Author Topic: Sydney to Lake Eyre ... help!  (Read 7167 times)

Offline Disco EMU

• Soft Floor Camper User
Sydney to Lake Eyre ... help!
« on: May 03, 2011, 07:23:49 PM »
Planning a trip from Syd to Lake Eyre via Broken Hill in September and am looking for advice on the journey, essential gear needed and must see places along the way.
I've very little experience with outback travel, the Finch is standard and NOT an outback. The Disco is stock with the exception of the bull-bar, driving lights, Bilstein shocks and coil-rite air bags.
Any advice/comments welcome.
Thanks
Craig

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Craig
2000 Landrover Discovery Series II TD5
2001 Jayco Finch

Offline D4D

• Hard Top Camper User
  • Are we there yet?
Re: Sydney to Lake Eyre ... help!
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 07:31:48 PM »
Usual toolkit and spares, spare tyre if you have 17/18s
Regular checking of tyre pressures, good tyre pressure gauge, tyre plug kit etc.
Some coreflute to protect your rear window from damage and some spare to make a side window in case one gets taken out
I owe, I owe, it’s off to work I go…

Work - Outback
Play - Prado

Offline morgue

• Soft Floor Camper User
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 07:33:45 PM »
Planning a trip from Syd to Lake Eyre via Broken Hill in September and am looking for advice on the journey, essential gear needed and must see places along the way.
I've very little experience with outback travel, the Finch is standard and NOT an outback. The Disco is stock with the exception of the bull-bar, driving lights, Bilstein shocks and coil-rite air bags.
Any advice/comments welcome.
Thanks
Craig

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Never fear, you have come to the right place...man, have you got some homework to do..., but you are going to have a ball you lucky buggar!

Offline Estelle

• Hard Floor Camper User
  • New members of the leisure club
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 07:48:00 PM »
Hi Craig,