« Last Edit: October 14, 2017, 09:18:20 AM by Craig Tomkinson »

« Reply #51 on: October 14, 2017, 09:23:15 AM »
Interesting to see so many people reckon steak should be bleeding on the plate, but not many have voted that way ???

No, meat's got to be cooked! :D

« Reply #52 on: October 14, 2017, 09:30:31 AM »
Hi All, My favorite is My own Home killed 3 year old grass fed bullock once dead hung in the cold room for a two weeks. Best cut for me is a T bone cut not to thick then grilled with no char marks till just cooked past medium so there is no blood but still rearly juicy, if its good meat should be able to eat it with just a fork, Craig

Now that sounds about right.  But for us mere mortals, getting a really nice piece of meat from anywhere is hard, so I tend to not buy much at all. Don't you hate it when that nice piece of steak from the butchers gets off the hot plate and there is gristle through it, or it just doesn't melt in the mouth like it should.
To eat a steak with a fork......aahh, now that is a memory ??  The last time eating with a fork was some baby back ribs in New York !!

« Reply #53 on: October 14, 2017, 10:12:11 AM »
Interesting to see so many people reckon steak should be bleeding on the plate, but not many have voted that way ???

No, meat's got to be cooked! :D
can't say I'd voted when I replied in the thread, many others likely did same

« Reply #54 on: October 14, 2017, 11:10:25 AM »
Hi gronk, that does sound tasty, It just a memory for me now to, We sold our house block and our share of the family farm at Cootharaba too my older brother, we live in Cooroy now, Misses was sick of living there I was sick of my brother, So we ate the last of our steers last year, gee I miss great meat, If we buy meat now We just buy MSA rib filet from my butcher in Gympie, and do buggers or salad with it, its very nice but not as good as home killed meat, Craig 

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #55 on: October 14, 2017, 02:30:04 PM »
Rare for me, and the same with lamb.

« Reply #56 on: October 14, 2017, 03:20:56 PM »
Hi All, I find it very strange, meat is just protein like fish or chicken, Theres no way I would eat chicken or fish half cooked, so blows my mind people eat half raw meat, But each to there own, Craig
« Last Edit: October 14, 2017, 04:11:16 PM by Craig Tomkinson »

« Reply #57 on: October 14, 2017, 05:35:28 PM »
Hi All, I find it very strange, meat is just protein like fish or chicken, Theres no way I would eat chicken or fish half cooked, so blows my mind people eat half raw meat, But each to there own, Craig

No way would I eat undercooked chicken, way to easy to get crook like that, but steak rare, and fish raw are fine.  ;D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #58 on: October 14, 2017, 05:41:52 PM »
No way would I eat undercooked chicken, way to easy to get crook like that, but steak rare, and fish raw are fine.  ;D
surprising how often it is served up not properly cooked...
you should see some of the results from the lab we get in testing sometimes... ****in terrifying..

« Reply #59 on: October 15, 2017, 10:48:49 AM »
I'm bl@@dy paranoid about undercooked chicken after seeing how crook a mate got many years ago.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #60 on: October 22, 2017, 07:04:34 PM »
Exactly like this.....

And getting washed down with a ice cold Little Creatures that was brewed in Fremantle. ;D
The following users thanked this post: 03GV, GBC

« Reply #61 on: October 23, 2017, 08:02:30 AM »
Quote from: Pete79
that looks like it will be nice once you cook it.

The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

Offline Hefty

« Reply #62 on: October 23, 2017, 09:37:35 AM »
I normally eat it medium rare and voted as such, but the best steak I ever tried was "Cave man steak".
Salt, pepper and olive oil on both sides of a good-quality, inch thick steak and then cooked DIRECTLY ON THE CHARCOAL! 30 seconds a side, flick off any significant charcoal chunks with the tongs and then DIG IN!!
I was skeptical at first but, I kid you not, it was delicious and even helped bring my taste back from medium to medium rare for normal bbq steak.
The only thing is, it's the kind of technique you can't do for a large group of people all at once because half of them probably won't eat it!

cheers,
Jono.
"Roads?!...Where we're going we don't need roads!"

« Reply #63 on: October 23, 2017, 11:39:34 AM »
Yuuuuummmmm....cooked to perfection
fixed it for ya mate ;D

« Reply #64 on: October 23, 2017, 11:56:29 AM »
Quote from: Rumpig
fixed it for ya mate ;D

not fuggin likely.. may as well throw the blood pad between to bits of bread and chew on that.

The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans