Author Topic: NRL Season 2017  (Read 60589 times)

Re: NRL Season 2017
« Reply #50 on: March 23, 2017, 08:54:12 PM »
They're only paying $2.65 head to head at the moment on Sportsbet. I thought it'd be a lot more than that
i wouldn't bet on them if they were paying 10 X that amount, with the way they have played the past 2 weeks.
Chooks looked the goods again tonight, reckon they'll be top 4 this year assuming Pearce stays off the grog and party gear, and injuries are kind to the club
« Last Edit: March 23, 2017, 08:55:57 PM by Rumpig »

Offline listo

« Reply #51 on: March 24, 2017, 07:08:37 AM »
Yeh for sure mate, I wouldn't bet on it either. I just thought that attitude would be all round pushing the price up to $8-10.
Bit embarrassing for the Knights paying $5 against Penrith (I wouldn't throw my money away on that either)

« Reply #52 on: April 07, 2017, 10:08:00 AM »
Wow..

Matt Cecchin has driven to Shark Park countless times during his refereeing career, but this time was different.

He knew something wasn't right.

It was round four last season and Cronulla were about to host Melbourne. For Cecchin, who has officiated more than 350 first grade matches since 2001 and is the game's most experienced referee, it was just another day at the office.

But then it hit him. He panicked. He phoned his partner. "I'm thinking about faking an injury," he said. "I can't do this."

When Cecchin arrived at the ground, he pulled aside his pocket referee, Dave Munro. "Mate, I have to tell you something – I'm not in a good way," he said. "I don't want to tell you this because I know you might be shocked but there might be times in this game when you have to step in."

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/i-was-going-to-fake-an-injury-nrl-referee-matt-cecchin-opens-up-about-mental-health-20170406-gvezcm.html

« Reply #53 on: April 07, 2017, 04:04:58 PM »
Good on him on being able to come out and speak publicly about that issue, hopefully others will be willing seek the help they need now if the pressure gets to much for them, instead of doing something drastic that will effect many people for a long time.

« Reply #54 on: April 07, 2017, 04:11:22 PM »
Good on him on being able to come out and speak publicly about that issue, hopefully others will be willing seek the help they need now if the pressure gets to much for them, instead of doing something drastic that will effect many people for a long time.
agree

"Cecchin, 43, as well as fellow referee Ben Cummins, will on Friday be named as one of the NRL's new State of Mind ambassadors, who support the game's extensive mental health program."

« Reply #55 on: April 09, 2017, 04:33:01 PM »
A big thank you to the Cowgirls for moving my team up off of  the bottom of the ladder last night  :cup:

« Reply #56 on: April 09, 2017, 07:38:58 PM »
A big thank you to the Cowgirls for moving my team up off of  the bottom of the ladder last night  :cup:

They played well and deserved the win mate.
   Looked a different team last night and great to see.

« Reply #57 on: April 09, 2017, 07:51:32 PM »

They played well and deserved the win mate.
   Looked a different team last night and great to see.

i don't have pay tv so didn't see it sadly. Have only gotten to see their losing games so far on free to air, all of which I turned off about 5 minutes into the second half...lol

« Reply #58 on: April 09, 2017, 08:20:32 PM »
I don't have pay tv either. I've got the NRL Telstra app.
I can watch the games free as long as I'm a Telstra customer.

« Reply #59 on: April 10, 2017, 05:52:47 AM »
I don't have pay tv either. I've got the NRL Telstra app.
I can watch the games free as long as I'm a Telstra customer.

i thought you had to pay for that?...I had it last year for free seeing I renewed my contract with them, but thought it was only 12 months free. Not really looked into it this year as I didn't use it much, but I thought it cost me this year and just the download amount didn't come off the users limit.

« Reply #60 on: April 10, 2017, 07:47:21 PM »
I didn't have to pay for it. I just updated to the 2017 app and away it goes.

« Reply #61 on: April 10, 2017, 08:58:58 PM »
I didn't have to pay for it. I just updated to the 2017 app and away it goes.

i'll have a look then

« Reply #62 on: April 13, 2017, 01:00:22 PM »
great buy for the broncos...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/jack-bird-rejects-cronulla-sharks-offer-to-join-the-brisbane-broncos/news-story/09f32304df28451d94d03e0b4072e11b

he can play lock, fullback, centre, 5/8th and probably second row in a pinch...  doesn't get more versatile than that...

i reckon benny will put him as a lock, with 5/8th thrown in sometimes... mcguire back to prop, where he belongs...

« Reply #63 on: April 13, 2017, 08:26:52 PM »
great buy for the broncos...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/jack-bird-rejects-cronulla-sharks-offer-to-join-the-brisbane-broncos/news-story/09f32304df28451d94d03e0b4072e11b

he can play lock, fullback, centre, 5/8th and probably second row in a pinch...  doesn't get more versatile than that...

i reckon benny will put him as a lock, with 5/8th thrown in sometimes... mcguire back to prop, where he belongs...

Me think he will end up as 1 and Boyd to 6

« Reply #64 on: April 21, 2017, 07:43:02 PM »
That was one of T H E best diving tries I've ever seen...
18-14 with 7 to go...

Offline Banjo16

• The road less travelled
« Reply #65 on: April 21, 2017, 10:03:15 PM »
With all the technology they still get it wrong. As much as I'm nota Souths supporter I think they were robbed.
Don

PB Challenger
Jayco Starcraft OB

« Reply #66 on: April 22, 2017, 06:56:45 AM »
With all the technology they still get it wrong. As much as I'm nota Souths supporter I think they were robbed.

I started watching at half time and thought the Bronco's had turned off.  They were bad, while souths were pumping.  Not having seen the first half I am not sure if the better team won. 

I think there are now too many cooks in the kitchen with regards to rulings.  Is there a perfect system, no and with the TV coverage now there will always be contentious rulings.   Kevin

« Reply #67 on: April 23, 2017, 06:17:35 PM »
One more move up from the bottom of the ladder...thanks Bulldogs  8)

Offline listo

« Reply #68 on: April 24, 2017, 05:36:03 PM »
Yeh, thanks bulldogs... wooden spoon, here we come!

Offline Banjo16

• The road less travelled
« Reply #69 on: April 25, 2017, 07:30:52 PM »
WHATS WRONG WITH A DRAW.
Don

PB Challenger
Jayco Starcraft OB

« Reply #70 on: April 29, 2017, 07:42:01 AM »

Eletric Eels put a shock through the Cow's........  ;D ;D

« Reply #71 on: April 29, 2017, 08:26:13 AM »
       Eletric Eels put a shock through the Cow's........  ;D ;D

if the Eels couldn't beat the Cows whilst they are missing Thurston, Scott, Coote and Granville (missing the teams main spine and number one forward basically)...they'd deserve to win the wooden spoon.

Offline Moggy

« Reply #72 on: April 29, 2017, 11:59:25 AM »
I was at game, & we were deplorable, hate to admit it, but even without the above mentioned, they would've struggled against a park footy team, such was the level of play.
We may make the 8, but it will likely be by good luck rather than good play, but where there's life, there's hope.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #74 on: May 06, 2017, 01:03:40 PM »
No wonder the sharks are so quick
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/cronulla-sharks/cronulla-sharks-chairman-damian-keogh-stands-down-over-alleged-cocaine-possession-20170506-gvziip.html
He's not alone, the N.Z captain is reported (on Triple M radio just before) to have done the same thing last night also....Ryan Girdler is on Triple M saying this guy shouldn't lose his job...FFS, if the head guys at the club can't set the right examples, how can they expect the players to do it, let alone be able to look them in the face and sack them for doing the same thing. Typical response from an ex player sadly, it's in their culture to just say drugs are everywhere in the cummunity, so it's no big deal that someone took them. They take the big $$$ to be involved in the game at the top level so should lead by example IMHO....get caught doing the wrong thing and kick them to the curve, they signed contracts to say that's how they'll act, stop babying everyone and send the message it's not acceptable behaviour....plenty of other talent in coaching, CEO's and players always come along.