Author Topic: SYDNEY SIDERS PLS HELP!!!  (Read 2453 times)

SYDNEY SIDERS PLS HELP!!!
« on: July 17, 2018, 03:42:49 PM »
A mate of mine blew his engine up in his Prado on the way home from a Camping trip on the weekend..

It blew up in Kempsey yesterday and him and his family are now on the train back to Sydney. Looking at a hefty repair bill

he is trying to find a hire company that will hire a car that he can drive back to Kempsey pick up his Camper and the rest of his gear from the back of the Prado and get home. But he is struggling to find one that can accommodate the camper. it is an Aussie swag rear fold..

can anybody advise on somewhere where he can hire such a thing?

Online Bird

Re: SYDNEY SIDERS PLS HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2018, 03:53:08 PM »
I'd say finding a mate or forum member might be easiest specially with trailer brakes etc.
although its a 900klm round trip...

Did he say what happened to the engine?

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2018, 03:59:57 PM »
I'd say finding a mate or forum member might be easiest specially with trailer brakes etc.

Did he say what happened to the engine?

Looks like she blew a piston, 180,000km on the clock.. always serviced and he looks after his gear..
He will hopefully know more in the next day or so..

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2018, 05:00:03 PM »

Yes it is a lot to ask of someone to do that, he does work for a major brewery though so there may be some reward!!!

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2018, 05:13:52 PM »
Does he have road side assist , In Queensland if you have RACQ ultra they not only tow your vehicle but your trailer as well .

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2018, 05:49:08 PM »
He may need to try to find a hire depot that has some mine spec vehicles, and get one of those.

I know when I worked with Hertz that we had a Navara, Pajero and Patrol, all with towbars - the Navara was a full mine spec ute complete with ROPS and lights.

Be prepared to pay for some extra K's; if you know it's 900km, specify when you book that you're doing say 300km each day over a 3 day hire and that covers you for the 100-200km daily that is normal.

« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2018, 06:09:09 PM »
If he can get up and collect his gear from the wagon and get the trailer parked somewhere for 2 weeks.

I'll be heading past with nothing the back on the 30th and can tow it down for him on the 31st for a tank of fuel.

I don't have electric brakes though, thats probably the issue as just about every servo ute has a tow bar, but very few would have electric brake controllers wired up.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 06:13:02 PM by Hoyks »

« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2018, 06:43:02 PM »
Looks like she blew a piston, 180,000km on the clock.. always serviced and he looks after his gear..
He will hopefully know more in the next day or so..

Not an uncommon problem, interested in what year model.
There is a Facebook site about the issue.
Toyota 1KD-FTV Cracked Piston Class Action
https://www.facebook.com/groups/175229933295296/?fref=nf

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2018, 06:57:55 PM »
I am in Kempsey pls pm

« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2018, 07:25:28 PM »
I am in Kempsey pls pm

Hi mate PM sent

Online Bird

« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2018, 09:54:31 AM »
Quote from: barnray
I am in Kempsey pls pm

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: Thats the Swagger spirit!!!!!! Nice work. :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: