Author Topic: What was your first/worst car? Post pics and tell us about it  (Read 8717 times)

Re: What was your first/worst car? Post pics and tell us about it
« Reply #25 on: August 17, 2017, 04:47:29 PM »
The one I still wish I still had!   :'(

« Reply #26 on: August 17, 2017, 04:49:25 PM »
And of course, the current one, the best:

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #27 on: August 17, 2017, 05:17:49 PM »
First car was a bought in 1987

1972 Toyota Corona sedan
1968 Toyota Landcruiser
197? Mazda 929 sedan
197? Mazda 929 coupe
1972 Datsun 1600 sedan 2 off these
197? Datsun 1200 wagon
1969 Ford XW Wagon ... 302 winsor 2 off these
1980 Ford XD sedan
1990 Ford XF sedan
2003 Nissan Patrol 4.8 petrol auto
2008 Nissan Patrol 3ltr manual
Now days nothing ..... but one day hope to fix that

Im sure ive forgoten one or two but meh , so yeah just a few ... lol 

Marv

Offline listo

« Reply #28 on: August 17, 2017, 08:18:09 PM »
Mine was a 1975 Daihatsu F10. My cousin bought a cruiser ute, so he got a mate to write out a roadworthy & said if I paid the rego, it was mine as I was the 4wd lover in the family. It cost $430 for the rego and fuel to go to Barcaldine & tow it back.
It ran on next to nothing, seemed to have more horse power than a push bike but less than a wippersnipper. I loved it, she was a cool rig & hard to bog.

My favourite was a '98 cruiser ute. Cruiser utes were all I ever wanted & I finally had my own. Every time I see a photo of it, I shed a tear... bloody kids!

Offline listo

« Reply #29 on: August 17, 2017, 08:23:14 PM »
Don't know how to rotate the photo sorry
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 08:26:07 PM by listo »

« Reply #30 on: August 18, 2017, 06:50:06 AM »
Don't know how to rotate the photo sorry

l thought you live in steep country     :cheers:

« Reply #31 on: August 18, 2017, 03:27:51 PM »
And of course, the current one, the best:

It must be a Jeep - it's on it's side! :D >:D

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #32 on: August 18, 2017, 04:17:34 PM »
The one I still wish I still had!   :'(

I'm currently looking at buying this one. VG Pacer, matching no car, 100% complete. All the usual Pacer stuff that goes missing is there. Seats, rocker cover, air cleaner housing and oil cap. Even has the original radio & gear knob. The plan is, if I get it, is to do a mechanical, steering and suspension rebuild but leave the body the way it is. I didn't think I would miss my Hardtop when I sold it the other month but apparently I do.
Cheers, Mike.
http://imgur.com/a/TDqrf
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #33 on: August 18, 2017, 05:32:25 PM »
I told ya not to do it....

Good on ya for getting another one though.  :cup:

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #34 on: August 18, 2017, 06:01:09 PM »
I told ya not to do it....

Good on ya for getting another one though.  :cup:
I know. You weren't alone in telling me. This one has been sitting for quite awhile. The owner is a Val freak but he admits he's not into Hardtops. He does have a couple of rare Chargers that he is restoring. A E55(factory 340 barrel) and an E57(factory 360 four barrel).
My theory for leaving the body alone is purely a matter of $$$$. To do the car justice, I imagine panel and paint would be around 25-30K. Plus I think the ratty survivor look is cool. Everyone has a shiny car.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #35 on: August 18, 2017, 06:09:04 PM »
Yep, go the ratty survivor look.

I refuse to fix the marks etc on the Cad for the same reason.

At Greazefest 2 weeks ago, it was 50/50 between shiny paint and original patina style paint.

Offline BTMNDR

« Reply #36 on: August 24, 2017, 11:37:00 PM »
EH panel van, 186 red motor (not standard). It was 10 years old when I bought it from Bill Patterson's in Ringwood for $1000. With the infinite wisdom of a not quite 18 year old, at the time, I was worried about spending that kind of money on an ancient 10 year old car.

My girlfriend's folks weren't too happy, and wouldn't let her in the car until I'd driven 10,000 miles, which I did in 6 months.

Fond memories of both the girlfriend and that panel van.  ;D
« Last Edit: August 25, 2017, 07:54:18 AM by BTMNDR »
Former TOPNDR.

« Reply #37 on: August 25, 2017, 11:13:38 AM »
had one of these without the cage.. sad to see what rusty Shitheap 1600's go for these days :( Love another one. So much fun to drive.

but wish it was like this

smoothest car I've had was a 93 626 V6 5 speed.. very kewl car.. similar to tihs

Most klms I had was 330k klms on a 1990 TF Rodeo... brilliant ute she was.. towed many race bikes and trailers of bikes around Aussie :D

... still love the Pont...

« Reply #38 on: August 25, 2017, 07:12:17 PM »
Not mine but the Mrs before she was official.
I had lost my license but figured I could drive it around coolum because it wasn't a real car
Behold the Subaru Sherpa

Offline Ozsnowman

• "Missus wants an Avan"
  • Travelling with Shirley the van!
« Reply #39 on: September 05, 2017, 10:19:28 AM »
Mine was Dad's old XB Falcon. 6 cyl, 3 speed auto and vinyl bench seats - some of the time it ran on 5 cylinders and if you didn't overfill the auto transmission fluid, it would only get to 2nd gear lol. But it got me to work for a year or so, so it did its job!

Bought an EH wagon to do up, could never get around to it, sold it - still kick myself to this day.

Had a HZ Kingswood, bought for 3 grand - two years later sold for $3300 lol. Was a great car!
« Last Edit: September 05, 2017, 10:21:07 AM by Ozsnowman »
We've swapped from the camper to a van yay! :)