Author Topic: NRL Season 2017  (Read 61568 times)

Re: NRL Season 2017
« Reply #150 on: August 27, 2017, 12:48:00 PM »
souths played well LMAO

« Reply #151 on: September 01, 2017, 05:29:10 AM »
Congrats Broncos.  :'( my boys were beaten by a better team on the night. All the final teams are going to have to step up a notch or two to match it with the Storm this year.

Offline listo

« Reply #152 on: September 01, 2017, 07:43:44 AM »
I just read that someone called Macklemore is going to be headlining the Grand Final entertainment, so I looked him up on iTunes...  ??? ??? ??? WTF?
No doubt the AFL entertainment will be good again

« Reply #153 on: September 01, 2017, 08:57:33 AM »
I just read that someone called Macklemore is going to be headlining the Grand Final entertainment, so I looked him up on iTunes...  ??? ??? ??? WTF?
No doubt the AFL entertainment will be good again

to be fair to the NRL, they did engage the/some fans as to who they would want as entertainment:

(quote from fox sports article)...

"And in an NRL first, the act was chosen after a special focus group involving fans. Macklemore was one of the leading choices in a vote by fans on who they wanted most to perform prior to the grand final."

the entertainment doesn't mean much to me, anyways... i watch the games, not the hoopla that surrounds it...

he's at least a big, current entertainer. 
« Last Edit: September 01, 2017, 12:34:26 PM by paceman »

« Reply #154 on: September 01, 2017, 11:37:47 AM »
Won't waste my time watching the half time show this year then  ::) ::)

Offline scblack

« Reply #155 on: September 01, 2017, 12:15:27 PM »
souths played well LMAO
Did they photoshop in the crowd again?

That's serious - Foxtel actually photoshopped people in the crowd for a Souths game.

How sad.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #156 on: September 01, 2017, 12:41:38 PM »
Did they photoshop in the crowd again?

That's serious - Foxtel actually photoshopped people in the crowd for a Souths game.

How sad.
Haha, did they photoshop 15,000 Alan Jones heads....?? ;D

Must be time to kick them out of the comp again..... ;P

Last time they averaged a couple of thousand at a game they got kicked out of the comp, then all of a sudden every B grade celeb and radio shock jock comes crawling out from under their rock and announces they're a diehard souths fan...

« Reply #157 on: September 01, 2017, 02:01:15 PM »
Won't waste my time watching the half time show this year then  ::) ::)
It will be another success like Meatloaf in the AFL LMAO

The voting was probably done by non NRL fans just to get the bloke to AU

« Reply #158 on: September 01, 2017, 02:52:14 PM »

picking suitable/popular entertainment for a big grand final is a hiding to nothing.

you can't please everybody.

i'm not a huge fan of the bloke, but why not get a current, popular, award winning international artist if you can?

this quote from another forum just about sums it up...

NRL could revive the two dead Beatles and reunite the four, along with Elvis, Michael Jackson and Freddie Mercury and people would still get upset.

« Reply #159 on: September 01, 2017, 06:58:58 PM »

more like the kids of the NRL bosses i was thinking...get to see their favourite band / artist....lol

« Reply #160 on: September 02, 2017, 02:46:27 PM »
more like the kids of the NRL bosses i was thinking...get to see their favourite band / artist....lol
pretty much what I was thinking.

« Reply #161 on: September 08, 2017, 07:58:51 PM »
Let the finals begin 8)
EDIT...My prediction...Roosters will easily beat the Broncos tonight, though it's the Broncos i'd prefer to win. Parra showed how average Brisbanes defence can be
« Last Edit: September 08, 2017, 08:19:42 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #162 on: September 08, 2017, 09:42:38 PM »
Told ya's they'd win easy...lol

« Reply #163 on: September 09, 2017, 06:15:21 AM »
Was going for the Broncos but they were so bad at times they did not deserve to win.  Maybe they missed Darius Boyd too much and I don't thing Blair was the best as captain.  Close score in the end.  Kevin

« Reply #164 on: September 09, 2017, 06:36:24 AM »
Was going for the Broncos but they were so bad at times they did not deserve to win.  Maybe they missed Darius Boyd too much and I don't thing Blair was the best as captain.  Close score in the end.  Kevin
i don't reckon it's a Darius thing, he was there the first half against Parra when they ran riot against Brisbane, the Chooks did the same thing in the first 30 minutes also...their defence can be very ordinary at times. Brisbane were lucky to go in at half time only 8 points behind, that try they got before the break gave them a sniff and kept them in the game.

« Reply #165 on: September 11, 2017, 06:40:00 AM »
I see Flanagan was having a sook about refs sending Maloney to the bin in yesterday's game...the most penalised guy in the game deserved to go, it's a professional foul every day of the week. Stop sooking Flanagan, your guys weren't good enough pure and simple.

« Reply #166 on: September 11, 2017, 06:49:08 AM »
I watched all the games and I've never seen so many dubious calls on tries scored ?

« Reply #167 on: September 11, 2017, 08:11:33 AM »
I watched all the games and I've never seen so many dubious calls on tries scored ?

dubious calls have been going on since 1908...

it's just that now we get to see them up-close, with different angles and in HD...

« Reply #168 on: September 11, 2017, 09:26:05 AM »
Quote from: paceman
.. it's just that now we get to see them up-close, with different angles and in HD...

personally that's whats ruining watching sport for me... 5000 replays from 500 angles and they still cant get it right.

Who'd be a ref/umpire...
The other one that gets me is I see players laying on the tackled man for longer than some people take to have a root - play on... yet other times the bloke is barely given enough time to sneeze and gets nailed.

« Reply #169 on: September 11, 2017, 09:30:18 AM »
personally that's whats ruining watching sport for me... 5000 replays from 500 angles and they still cant get it right.

when humans are involved, you get human error, regardless of the technology supporting that human.

everyone has a different interpretation of a contentious decision.

that's life. 

if there is an absolute howler (7-tackle set a couple of years ago), then by all means, sink the boot in if you are a coach or player, but for less obvious decisions, get over it.

Offline terravista

« Reply #170 on: September 11, 2017, 10:46:20 AM »
I didn't have the chance to watch the Cowboys/Sharks game, but heard the whining on the radio this morning.
My biggest grief is coach's whinging about the number of penalties given not being equal. I thought it was pretty simple, if the team is undisciplined, having a clumsy day, or like sooky boy Paul Gallen happy to give away penalties to prevent the opposing team from getting a try, the penalty count will be unequal.
I have not seen any rule saying penalty counts should balance out but losing coaches and some commentators seem to think otherwise.
The following users thanked this post: garryc

« Reply #171 on: September 11, 2017, 11:31:57 AM »

Who'd be a ref/umpire...
The other one that gets me is I see players laying on the tackled man for longer than some people take to have a root - play on... yet other times the bloke is barely given enough time to sneeze and gets nailed.
yep totally agree...I made comment over the weekend at how long players were being allowed to lay on other players in a couple of the games, almost like the refs were told not to go hard on that one thing...any other week they'd have blown the pea out of the whistle for what was being done.

« Reply #172 on: September 11, 2017, 01:35:34 PM »
It's the first time in how many years the refs didn't ensure the cowboys missed the finals.... :)

But the trade off is now we have to listen to the number one grub from the drug cheating team crying like he's just lost another origin series... :(

« Reply #173 on: September 11, 2017, 01:47:49 PM »
Quote from: terravista
I didn't have the chance to watch the Cowboys/Sharks game, but heard the whining on the radio this morning.
My biggest grief is coach's whinging about the number of penalties given not being equal. I thought it was pretty simple, if the team is undisciplined, having a clumsy day, or like sooky boy Paul Gallen happy to give away penalties to prevent the opposing team from getting a try, the penalty count will be unequal.
I have not seen any rule saying penalty counts should balance out but losing coaches and some commentators seem to think otherwise.

Yep, you are 100% correct in saying that there is no rule to say it should be equal.
But you see some/certain teams get punished badly or individuals get bolloxed for things that others are let go in the same game, or even the same 1/2.

Then there are things like recently there was an issue in AFL where one coach called the Ref's Dept complaining about 1 individual opponent they were playing in the coming weekends game. Very bad juju I reckon.

That one opponent was smashed in free kicks for something nobody has been done for in years - it was a forgotten rule, not even the commentators could understand what was going on. The most Shit part is they were coming up to the finals, and this individuals team lost with a lot of help from the umpires and this 'new' interpretation of the rule.. That alone is ****ed..

They say to watch Fridays game to see what 'The Rule of the Week' is that they are told to clamp down on - and its true in AFL, dunno about NRL

« Reply #174 on: September 11, 2017, 01:50:41 PM »
It's the first time in how many years the refs didn't ensure the cowboys missed the finals.... :)

But the trade off is now we have to listen to the number one grub from the drug cheating team crying like he's just lost another origin series... :(

flanagan has a short memory... just like most coaches...

and here's his comments after the 7-tackle set game:

« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 01:55:08 PM by paceman »