Author Topic: Chainsaw $98 from mitre10  (Read 23080 times)

Offline hookedon4wding

• My Videos
Re: Chainsaw $98 from mitre10
« Reply #25 on: July 04, 2011, 12:44:59 PM »
Lack of maintenance is what kills chainsaws, brand name or not.  This is a good investment if it's looked after.  Will last for years.

As a recent first time chainsaw owner, what regular maintenance should be performed to keep them in top notch working order.

Obviously, checking chain tension, checking and cleaning air filters and muffler spark arrestors, not using stale fuel etc. Anything else?

Cheers, Sam.

Offline earle

« Reply #26 on: July 04, 2011, 02:27:17 PM »
As a recent first time chainsaw owner, what regular maintenance should be performed to keep them in top notch working order.

Obviously, checking chain tension, checking and cleaning air filters and muffler spark arrestors, not using stale fuel etc. Anything else?

Cheers, Sam.

Learn how to sharpen the chain if you don't already know how. A quick wizz around with a file does wonders.

« Reply #27 on: July 04, 2011, 03:02:04 PM »
Learn how to sharpen the chain if you don't already know how. A quick wizz around with a file does wonders.

x2 I give a quick touch up every couple of tanks and a good sharpen at the end of the day

Offline griz066

« Reply #28 on: July 04, 2011, 03:22:53 PM »
Our local Mitre10 had them for $148 and yes all orange different to the pic above. Does anybody have a catalogue listing?
The pic is of a stihl farm boss or the like and not a mitre10 $98 job. An oregon bar like in the pic is worth $100. Hope no one goes into mitre10 expecting to get that saw.
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

Offline earle

« Reply #29 on: July 04, 2011, 04:04:39 PM »
Just googled to find the catalogue. The one in the catalogue is called a ross, not a boss. Hmmm, intentional rhyming I wonder?

Offline Monty94

« Reply #30 on: July 04, 2011, 04:29:24 PM »
I went and picked one up on Friday from Mitre 10 Bayswater.  Only put it together so far but it looks ok for the price.  Time will tell!

And it indeed does come with the Oregon bar and chain. 

« Reply #31 on: July 04, 2011, 04:52:46 PM »
Hi Monty, Good to someone taking a chance  ;D if you get more than a couple loads of wood out of it i think you might be in front. I guess time will tell, Did or do they carry any spare's like air filters or fuel/oil caps ?
dno.

Offline Monty94

« Reply #32 on: July 04, 2011, 05:52:27 PM »
Hi Monty, Good to someone taking a chance  ;D if you get more than a couple loads of wood out of it i think you might be in front. I guess time will tell, Did or do they carry any spare's like air filters or fuel/oil caps ?
dno.

I didn't look to see if they carries spares,  I'm thinking probably not. 

It won't be used much around home,  will probably throw it in the back of the car for trips. 

Might only be used 3 or 4 times a year so if it lasts a few years I won't be complaining  ;D

Offline camdyson

« Reply #33 on: July 04, 2011, 09:30:44 PM »
What is this, PradoPoint?    :laugh:

x2  8) 8)
Set your chickens free

Offline koshari

« Reply #34 on: July 04, 2011, 10:10:25 PM »
for the people adding the importance of keeping the chain sharp, dont forget the raker height, you can have the sharpest chain in the world and if the rakers arnt set its just gonna bounce over the top of the timber.

something like the pferd cs-x is excellent for keeping your chains in top nick, but then again the cs-x retails in aus for not much less than the price the op posted of the saw he was looking at about beginning this thread!
Code: [Select]
5M strips SMD3528x150 SMD3528x300 SMD5050*150 SMD5050x300 
LED Qty 150 pcs 300 pcs 150 pcs 300 pcs
Voltage DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V
Current(A) 1Amp 2Amp 3Amp 6Amp
Pwr 12 watt 24 watt 36 watt 72 watt

« Reply #35 on: July 06, 2011, 10:49:50 AM »
Does anyone have any experience with these saws?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/45CC-BRAND-NEW-Professional-Chainsaw-18-Bar-Chain-Saw-/160493766083?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item255e2c85c3

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/PRO-62CC-20-BAR-CHAINSAW-CHAIN-SAW-TRIPLE-SAFETY-PACK-/140518414574?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item20b78cd8ee

They seem to get really good reviews from the home handyman / garden maintenance crowd. I'm tempted to go have a look at the Ross one at Mitre10, for occasional use if looked after, I'm thinking it might be worth a punt.

« Reply #36 on: July 06, 2011, 10:56:33 AM »
Matto there a thread here some where on, which saw i think. Dougie has two of them from memory and was talking well of them.

« Reply #37 on: July 06, 2011, 10:58:10 AM »
Ahh - sweet. I had been following the "which saw" thread for a while, but haven't checked it lately. Should have searched.

Thanks for the pointer!

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #38 on: July 06, 2011, 07:56:51 PM »
Does anyone have any experience with these saws?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/45CC-BRAND-NEW-Professional-Chainsaw-18-Bar-Chain-Saw-/160493766083?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item255e2c85c3

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/PRO-62CC-20-BAR-CHAINSAW-CHAIN-SAW-TRIPLE-SAFETY-PACK-/140518414574?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item20b78cd8ee

They seem to get really good reviews from the home handyman / garden maintenance crowd. I'm tempted to go have a look at the Ross one at Mitre10, for occasional use if looked after, I'm thinking it might be worth a punt.

Matto. I've now bought 2 of the 62cc ones. The first lasted a year of copping a flogging and the throttle does not work. I'll get around to having a look at it one day. When it stopped working I unpacked the other saw I bought in the middle of summer for $119 I think, It's now been flogged all of winter cutting old ironbark fence posts and is still going fine. My father runs a Still MS320 and I prefer to use my saw to his. Every season he pays about $150 for servicing on his saw, new bar and a chain, So if it costs me 1 saw per year we are still about even except his saw was $1300.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #39 on: July 06, 2011, 08:04:31 PM »
I have a mate who has a Burma-ag saw and it is a piece of sh*t. Google them, there are heaps of stories out there.
The one that Kiwi wierdo was talking about in the other thread was one, as was the one sthill was breaking in their tests.
Check it out before you decide

Offline moonie80

« Reply #40 on: July 06, 2011, 08:05:15 PM »
what about Poulan saws seeing as they are a sub of husky they should be ok hey or not ?

« Reply #41 on: July 06, 2011, 08:11:36 PM »
As i mentioned in another thread. Husky bought Komatsu Zenoah a little while ago wich included a lot of other brands.
My very first saw when i was a kid was a second hand Poulan micro 25. It still goes but not too well.

Offline koshari

« Reply #42 on: July 06, 2011, 08:48:36 PM »

The one that Kiwi wierdo was talking about in the other thread was one,

he is a little eccentric isn't he, and a very strange obsession with his docking saw.

Offline craigtempo

• welcome to the party that never ends
« Reply #43 on: July 06, 2011, 10:23:00 PM »
im sure i saw that ross chainsaw at bunnings$199.00....... so they should beat it by 10 0/0 . less than $90.getting cheaper .

craig
« Last Edit: July 07, 2011, 08:29:14 AM by craigtempo »

« Reply #44 on: July 07, 2011, 01:39:59 AM »
The 30cc Husky is as big as I really need  . This is big enough to do all my jobs at work or at play .But its really what ever floats your boat  :cheers:

Offline koshari

« Reply #45 on: July 30, 2011, 10:27:54 AM »
looks like blackwoods are stocking the cs-x now,

http://www2.blackwoods.com.au/infoBANKProduct.aspx?SG=2000165&S=4084698&G=7722025&P=7923782