Author Topic: Art and Drawing courses for absolute deadset beginners  (Read 6931 times)

Art and Drawing courses for absolute deadset beginners
« on: August 15, 2017, 11:50:09 PM »
Has anyone done any art type classes?? I failed stick figures at school and don't have an artistic atom in my body.

I need a new hobby, and I reckon being able to pull up somewhere and painting a native scene somewhere would be really kewl..
We all take photos, but when you go away and look at some of the galleries and what there is...

Paint somethings like this person does -a pro I know.. but I like the work.
http://www.moyraleblancsmith.com/

or by some other dude.. from google images

« Last Edit: May 30, 2021, 09:32:19 PM by Bird »

Re: Art and Drawing courses for absolute deadset beginners
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2017, 11:56:53 PM »
Some artists take a few photos of the scene they want to paint to preserve the moment then get the colours and layout sorted in situ and finish the painting back in the studio using the reference photos. My late morher was brilliant at this method as she didn't have the time to sit on site.
There are plenty of art organisations running cousres around the nation. U3A is one mob.

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2017, 12:03:55 AM »
Quote from: Snow
There are plenty of art organisations running cousres around the nation. U3A is one mob.

Yea googling is getting me plenty of hits.. Was hoping for a genuine recommendation.

Some *basic* courses aren't really that.. Did a Oracle course once.. got to the "introduction to Oracle" day 1...
And we went round the room doing intros... Nobody else in the class had been using Oracle for less than 10 years - most many more...
I put my hand up and said I must be in the wrong room as I've never seen it before and Im here to learn it.. Needless to say that was a waste of time

We had an artist few doors down from us back home - Otto Kuster https://kevinhillstopten.com.au/artists/8/otto-kuster
He does Pallet knife paintings... really kewl. he did art classes but they weren't cool when I was 18 :(

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2017, 12:08:19 AM »
No worries, I hope you get going soon. Good luck.  :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2017, 05:41:26 AM »
Check out the local paper as there is always a group out there that are toiling away . l found an artist that gave group classes not far from home that l joined . l used oils as that appealed to me more so l went with it . Life class turned out badly as it looked like Mr Squiggle had a fit so l went back to landscapes  . l still enjoy dabbling every now & again .
Give it a go  , you can only try . The thing you have to know is when to stop working on a piece  ??? , or start working on your next canvas .  :cheers:

Offline Raym

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2017, 06:21:27 AM »
Have a look at Len Hend.

http://paintwithlen.com/

Some of his stuff is on youtube. He is easy to follow & his make it up as you go along relaxed style suits me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRv2-6bsauU

He also had a free course on Open learning. https://www.openlearning.com/courses/painting

« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2017, 08:57:01 AM »
Quote from: Kangaron
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1hiBHlbJ-8
If it wasnt so $ to start it could be ok.
I'm still paying off the kids... LOL and it certainly beats gold panning I did for years with the olds as a kid up Sofala way ;)

« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2017, 10:18:44 AM »
My suggestion would be find a local gallery and ask there. Quite a few artists either run classes or do private tutoring, but many aren't "out there" with their marketing.

I was lucky as a kid. My aunt is/was an artist, so I had her teach me a few things. Mostly I was self-taught with a bit of input from her. Don't really have the time for it at all anymore. Wish I did, its a great skill to have. But you don't really lose it, you just get a bit out of practice, like most things...

« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2017, 10:18:58 AM »
If it wasnt so $ to start it could be ok.
I'm still paying off the kids... LOL and it certainly beats gold panning I did for years with the olds as a kid up Sofala way ;)

It will cost you the same to set up for art and go to lessons.....

I'm like you don't have an art bone in my body....and reckon it would be hard work if the basics didn't come naturally.

My wife is an artist and every time we travel or multi day hike art consumable are always packed.....she generally works of a photo taken through the day as a water colour or pastel can take a few hours and by than the sun/lighting has moved.

« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2017, 10:38:27 AM »
It will cost you the same to set up for art and go to lessons.....

That's a very good point. Good art stuff isn't cheap. I have artist friends who gave up on it (who had been full-time artists as their main source of income) because what they were spending on consumables vs. what money they could make back on selling the art or taking commissions wasn't worth it.

That said, some hobbies aren't cheap. I don't want to add up what I've spent on camera gear and other photography equipment... LOL.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2017, 11:50:57 AM »
geez Bird...

if you wanna' paint nude people... just come out and say so.
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2017, 11:59:14 AM »
That said, some hobbies aren't cheap. I don't want to add up what I've spent on camera gear and other photography equipment... LOL.

4wd's, CTs/Caravans, mod's, camping equipment, permits ... :'(

Not having a go at you Trinity :D - I mean all of us! >:D

« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2017, 06:33:06 PM »
4wd's, CTs/Caravans, mod's, camping equipment, permits ... :'(

Not having a go at you Trinity :D - I mean all of us! >:D

We're a 3 4WD family and are looking at buying a caravan now too. Tell me about it. ALL our hobbies are expensive. ;)

Offline gordo350

« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2017, 06:47:01 PM »
What's workin for if it ain't for toys
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2017, 08:37:23 PM »
This bloke does some awesome Shit!
http://www.outbackaustralianart.com.au/

« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2017, 09:43:03 PM »
Have you notified the National Gallery as yet  that you putting on the paint  ??? ??? Dabbling in the yarts so to speak , just don't chop an ear . OK
                             >:D     :'(            :cheers: :cup:

« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2017, 04:04:41 AM »
geez Bird...

He's thinking of self portraits.  ;D  :angel:

« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2017, 04:06:35 AM »
What about the local community centre/information centre, they normally have that sort of info?

« Reply #19 on: August 26, 2017, 10:04:20 PM »
Have you notified the National Gallery as yet  that you putting on the paint  ??? ??? Dabbling in the yarts so to speak , just don't chop an ear . OK
                             >:D     :'(            :cheers: :cup:
He's thinking of self portraits.  ;D  :angel:

geez Bird...

Don't you have to have a really big mirror as well.
Won't be any good if the mirror came out of a carnival fun house though.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2017, 09:21:10 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

Online GeoffA

« Reply #20 on: August 26, 2017, 11:41:55 PM »
Have you considered photography??..... :P

« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2017, 04:45:11 AM »
l reckon you should Meditate   ,  that's better than sitting around doing nothing    :cheers:

« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2021, 05:18:54 PM »
Have a look at Len Hend.

http://paintwithlen.com/

Some of his stuff is on youtube. He is easy to follow & his make it up as you go along relaxed style suits me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRv2-6bsauU

He also had a free course on Open learning. https://www.openlearning.com/courses/painting
yea been watching his vids... in 10 mins he does somethign amazing that would take me 500,000 attempts and I'd still not be happy with them... But yea they are fantastic

Offline Moggy

« Reply #23 on: May 30, 2021, 06:40:41 PM »
Google Scott Christensen "Paint The Ocean". He specialises in seascapes & is exceptional,  I have a print.
He has a online course, which I did sign up for, & he breaks things down quite well. Is probably structured more for established artists, but does give a good insight into the process.
The course can be pricey, but he does from time to time run discounted promotions. From memory usually around special holidays, eg; mothers day, father day & Xmas.
I went through the course, found it informative,  but alas work got in the way of my artistic endeavours, but in saying that, it is a lifetime subscription,  so once you sign up you get full support(so to speak).
He steps out the process that he goes through for each painting, which is quite simplistic & that's coming from someone who also failed stick figures 101.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline Raym

« Reply #24 on: May 30, 2021, 09:43:35 PM »
yea been watching his vids... in 10 mins he does somethign amazing that would take me 500,000 attempts and I'd still not be happy with them... But yea they are fantastic

Mate I struggle to draw stick figures but by following him along step by step I can produce this. Not the greatest I know but makes one feel warm & fuzzy. I hadn't tried this for a couple of years but finally picked up a brush again.

He now has 70 lessons on a USB for $70 bucks I think.
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans