General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Hairs on April 22, 2018, 04:13:24 PM

Title: Fuel Station Etiquette
Post by: Hairs on April 22, 2018, 04:13:24 PM
Some motorist seem to loose their minds when they pull into a servo to get fuel.
It does my head in.
Sometimes there are only a couple of pumps that offer diesel, so picking which line to wait in is important to not hold up other motorists.
Having to tow a trailer makes this task a little more challenging, but when other motorists expect you to back out of their way because they want the pump you are using, well that is when I loose my 5h1t.
4 times last week I had this happen, the last time Friday arvo the bloke refused to back out of my way, yet I was there well before he arrived and had filled up.
Talking to staff they reckon it will come to blows one day.
They said it is bloody rude what some motorists do and they said Fridsy arvo's are the worst.
Some servo's have entry & exit signs, but this doesn't work cause some can't read.

Why do some motorists have no regard for others?

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Fuel Station Etiquette
Post by: edz on April 22, 2018, 04:21:18 PM
Stuff E'm Hairs, Get the local bulk depot to drop you a couple of 44's and fuel up at home .  ;D
Post by: Hairs on April 22, 2018, 04:45:37 PM
Stuff E'm Hairs, Get the local bulk depot to drop you a couple of 44's and fuel up at home .  ;D
I wish.

A fortnight ago, I was boxed in, sat there for 20 bloody minutes while I waited for an old bloke to fill up his mower tin(5lt) click, click, click with the nozzle, he pulled up infront of me just as I got back in to drive off.
They just have no bloody idea.

Post by: Paddler Ed on April 22, 2018, 06:25:01 PM
My solutions:
-Go to the attended service servo where we're known... they don't mind if you park out the way and the other customers know you'll do that if chasing diesel or 95 (share the same pump cluster)
-Go to the other servo where they have 95 or diesel. The diesel pump is 20m away, so nice and easy.

Both happen to be cheaper than the big ones, and the staff are friendlier.
Post by: SEADOO on April 22, 2018, 08:53:14 PM
In the US, they're called assholes. It doesn't have the same meaning here.

Awaiting in line, two pumps become available, the dude in front, instead of driving forward to the furthest one so I can access the second one, he moves to the closest one, so nobody can access the one in front.

He then looks at me and says drive around him......cnt.
Post by: SEADOO on April 22, 2018, 08:55:21 PM
Then you get the mole that will fill her car, then proceed to do the weeks shopping, while her car remains blocking the pump and driveway.
Post by: SEADOO on April 22, 2018, 08:58:08 PM
Same women, different day, all pumps are free, but no, decides to use the only pump that has the diesel nozzle (one pump, 3 fuel types) and fill her car with unleaded.

Then locks her car and does another weekly shop, in the servo.
Post by: weeds on April 22, 2018, 08:59:03 PM
Then you get the mole that will fill her car, then proceed to do the weeks shopping, while her car remains blocking the pump and driveway.

Happened to me the other day, than she sit in the drivers seat playing on the phone......I ended up giving her a good toooooooot

Post by: SEADOO on April 22, 2018, 09:02:23 PM
Does any body know the Mijora shopping complex in Canberra.

It has a Cosco and a Caltex servo's next to each other.

2 places to avoid. It's worth driving around the corner to the other Caltex and pay a few cents more per litre, just so you don't have to put up with the dick heads.
Post by: moeite on April 23, 2018, 10:13:01 AM
Service station Etiquette !!! There is NO such thing. Think Rafferty's rules.
Post by: Hairs on April 23, 2018, 12:49:57 PM
Service station Etiquette !!! There is NO such thing. Think Rafferty's rules.
Yep,
Seems I've been too nice all these years.

Sent from my SM-J320ZN using Tapatalk

Post by: HKB Electronics on April 23, 2018, 01:04:58 PM
Really it's no different to everything in life these days, they are just self centered and only thinking of themselves. As one of my daughters
wrote once "I may seem selfish but if I don't look out for myself who will!" seems to be the common theme these days.
Post by: Bunyip on April 23, 2018, 03:28:00 PM
What gets me is the queues out the driveway onto the road because everyone's filler cap is on the same side of the car.

If my 100 Series cruiser can be filled from a pump on the "wrong" side of the car I am sure your little sports car can as well. The hoses are made long enough to reach to the far side of a vehicle.
Post by: Mace on April 23, 2018, 03:57:45 PM
You guys need to toughen up....   ;D

Try owning one 10 years....  I should write a book.

I did pretty well, usually most people I asked to move on did so once they recognised their error.  I did manage to severely  pee of Ron Walker (Grand Prix Head Honcho and Liberal Party stallwart)  once tho.  We had a que of cars out the drive way one Sunday night in the middle of snow season (Mansfield High Street).  He did a loop in his Merc and pulled up to the front pump ahead of all the other punters waiting.   He didnt take it well when he came in and asked why the pump wouldnt work for him and was told he had to go to the back of the que....

What gets me is the queues out the driveway onto the road because everyone's filler cap is on the same side of the car.

Actually they are pretty evenly spread between left and right side. It amazed me how many people didnt know there is a little arrow next to the fuel guage that indicated which side the filler is on....

Post by: briann532 on April 23, 2018, 05:26:29 PM

Actually they are pretty evenly spread between left and right side. It amazed me how many people didnt know there is a little arrow next to the fuel guage that indicated which side the filler is on....

Ummmmmm Mace...................

Why are you surprised at peoples stupidity???

Society keeps putting warning labels on lawnmower blades and hot coffee so in return Darwin is creating bigger idiots.
It's the balance of life.
Post by: MattNQ on April 23, 2018, 05:29:30 PM
I usually fill up at night when the great unwashed are watching Master Crap. Hardly anyone there.  ;D
Just gotta dodge the local park people coming in to use the servo toilet.....

I still laugh when its busy and someone pulls up behind me in a Swift or similar when I have just started a full fill.
Not even a real big tank, but they are getting rather impatient after a 120L has gone in with those slow little nozzles  >:D
Post by: MDS69 on April 23, 2018, 05:41:31 PM
I usually fill up at night when the great unwashed are watching Master Crap. Hardly anyone there.  ;D
Just gotta dodge the local park people coming in to use the servo toilet.....

I still laugh when its busy and someone pulls up behind me in a Swift or similar when I have just started a full fill.
Not even a real big tank, but they are getting rather impatient after a 120L has gone in with those slow little nozzles  >:D

Same. The main servo I use doesn’t have enough room between the lines of cars for one at the rear to go through. I usually fill when the red light is on (180L tank) so put in around 160-165L and pity the person who is behind me
Post by: kylarama on April 23, 2018, 05:43:30 PM
Same women, different day, all pumps are free, but no, decides to use the only pump that has the diesel nozzle (one pump, 3 fuel types) and fill her car with unleaded.

Then locks her car and does another weekly shop, in the servo.
Drove a diesel for 14 years and dedicated gas for the last 4.

Pull into an empty servo bar a single car and you can almost guarantee that one petrol powered car is blocking the only diesel or lpg pump.

You sit behind them with engine running and seat belt on and they look at you like you're a complete moron, as they point to the other 10 empty pumps. Or get paranoid that your stalking them....

Post by: Rumpig on April 23, 2018, 05:58:48 PM
Local BP servo i use has diesel at every bowser, on the cheaper side of diesel sellers in Brisbane and never really a hassle with que's....only time It's a slight hassle there is around 6.00 a.m, fleets of local business trucks fuel there each morning before starting their day, but the bowsers under cover the trucks can't use, so only hassle can be maneuvering around them at the entry and exit driveways.
Post by: Bunyip on April 23, 2018, 06:54:49 PM

Apparently in Orange, NSW this is not the case  :D
I would suggest there is always a queue for pulling up the the right side of the pump (filler on passenger side).
It is probably a perception thing on my behalf
Post by: Apples69 on April 23, 2018, 07:59:08 PM
In toowoomba I have just found quite a few truck fuel stations unmanned. Diesel was .10c cheaper then the InTown servos
Post by: Paddler Ed on April 23, 2018, 09:47:56 PM
In toowoomba I have just found quite a few truck fuel stations unmanned. Diesel was .10c cheaper then the InTown servos

We've got 2 fuel depots now that have unmanned self serve diesel pumps... However, the independents are 0.9c/Litre and 2.9c/litre cheaper still than the automated, and 9c/litre cheaper than the big ones.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 23, 2018, 10:09:30 PM
Cost of Fuel doesn't always equate to quality, or performance, of the fuel.
Local BP to me isn't the dearest in my area, but fuel always gives better performance than the Shell or Caltex fuels.
I have a suspicion that a Local unbranded Servo is selling Mobil, because the price is similar and quality is good.
Post by: Fizzie on April 24, 2018, 12:13:39 PM
There you go! Around here, BP is always the most expensive, usually by a few cents, followed by Shell & Coles / Woolies, with real Caltex a few cents under them, & the independents another several cents down again.

Our mechanic has always recommended using Caltex, both petrol & diesel, as he says it the "cleanest" ???

I remember getting a load of 7/11 petrol several years ago, & the car ran like a hairy goat, coughing & spluttering, no power & gave lousy milage for a couple of weeks till that cleared out of the system :'(
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 24, 2018, 12:26:07 PM
Fizzie, 7 Eleven were selling Shell fuel till a coupla yrs. ago, then Mobil started an agreement with them.
Mobil Servo's became 7 Elevens around Vic., as well as the existing 7 Elevens. 
By rights the quality of fuel should have improved under that agreement.  Despite what Shell says.

Just my opinion but a lot of people seem to agree with me on this.
Anyone who has to mix ethanol into their top grade fuel to make it better, needs to rethink their methodology. 
Post by: Hairs on April 25, 2018, 11:22:19 AM
Went to the same servo again yesterday at about 3pm,
Waited patiently for old lady to fill her mower tin at the diesel pump(98, 92 & diesel).
My trailer hanging over the footpath because she had parked a car lenght away from the pump.
A knob comes and parks just in front of her has she is getting back in her car.
So both of us sit waiting for this tool to fill his Ute, then he starts on two Gerry cans.
Hang on, now he is going to check his oil & water WTF???

I've had enough of this, out I get.
Hey DH, wtf are doing?
He tells me to calm down, and he wont be long.
I tell him the error of his ways and he replies with,
"What are you the parking inspector"?
The old lady yells at him.
You are an Ahole, and if I wasn't a lady, I would belt some sense into you empty head.
The look on the tools face was priceless.
Go the little old lady.
This should be in the what made me smile today thread.

Post by: plusnq on April 25, 2018, 11:32:53 AM
Went to the same servo again yesterday at about 3pm,
Waited patiently for old lady to fill her mower tin at the diesel pump(98, 92 & diesel).
My trailer hanging over the footpath because she had parked a car lenght away from the pump.
A knob comes and parks just in front of her has she is getting back in her car.
So both of us sit waiting for this tool to fill his Ute, then he starts on two Gerry cans.
Hang on, now he is going to check his oil & water WTF???

I've had enough of this, out I get.
Hey DH, wtf are doing?
He tells me to calm down, and he wont be long.
I tell him the error of his ways and he replies with,
"What are you the parking inspector"?
The old lady yells at him.
You are an Ahole, and if I wasn't a lady, I would belt some sense into you empty head.
The look on the tools face was priceless.
Go the little old lady.
This should be in the what made me smile today thread.

Karma. Doesn’t happen often enough
Post by: Hairs on April 25, 2018, 12:29:24 PM
Karma. Doesn’t happen often enough
The look on his face, sheeesh wish I had a picture of it.
She owned him.
Good onya love.

Post by: rossm on April 25, 2018, 10:05:19 PM
what's the etiquette when the pump does this?

https://thewest.com.au/lifestyle/motoring/pilbara-town-slugged-60000clitre-for-fuel-ng-b88817502z

never trusted those self serve pumps
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2018, 07:49:18 AM
what's the etiquette when the pump does this?

https://thewest.com.au/lifestyle/motoring/pilbara-town-slugged-60000clitre-for-fuel-ng-b88817502z

never trusted those self serve pumps
its just part of the "fuel price cycle"
Post by: trinityalyce on April 26, 2018, 10:35:45 AM
Really it's no different to everything in life these days, they are just self centered and only thinking of themselves. As one of my daughters
wrote once "I may seem selfish but if I don't look out for myself who will!" seems to be the common theme these days.

My thoughts exactly. It seems the same with general road use etiquette, standing in line anywhere (you know the trick "I'll stand in line with one or two things while my partner goes off and gets a whole shopping trolley full of stuff then just pushes in where I'm standing"?), and so on...

Filling up the Patrol, we usually try to find unmanned servos where we can. Between the dual tanks its a lot of fuel, and we find its usually faster (particularly because it weeds out those challenged individuals who couldn't work out the card payment system, if they even wanted diesel, LOL) and cheaper. Win win.
Post by: HEM19X on April 30, 2018, 12:02:28 PM
On our WA trip last year we pulled into a servo [small town] to find a car [empty], no probs I thought, they are just in paying.... 5 mins goes by [maybe they are having a leak??] another 5.. WTF. Kate goes into the shop & asks who might own the white Magna? I do said the lady who was sitting at one of the tables HAVING HER LUNCH!!! Not happy when she was told not to rush as I was just about to knock the car into netrual & give it a nudge with the bullbar..... but she moved her car.
Post by: Pete79 on April 30, 2018, 01:42:08 PM
Saw this just the other week in Bowen.
Cars on the left hand side of the pumps backed up out to the highway, not one car on the right hand side. I roll passed the 5 or 6 cars and the gas truck and park beside the prado with 6m boat on trailer at the diesel pump that is blocking everyone in (if not for the boat the petrol que could have exited behind the diesel pumps).

I fill up with 60 odd liters of diesel, prado is still there when I finish.
Go and pay for fuel, no one else paying for fuel at the counter, get back and prado is still there. The guy is the gas truck looks like he is going to murder someone.
As I'm driving away I see Mr and Mrs prado walking to their vehicle with their lunch in their hands, the line up on the left hand side of the pumps is will out on to the highway shoulder by now.
Post by: Hairs on April 30, 2018, 06:20:32 PM
Saw this just the other week in Bowen.
Cars on the left hand side of the pumps backed up out to the highway, not one car on the right hand side. I roll passed the 5 or 6 cars and the gas truck and park beside the prado with 6m boat on trailer at the diesel pump that is blocking everyone in (if not for the boat the petrol que could have exited behind the diesel pumps).

I fill up with 60 odd liters of diesel, prado is still there when I finish.
Go and pay for fuel, no one else paying for fuel at the counter, get back and prado is still there. The guy is the gas truck looks like he is going to murder someone.
As I'm driving away I see Mr and Mrs prado walking to their vehicle with their lunch in their hands, the line up on the left hand side of the pumps is will out on to the highway shoulder by now.
Unbelievable

Post by: grc on April 30, 2018, 06:41:40 PM
Unbelievable

Some people just don't give a toss

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on April 30, 2018, 07:00:15 PM
Some people just don't give a toss

CHEERS GRC  :cheers:
They don't
They just don't get how easy it is to be a good person.

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 30, 2018, 07:07:46 PM
They don't
Something similar happened locally to me.
Walked inside to the cashier and asked if they knew where/who the driver of an unattended car on the apron was.
She picked up a Mic. for the P.A. and called them out.  A very sheepish person appeared and shifted the car and returned to what they were doing.
Good result all round I thought.  Everyone in the shop got a lesson at someones embarrassed expense.
Title: Fuel Station Etiquette
Post by: Pete79 on April 30, 2018, 07:10:05 PM
The one bit of fuel station etiquette that’s hard to pick these days is moving your car forward before you pay.

In small towns with local people (like 90% of my fuel stops these days) it’s not so bad. But some of the bigger ones flip out if you drive forward to let the next person behind you use the pump while you go in to pay.

If you go back to your car after filling up and before going to pay they immediately think you’re doing a runner.
I’ve even seen a couple of signs recently saying pay for fuel before moving vehicle.

I get the paranoia because doing a runner is such a real thing these days, but it is another little bit of courtesy that’s lost these days.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 30, 2018, 07:29:29 PM
I hear what your saying Pete, but how much effort to move the car after paying, then do what you have to.
Post by: trinityalyce on April 30, 2018, 07:32:09 PM
The one bit of fuel station etiquette that’s hard to pick these days is moving your car forward before you pay.

In small towns with local people (like 90% of my fuel stops these days) it’s not so bad. But some of the bigger ones flip out if you drive forward to let the next person behind you use the pump while you go in to pay.

If you go back to your car after filling up and before going to pay they immediately think you’re doing a runner.
I’ve even seen a couple of signs recently saying pay for fuel before moving vehicle.

I get the paranoia because doing a runner is such a real thing these days, but it is another little bit of courtesy that’s lost these days.

Yep, the problem is in most places you'd have someone running out to take your plate (or checking their CCTV...) assuming you're driving off. While once it was considered common courtesy and most decent people did it, now it's pretty much frowned upon. How times change.
Post by: Hairs on April 30, 2018, 07:33:42 PM
I hear what your saying Pete, but how much effort to move the car after paying, then do what you have to.
Spot on.

Post by: Bird on April 30, 2018, 07:37:08 PM
Quote from: Cruiser 105Tvan
They don't want you to move cause its been proven that some station owners make the attendant pay for fuel that is stolen.. totally illegal, but it has happened. Its called looking after people from their own country on Min wage - drive offs.

It would be different in a small town where theres maybe 3 cars at a time, but when its a busy as **** place like round here where theres a dozen cars going through, it would be impossible for Apu to keep an eye on them all.
Post by: Rumpig on April 30, 2018, 09:22:27 PM
They don't

like the old fella dropping his I'm guessing grand daughter off at school today, that decided to pull in and park where I was in the middle of reversing my trailer into right out front of our jobsite this morning (had moved vehicle for a timber delivery). I got out and asked him to move (he literally had just stopped with engine still running with plenty of other options 10 metres away to park in), he told me to park further away, I explained we needed to run gear from the trailer, he still put up an argument and said he'll only be a few minutes...., by now i'm pretty peeved and I told him "just move your f'ing vehicle", he then complains about me swearing infront of his grand daughter....guess what old man, I wouldn't have sworn if you weren't so rude and lazy to just move when nicely first asked  to do so, and you then walk the extra 10 metres it was to park elsewhere. He was nice enough to move after I swore at him ::)
Post by: Tim - Stratford on April 30, 2018, 09:34:09 PM
I just discovered a 24hr unmanned fuel depot nearby....as of todays prices it is 18.0cents cheaper than the rivals and BP fuel. I'll be fuelling up after 11pm from now on I reckon!  :cup:

Tim
Post by: GeoffA on April 30, 2018, 09:34:34 PM
If someone's waiting, I will move the car before paying.
What are the attendants going to do if I haven't left the property?
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 30, 2018, 10:38:24 PM
Most Servos have a parking area within site of the cashier.
To move to one of those areas and then go in to pay wouldn't be unreasonable.
Your average Servo Attendant wouldn't realize until you tell them the pump No. and amount anyway.
Unless you were the only one there.
Post by: Moxley on April 30, 2018, 11:07:05 PM
If someone's waiting, I will move the car before paying.
What are the attendants going to do if I haven't left the property?

I thought it wasn’t a good idea to do short trips in your diesel.  Does this not matter if the car’s already warmed up?
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on April 30, 2018, 11:27:40 PM
I thought it wasn’t a good idea to do short trips in your diesel.  Does this not matter if the car’s already warmed up?

ya only moving it 20 feet before continuing on your journey
Post by: edz on May 01, 2018, 07:08:36 AM
Our local servo the other day, We pulled up, grabbed the fuel nozzle stuck it in the rank, the screen on the bowser clears to 0's, pull the trigger,  the  pump kicked over for a split second then   " NOTHING "  stand there like a Limp D*ck in a Brothel, try again Nothing, WTF ... Must be a fault in the pump,The screen still read all 0's,  meanwhile the lady opposite has sent her kid in to get the attendant, her pump wasnt working either..
Dopey attendant comes out and anounces that the pumps wont work until they finish changing the price ..   >:D >:D >:D
But we picked up and started to fill at the old price. Sooo do we still get our fuel at that rate ?  "  No you have to pay the new price " ...
Not happy, Went from $1.38 to $1.48  ..in the blink of an eye practicaly ..
No use going to the other servo up the road as they were getting a fuel delivery .
Post by: Moxley on May 01, 2018, 07:38:30 AM
ya only moving it 20 feet before continuing on your journey

That’s correct, and it is what I am asking about.
Post by: Fizzie on May 01, 2018, 07:54:44 AM
If we're travelling, I'll usually fill the car, then move over to a car park, while the Mrs goes in to pay for fuel, because we'll then frequently stay to have lunch or a snack while we're stopped. Nobody has ever spoken to us about doing so.
Post by: rossm on May 01, 2018, 08:19:21 AM
Our local servo the other day, We pulled up, grabbed the fuel nozzle stuck it in the rank, the screen on the bowser clears to 0's, pull the trigger,  the  pump kicked over for a split second then   " NOTHING "  stand there like a Limp D*ck in a Brothel, try again Nothing, WTF ... Must be a fault in the pump,The screen still read all 0's,  meanwhile the lady opposite has sent her kid in to get the attendant, her pump wasnt working either..
Dopey attendant comes out and anounces that the pumps wont work until they finish changing the price ..   >:D >:D >:D
But we picked up and started to fill at the old price. Sooo do we still get our fuel at that rate ?  "  No you have to pay the new price " ...
Not happy, Went from $1.38 to $1.48  ..in the blink of an eye practicaly ..
No use going to the other servo up the road as they were getting a fuel delivery .

That is legal where you are? Amazing. can't be done in WA?

From the Fuelwatch website: Western Australian fuel consumers benefit from price transparency and reduced price volatility because service stations must notify FuelWatch of their following day's prices by 2pm each day.  These prices are ‘locked in’ for 24 hours from 6am so drivers can make the best decision on where and when to purchase their fuel.
Post by: Fizzie on May 01, 2018, 09:28:18 AM
That is legal where you are? Amazing. can't be done in WA?

From the Fuelwatch website: Western Australian fuel consumers benefit from price transparency and reduced price volatility because service stations must notify FuelWatch of their following day's prices by 2pm each day.  These prices are ‘locked in’ for 24 hours from 6am so drivers can make the best decision on where and when to purchase their fuel.

RACQ are pushing for similar up here atm, after fuel prices jumped 35 cpl in one go a week or so back :o >:(

Useless bloody Transport Minister (& I know that's a duplication of words >:D) is on teh News last night - Oh no, that won't work as it will probably just push prices up higher ???
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2018, 09:45:57 AM
Quote from: rossm
That is legal where you are? Amazing. can't be done in WA

who would you complain to and actually get any action?  Nobody..
Post by: Bunyip on May 01, 2018, 03:24:32 PM

I got done for doing a runner when I was filling my old 80 series. Walked in and told them the pump numbers for the LPG and Petrol. They only charged me for the LPG then reported me to the police for doing a runner on the petrol!!!! It was early in the morning and I was late for the train so I didn't notice the incorrect price

I just went down and paid and they apologised but said it was all they could do.

No harm no foul in the end and the police thought it was quite amusing.
Post by: Hairs on May 05, 2018, 06:02:02 PM
Yesterday I go and fill up.
Everyone doing what is fair and Normal.
What a bloody difference, no stress, no D/Heads, no hassles.
Happy days,
Now, having said that it will be a sh1te fight next time.

Post by: avotrol on May 06, 2018, 11:35:22 AM
Be good if you could simply move the offending parties vehicles like what happened at an auction place I was at.

Idiot parked his car in the middle of the loading area, preventing the trucks from getting the goods. Three times the owner was paged on the PA to move the car. Fourth time was warned that in 3 minutes the car would be moved. Just as 8 ton forklift picks up the car and starts to drive off, owner comes running yelling at forklift driver, then jumps onto forklift and starts bashing on the cabin door.

Next thing, 3 burly security guards grab the bloke and he and his car are unceremoniously deposited out the gates, much to the amusement of the crowd.

Strangely, it felt VERY satisfying to watch it all unfold  >:D   
Post by: edz on May 06, 2018, 11:48:26 AM
Having picked up cars that were blocking our drive ways in a  past work life .. Yep it is fun ..
Especialy when they return to find their car sitting up on a stack of other cars [ Dont p*ss off a wrecking yard operator ] . or wedged  in between two cars an inch off their bumpers ]  ..  :angel:

] ..

Post by: nab on May 06, 2018, 11:57:03 AM
Yesterday I was second in line waiting for the 2 pumps to finish. Both cars filled up then left at the same time. So old mate in the car in front of me stops at the first pump rather than driving through to the next pump. After a polite word didn't get the desired effect I just drove around him and then backed up to the empty bowser (right up to his car). For some reason my pump took extra long to fill up that day, unfortunately old mate didn't have the room to go around me so had to wait. What a shame...
Post by: MattNQ on May 06, 2018, 02:05:10 PM

If my 100 Series cruiser can be filled from a pump on the "wrong" side of the car I am sure your little sports car can as well. The hoses are made long enough to reach to the far side of a vehicle.
Not every servo has long hoses anymore.
Had to fill the wife's Cx9 the other day. Pulled up at a Woolies servo on the wrong side as the others were full.  Hose didnt even make it to the opposite corner of the car, let alone around to the filler.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Post by: BaseCamp on May 06, 2018, 05:28:05 PM

the car in front of me stops at the first pump rather than driving through to the next pump

I have been caught like that before...

At an unfamiliar to me servo -- waiting 5 - 10 minutes to get a crack at the bowsers   .... I do the right thing, roll forward to the front/ first bowser ONLY TO FIND that that pump doesn't do diesel...   and this is in spite if the signs at the start of the row listing diesel as part of the offer...   grrrr...

And with all the advertising and other guff around the pump, not easily to see that the front one does not....

Next time I'll just do myself a favour, park at the beginning of the row - walk down to the first pump to make sure that it too does the diesel - (and that it is working/in service)..

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: achjimmy on May 06, 2018, 06:09:00 PM
When I was a rep on the road filling up 3-4 times a week  I built up such a hatred of refueling.

The cruiser now with 210litres and the ability to refuel from hi flow is a dream . Fill up on average once a month  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on July 11, 2018, 06:30:29 PM
Got screwed over again today.
The diesel pump is the first bowser, I've filled up, just writing the detsils into my records, car backs in to the pump in front.
Havevto sit there while the fluff about getting out of their car,
Then the fig arse about opening the fuel flap and unlocking the cap.
Then they can't make up their bloody mind which fuel to use.
I Shit you not,  zi sat there for nearly twenty minutes.
Grrrrrrrrrr.

Post by: Hairs on July 11, 2018, 06:37:27 PM
Yesterday, I wasn't after fuel, I was driving down the street.
I went and asked this tool whst he was doing parked out on the road?
His reply was, F4yk o55 dickhead, I'm waiting for my mate to fuel up.
This is a busy road with a school just of the road behind me and an industrial estate to the left of the intersection just behind this tool.
These people breed.
There is no hope for humanity (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180711/bbac14dd35df529e37159092e22a0567.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180711/a1c93da0b1dcf8bef67b4a1ce1106a5b.jpg)

Post by: Pete79 on July 11, 2018, 09:50:58 PM

You had to ask?
He clearly has the “I’m the most important person in the road and don’t have to give a crap about anyone else” devise attached to the rear of his vehicle....
After he unhitches he’ll turn into a normal person again I’m sure. ;)

I did my servo good deed on the weekend.
Had the tinny on the back, needed to put diesel in the ute and unleaded in the boat.
Our servo has gas first, diesel is the middle pump, unleaded in the last pump.
With the ute parked almost at the gas bowser the diesel line Easy reaches, it puts the boat right at the unleaded and saves having to shuffle around.
I’d just finished filling the ute and was undoing the jerry in the boat when I heard a Diesel engine pull up behind me.
I took the jerry out and put it on the ground beside the pump, walked up to the ute and told the misses to jump in the driver’s seat and park up next to the exit.
Old mate thanked me a couple of times for letting him in, we both got our fuel and no stress from anyone.

And yes, I did catch a nice feed muddies and a couple of fish for dinner that night as my instant karma.. ;D
Post by: tryagain on July 11, 2018, 11:29:36 PM
You had to ask?
He clearly has the “I’m the most important person in the road and don’t have to give a crap about anyone else” devise attached to the rear of his vehicle....
After he unhitches he’ll turn into a normal person again I’m sure. ;)
Post by: Troopy_03 on July 12, 2018, 08:38:45 AM
The diesel pump is the first bowser, I've filled up, just writing the detsils into my records, car backs in to the pump in front.
Grrrrrrrrrr.

Pots and kettles, comes to mind... LOL  >:D
Post by: macca on July 12, 2018, 01:07:36 PM
Grrrrrrrrrr.

You seem to hate servos the way i hate supermarkets
Handy hint, take a photo with your phone of the bowser after you fill up and another photo of the odometer when you get back in the car and fill you records in later

Post by: Bird on July 12, 2018, 01:15:16 PM
Yesterday, I wasn't after fuel, I was driving down the street.
His reply was, F4yk o55 dickhead, I'm waiting for my mate to fuel up.
This is a busy road with a school just of the road behind me and an industrial estate to the left of the intersection just behind this tool.
These people breed.
There is no hope for humanity (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180711/bbac14dd35df529e37159092e22a0567.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180711/a1c93da0b1dcf8bef67b4a1ce1106a5b.jpg)

would have been sweet if the garbo truck went through the caravan :D perfect spot for some photos...  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Merts on July 12, 2018, 01:21:26 PM
Handy hint, take a photo with your phone of the bowser after you fill up and another photo of the odometer when you get back in the car and fill you records in later

Or just scribble the odometer reading onto the receipt, as most have the number of litres on them. Then fill out your log-book later.
Post by: austastar on July 12, 2018, 03:31:46 PM
    Isn't that the navigator ' s job?

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: The punter on July 12, 2018, 04:10:21 PM

That sign comes with the caravan paperwork.
Post by: Brij on July 12, 2018, 06:34:37 PM
On our WA trip last year we pulled into a servo [small town] to find a car [empty], no probs I thought, they are just in paying.... 5 mins goes by [maybe they are having a leak??] another 5.. WTF. Kate goes into the shop & asks who might own the white Magna? I do said the lady who was sitting at one of the tables HAVING HER LUNCH!!! Not happy when she was told not to rush as I was just about to knock the car into netrual & give it a nudge with the bullbar..... but she moved her car.

Wife went to Melb with her sister recently in sisters car. Stopped at Pakenham BP to fuel up. Wife says she'll go and order coffee and meet sister inside after she fuels up.
After their cofffee wife heads out to general car park. Sister says "no". Parked at bowsers. Had left the car there after fuelling up. Her and her hubby apparently always do this.

Ironically she is a very nice, generous, helpful person. ........normally!

On their way home my wife got takeaway coffee.
Post by: macca on July 12, 2018, 09:08:41 PM
Geez with these last few posts you can only wish the karma bus catches up with them and runs right over the top of them , just shows how arrorgant, self centered and thoughtless some people have become, yeah and i know its no news flash

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on July 12, 2018, 09:16:11 PM
Pots and kettles, comes to mind... LOL  >:D
Takes 10 seconds, if that.
I have everything ready to go.

Post by: Hairs on July 12, 2018, 09:22:16 PM
You seem to hate servos the way i hate supermarkets

And watch the attendant lose their mind cause you are using a mobile phone at the bowser,
Love ya work

Post by: macca on July 12, 2018, 09:34:37 PM
And watch the attendant lose their mind cause you are using a mobile phone at the bowser,
Love ya work

Their usually to busy on their phone to notice
BTW your not actually using your phone your using your camera if you believe all that crap about phones blowing up servos

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 12, 2018, 10:50:12 PM
Their usually to busy on their phone to notice
BTW your not actually using your phone your using your camera if you believe all that crap about phones blowing up servos

It's the static electricity on you that builds up as you sit and squirm in the Seat.
If it doesn't discharge as you grab the door, it's a real problem when you open the filler and put the nozzle in place to fill up.
It's just because some people were holding phones, in the forecourt videos, that they decided there was something else easier to blame.
Post by: MDS69 on July 13, 2018, 04:53:14 PM
It's the static electricity on you that builds up as you sit and squirm in the Seat.
If it doesn't discharge as you grab the door, it's a real problem when you open the filler and put the nozzle in place to fill up.
It's just because some people were holding phones, in the forecourt videos, that they decided there was something else easier to blame.

Was it not also because if you drop your phone and dislodge the battery there was a chance of a spark across the terminals. Most if not all phones these days have an internal battery.
Post by: krisandkev on July 13, 2018, 07:25:32 PM
Not to mention the need to place your plastic jerry on the ground to fill with diesel!  Funny how you don't need to remove your boat tank to fill with petrol?  PLEASE EXPLAIN...  Kevin
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 13, 2018, 08:27:10 PM
I also want to know how bare concrete is an effective electrical Earth.
If they were serious, I might be inclined to believe them.
It's a good thing that the fuel delivery hose is also the Earth or grounding connection.
Which is why you always ground the nozzle on the receiving tank/jerry can whilst hanging onto both.
Then you open the nozzle and fill up.
Post by: Hairs on July 13, 2018, 08:44:36 PM
I've seen old blokes smoking at the bowser, it must be safe.

Post by: Troopy_03 on July 14, 2018, 01:33:18 PM
Not to mention the need to place your plastic jerry on the ground to fill with diesel!  Funny how you don't need to remove your boat tank to fill with petrol?  PLEASE EXPLAIN...  Kevin

I thought it was just so you didn't drop it, and spill 10 to 20 Litres of fuel on the ground...  ???
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 14, 2018, 02:42:03 PM
I thought it was just so you didn't drop it, and spill 10 to 20 Litres of fuel on the ground...  ???
"Wouldn't that come under OH&S."  I know some one is thinking about it.
Lifting something to a height that's higher than the predetermined safe lifting height.  To get it into, and out of the boat at the servo.
Be Ok empty, but full, a lot of those things are 40 to 50 Litres Capacity aren't they.
I can see Worksafe or similar saying, "Over 20 Litres, too heavy.  Gotta have a crane to lift it, Then there's the Crane installation certification, the crane operators ticket, the crane chasers ticket (Dogman in the old days). The list just keeps getting longer.
So everyone takes the chance on filling the bilges with fumes, and they hope the fumes are all gone by the time they launch and operate the boat.
Post by: Hookie on July 14, 2018, 03:43:12 PM
Had a frustrating moment at a servo recently. I only wanted to use the shop, not fill up, but at this one you have to go through the bowsers to get to the carpark and if there's someone at every bowser there's not enough space to get around.

So a guy was just getting in his car to leave, 2 other cars backed up behind him, I pull up alongside the first car to try to get his attention to say "hey mate I just wanna get through," but because of the times we live in he has full blinkers on and pretends he doesn't see me despite the fact that he could have stuck his right arm out and touched my car. So the guy leaves and this clown punches it into the spot at the bowser because he must have thought I was going to race him for it.

So then I get stuck sitting there for another person to fill up just so I can get to the car park. I stuck my head out the window and said to him "mate, you could have just let me through!" To which he replied pretty rudely "didn't see you" even though we both knew full well that he did.

So that's just my little servo related story.
Post by: Hairs on July 14, 2018, 03:51:02 PM
Hey Hookie,
At servos, some people loose their minds, which makes the rest of us loose our Shit.
Hey, I know we should all take a chill pill, but some people are either so friggin stupid or they realy don't give a rats about other people, they impact on others.
Just hope the karma bus catches up with them, I know that's not nice, but something has to give.

Travel safe mate.

Post by: ehsc on July 15, 2018, 08:07:14 AM
Here is a classic, Pulled up at a BP servo Sth of Proserpine the other day won't mention the name,But after waiting ages like 15 mins for the two cars before to leave the bowsers so I could fill up I noticed the drivers come out with Coffee food etc, So after filling up I go inside to pay and big sign on counter please pay in cafe, line up 5 people in front of me and every one in front orders food one Pearson serving 3 people filling shelves go figure so by the time I paid and get back in car it took 30 mins to get fuel and anther 5 cars lined up for fuel and I could feel the daggers from the drivers behind my rental when I moved, So I thought waisted so much time might as well go to the loo So pulled up around the back in parking area, Then had walk back to servo entry to get to toilet but the best thing when walking back there was a guy filling up his 4x4 towing a big van I noticed the door to the van was open and as I passed here is the blocks Mrs going to the toilet in the van with the door open some people just do my head in.to
Post by: Hairs on July 15, 2018, 08:34:47 AM
All class