Author Topic: homemade fly traps  (Read 4664 times)

homemade fly traps
« on: December 15, 2017, 08:59:24 AM »
hi all,

just wanted to get any ideas from the forum about homemade fly traps/bait for around the house?

we are experiencing an above average influx of flies around the home this year and was wondering if anyone has any ideas that they have used with some success?

thought about getting one of these from the green shed, but thought i would try here first...

https://www.bunnings.com.au/envirosafe-fly-trap-with-refill_p4475914

Re: homemade fly traps
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2017, 09:14:55 AM »
They work, that's 6 days worth of flies  :cup: .........but the green stuff that you mix up to attract the flies really smells bad !!!!!
We've had a lot fo flies this summer also, that's why I've pulled the trap out of the camper and hung it around the side of the house.

The following users thanked this post: paceman

Offline Onion

• Open-AudIT
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2017, 09:51:15 AM »
Have used the same as JK. Yes, they stink. Yes, they work.
Trackabout owner.

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2017, 10:19:29 AM »
I used one of these successfully.
My problem was european wasps.
A mix of sugar and some bad meat with hot water and leave that outside in the shade.
Killed heaps of them.  Especially when we found the nest.

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2017, 10:46:04 AM »
Just built a verandah  for someone running the types above (they had a couple of them), they seemed to work well as mentioned being heaps of flies inside both, but that liquid stinks. Took till the second day for me to realise where the smell was coming from, can't say i'd have them on my verandah at home with how they smell,  maybe in the backyard right down the back....not sure if that keeps them away from your food on the verandah then though.

« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2017, 01:09:16 PM »
They work, that's 6 days worth of flies  :cup: .........but the green stuff that you mix up to attract the flies really smells bad !!!!!
We've had a lot fo flies this summer also, that's why I've pulled the trap out of the camper and hung it around the side of the house.

We had these EVERYWHERE when I was a kid. Oh, the joys of growing up on a dairy farm.  ::) They work though!

« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2017, 01:10:36 PM »
looks like the consensus is to just get the one from the green shed... :)

thanks all for the input...

« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2017, 01:21:36 PM »
We use those at work too and it seems the more flies in them the more they attract .. hang them outside of course .

Offline Muckinhell

• 2014 Ecomate traveller forward fold.
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2017, 12:06:52 PM »
They are a good unit although i think the people that benifit are the neighbours as it brings em in from everywhere and everyone else's place.
2005 HDJ100r Sahara
Better to look at it, than for it!

Offline Hookie

« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2017, 01:49:52 PM »
Like the last couple of posts, I used them for a while but then gave up because while they catch a metric crapload of flies, they attract more than I have ever had around here without them. Having said that, I don't have cows or even a dog, so I don't get a lot of flies normally.

I keep fresh binkills in my wheelie bins (https://binkill.com.au/ - woolies or bunnings) and they work like magic, I always know if I've missed the expiry date because once they're done maggots show up immediately.

« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2017, 08:51:09 AM »
Just saw this mentioned on another forum: https://bugasalt.com/

Yes, please, Santa!!! :cup: :D >:D

« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2017, 08:56:41 AM »

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2017, 09:21:01 AM »

Santa may or may not have put a mini Cross bow in the toy sack this year, Flies bugs and Bloody Indonesian Gheckos  [ Bastards crap everywhere and dont eat the flies ] had better look out, Big game hunting in Da house ..  ;D
Comes with extra bag of suction cap darts for about $20 .. May or may not be good fun with the kids too . ;D ;D

« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2017, 09:25:38 AM »
Santa may or may not have put a mini Cross bow in the toy sack this year, Flies bugs and Bloody Indonesian Gheckos  [ Bastards crap everywhere and dont eat the flies ] had better look out, Big game hunting in Da house ..  ;D
Comes with extra bag of suction cap darts for about $20 .. May or may not be good fun with the kids too . ;D ;D

link?

« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2017, 09:58:03 AM »
Here you go Paceman .. Sorry it was part of a bigger order so the $$ were closer to $30 http://www.apexhunting.com.au/p/exact-toy-crossbow/MK-MK-TB-B  Shipped very quick .. Its only a toy thing  [ Mods can happen  ;D ]  but it will do .

« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2017, 01:40:26 PM »
Its only a toy thing  [ Mods can happen  ;D ]  but it will do .

What, a bit like this ??? >:D

« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2017, 01:49:44 PM »
Didn't jed clampett use a shotty and a mirror over to see the wall and shoot flies off the wall behind him?

« Reply #17 on: December 21, 2017, 02:32:28 PM »
MMmm  Kinda like that and maybe make up a new limb section to double or triple  the draw weight  poundage, might even go able to go fishing with it then    ;D ;D
Could have always made one I guess https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eAW5CyOJCag