Author Topic: Fuel Station Etiquette  (Read 16729 times)

Re: Fuel Station Etiquette
« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2018, 11:22:19 AM »
Went to the same servo again yesterday at about 3pm,
Waited patiently for old lady to fill her mower tin at the diesel pump(98, 92 & diesel).
My trailer hanging over the footpath because she had parked a car lenght away from the pump.
A knob comes and parks just in front of her has she is getting back in her car.
So both of us sit waiting for this tool to fill his Ute, then he starts on two Gerry cans.
Hang on, now he is going to check his oil & water WTF???

I've had enough of this, out I get.
Hey DH, wtf are doing?
He tells me to calm down, and he wont be long.
I tell him the error of his ways and he replies with,
"What are you the parking inspector"?
The old lady yells at him.
You are an Ahole, and if I wasn't a lady, I would belt some sense into you empty head.
The look on the tools face was priceless.
Go the little old lady.
This should be in the what made me smile today thread.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2018, 11:32:53 AM »
Went to the same servo again yesterday at about 3pm,
Waited patiently for old lady to fill her mower tin at the diesel pump(98, 92 & diesel).
My trailer hanging over the footpath because she had parked a car lenght away from the pump.
A knob comes and parks just in front of her has she is getting back in her car.
So both of us sit waiting for this tool to fill his Ute, then he starts on two Gerry cans.
Hang on, now he is going to check his oil & water WTF???

I've had enough of this, out I get.
Hey DH, wtf are doing?
He tells me to calm down, and he wont be long.
I tell him the error of his ways and he replies with,
"What are you the parking inspector"?
The old lady yells at him.
You are an Ahole, and if I wasn't a lady, I would belt some sense into you empty head.
The look on the tools face was priceless.
Go the little old lady.
This should be in the what made me smile today thread.

Karma. Doesn’t happen often enough

« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2018, 12:29:24 PM »
Karma. Doesn’t happen often enough
The look on his face, sheeesh wish I had a picture of it.
She owned him.
Good onya love.

Offline rossm

« Reply #28 on: April 25, 2018, 10:05:19 PM »
what's the etiquette when the pump does this?

https://thewest.com.au/lifestyle/motoring/pilbara-town-slugged-60000clitre-for-fuel-ng-b88817502z

never trusted those self serve pumps

« Reply #29 on: April 26, 2018, 07:49:18 AM »
what's the etiquette when the pump does this?

https://thewest.com.au/lifestyle/motoring/pilbara-town-slugged-60000clitre-for-fuel-ng-b88817502z

never trusted those self serve pumps
its just part of the "fuel price cycle"

« Reply #30 on: April 26, 2018, 10:35:45 AM »
Really it's no different to everything in life these days, they are just self centered and only thinking of themselves. As one of my daughters
wrote once "I may seem selfish but if I don't look out for myself who will!" seems to be the common theme these days.

My thoughts exactly. It seems the same with general road use etiquette, standing in line anywhere (you know the trick "I'll stand in line with one or two things while my partner goes off and gets a whole shopping trolley full of stuff then just pushes in where I'm standing"?), and so on...

Filling up the Patrol, we usually try to find unmanned servos where we can. Between the dual tanks its a lot of fuel, and we find its usually faster (particularly because it weeds out those challenged individuals who couldn't work out the card payment system, if they even wanted diesel, LOL) and cheaper. Win win.

« Reply #31 on: April 30, 2018, 12:02:28 PM »
On our WA trip last year we pulled into a servo [small town] to find a car [empty], no probs I thought, they are just in paying.... 5 mins goes by [maybe they are having a leak??] another 5.. WTF. Kate goes into the shop & asks who might own the white Magna? I do said the lady who was sitting at one of the tables HAVING HER LUNCH!!! Not happy when she was told not to rush as I was just about to knock the car into netrual & give it a nudge with the bullbar..... but she moved her car.

« Reply #32 on: April 30, 2018, 01:42:08 PM »
Saw this just the other week in Bowen.
Cars on the left hand side of the pumps backed up out to the highway, not one car on the right hand side. I roll passed the 5 or 6 cars and the gas truck and park beside the prado with 6m boat on trailer at the diesel pump that is blocking everyone in (if not for the boat the petrol que could have exited behind the diesel pumps).

I fill up with 60 odd liters of diesel, prado is still there when I finish.
Go and pay for fuel, no one else paying for fuel at the counter, get back and prado is still there. The guy is the gas truck looks like he is going to murder someone.
As I'm driving away I see Mr and Mrs prado walking to their vehicle with their lunch in their hands, the line up on the left hand side of the pumps is will out on to the highway shoulder by now.

« Reply #33 on: April 30, 2018, 06:20:32 PM »
Saw this just the other week in Bowen.
Cars on the left hand side of the pumps backed up out to the highway, not one car on the right hand side. I roll passed the 5 or 6 cars and the gas truck and park beside the prado with 6m boat on trailer at the diesel pump that is blocking everyone in (if not for the boat the petrol que could have exited behind the diesel pumps).

I fill up with 60 odd liters of diesel, prado is still there when I finish.
Go and pay for fuel, no one else paying for fuel at the counter, get back and prado is still there. The guy is the gas truck looks like he is going to murder someone.
As I'm driving away I see Mr and Mrs prado walking to their vehicle with their lunch in their hands, the line up on the left hand side of the pumps is will out on to the highway shoulder by now.
Unbelievable

Sent from my SM-J320ZN using Tapatalk

« Reply #34 on: April 30, 2018, 06:41:40 PM »
Unbelievable

Some people just don't give a toss

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:

« Reply #35 on: April 30, 2018, 07:00:15 PM »
Some people just don't give a toss

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:
They don't
They just don't get how easy it is to be a good person.

« Reply #36 on: April 30, 2018, 07:07:46 PM »
They don't
Something similar happened locally to me.
Walked inside to the cashier and asked if they knew where/who the driver of an unattended car on the apron was.
She picked up a Mic. for the P.A. and called them out.  A very sheepish person appeared and shifted the car and returned to what they were doing.
Good result all round I thought.  Everyone in the shop got a lesson at someones embarrassed expense.
The following users thanked this post: Dingo0163

Fuel Station Etiquette
« Reply #37 on: April 30, 2018, 07:10:05 PM »
The one bit of fuel station etiquette that’s hard to pick these days is moving your car forward before you pay.

In small towns with local people (like 90% of my fuel stops these days) it’s not so bad. But some of the bigger ones flip out if you drive forward to let the next person behind you use the pump while you go in to pay.

If you go back to your car after filling up and before going to pay they immediately think you’re doing a runner.
I’ve even seen a couple of signs recently saying pay for fuel before moving vehicle.

I get the paranoia because doing a runner is such a real thing these days, but it is another little bit of courtesy that’s lost these days.

« Reply #38 on: April 30, 2018, 07:29:29 PM »
I hear what your saying Pete, but how much effort to move the car after paying, then do what you have to.

« Reply #39 on: April 30, 2018, 07:32:09 PM »
The one bit of fuel station etiquette that’s hard to pick these days is moving your car forward before you pay.

In small towns with local people (like 90% of my fuel stops these days) it’s not so bad. But some of the bigger ones flip out if you drive forward to let the next person behind you use the pump while you go in to pay.

If you go back to your car after filling up and before going to pay they immediately think you’re doing a runner.
I’ve even seen a couple of signs recently saying pay for fuel before moving vehicle.

I get the paranoia because doing a runner is such a real thing these days, but it is another little bit of courtesy that’s lost these days.

Yep, the problem is in most places you'd have someone running out to take your plate (or checking their CCTV...) assuming you're driving off. While once it was considered common courtesy and most decent people did it, now it's pretty much frowned upon. How times change.

« Reply #40 on: April 30, 2018, 07:33:42 PM »
I hear what your saying Pete, but how much effort to move the car after paying, then do what you have to.
Spot on.

« Reply #41 on: April 30, 2018, 07:37:08 PM »
Quote from: Cruiser 105Tvan
They don't want you to move cause its been proven that some station owners make the attendant pay for fuel that is stolen.. totally illegal, but it has happened. Its called looking after people from their own country on Min wage - drive offs.

It would be different in a small town where theres maybe 3 cars at a time, but when its a busy as **** place like round here where theres a dozen cars going through, it would be impossible for Apu to keep an eye on them all.

The following users thanked this post: trinityalyce

« Reply #42 on: April 30, 2018, 09:22:27 PM »
They don't

like the old fella dropping his I'm guessing grand daughter off at school today, that decided to pull in and park where I was in the middle of reversing my trailer into right out front of our jobsite this morning (had moved vehicle for a timber delivery). I got out and asked him to move (he literally had just stopped with engine still running with plenty of other options 10 metres away to park in), he told me to park further away, I explained we needed to run gear from the trailer, he still put up an argument and said he'll only be a few minutes...., by now i'm pretty peeved and I told him "just move your f'ing vehicle", he then complains about me swearing infront of his grand daughter....guess what old man, I wouldn't have sworn if you weren't so rude and lazy to just move when nicely first asked  to do so, and you then walk the extra 10 metres it was to park elsewhere. He was nice enough to move after I swore at him ::)

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #43 on: April 30, 2018, 09:34:09 PM »
I just discovered a 24hr unmanned fuel depot nearby....as of todays prices it is 18.0cents cheaper than the rivals and BP fuel. I'll be fuelling up after 11pm from now on I reckon!  :cup:

Tim

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #44 on: April 30, 2018, 09:34:34 PM »
If someone's waiting, I will move the car before paying.
What are the attendants going to do if I haven't left the property?

The following users thanked this post: Murph

« Reply #45 on: April 30, 2018, 10:38:24 PM »
Most Servos have a parking area within site of the cashier.
To move to one of those areas and then go in to pay wouldn't be unreasonable.
Your average Servo Attendant wouldn't realize until you tell them the pump No. and amount anyway.
Unless you were the only one there.

Offline Moxley

« Reply #46 on: April 30, 2018, 11:07:05 PM »
If someone's waiting, I will move the car before paying.
What are the attendants going to do if I haven't left the property?

I thought it wasn’t a good idea to do short trips in your diesel.  Does this not matter if the car’s already warmed up?

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
« Reply #47 on: April 30, 2018, 11:27:40 PM »
I thought it wasn’t a good idea to do short trips in your diesel.  Does this not matter if the car’s already warmed up?

ya only moving it 20 feet before continuing on your journey
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

« Reply #48 on: May 01, 2018, 07:08:36 AM »
Our local servo the other day, We pulled up, grabbed the fuel nozzle stuck it in the rank, the screen on the bowser clears to 0's, pull the trigger,  the  pump kicked over for a split second then   " NOTHING "  stand there like a Limp D*ck in a Brothel, try again Nothing, WTF ... Must be a fault in the pump,The screen still read all 0's,  meanwhile the lady opposite has sent her kid in to get the attendant, her pump wasnt working either..
Dopey attendant comes out and anounces that the pumps wont work until they finish changing the price ..   >:D >:D >:D
But we picked up and started to fill at the old price. Sooo do we still get our fuel at that rate ?  "  No you have to pay the new price " ...
Not happy, Went from $1.38 to $1.48  ..in the blink of an eye practicaly ..
No use going to the other servo up the road as they were getting a fuel delivery .

Offline Moxley

« Reply #49 on: May 01, 2018, 07:38:30 AM »
ya only moving it 20 feet before continuing on your journey

That’s correct, and it is what I am asking about.