Author Topic: Brisbane 4wd show  (Read 5507 times)

Offline PWE

Brisbane 4wd show
« on: March 17, 2018, 06:02:08 PM »
After some feedback.
Did anyone go, and was it the same as last year or is there something new?
Price is $18 bucks, so not sure if it is worthwhile going if it is the same as always.
Change is good, so smile and enjoy life!
Landcruiser 76 tourer

Re: Brisbane 4wd show
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2018, 07:02:26 PM »
We went today. Spent the whole day there... Picked up quite a few bits and bobs at show prices which is a bonus.

...Going back tomorrow for hopefully a lot less time. LOL.

Offline Bailey

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2018, 07:24:38 PM »
Promo code for free tickets online here:

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/366993

The following users thanked this post: PWE

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2018, 08:01:01 PM »
I got given 6 free tickets yesterday 8) (though I have given a couple away already)..... might  go tomorrow as I read on another forum that JMACX were supposably going to have brake boosters for my 79 on sale at a good price.....anyone know if that's the case or not?

Offline PWE

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2018, 08:54:15 PM »
RumpPig, I have the jmacx brake booster with braided lines and can honestly say that i do not feel a difference when braking. I have not done any hard braking, but the brake do not ‘bite’ earlier under normal braking.
I would rather add cruise control than brake booster, or the steering wheel control, if they are legal.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2018, 09:23:09 PM by PWE »
Landcruiser 76 tourer

Offline PWE

« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2018, 08:55:03 PM »
Promo code for free tickets online here:

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/366993

Thanks mate, the code still works
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2018, 09:15:41 PM »
RumpPig, I have the jmacx brake booster with braided lines and can honestly say that i do not feel a divergence when braking. I have not done any hard braking, but the brake do not ‘bite’ earlier under normal braking.
I would rather add cruise control than brake booster, or the steering wheel control, if they are legal.
you are the first person I have read of that isn't that impressed with the booster, every post I have read elsewhere raves about the improvement it has made to their vehicles....my brakes are woeful, they need improving. I don't want earlier bite, I want them to actually stop me without me pushing the pedal through the floor.

Offline PWE

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2018, 07:55:14 AM »
Rumpig, as I stated I have not tested the brakes under hard braking, just normal every day driving and I could not tell the difference.
Check their YouTube clip, under hard braking it improve the stopping distance bases on their clip.
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2018, 08:21:57 AM »
Just a thought ... Could the factory brake pads be too hard of a compound ? .
Maybe the brake pads need a slightly softer compound to give a better brake performance  when colder ..
Hard compound pads are woeful till they get hot,  then they start to work well ..
Intermitent braking would be terrible with the harder pads ..
As I say it could be a possibility .

« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2018, 08:30:23 AM »
Just a thought ... Could the factory brake pads be too hard of a compound ? .
Maybe the brake pads need a slightly softer compound to give a better brake performance  when colder ..
Hard compound pads are woeful till they get hot,  then they start to work well ..
Intermitent braking would be terrible with the harder pads ..
As I say it could be a possibility .
the brakes are just rubbish alround....i'm running different pads and different rotars from factory, hasn't made a differance.
The following users thanked this post: edz

Offline wada4wd

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2018, 10:33:46 AM »
An improved booster works better than standard. There are other brands but Jmacx seems to be popular.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DxkwXywfBco

If you replace the booster and still not good enough, go talk to Patriot Campers, they have larger discs and calipers:

https://youtu.be/4NzDhFGbOlI?t=97

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2018, 03:11:37 PM »
Rumpig, as I stated I have not tested the brakes under hard braking, just normal every day driving and I could not tell the difference.
Check their YouTube clip, under hard braking it improve the stopping distance bases on their clip.
out of curiosity, did you do the braided brake lines also or just the booster?

Offline PWE

« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2018, 09:32:10 PM »
Both, bought and fitted at Roosystems
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2018, 06:36:12 AM »
Both, bought and fitted at Roosystems
i had my old fourby tuned by the place Roosystems used to be called (Glen Haddens old company), i’ll never take any of my vehicles back there.

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2018, 07:52:17 AM »
i had my old fourby tuned by the place Roosystems used to be called (Glen Haddens old company), i’ll never take any of my vehicles back there.
I had a tune and exhaust put on by too systems, after 3 made them take everything off and refund my money, complete waste of time. They just made my vehicle go into limp mode and was useless if driven for more than an hour at a time. They had multiple tries at trying to fix it with no success. This seemed a common problem every time I went in, others had the same issue

3rd time lucky

« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2018, 07:50:48 PM »
I had a tune and exhaust put on by too systems, after 3 made them take everything off and refund my money, complete waste of time. They just made my vehicle go into limp mode and was useless if driven for more than an hour at a time. They had multiple tries at trying to fix it with no success. This seemed a common problem every time I went in, others had the same issue

Had my 200 done 14 months ago and hasnt missed a beat. Genie exhaust & ECU remap. No problems at all. 100% satisfied....just saying.

Offline PWE

« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2018, 12:31:12 PM »
I cannot fault them either.

Anyway, was interested to note that there was three of those show pony 6x6 landcruisers at the show. Chest beating echo utes in my view.
There was also a couple of the EarthCruisers at the show.
Otherwise, the normal stuff was around.
One thing I was keen to findout was the underbody protection other LC70 have, so I had a good look under all the show cars and none have a bashplate from behind the front axle to the transfercase cross member. I have a EDS plate, but am now considering to remove it. Don't see the need for a plate in that area.
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2018, 08:16:51 AM »
I cannot fault them either.

Anyway, was interested to note that there was three of those show pony 6x6 landcruisers at the show. Chest beating echo utes in my view.
There was also a couple of the EarthCruisers at the show.
Otherwise, the normal stuff was around.
One thing I was keen to findout was the underbody protection other LC70 have, so I had a good look under all the show cars and none have a bashplate from behind the front axle to the transfercase cross member. I have a EDS plate, but am now considering to remove it. Don't see the need for a plate in that area.

You just described half the 4wds on the road today...

« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2018, 10:36:31 AM »
You just described half the 4wds on the road today...
this isn’t aimed at you in any way, just a general reply to that sentiment ....I don’t see the big deal with it myself, what business is it of anyone’s what someone else owns or drives, most that whinge are usually just jealous I reckon, personally I couldn’t care less who drives what or where they do or don’t go with their vehicle.

« Reply #19 on: March 21, 2018, 10:40:35 AM »
Quote from: Rumpig
you are the first person I have read of that isn't that impressed with the booster, every post I have read elsewhere raves about the improvement it has made to their vehicles...

Not many people like to admit that the $$$$ they spend were a waste ;)

« Reply #20 on: March 21, 2018, 01:07:13 PM »
this isn’t aimed at you in any way, just a general reply to that sentiment ....I don’t see the big deal with it myself, what business is it of anyone’s what someone else owns or drives, most that whinge are usually just jealous I reckon, personally I couldn’t care less who drives what or where they do or don’t go with their vehicle.

For someone dodging and hiding from the rain and contemplating knocking off for the day, you've got your grumpy pants on Mal... ;D ;D :laugh:

« Reply #21 on: March 21, 2018, 02:25:17 PM »

For someone dodging and hiding from the rain and contemplating knocking off for the day, you've got your grumpy pants on Mal... ;D ;D :laugh:
it's ok for you to be jealous about Landcruiser owners mate, I won't judge you...and i am sitting on the lounge at home now  8) ;D

Not many people like to admit that the $$$$ they spend were a waste ;)
all the comments I have read have been glowing reports  say things along the lines of ...this is how it should have come from the factory..... they have been stoked with the result