General => General Discussion => Topic started by: listo on March 04, 2017, 05:25:02 PM

Title: NRL Season 2017
Post by: listo on March 04, 2017, 05:25:02 PM
Now that it's back, I thought I'd kick off the 2017 version.
My predictions are,
Premiership - Roosters
Minor Premiership - Storm
Spoon - Dragons
SOO - NSW 2-1

My Knights to not get laughed at so much this year.
Title: Re: NRL Season 2017
Post by: Bird on March 08, 2017, 03:54:12 PM
great start for the knights.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/newcastle-knights/jarrod-mullens-b-sample-tests-positive-to-banned-steroid-20170308-gutfb0.html

The rugby league career of Newcastle star Jarrod Mullen is all but over after confirmation of a second positive test to a banned anabolic steroid.

The NRL confirmed on Tuesday it had been informed by the Australian Sports Anti- Doping Agency that Mullen's B-sample tested positive to steroid Drostanolone.
Post by: tracker on March 08, 2017, 04:21:09 PM
My predictions are,
Premiership - Roosters
Spoon - Dragons
SOO - NSW 2-1

i really don't know how to gamble......but...... what odds ???????.....

Post by: Rumpig on March 08, 2017, 05:01:23 PM
Bunnies to get the spoon after seeing how my guys towelled them up last week...made worse with Inglis now gone also. Sadly I can see NSW winning origin this year, lots of good young talent coming through in key positions with Qld getting old (though I hope this prediction is wrong)
Post by: listo on March 08, 2017, 05:30:57 PM
I'm not too sure sure of odds, Tracker, I'm not much good at betting either. Although I'd have money on Jarryd Hayne for MOM if you could bet on that. I wish the media would stir him up after they played the Knights.

This'll probably sound terrible Bird, but it's not all that bad. It's a Shit look for the club, he shouldn't be missed too much as he only plays a handful of games a year anyway
Post by: Bird on March 08, 2017, 05:43:26 PM
I'm not too sure sure of odds, Tracker, I'm not much good at betting either. Although I'd have money on Jarryd Hayne for MOM if you could bet on that. I wish the media would stir him up after they played the Knights.

This'll probably sound terrible Bird, but it's not all that bad. It's a Shit look for the club, he shouldn't be missed too much as he only plays a handful of games a year anyway
thing that gets me is 1:10 get caught in NRL/NRU/AFL etc and spread around the "news"... the others like in AFL you get 2 strikes and they wont say who the offender is.. **** em. do the crime, suffer.
Post by: Bird on March 10, 2017, 07:10:47 AM
ahhh... bulldogs fans in a brawl??? na never..
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/huge-allianz-stadium-fan-brawl-taints-roosters-bulldogs-thriller/news-story/0d1262e02bb578bd5a19c7a92fcad159 (http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/huge-allianz-stadium-fan-brawl-taints-roosters-bulldogs-thriller/news-story/0d1262e02bb578bd5a19c7a92fcad159)
Post by: listo on March 10, 2017, 12:10:43 PM
They'd all be fighting amongst themselves. All the roosters fans would've been at home watching the game on tv
Post by: sol on March 10, 2017, 09:07:20 PM
Anyone watch the Cowboys Broncos game?
Amazing game. :cup: :cup: :cup:
Proud to be a Qlder :cup:

Post by: Rumpig on March 10, 2017, 09:09:36 PM

another epic game between the two teams...no wonder we've towelled the Blues up the past 10 years with such close competition between these Qld teams. 8)
Post by: listo on March 10, 2017, 09:19:32 PM
Feel sorry for the ref, he didn't know who to favour with biased calls  ;D
Post by: muzza01 on March 11, 2017, 06:25:33 AM

Was an awesome game
Post by: listo on March 11, 2017, 04:23:45 PM
 :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

That's all I have to say about that  ;D
Post by: MattNQ on March 11, 2017, 10:11:24 PM
Still wondering why we need golden point during normal rounds?
 Save it for the finals and just call a draw a draw during the season.

sent from Earth via tapatalk

Post by: glenm64 on March 11, 2017, 10:59:09 PM
Just watched the Qld game. Another great match.
Love golden point, they just keep going at it full tilt, unbelievably tough.

Post by: Rumpig on March 12, 2017, 07:41:07 AM
Still wondering why we need golden point during normal rounds?
 Save it for the finals and just call a draw a draw during the season.

sent from Earth via tapatalk
X2.....looking at the points table and Brisbane gets nothing out of that game / no reward for the effort they put in (and i wanted the Cowboys to win by the way). I'd be happy to see golden point used only during the finals when a team needs to be eliminated, reward both teams during the regular season. Brisbane get the same reward this week as Canberra, who just got touched up big time by the Sharks...doesn't seem right to me.
Post by: tracker on March 12, 2017, 11:15:51 AM
X2.....looking at the points table and Brisbane gets nothing out of that game / no reward for the effort they put in (and i wanted the Cowboys to win by the way). I'd be happy to see golden point used only during the finals when a team needs to be eliminated, reward both teams during the regular season. Brisbane get the same reward this week as Canberra, who just got touched up big time by the Sharks...doesn't seem right to me.

Post by: rags on March 12, 2017, 12:00:32 PM
Maybe give 2 points to the winner and 1 point to the loser.
Also maybe bonus points could be given for scoring x number of tries or beating opposition by x points like sharks did to raiders.
I'm happy with golden point however I don't beleive the loser should get nil points.
Post by: sol on March 12, 2017, 12:51:26 PM

X3

Post by: listo on March 19, 2017, 07:12:56 PM
I wonder how long it'll take for the headlines to be questioning Jason Taylor's job again
Post by: grantxx on March 19, 2017, 07:23:54 PM
I wonder how long it'll take for the headlines to be questioning Jason Taylor's job again

Not a fan of Jason Taylor anyway I think he just doent fit at the tigers, Raiders sorted them out well, cant believe the Cows result either. Broncs got robbed :angel:
Post by: grantxx on March 19, 2017, 07:27:23 PM
My predictions are,
Premiership - Roosters
Spoon - Dragons
SOO - NSW 2-1

Minor premiers - Roosters
Premiers Storm
Broncos top 4
Spoon to tigers -
Post by: rags on March 19, 2017, 07:54:56 PM
Minor premiers - Roosters
Premiers Storm
Broncos top 4
Spoon to tigers -

And SoO ?
Post by: grantxx on March 19, 2017, 08:38:26 PM
And SoO ?

Who else but
Post by: Rumpig on March 19, 2017, 08:41:23 PM
i don't rate him at all, the club lost 2 much better coaches before finally punting Farah who was the real problem. Sadly the club has financial issues that mean they won't get rid of Taylor in a hurry.
Post by: Bird on March 20, 2017, 02:19:56 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/wests-tigers-sack-coach-jason-taylor-20170320-gv1ufi.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/wests-tigers-sack-coach-jason-taylor-20170320-gv1ufi.html)

Seems coaches wear all the blame in all codes...
Post by: terravista on March 20, 2017, 03:50:40 PM
Sadly the club has financial issues that mean they won't get rid of Taylor in a hurry.

Got any stock market tips?
I have a bucket full of money I need to get rid off, so it's either buy a Jeep or get buy some bad shares.
Seriously, the Coach's seem to bare the rough end of it when the players don't turn up mentally.
Post by: wilson79 on March 20, 2017, 03:55:28 PM
Sadly the club has financial issues that mean they won't get rid of Taylor in a hurry.

Wrong!!! ;D
Post by: Rumpig on March 20, 2017, 04:31:12 PM
Wrong!!! ;D
happy to be wrong as I can't stand the guy actually.....he was trouble when he played for Wests and at the Bears also, glad he sorted the Farah issue out and got rid of him though...hopefully the club can move forward from here.
Post by: listo on March 20, 2017, 05:06:03 PM
Enter Ivan Cleary?
Post by: gronk on March 20, 2017, 05:52:55 PM
glad he sorted the Farah issue out and got rid of him though...

Everyone thought Farah was the issue......rumour is the top 4 refused to resign while JT was coach, so was Farah ever an issue.....apart from the coaches point of view ??
Post by: grantxx on March 20, 2017, 06:23:03 PM
Well looks like he is gone, cant be a bad thing for the club :cheers:
Post by: Bird on March 20, 2017, 06:33:36 PM
I'm sorry but 4 coaches in 5 years, theres more wrong than just the coach....

I'd say start at the top and work your way to the dozey players.
Post by: grantxx on March 20, 2017, 06:35:39 PM

Yep must agree there,
Post by: Rumpig on March 20, 2017, 06:52:23 PM
Everyone thought Farah was the issue......rumour is the top 4 refused to resign while JT was coach, so was Farah ever an issue.....apart from the coaches point of view ??
Wests lost 2 quality coaches before JT got the job due to issues with Farah. Wests were told not to sign Farah for 4 years and only sign him for 2 by one of those coaches (Potter), yet the club didn't listen to him and you saw how that ended as JT was left in the end to try and sort out that mess. This isn't just something that has occurred since JT got the job, it's been on going for a few years now. I can't imagine any of the players thought JT is a quality coach, he was who the club got stuck with due to previous stupid decisions the club had made. Money issues in the club was why they tried moving Farah on, it turned to crap when Farah found out he was being shopped around to try and get him out of the club to save them some money, yet he didn't want to go anywhere and knew nothing about it previous to that. JT tried to force the point and hoped he'd leave by not selecting him when Robbie wouldn't play to his game plan, but Robbie already had gotten rid of 2 coaches and I guess he thought Taylor would be his 3rd....the rest is history.
Post by: rags on March 20, 2017, 08:24:56 PM

Actually it is the 4th coach in 7 years not that bad, similar to some other clubs. Farah has been the problem, he was moved on from Parra then Souths
happy to be wrong as I can't stand the guy actually.....he was trouble when he played for Wests and at the Bears also, glad he sorted the Farah issue out and got rid of him though...hopefully the club can move forward from here.
Yep he (Taylor) did well with Farah in offloading him to Souths whilst the Tigers continue to pay Farah and take a sizeable chunk of the salary cap. Coach Taylor thought he could solve the  delimar with a replacement no 9 (Halatau) who retired end of season 2016 and never had a quality 9 replacement. Matt Ballin was the obvious in  Taylor's eyes replacement for Farah and he was banking on  Ballin but  he  hasn't played since injury in round 3 2016 and is off contract as a result but still training with a view to a new contract but as a 33 year old, is not really future building for a club. Then you see other players he let go, going well at their new clubs.
I don't think Farah was the issue, but rather Taylor. As a lifelong Balmain supporter and playing  junior  games for that club it is becoming a sad to see the demise of the merged clubs.
Would be happy to see Cleary there but my tip will be Cowboy assistant and former old boy Todd Payton who guided the 3 young  players through the U20's. Cleary maybe a good fit for the club to further developing the halfs similar to what he did with Johnson in NZ and his son with Panthers.
Bright days ahead I hope.
Post by: Bird on March 20, 2017, 08:49:50 PM
Quote from: rags
Actually it is the 4th coach in 7 years not that bad,
Not that bad???? Your taking the wee wee?
Post by: rags on March 21, 2017, 07:35:07 PM
Not that bad???? Your taking the wee wee?

But one of those coaches was there for 8 years and delivered a premiorship. I also think they have only had 5 coaches since becoming a merged franshise 18 years ago.
Post by: Bird on March 22, 2017, 08:16:56 AM
I reckon going through coaches that fast in any sport shows more issues than just the coach...
How can a team gain any momentum or learn the game plan from the new coach or even find out if they are the right player for the new plan etc.

Thats why diveball is such a Shit game.. coach loses 3 games and gets the arse and most teams stay at the arse end of the competition for 30 years cause of it
Post by: Moggy on March 22, 2017, 05:20:24 PM
Wests lost 2 quality coaches before JT got the job due to issues with Farah. Wests were told not to sign Farah for 4 years and only sign him for 2 by one of those coaches (Potter), yet the club didn't listen to him and you saw how that ended as JT was left in the end to try and sort out that mess. This isn't just something that has occurred since JT got the job, it's been on going for a few years now. I can't imagine any of the players thought JT is a quality coach, he was who the club got stuck with due to previous stupid decisions the club had made. Money issues in the club was why they tried moving Farah on, it turned to crap when Farah found out he was being shopped around to try and get him out of the club to save them some money, yet he didn't want to go anywhere and knew nothing about it previous to that. JT tried to force the point and hoped he'd leave by not selecting him when Robbie wouldn't play to his game plan, but Robbie already had gotten rid of 2 coaches and I guess he thought Taylor would be his 3rd....the rest is history.
Mate would appreciate if you could refrain from referring to Jason Taylor as "JT" thats reserved for royalty up here in NQ  ;D
Post by: Rumpig on March 22, 2017, 05:45:41 PM
Mate would appreciate if you could refrain from referring to Jason Taylor as "JT" thats reserved for royalty up here in NQ  ;D
which one...the half back, or the new million dollar man?...lol
Post by: Moggy on March 22, 2017, 05:58:02 PM
Both one is king, the other prince
lolo is affectionately known as JT3 up here

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Post by: grantxx on March 22, 2017, 06:34:35 PM
Tips for round 4

ROOSTERS
PANTHERS
BRONCOS
DOGS
SHARKS
COWBOYS
STORM
DRAGONS????

Post by: Rumpig on March 22, 2017, 06:48:07 PM
Tips for round 4

ROOSTERS
PANTHERS
BRONCOS
DOGS
SHARKS
COWBOYS
STORM
DRAGONS????

watch out for the old coach shown the door bounce to cause an upset against the Storm this weekend  ;)

yeah, even i'm not stupid enough to think that'll happen  :'( ;D ;D
Post by: muzza01 on March 22, 2017, 06:59:21 PM
Both one is king, the other prince
lolo is affectionately known as JT3 up here

Yeah, we need another JT2 since he went to Panthers
Post by: grantxx on March 22, 2017, 07:15:58 PM
watch out for the old coach shown the door bounce to cause an upset against the Storm this weekend  ;)

Would love to see that

Post by: rags on March 22, 2017, 08:15:36 PM
watch out for the old coach shown the door bounce to cause an upset against the Storm this weekend

Don't forget the Storm v tigers record at Leichhardt oval, 11-3 in favour of Tigers.

I'm on a flight out of Sydney on Sunday night. A trip to Leichhart oval on the hill might be a good way to spend a few hours before flying. It would rekindle some memories of my first paying job as a 15 year old ground attendant each Wednesday night working at the Amco cup and also as a place that I played a few games.
Post by: Rumpig on March 22, 2017, 08:52:57 PM
They would want to play 1000% better then they have the past 2 weeks...their defence has been atrocious and unforced errors rediculous. Here's hoping for a miracle turn around in form, but I wouldn't place a bet on them with my own money.
Post by: grantxx on March 22, 2017, 08:56:51 PM
would be a brave person to put any $$$$ on them, odds would be good but
Post by: listo on March 23, 2017, 07:56:30 PM
They're only paying $2.65 head to head at the moment on Sportsbet. I thought it'd be a lot more than that
Post by: Rumpig on March 23, 2017, 08:54:12 PM
They're only paying $2.65 head to head at the moment on Sportsbet. I thought it'd be a lot more than that
i wouldn't bet on them if they were paying 10 X that amount, with the way they have played the past 2 weeks.
Chooks looked the goods again tonight, reckon they'll be top 4 this year assuming Pearce stays off the grog and party gear, and injuries are kind to the club
Post by: listo on March 24, 2017, 07:08:37 AM
Yeh for sure mate, I wouldn't bet on it either. I just thought that attitude would be all round pushing the price up to $8-10.
Bit embarrassing for the Knights paying $5 against Penrith (I wouldn't throw my money away on that either)
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2017, 10:08:00 AM
Wow..

Matt Cecchin has driven to Shark Park countless times during his refereeing career, but this time was different.

He knew something wasn't right.

It was round four last season and Cronulla were about to host Melbourne. For Cecchin, who has officiated more than 350 first grade matches since 2001 and is the game's most experienced referee, it was just another day at the office.

But then it hit him. He panicked. He phoned his partner. "I'm thinking about faking an injury," he said. "I can't do this."

When Cecchin arrived at the ground, he pulled aside his pocket referee, Dave Munro. "Mate, I have to tell you something – I'm not in a good way," he said. "I don't want to tell you this because I know you might be shocked but there might be times in this game when you have to step in."

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/i-was-going-to-fake-an-injury-nrl-referee-matt-cecchin-opens-up-about-mental-health-20170406-gvezcm.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/i-was-going-to-fake-an-injury-nrl-referee-matt-cecchin-opens-up-about-mental-health-20170406-gvezcm.html)
Post by: Rumpig on April 07, 2017, 04:04:58 PM
Good on him on being able to come out and speak publicly about that issue, hopefully others will be willing seek the help they need now if the pressure gets to much for them, instead of doing something drastic that will effect many people for a long time.
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2017, 04:11:22 PM
Good on him on being able to come out and speak publicly about that issue, hopefully others will be willing seek the help they need now if the pressure gets to much for them, instead of doing something drastic that will effect many people for a long time.
agree

"Cecchin, 43, as well as fellow referee Ben Cummins, will on Friday be named as one of the NRL's new State of Mind ambassadors, who support the game's extensive mental health program."
Post by: Rumpig on April 09, 2017, 04:33:01 PM
A big thank you to the Cowgirls for moving my team up off of  the bottom of the ladder last night  :cup:
Post by: sol on April 09, 2017, 07:38:58 PM
A big thank you to the Cowgirls for moving my team up off of  the bottom of the ladder last night  :cup:

They played well and deserved the win mate.
   Looked a different team last night and great to see.

Post by: Rumpig on April 09, 2017, 07:51:32 PM

They played well and deserved the win mate.
   Looked a different team last night and great to see.

i don't have pay tv so didn't see it sadly. Have only gotten to see their losing games so far on free to air, all of which I turned off about 5 minutes into the second half...lol
Post by: sol on April 09, 2017, 08:20:32 PM
I don't have pay tv either. I've got the NRL Telstra app.
I can watch the games free as long as I'm a Telstra customer.

Post by: Rumpig on April 10, 2017, 05:52:47 AM
I don't have pay tv either. I've got the NRL Telstra app.
I can watch the games free as long as I'm a Telstra customer.

i thought you had to pay for that?...I had it last year for free seeing I renewed my contract with them, but thought it was only 12 months free. Not really looked into it this year as I didn't use it much, but I thought it cost me this year and just the download amount didn't come off the users limit.
Post by: sol on April 10, 2017, 07:47:21 PM
I didn't have to pay for it. I just updated to the 2017 app and away it goes.

Post by: Rumpig on April 10, 2017, 08:58:58 PM
I didn't have to pay for it. I just updated to the 2017 app and away it goes.

i'll have a look then
Post by: paceman on April 13, 2017, 01:00:22 PM
great buy for the broncos...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/jack-bird-rejects-cronulla-sharks-offer-to-join-the-brisbane-broncos/news-story/09f32304df28451d94d03e0b4072e11b (http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/jack-bird-rejects-cronulla-sharks-offer-to-join-the-brisbane-broncos/news-story/09f32304df28451d94d03e0b4072e11b)

he can play lock, fullback, centre, 5/8th and probably second row in a pinch...  doesn't get more versatile than that...

i reckon benny will put him as a lock, with 5/8th thrown in sometimes... mcguire back to prop, where he belongs...
Post by: rags on April 13, 2017, 08:26:52 PM
great buy for the broncos...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/jack-bird-rejects-cronulla-sharks-offer-to-join-the-brisbane-broncos/news-story/09f32304df28451d94d03e0b4072e11b (http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/jack-bird-rejects-cronulla-sharks-offer-to-join-the-brisbane-broncos/news-story/09f32304df28451d94d03e0b4072e11b)

he can play lock, fullback, centre, 5/8th and probably second row in a pinch...  doesn't get more versatile than that...

i reckon benny will put him as a lock, with 5/8th thrown in sometimes... mcguire back to prop, where he belongs...

Me think he will end up as 1 and Boyd to 6
Post by: Bird on April 21, 2017, 07:43:02 PM
That was one of T H E best diving tries I've ever seen...
18-14 with 7 to go...
Post by: Banjo16 on April 21, 2017, 10:03:15 PM
With all the technology they still get it wrong. As much as I'm nota Souths supporter I think they were robbed.
Post by: krisandkev on April 22, 2017, 06:56:45 AM
With all the technology they still get it wrong. As much as I'm nota Souths supporter I think they were robbed.

I started watching at half time and thought the Bronco's had turned off.  They were bad, while souths were pumping.  Not having seen the first half I am not sure if the better team won. 

I think there are now too many cooks in the kitchen with regards to rulings.  Is there a perfect system, no and with the TV coverage now there will always be contentious rulings.   Kevin
Post by: Rumpig on April 23, 2017, 06:17:35 PM
One more move up from the bottom of the ladder...thanks Bulldogs  8)
Post by: listo on April 24, 2017, 05:36:03 PM
Yeh, thanks bulldogs... wooden spoon, here we come!
Post by: Banjo16 on April 25, 2017, 07:30:52 PM
WHATS WRONG WITH A DRAW.
Post by: tracker on April 29, 2017, 07:42:01 AM

Eletric Eels put a shock through the Cow's........  ;D ;D

Post by: Rumpig on April 29, 2017, 08:26:13 AM
       Eletric Eels put a shock through the Cow's........  ;D ;D

if the Eels couldn't beat the Cows whilst they are missing Thurston, Scott, Coote and Granville (missing the teams main spine and number one forward basically)...they'd deserve to win the wooden spoon.
Post by: Moggy on April 29, 2017, 11:59:25 AM
I was at game, & we were deplorable, hate to admit it, but even without the above mentioned, they would've struggled against a park footy team, such was the level of play.
We may make the 8, but it will likely be by good luck rather than good play, but where there's life, there's hope.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on May 06, 2017, 10:59:37 AM
No wonder the sharks are so quick
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/cronulla-sharks/cronulla-sharks-chairman-damian-keogh-stands-down-over-alleged-cocaine-possession-20170506-gvziip.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/cronulla-sharks/cronulla-sharks-chairman-damian-keogh-stands-down-over-alleged-cocaine-possession-20170506-gvziip.html)
Post by: Rumpig on May 06, 2017, 01:03:40 PM
No wonder the sharks are so quick
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/cronulla-sharks/cronulla-sharks-chairman-damian-keogh-stands-down-over-alleged-cocaine-possession-20170506-gvziip.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/cronulla-sharks/cronulla-sharks-chairman-damian-keogh-stands-down-over-alleged-cocaine-possession-20170506-gvziip.html)
He's not alone, the N.Z captain is reported (on Triple M radio just before) to have done the same thing last night also....Ryan Girdler is on Triple M saying this guy shouldn't lose his job...FFS, if the head guys at the club can't set the right examples, how can they expect the players to do it, let alone be able to look them in the face and sack them for doing the same thing. Typical response from an ex player sadly, it's in their culture to just say drugs are everywhere in the cummunity, so it's no big deal that someone took them. They take the big $$$ to be involved in the game at the top level so should lead by example IMHO....get caught doing the wrong thing and kick them to the curve, they signed contracts to say that's how they'll act, stop babying everyone and send the message it's not acceptable behaviour....plenty of other talent in coaching, CEO's and players always come along.
Post by: Bird on May 06, 2017, 02:56:03 PM
Quote from: Rumpig
He's not alone, the N.Z captain is reported (on Triple M radio just before) to have done the same thing last night also....Ryan Girdler is on Triple M saying this guy shouldn't lose his job...FFS, if the head guys at the club can't set the right examples, how can they expect the players to do it, let alone be able to look them in the face and sack them for doing the same thing.
Typical response from an ex player sadly, it's in their culture to just say drugs are everywhere in the cummunity, so it's no big deal that someone took them.
They take the big $$$ to be involved in the game at the top level so should lead by example IMHO...
get caught doing the wrong thing and kick them to the curve, they signed contracts to say that's how they'll act, stop babying everyone and send the message it's not acceptable behaviour...
plenty of other talent in coaching, CEO's and players always come along.
I agree with everything you said!
Post by: Foo on May 06, 2017, 04:34:17 PM
I agree with everything you said!

There's one rule for us and one for them thinking in every sport. He was one of the ones screamin the loudest against the chit with ASADA, well we now know why!  >:D

Post by: rags on May 06, 2017, 08:05:52 PM
There's one rule for us and one for them thinking in every sport. He was one of the ones screamin the loudest against the chit with ASADA, well we now know why!  >:D

Foo which person, Girdler or Keough
Post by: Foo on May 06, 2017, 08:35:48 PM
Girdler is a dipchit for saying what he did and Keough is no better that a drug cheat player as he was condoning the use of drugs, by taking them, himself. Bloody hypocrite!  >:D

Post by: Rumpig on May 07, 2017, 11:14:00 AM
Listening to some ex NSW players today whinge about City V Country game being axed...it's a complete waste of time and not taken serious by anyone these days. If Qld can pick an 11 year dominant winning Origin team without such a game in their state, I'm pretty sure NSW can do th same (though apparently they are happy to only win 3 years in a row, and then call it the death of Origin). There's a thing called talent scouts that grab kids from the Country at a young age these days, move on,  the game was important 15 years ago but not today...a waste of time and money. You want the Country to feel included in the game, then start playing some NRL games in the bush more often, the crowds would be as big as Sydney gets at many of it's weekly games anyhow.
Post by: Rumpig on May 07, 2017, 06:54:46 PM
WTF....the Titans are now putting in a complaint that Proctor wasn't supervised properly whilst on representative duties for NZ, and that's why he took the drugs. Geez I thought he was grown adult that should be held responsible for his own actions, but apparently that's not the case hey...what a bloody joke.
Post by: sol on May 07, 2017, 07:39:23 PM
I agree mate, what a f@@king joke. >:( >:(

Post by: Bird on May 08, 2017, 09:47:00 AM
You want the Country to feel included in the game, then start playing some NRL games in the bush more often, the crowds would be as big as Sydney gets at many of it's weekly games anyhow.
I agree with that.. sport is the life of many country towns and regions.
Post by: Bird on May 09, 2017, 10:49:00 AM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/p180x540/18402934_1372695199484904_9196057814226048093_n.jpg?oh=591b9ff26c01f790d01830b76fcf81aa&oe=597679AA)
Post by: tracker on May 09, 2017, 12:13:45 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/p180x540/18402934_1372695199484904_9196057814226048093_n.jpg?oh=591b9ff26c01f790d01830b76fcf81aa&oe=597679AA)

I guess the hair style say's it all..........Just my 2 bob's worth.... co*k head....got the letters mixed up

Post by: Bird on May 09, 2017, 12:23:58 PM
Sad thing is its getting reported so often, I think that Stirlo said it best... more needs to be done

but it is happening in all sports, some just hide it better than others sadly.
Post by: BigDog816 on May 09, 2017, 08:33:14 PM
Sad thing is its getting reported so often, I think that Stirlo said it best... more needs to be done

but it is happening in all sports, some just hide it better than others sadly.

Stirlo, talking about lines in the sand, while discussing the Gold Coast's teams drugs problem. Gold ;D
Post by: Bird on May 10, 2017, 12:20:39 PM
Stirlo, talking about lines in the sand, while discussing the Gold Coast's teams drugs problem. Gold ;D
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on May 10, 2017, 02:02:34 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/sharks-and-roosters-lose-1-million-sponsorship-report-20170510-gw1fmt.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/sharks-and-roosters-lose-1-million-sponsorship-report-20170510-gw1fmt.html)

and now the problems begin...
Post by: BigDog816 on May 10, 2017, 08:32:55 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/sharks-and-roosters-lose-1-million-sponsorship-report-20170510-gw1fmt.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/sharks-and-roosters-lose-1-million-sponsorship-report-20170510-gw1fmt.html)

and now the problems begin...

Not surprising when the chairman gets done.

Post by: Rumpig on May 11, 2017, 09:28:23 PM
Why is it that Kleemer never gets penalised for lifting his legs / knees the way he does when he runs?
Post by: tracker on May 19, 2017, 04:29:33 PM

Looks like the cowgirls are pulling there chaps on backwards again........ :'( 

Post by: tracker on May 19, 2017, 04:38:56 PM

Post by: tracker on May 19, 2017, 04:43:48 PM
   Sorry....didn't mean to stutter.......
Post by: Bird on May 19, 2017, 04:58:37 PM
Im a bit out of touch with NRL, but I watched the Sharks game last weekend, and when did they allow 1/4 backs in teh game?? There were more untouched forward passes than in 10 yrs added together.

The Bunker = Wank.
Post by: sol on May 19, 2017, 06:09:12 PM

You could be right there mate. Played like champs first half and threw it away in the second half :'( :'( :'(

Post by: Pete79 on May 31, 2017, 01:24:49 PM
Surprisingly quite in here....

Queenslanders don't want to gloat or the New South Walshmen have completely given up???
Post by: tracker on May 31, 2017, 01:46:23 PM

Queenslanders don't want to gloat or the New South Walshmen have completely given up???

I think there is a fair amount of pressure in both camps.......

Post by: paceman on May 31, 2017, 01:47:29 PM

no gloating at the moment...

NSW has probably never picked a stronger side (other than not picking Paul Vaughan) and QLD may have whiffed on a few selection omissions... (Slater, Wallace, Hess)...  time will tell, i guess.

Milford's kicking game has me worried as well...

but, on the plus side, i heard a rumour that Roy & HG are back on Triple M for the SOO call... so that's good news... :)

Post by: Pete79 on May 31, 2017, 02:17:03 PM
but, on the plus side, i heard a rumour that Roy & HG are back on Triple M for the SOO call... so that's good news... :)

Oh  how i wish that where true.
Unfortunately, it looks like it is just a rumor.... https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/nrl/listen-live-games-triple-m-is-calling (https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/nrl/listen-live-games-triple-m-is-calling)

I actually think this year was Queensland's chance to blood some young talent and prepare for the sad future.
It won't be too long before there's no more core players like Thurston, Thaiday, Smith or Slater to build a team around.

Besides after winning 10 out of the last 11, if we don't let them win one series soon they're going to give up on it all together.
We all know how much those southerners hate having to work hard for things....  ;D
Post by: paceman on May 31, 2017, 02:20:20 PM
Oh  how i wish that where true.
Unfortunately, it looks like it is just a rumor.... https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/nrl/listen-live-games-triple-m-is-calling (https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/nrl/listen-live-games-triple-m-is-calling)

I actually think this year was Queensland's chance to blood some young talent and prepare for the sad future.
It won't be too long before there's no more core players like Thurston, Thaiday, Smith or Slater to build a team around.

Besides after winning 10 out of the last 11, if we don't let them win one series soon they're going to give up on it all together.
We all know how much those southerners hate having to work hard for things....  ;D

maybe not...

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/teams/whats-the-buzz-roy-slaven-and-hg-nelson-will-return-to-origin-commentary-in-2017/news-story/845472ae2e46e8ece834555ea358e703 (http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/teams/whats-the-buzz-roy-slaven-and-hg-nelson-will-return-to-origin-commentary-in-2017/news-story/845472ae2e46e8ece834555ea358e703)

possibly a bit of a team rebuild if we lose the first game by a bunch...

if we lose and it's close, they will probably stick with the same team to give them a chance at redemption...

if we go down 2-0, then i suspect a changing of the guard will be coming...
Post by: Rumpig on May 31, 2017, 06:11:45 PM
If NSW can't win this series they should give up...no Scott, Thurston or Inglis, and apparently we don't need an attacking player like Slater in the team either....I can see a Roach victory in the making sadly.
Post by: Hairs on May 31, 2017, 06:23:08 PM

A bride on her wedding night says to her husband "I must confess darling, I was a hooker!".He says "That"s alright, dear. Your past is your past, but I must admit that I find it quite erotic. Tell me about it".She replies "Well, my name was Cameron, and I played for QLD!".
Post by: glenm64 on May 31, 2017, 06:42:27 PM
If NSW can't win this series they should give up...no Scott, Thurston or Inglis, and apparently we don't need an attacking player like Slater in the team either....I can see a Roach victory in the making sadly.
I'm a West Aussie whos been following NRL for the last decade, ever since the AFL turned into a Nancies game.
Rumpig is 100% correct with his assessment of the Qld side. If NSW cant win this series, and they should do it comfortably, they should give up.

Post by: rags on May 31, 2017, 07:05:12 PM
I'm a West Aussie whos been following NRL for the last decade, ever since the AFL turned into a Nancies game.
Rumpig is 100% correct with his assessment of the Qld side. If NSW cant win this series, and they should do it comfortably, they should give up.

I must be looking at a different team sheet to you folk. My sheet shows that Qld has a bloke playing in 9 who has played 40 SOG 50 tests, 300 club games. A no 7 who directs a team around better than most others. A no 1 who was player of the series last year. They have a forward pack worthy of origin success, and 2 wingers that can dance down the touch line.
For anyone to suggest that the Blues are a certainty at Suncorp are living a fantasy.
I hope you are right!
Post by: Rumpig on May 31, 2017, 08:26:47 PM
A pretty soft try there...the big NSW forwards will get the offloads going all night (it's what they have been doing well in the NRL this season) and they'll run Qld ragged. I predicted this on another forum a week ago, the halves who have been ordinary in past years should have a field day on the back of that.
Post by: Rumpig on May 31, 2017, 08:58:49 PM
Another pretty soft try to NSW...Qld opened up big time down the middle then.
Post by: gronk on May 31, 2017, 09:15:45 PM

Scott who ??   Inglis is over the hill, and of course injured and may even retire......yep, they'll miss Thurston. But Qld still have a pretty handy pack.
Post by: Rumpig on May 31, 2017, 09:22:30 PM
Scott who ??   Inglis is over the hill, and of course injured and may even retire......yep, they'll miss Thurston. But Qld still have a pretty handy pack.
Matt Scott is one of the best forwards in the game and Inglis is a freak...the guy might not be as consistent as Thurston, but he can turn a game with one freakish break or act he does. I predicted elsewhere NSW will whitewash this series, looking like my prediction is off to a good start I reckon. What's been funny has been reading NSW fans on various forums carry on like they have little chance of winning, when in reality they are odds on favourites this year.
Post by: Rumpig on May 31, 2017, 09:32:05 PM
Game 1 NSW ...all over red rover
Post by: glenm64 on May 31, 2017, 09:45:08 PM
To be co captain with JT, sort of says it all.

Post by: krisandkev on May 31, 2017, 09:47:28 PM
Did Qld swap players at half time?  What happened to them, and what with a short kick off by SMITH!  They are so bad it is embarrassing.  Yep, I think NSW will win this year.   They are playing a good game and deserve the win tonight.  Kevin :'(
Post by: listo on May 31, 2017, 10:09:50 PM
Pretty pumped with that & am happy to be proved wrong about the squad.
As for the game, it was great to see a high quality game with none of that niggly Shit that the grubby players normally come out with.
For a guy that's getting turned off by rugby league, that was good stuff
Post by: grantxx on May 31, 2017, 10:12:01 PM
bugger - Blues earnt that one, first half was great - 2nd half I think QLD were spent, oh well 2 to go - decider up here
Post by: rags on May 31, 2017, 10:29:25 PM
Pretty pumped with that & am happy to be proved wrong about the squad.
As for the game, it was great to see a high quality game with none of that niggly Shit that the grubby players normally come out with.
For a guy that's getting turned off by rugby league, that was good stuff

It will be interesting if any thing comes of the eye gouge by N Myles on Hayne early in 1st half when he played the ball, not needed in this or any game. Kind of slip by many however Hayne did appeal to ref after playing ball
Link
http://www.sportingnews.com/au/league/news/watch-myles-eye-gouges-hayne/1th55cq56c5wi10m0rh6a5fwmd (http://www.sportingnews.com/au/league/news/watch-myles-eye-gouges-hayne/1th55cq56c5wi10m0rh6a5fwmd)
Post by: paceman on June 01, 2017, 06:52:07 AM

Matt Scott, I believe...

our pack was dominated last night.  Fifita showed what type of forwards you need in the modern game:  great footwork and a handy offload...

Josh McGuire is a bit of a myth at origin level at the moment... he was supposed to be Corey Parker 2.0, but he doesn't have the offloading skill that Parker had...

Myles is done.  gets through tackling work, but offers nothing else.  Guerra and Lillyman try hard, but they are done as well...

most of our backs, especially Gagai and Oates, were tremendous... O'Neill was given a bath by Hayne & Morris...

Milford showed glimpses of what he could do, and with a dominating pack, he would be extremely dangerous...

we missed JT's kicking game terribly.  Cronk was under pressure every time he kicked...

i suspect big changes coming for game 2.  my predictions below...  ;D

OUT
Guerra, Lillyman, Myles, O'Neill

IN
Slater, Hess, Wallace, Lawrence
Post by: paceman on June 01, 2017, 11:19:21 AM
i suspect big changes coming for game 2.  my predictions below...  ;D

OUT
Guerra, Lillyman, Myles, O'Neill

IN
Slater, Hess, Wallace, Lawrence

or this one maybe, if they choose to still omit Slater and they deem Lawrence too old...

Start:   Boyd, Oates, Chambers, Gagai, Holmes, JT, Cronk, Napa, Smith, Papalii, Thaiday, Gillett, McGuire
Bench: Morgan, Hess, Wallace, Sims
Post by: Pete79 on June 13, 2017, 01:35:11 PM
Looks like we could be in trouble.....
It's only taken them 21 years to work it out, but NSW might have finally realized that you need to have a 'team' to win an origin series.

http://abc.net.au/news/2017-06-12/blues-name-unchanged-lineup-for-origin-ii/8611150 (http://abc.net.au/news/2017-06-12/blues-name-unchanged-lineup-for-origin-ii/8611150)

Personally I loved they way they chopped and changed their line up after every game. QLD always stuck with their core team, while it was not unusual for NSW to have completely different halfs combinations for every single game. Then proceed to rip their team apart again after they lost another series.
Here's hoping they can now start being a decent opponent for the dominant Queenslanders after a decade or more of mediocrity.
Post by: Rumpig on July 12, 2017, 10:28:34 PM
Stoked to be proven wrong tonight...i didn't think that Qld were a chance of winning, but they show a hunger that had them dominate the Roaches in the first half. Great way to send a few Qld legends out tonight, just a matter of how many that turns out to be now

QUEENSLANDER!!!  
Post by: sol on July 12, 2017, 10:37:03 PM
Class act Qld :cup:

Post by: macca on July 12, 2017, 10:52:28 PM
Class act Qld :cup:

^^^^^^ What he said.
Bloody good win from a bloody great team.
As a Storm supporter was pretty proud of Munsters debut.

Post by: patroldude on July 13, 2017, 09:25:53 AM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170712/ac2405a8834d3e0f4e74ca0a3310faef.jpg)

Post by: Bird on July 13, 2017, 10:13:47 AM
Quote from: macca
As a Storm supporter was pretty proud of Munsters debut.
he looked like a seasoned player.
Post by: gronk on July 13, 2017, 06:25:57 PM
Pretty ordinary performance from NSW.....couldn't even beat the Storm !! And another couple of Qld players !!

Gagai had another good game.....him and Darius Boyd couldn't rub two sticks together at the Knights, but look how they go at Brisbane and Qld !!

People talk about Thurston, Inglis, Cronk etc....but Qld's biggest playmaker is Cameron Smith. I just hope he retires soon so NSW can have a chance !!
Post by: paceman on July 13, 2017, 06:33:44 PM
Pretty ordinary performance from NSW.....couldn't even beat the Storm !! And another couple of Qld players !!

Gagai had another good game.....him and Darius Boyd couldn't rub two sticks together at the Knights, but look how they go at Brisbane and Qld !!

People talk about Thurston, Inglis, Cronk etc....but Qld's biggest playmaker is Cameron Smith. I just hope he retires soon so NSW can have a chance !!

the playmakers (cronk, JT, munster) are better when smith is running from dummy half... that's what killed NSW in the first 20 minutes...
Post by: sol on July 13, 2017, 07:43:01 PM
Slaters still the best fullback in the game too :cup:

Post by: Rumpig on July 13, 2017, 08:27:11 PM

Smith is a massive driving force for Qld, the way he leads the team and the respect the other players have for him will be hard to replace...i do wonder who will take his role when he retires.
Post by: Hairs on July 13, 2017, 08:35:32 PM
i do wonder who will take his role when he retires.
Alfie  ;D
Post by: Hairs on July 16, 2017, 09:08:54 AM
Kangaroo team Name.
"Eight NSW VB Blues players fill the Kangaroos Merit team"
http://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2017/07/16/eight_vb_blues_named.html (http://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2017/07/16/eight_vb_blues_named.html)

Post by: Rumpig on July 16, 2017, 09:49:38 AM
Kangaroo team Name.
http://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2017/07/16/eight_vb_blues_named.html (http://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2017/07/16/eight_vb_blues_named.html)
i guess the NSW players would be fresh for it atleast, it's not like they did much in the last Origin game....anyone seen Fifita lately, or is he still MIA? ;D
Post by: Hairs on July 16, 2017, 03:18:46 PM
i guess the NSW players would be fresh for it atleast, it's not like they did much in the last Origin game?

Oh you're a funny bugger (http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/Slap.gif)
Post by: Rumpig on July 16, 2017, 03:42:20 PM
I'm actually surprised Fifita isn't there actually, yes he was shut down by Qld the last 2 games, but he was unstoppable game one and he's one of the form forwards...his offload ability is better then most others. Personally I thought Frizell was pretty disappointing for NSW, he showed much better form leading up to Origin, but didn't do a lot during it IMO.
Post by: Hairs on July 16, 2017, 03:47:20 PM
I agree,
Game 1, NSW was hungry, the last two it was as if they had eaten before the game, slow, sleepy.
Sure there were small glimpses of what got them through game 1, but nothing to get excited about.
NSW played some really dumb football game 3.

Post by: Hairs on July 16, 2017, 03:57:57 PM
It was mentioned before how much of an influence Alfie has, as a trainer on the paddock for QLD, he's like a 14th player, directing players here & there.
I know Rod Wishart is a trainer for the Blues, but you don't see him on the paddock like you do Alfie.
Why doesn't NSW play the same tactics?

Post by: rags on July 16, 2017, 08:21:11 PM
Kangaroo team Name.

This is as useful as the AFL equivalent, the "All Australian Team" , selected to play nothing.
I think I will just wait for the end of the season for when the real team is selected.
Post by: Foo on July 17, 2017, 06:16:28 AM
It was mentioned before how much of an influence Alfie has, as a trainer on the paddock for QLD, he's like a 14th player, directing players here & there.
I know Rod Wishart is a trainer for the Blues, but you don't see him on the paddock like you do Alfie.
Because they just don't get it!

Hurry up corkhead!

Post by: Garfish on July 17, 2017, 06:20:31 AM
Wishart was a winger not a playmaker, alf still thinks he'll get a phone call to play again,
Post by: Hairs on July 17, 2017, 07:51:16 AM
Wishart was a winger not a playmaker, alf still thinks he'll get a phone call to play again,
Yeah, but he's been around the game long enough.
Sitting on the side line watching a game, you can see where holes are, who isn't quiet up in the line, because you're not the one running the ball, mark the bloke opposite you, you have time to watch.
Post by: Moggy on July 17, 2017, 07:56:35 AM
This is as useful as the AFL equivalent, the "All Australian Team" , selected to play nothing.
I think I will just wait for the end of the season for when the real team is selected.
Sort like a "participation" award

Post by: rags on July 17, 2017, 06:27:56 PM
Sort like a "participation" award

I though participation award would be banned in this do good society, wrecks a kids confidence when he didn't get one, I was told.
Fifita could be psychologically damaged now for not being selected.
Post by: gronk on July 17, 2017, 06:59:45 PM
Tedesco on the wing ?  He is a very good player, but this is what NSW used to do....pick players out of position.
Post by: Rumpig on July 18, 2017, 05:52:13 PM
I find it amusing the current carry on about Dugan and Ferguson out on the drink 6 days before the final SOO game...Dugan was one of your best in the last game, maybe the rest of the team should of also gotten on the grog...lol. The bigger disgrace is Fifita cracking the sulks about starting on the bench, and forcing Daley to let him run on at the start of the game...he did SFA anyway
Post by: gronk on July 18, 2017, 06:26:54 PM
Yeh, I like the newspapers....Dugan and Ferguson on a bender !! They were at the pub for 8 hrs, so if they had been drinking all that time, they'd be blind, but I bet they never checked to see how much they actually drank ?

NSW.....get rid of Ferguson, Hayne and Fifita for being a sook. Pearce also must be on shaky ground as well !!
Post by: Bird on July 30, 2017, 03:52:39 PM
Now nice is it to see manly get pissed all over from a great height ;D ;D

Post by: Rumpig on July 30, 2017, 05:58:51 PM
Now nice is it to see manly get pissed all over from a great height ;D ;D
Almost as nice as seeing my boys give the Titans a touch up at their home field this arvo.....just wish someone did a "This is my house" to Jarrod Hayne, like the knob did when they beat us previously at home.
Post by: Bird on July 30, 2017, 06:09:00 PM
The Bunker... again. (same with the AFL stupid Shit cameras)

watched a game yesterday where there were 2 tries - both given - with the ref's decision... both looked to be held up and not even any of the players acted like either were tries - live...

I didn't actually think either had got there while watching it live, even when watching it on the eleven hundred thousand replays I wasn't certain.

There was no decisive footage either way, but it goes to the ref's decision.
Why not go with it in the first place. ???
Post by: Bird on August 06, 2017, 12:26:10 PM
that aint cool..

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/nathan-ross-suffers-broken-back-after-hit-from-behind-20170806-gxq8eb.html

Newcastle will be without their leading tryscorer, fullback Nathan Ross, for the rest of the NRL season after he suffered a broken bone in his back in Saturday's win against the Warriors.

Ross fielded a kick in the 49th minute and, as he bent over to gather up the ball, was hit from behind by Warriors centre Blake Ayshford.

Brock Lamb starred for Newcastle, with fan favourite Nathan Ross failing to finish the game with a suspected fractured back in Round 22 against the New Zealand Warriors.

Ayshford's knee appeared to strike Ross right in the middle of his back and Newcastle's No.1 immediately screamed in pain.

After a lengthy delay for treatment, he was helped off the field. 

Once he crossed the sideline, he lay down and was eventually taken from the playing arena on a medicab.

The 28-year-old crowd favourite, who has scored 10 tries in 18 games this season, was rushed to hospital, where X-rays confirmed a fracture of the L1 transverse process, which will requite surgery.
Post by: Bird on August 21, 2017, 05:09:19 PM
... and it begins

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/rugby-league/gold-coast-titans/gold-coast-titans-coach-neil-henry-sacked-20170821-gy0u9y.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/rugby-league/gold-coast-titans/gold-coast-titans-coach-neil-henry-sacked-20170821-gy0u9y.html)
Post by: b1 on August 27, 2017, 05:08:11 AM
Sharks. A premiership in the trophy cabinet and the monkey is off our back. Really haven't look a threat year. Too many errors, too comfortable. Not a cohesive unit. O well 2016 was a our time - finally. Melbourne look too good. Hope roosters do well and Ricky's Raiders miss out - not a sticky fan
Post by: Hairs on August 27, 2017, 11:40:46 AM
Tommy at his best.
Love it.
Tommy Raudonikis launches withering attack on Jarryd Hayne
http://wwos.nine.com.au/2017/08/25/10/26/jarryd-hayne-tom-raudonikis (http://wwos.nine.com.au/2017/08/25/10/26/jarryd-hayne-tom-raudonikis)
Post by: Bird on August 27, 2017, 12:48:00 PM
souths played well LMAO
Post by: sol on September 01, 2017, 05:29:10 AM
Congrats Broncos.  :'( my boys were beaten by a better team on the night. All the final teams are going to have to step up a notch or two to match it with the Storm this year.

Post by: listo on September 01, 2017, 07:43:44 AM
I just read that someone called Macklemore is going to be headlining the Grand Final entertainment, so I looked him up on iTunes...  ??? ??? ??? WTF?
No doubt the AFL entertainment will be good again
Post by: paceman on September 01, 2017, 08:57:33 AM
I just read that someone called Macklemore is going to be headlining the Grand Final entertainment, so I looked him up on iTunes...  ??? ??? ??? WTF?
No doubt the AFL entertainment will be good again

to be fair to the NRL, they did engage the/some fans as to who they would want as entertainment:

(quote from fox sports article)...

"And in an NRL first, the act was chosen after a special focus group involving fans. Macklemore was one of the leading choices in a vote by fans on who they wanted most to perform prior to the grand final."

the entertainment doesn't mean much to me, anyways... i watch the games, not the hoopla that surrounds it...

he's at least a big, current entertainer. 
Post by: Rumpig on September 01, 2017, 11:37:47 AM
Won't waste my time watching the half time show this year then  ::) ::)
Post by: scblack on September 01, 2017, 12:15:27 PM
souths played well LMAO
Did they photoshop in the crowd again?

That's serious - Foxtel actually photoshopped people in the crowd for a Souths game.

How sad.
Post by: Pete79 on September 01, 2017, 12:41:38 PM
Did they photoshop in the crowd again?

That's serious - Foxtel actually photoshopped people in the crowd for a Souths game.

How sad.
Haha, did they photoshop 15,000 Alan Jones heads....?? ;D

Must be time to kick them out of the comp again..... ;P

Last time they averaged a couple of thousand at a game they got kicked out of the comp, then all of a sudden every B grade celeb and radio shock jock comes crawling out from under their rock and announces they're a diehard souths fan...
Post by: Bird on September 01, 2017, 02:01:15 PM
Won't waste my time watching the half time show this year then  ::) ::)
It will be another success like Meatloaf in the AFL LMAO

The voting was probably done by non NRL fans just to get the bloke to AU
Post by: paceman on September 01, 2017, 02:52:14 PM

picking suitable/popular entertainment for a big grand final is a hiding to nothing.

you can't please everybody.

i'm not a huge fan of the bloke, but why not get a current, popular, award winning international artist if you can?

this quote from another forum just about sums it up...

NRL could revive the two dead Beatles and reunite the four, along with Elvis, Michael Jackson and Freddie Mercury and people would still get upset.

Post by: Rumpig on September 01, 2017, 06:58:58 PM

more like the kids of the NRL bosses i was thinking...get to see their favourite band / artist....lol
Post by: Bird on September 02, 2017, 02:46:27 PM
more like the kids of the NRL bosses i was thinking...get to see their favourite band / artist....lol
pretty much what I was thinking.
Post by: Rumpig on September 08, 2017, 07:58:51 PM
Let the finals begin 8)
EDIT...My prediction...Roosters will easily beat the Broncos tonight, though it's the Broncos i'd prefer to win. Parra showed how average Brisbanes defence can be
Post by: Rumpig on September 08, 2017, 09:42:38 PM
Told ya's they'd win easy...lol
Post by: krisandkev on September 09, 2017, 06:15:21 AM
Was going for the Broncos but they were so bad at times they did not deserve to win.  Maybe they missed Darius Boyd too much and I don't thing Blair was the best as captain.  Close score in the end.  Kevin
Post by: Rumpig on September 09, 2017, 06:36:24 AM
Was going for the Broncos but they were so bad at times they did not deserve to win.  Maybe they missed Darius Boyd too much and I don't thing Blair was the best as captain.  Close score in the end.  Kevin
i don't reckon it's a Darius thing, he was there the first half against Parra when they ran riot against Brisbane, the Chooks did the same thing in the first 30 minutes also...their defence can be very ordinary at times. Brisbane were lucky to go in at half time only 8 points behind, that try they got before the break gave them a sniff and kept them in the game.
Post by: Rumpig on September 11, 2017, 06:40:00 AM
I see Flanagan was having a sook about refs sending Maloney to the bin in yesterday's game...the most penalised guy in the game deserved to go, it's a professional foul every day of the week. Stop sooking Flanagan, your guys weren't good enough pure and simple.
Post by: gronk on September 11, 2017, 06:49:08 AM
I watched all the games and I've never seen so many dubious calls on tries scored ?
Post by: paceman on September 11, 2017, 08:11:33 AM
I watched all the games and I've never seen so many dubious calls on tries scored ?

dubious calls have been going on since 1908...

it's just that now we get to see them up-close, with different angles and in HD...

Post by: Bird on September 11, 2017, 09:26:05 AM
Quote from: paceman
.. it's just that now we get to see them up-close, with different angles and in HD...

personally that's whats ruining watching sport for me... 5000 replays from 500 angles and they still cant get it right.

Who'd be a ref/umpire...
The other one that gets me is I see players laying on the tackled man for longer than some people take to have a root - play on... yet other times the bloke is barely given enough time to sneeze and gets nailed.
Post by: paceman on September 11, 2017, 09:30:18 AM
personally that's whats ruining watching sport for me... 5000 replays from 500 angles and they still cant get it right.

when humans are involved, you get human error, regardless of the technology supporting that human.

everyone has a different interpretation of a contentious decision.

that's life. 

if there is an absolute howler (7-tackle set a couple of years ago), then by all means, sink the boot in if you are a coach or player, but for less obvious decisions, get over it.
Post by: terravista on September 11, 2017, 10:46:20 AM
I didn't have the chance to watch the Cowboys/Sharks game, but heard the whining on the radio this morning.
My biggest grief is coach's whinging about the number of penalties given not being equal. I thought it was pretty simple, if the team is undisciplined, having a clumsy day, or like sooky boy Paul Gallen happy to give away penalties to prevent the opposing team from getting a try, the penalty count will be unequal.
I have not seen any rule saying penalty counts should balance out but losing coaches and some commentators seem to think otherwise.
Post by: Rumpig on September 11, 2017, 11:31:57 AM

Who'd be a ref/umpire...
The other one that gets me is I see players laying on the tackled man for longer than some people take to have a root - play on... yet other times the bloke is barely given enough time to sneeze and gets nailed.
yep totally agree...I made comment over the weekend at how long players were being allowed to lay on other players in a couple of the games, almost like the refs were told not to go hard on that one thing...any other week they'd have blown the pea out of the whistle for what was being done.
Post by: Pete79 on September 11, 2017, 01:35:34 PM
It's the first time in how many years the refs didn't ensure the cowboys missed the finals.... :)

But the trade off is now we have to listen to the number one grub from the drug cheating team crying like he's just lost another origin series... :(
Post by: Bird on September 11, 2017, 01:47:49 PM
Quote from: terravista
I didn't have the chance to watch the Cowboys/Sharks game, but heard the whining on the radio this morning.
My biggest grief is coach's whinging about the number of penalties given not being equal. I thought it was pretty simple, if the team is undisciplined, having a clumsy day, or like sooky boy Paul Gallen happy to give away penalties to prevent the opposing team from getting a try, the penalty count will be unequal.
I have not seen any rule saying penalty counts should balance out but losing coaches and some commentators seem to think otherwise.

Yep, you are 100% correct in saying that there is no rule to say it should be equal.
But you see some/certain teams get punished badly or individuals get bolloxed for things that others are let go in the same game, or even the same 1/2.

Then there are things like recently there was an issue in AFL where one coach called the Ref's Dept complaining about 1 individual opponent they were playing in the coming weekends game. Very bad juju I reckon.

That one opponent was smashed in free kicks for something nobody has been done for in years - it was a forgotten rule, not even the commentators could understand what was going on. The most Shit part is they were coming up to the finals, and this individuals team lost with a lot of help from the umpires and this 'new' interpretation of the rule.. That alone is ****ed..

They say to watch Fridays game to see what 'The Rule of the Week' is that they are told to clamp down on - and its true in AFL, dunno about NRL
Post by: paceman on September 11, 2017, 01:50:41 PM
It's the first time in how many years the refs didn't ensure the cowboys missed the finals.... :)

But the trade off is now we have to listen to the number one grub from the drug cheating team crying like he's just lost another origin series... :(

flanagan has a short memory... just like most coaches...

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DJXZCpCV4AA_HjK.jpg:large)

and here's his comments after the 7-tackle set game:

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DJZ95Q7UIAAKf8y.jpg)
Post by: paceman on September 11, 2017, 01:51:40 PM
They say to watch Fridays game to see what 'The Rule of the Week' is that they are told to clamp down on - and its true in AFL, dunno about NRL

in the NRL, it's the first couple of weeks of the season and a couple of weeks after origin 3...
Post by: Bird on September 11, 2017, 01:58:10 PM
in the NRL, it's the first couple of weeks of the season and a couple of weeks after origin 3...
AFL changes horribly during the season.
Round 1-5 - Pick on anything with fine tooth comb as you have warned the teams you would.. EG: head high
Round 6-18 pick on nothing and let head high go to decapitation levels. Everyone gets used to it and the game is better in some ways as it flows and isn't full of stop start free kicks.
Round 19-23 rounds pick on anything again and be even pickier on microscopic things that you've let go all year to confuse everyone. The only thing I can put it down to is the umps are trying to make a claim for themselves to get picked for the finals as they are AwesomeUmpire from the planet Krypton..

Consistency across a whole weekend would be nice.. across a season - not humanly possible.
Post by: rags on September 11, 2017, 07:05:30 PM
dubious calls have been going on since 1908...

it's just that now we get to see them up-close, with different angles and in HD...

Unfortunately for the game and the NRL, never has there been as much focus on the game.
The NRL decided to use this technology to its advantage to ensure we get correct rulings.
These measures now include 2 touch judges, 2 refs who have ear pieces which are wired to officials in the bunker, then the bunker itself with 2 refs, more tv screens than in a Harvey Norman store, camera angles galore, close up shots , slow motion and real time vision, frame by frame, they have the lot but they still can't get it right.
In an era now past the ref did it as an amateur, making calls all on his own and did make mistakes but rightly so, was protected from criticism. Move to today's ref system, we have a squad of professionals refs (it's there job) earning approx $150000 or more, they have a coaching staff of 4. A difficult job yes but it is their job.
Like the professional players and coaches they are part of the game and so subject to criticism and in my view the refs also should be. Those refs should also have to sit at a press conference and answer questions as part of their professional role.
It is fine for the punters to critique the actions of the coaches like Flanagan but to fine these blokes $20k for it is a joke.
Now I'm not a supporter of any teams in the finals, but hate seeing bad decisions ruin a good game.
My other gripe is the the laying in the tackle, the twisting of a player in the tackle so he faces the wrong way when he gets up, the giving away a penalty when defending their line  all designed to slow the play to enable the defence to be set. Also the other one was the storm player wasting time in the end of game .

Post by: Bird on September 11, 2017, 07:16:06 PM
Quote from: rags
Those refs should also have to sit at a press conference and answer questions as part of their professional role.
Why not? Coaches are forced to.

how sweet would that be... the KFC Bunker for refs...
Post by: Steffo1 on September 11, 2017, 07:56:26 PM
I tend to agree but then we'd need a "Bunker" for the Bunker blokes, ad infinitum!

Does any other sport have a Referee/Umpire/Adjudicator, face the panel, please explain, sort of system?
Post by: Pete79 on September 11, 2017, 08:02:07 PM
My other gripe is the the laying in the tackle, the twisting of a player in the tackle so he faces the wrong way when he gets up, the giving away a penalty when defending their line  all designed to slow the play to enable the defence to be set.

Yeah everyone hates Paul Gallen...... ;D ;D  :angel:
Post by: listo on September 11, 2017, 08:42:35 PM
Yeah everyone hates Paul Gallen...... ;D ;D  :angel:

Yeah, everyone hates Gallen & rightly so, but only a one eyed Queenslander could go straight for him & forget about Melbourne Storm
Post by: listo on September 11, 2017, 08:56:38 PM
The NRL isn't a great product to watch these days IMO. Within 6 or 7 years I've gone from watching every game of every round to watching my team when I can.
There's too many cameras & too much scrutiny of the officials & I've been guilty of it myself in the past. Go back to the past, it was great to watch & we saw close to what the ref & touchy saw.
Favoured teams get the rub of the green & late in the game there normally is the evening out penalties. That seems to be the way it is. I wonder if all this would be happening if it wasn't so heavily sponsored by sports betting?
I prefer to watch junior football these days as it is harder to predict
Post by: Rumpig on September 11, 2017, 09:18:20 PM
I struggle to watch it at times with the likes of Gould, Johns, Fitler and Lockyer as commentators. Gould is a knob who likes the sound of his own voice, and the other 3 struggle to put a sentence together between them. I refuse to pay to watch telly, so the other option is a just don't watch it at times now.
Post by: rags on September 11, 2017, 10:11:40 PM

I tend to agree somewhat,  although I did have a season pass this year to the Bronco's although not as a Bronco supporter, It was just an excuse to go somewhere after work on Friday night out watching the footy at a good venue. (Do Broncos play any other night?)

As someone who grew up in Balmain heartland and going to Leichhart oval that was footy for supporters (tribal with rivals). It was my dream to play for the Tigers but could never quite crack a grade spot, but still love the Tigers ( the Balmain variety)

For me the most enjoyable footy to watch is Sydney Club rugby at TG MIlner field watching the Woodies ( Eastwood) go round whilst sitting on the verandah of the rugby club beer in hand. The rugby is an excuse to meet my mates and I ensure that I fly  back for at least one game each year.
I've seen Rugby do good things with brothers young bloke who ended up at the ACT Brumbies and has since travelled the world playing Rugby. They take a young kid, place him with a host family, line him up with a club side Eastwood then Sydney Uni, put him through Uni. They spoiled him in someways by paying him a lot of money but at least there was a programme beyond footy to educate and provide career opportunity. He made a success of it and now in Ireland.
Not quite sure that the NRL players are afforded such opportunities.

Post by: Rumpig on September 13, 2017, 06:24:54 AM
No idea how Tedesco beat Smith for the players player of the year award last night...I'm a Wests supporter and reckon Smith was more consistent all year long (as he always is) then Teddy. Tedesco went off the boil for nearly half the season during the contracts saga, he played well at the end of the season but not aswell as he played last year.
Post by: paceman on September 13, 2017, 07:23:47 AM
No idea how Tedesco beat Smith for the players player of the year award last night...I'm a Wests supporter and reckon Smith was more consistent all year long (as he always is) then Teddy. Tedesco went off the boil for nearly half the season during the contracts saga, he played well at the end of the season but not aswell as he played last year.

because a majority of players are from NSW?  player's player is a popularity contest, much like most of the awards that happen nowadays...

dead right about tedesco's non-consistency throughout the year.  why not taumalolo?  carried the cowboys all year...
Post by: Bird on September 13, 2017, 09:39:40 AM
I'm a Wests supporter
that answers a lot   ;D ;D ;D

player's player is a popularity contest, much like most of the awards that happen nowadays...
So sad but so true...
Post by: paceman on September 13, 2017, 09:48:58 AM
So sad but so true...

not so much sad, but just another thing for the media to fawn over and overblow...

do they think that Cam Smith gives a rats arse about this award?  the only award/honour he would remotely care about is being an immortal (or possibly the dally m), and even then they are both  very flawed awards nowadays.
Post by: Moggy on September 13, 2017, 10:57:44 AM
Isn't he president (or something) of the Rlpa, if he'd won it would be akin to bank ceo's giving themselves a bonus.
I'd reckon he'd only be interested in premiership glory at this stage of the year

Post by: paceman on September 13, 2017, 11:12:17 AM
Isn't he president (or something) of the Rlpa, if he'd won it would be akin to bank ceo's giving themselves a bonus.
I'd reckon he'd only be interested in premiership glory at this stage of the year

yep and yep...

https://www.rlpa.com.au/rlpa-board/ (https://www.rlpa.com.au/rlpa-board/)
Post by: Rumpig on September 13, 2017, 11:31:25 AM
because a majority of players are from NSW?  player's player is a popularity contest, much like most of the awards that happen nowadays...

dead right about tedesco's non-consistency throughout the year.  why not taumalolo?  carried the cowboys all year...
you pretty much wrote what I was thinking with it being a NSW versus Qld thing as to why he missed out...yes it's a popularity thing in the end, but the guy has broken so many records and playing some of his best footy ever this year, so surely the players could be mature enough to vote for the best alround player of the year, which is what the award is supposably about.
Does he care?...it would be nice to win he'd think if he won it, but i'm sure the Grand Final, Origin and Dally M means a lot more to him.
Post by: rags on September 13, 2017, 11:56:38 AM

It would be interesting to see the statistics on this statement.
We have NSW players, Qld players, NSW players who think their Qld players, then we have the Kiwi players and then more than a few Polynesian players and a couple of Englishmen.
Post by: Bird on September 13, 2017, 12:03:29 PM
... so surely the players could be mature enough
take a long hard look at many of them LMAO
Post by: paceman on September 13, 2017, 12:47:09 PM
It would be interesting to see the statistics on this statement.
We have NSW players, Qld players, NSW players who think their Qld players, then we have the Kiwi players and then more than a few Polynesian players and a couple of Englishmen.

i was being a little facetious with my NSW comment, but...

more than half the teams in the comp are loosely identified as NSW teams (10 clubs, including newcastle), or they are not identified as more qld-leaning clubs (canberra and warriors)...

that's 12 out of 16 that would more likely have a lean towards NSW, rather than QLD, when it comes to player relationships/friendships and general exposure...

not very scientific  :D , but if you think that tedesco had a better season than smith (or taumalolo, cleary, vunivalu, the trbojevic brothers and gagai for that matter), then something is a bit off...

i mean, aaron woods (the biggest myth in the NRL, IMO) was picked as the starting prop...  what more needs to be said?  >:D
Post by: Pete79 on September 13, 2017, 01:09:19 PM
The NRL isn't a great product to watch these days IMO. Within 6 or 7 years I've gone from watching every game of every round to watching my team when I can.

Couldn't agree more with this.
Gone from mad keen supporter to maybe if I can be bothered to watch the highlights here and there.

And I also enjoy junior footy much more these days.
My nephew played in the junior NQ comp recently and it was an awesome 3 days of footy. Even the girls put on a show.

For me personally it's the way the professional game has been taken over by gambling and Gus is what has turned me off the most.
Origin is the only professional round that I get excited about these days and if NSW don't turn up and play like they wanna be there some time soon I recon I'll be off that too.
Post by: gronk on September 13, 2017, 08:37:09 PM

why not taumalolo?  carried the cowboys all year...

Cowboys ???  Who are they ???
Post by: Moggy on September 13, 2017, 08:44:03 PM
Sharks supporter eh!

Post by: paceman on September 14, 2017, 06:23:01 AM

the one's still in the finals race... and with a great chance to beat parra, as well...

Post by: Rumpig on September 14, 2017, 06:34:56 AM
the one's still in the finals race... and with a great chance to beat parra, as well...
i'll be very surprised if they beat Parra...I didn't think the Cows would win, but Cronulla have been abit ordinary for a while now, Parra have been playing great footy against top teams lately and are in much better form then Crunulla were. Hope the Cows get up, but they need to improve and step it up to be a real chance on the weekend
Post by: paceman on September 14, 2017, 06:50:32 AM
i'll be very surprised if they beat Parra...I didn't think the Cows would win, but Cronulla have been abit ordinary for a while now, Parra have been playing great footy against top teams lately and are in much better form then Crunulla were. Hope the Cows get up, but they need to improve and step it up to be a real chance on the weekend

i think it depends how parra pull up mentally from their game last week.

they could have absolutely won that game, but they blew it.  lots of inexperience in that team and if things start to go against them, they have had a habit of capitulating...

cowboys have nothing to lose, just like last week.  no pressure.  makes playing the game a bit easier...

i just hope the cows don't bring back justin o'niell... he's a trainwreck on defense...
Post by: Moggy on September 14, 2017, 10:31:24 AM
I wouldn't say Bowen is on the right track.
Agree about Parramatta, they have some mental demons & have been known to choke.
The good thing is all the media keep talking them up.
Cowboys 13+

Post by: paceman on September 14, 2017, 10:42:31 AM
Agree about Parramatta, they have some mental demons & have been known to choke.
Cowboys 13+

defensively, i'd take Bowen every day of the week... 

here's hoping 13+    :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on September 14, 2017, 11:23:29 AM
The way the Cowboys players arrived home last week at the airport was like they'd won their Grandfinal already, you usually see atleast one underdog get up in the finals one week each year only to not show up the following week...hope it's not the case though
Post by: paceman on September 14, 2017, 12:14:23 PM
The way the Cowboys players arrived home last week at the airport was like they'd won their Grandfinal already, you usually see atleast one underdog get up in the finals one week each year only to not show up the following week...hope it's not the case though

because their fans knew that no-one else gave them any hope and they got the job done away from home anyways...

same as this week...
Post by: gronk on September 14, 2017, 07:15:48 PM
Sharks supporter eh!

Nope !!

The Boys were lucky to sneak into the finals, and got lucky against the Sharks. They won't be lucky again..

But I'd rather them than the Broncos or Storm !!
Post by: paceman on September 15, 2017, 06:15:01 AM
Nope !!

The Boys were lucky to sneak into the finals, and got lucky against the Sharks. They won't be lucky again..

luck?  don't think so and the stats back it up.

too many missed tackles, errors and stupid penalties.  don't believe the ref hype.  the cowboys were dudded in more than one penalty area as well...

fifita running toward the sideline with 10 seconds to go, away from perfect field-goal position...

that's not luck, that's crap play.
Post by: Rumpig on September 15, 2017, 08:50:20 PM
Does the blood rule not exist anymore?.... Wallace has claret coming out of his face  everywhere, and even at a penalty tap where he is face to face with the ref and talking with him, they still let him tap the ball to play on.
Post by: Garfish on September 16, 2017, 05:43:32 AM
Does the blood rule not exist anymore?.... Wallace has claret coming out of his face  everywhere, and even at a penalty tap where he is face to face with the ref and talking with him, they still let him tap the ball to play on.
Was thinking the same thing. 
Post by: Rumpig on September 16, 2017, 08:19:22 AM
Reckon the Melbourne Storm players would have been sitting back and loving watch Brisbanes injury toll mount up last night....gunna be some very sore and sorry guys waking up this morning in Brisbane
Post by: paceman on September 16, 2017, 08:44:58 AM
Reckon the Melbourne Storm players would have been sitting back and loving watch Brisbanes injury toll mount up last night....gunna be some very sore and sorry guys waking up this morning in Brisbane

you're not wrong there...

a good test for the broncos defense, though... panthers had plenty of ball in the 20 and they held them back...

they are going to need all that and more against the storm...
Post by: rags on September 16, 2017, 09:44:30 AM
At the game last night and a few observations, both from the game and as a season ticket holder.
Adam Blair is a loose cannon doing dumb things but lucky to get away with it, I think WB would have been happy to let him go to the Warriors. Sammy T  still loves tackling around the legs but the problem is he is usually the 3rd player in and arrives like a cannon ball 10 sec later, bad part of his game.
Refs display was again ordinary in the inconsistency, early in game Broncs get a penalty(goal) for laying in the ruck yet in the last 10 or so minutes the panthers where in the similar 10 m zone, yet the refs could not find a penalty but the Broncs were all over the Panther players. There were many examples through out the game that usually went with the home crowd.
I see WB spoke last week about the refs and the bunker
http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/wayne-bennett-is-no-fan-of-the-bunker/news-story/c67643ce9dc54baaa09bbe41830e8b0e (http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/wayne-bennett-is-no-fan-of-the-bunker/news-story/c67643ce9dc54baaa09bbe41830e8b0e)
The Broncs were ordinary against an equally ordinary team and need to lift if they are a chance against the Storm.
Post by: listo on September 16, 2017, 09:39:24 PM
I don't like the Cowboys at all, but they're doing their best at changing that stance. Even though it's a fight they won't win, that are very admirable with the way they've played against all odds. Well done cows
Post by: Bird on September 16, 2017, 09:53:29 PM
are there any aussies playing NRL anymore??? maybe a jones?
reminds me of https://soundcloud.com/12thmanhq/socceroos-vs-england
Post by: Moggy on September 17, 2017, 06:24:30 AM

Cowboys 13+

If it wasn't for the late fumble i had $50 on 13+

Post by: sol on September 17, 2017, 06:33:09 AM
Proud Cowboys supporter but theyve got a bit to do to match it with the Storm.  ;D
The Storm are the best coached side in the comp by a mile.

Post by: paceman on September 17, 2017, 07:18:01 AM
Nope !!

Once again, luck had nothing to do with their win.

Quality play and attitude.

Post by: Rumpig on September 17, 2017, 07:20:14 AM
Was a good win to the Cowboys, they played a lot better this week then they did last week IMO. When Parra ran in that first try i was worried it might open the flood gates like what happened with Brisbane, but they hit back straight away which was a good sign. Unlike last week where they didn't look pretty but managed the win, this week they looked in control for much of the game.
Post by: Moggy on September 17, 2017, 07:53:02 AM
Proud Cowboys supporter but theyve got a bit to do to match it with the Storm.  ;D
The Storm are the best coached side in the comp by a mile.

Been humming and ahhhing all morning whether to book gf package. Based on your predictions Sol it would seem I should, because you're not giving the roosters a look in next week eh.

Post by: Moggy on September 17, 2017, 07:58:23 AM
Was a good win to the Cowboys, they played a lot better this week then they did last week IMO. When Parra ran in that first try i was worried it might open the flood gates like what happened with Brisbane, but they hit back straight away which was a good sign. Unlike last week where they didn't look pretty but managed the win, this week they looked in control for much of the game.
They are extremely well coached & are peaking at the right time.
Broncos and Storm will be praying the roosters can do a job on us, as they wouldn't want to be playing us in the GF

Post by: rags on September 17, 2017, 12:28:08 PM
Been humming and ahhhing all morning whether to book gf package. Based on your predictions Sol it would seem I should, because you're not giving the roosters a look in next week eh.

Maybe not it appears the final series may be domed
http://www.news.com.au/technology/science/space/is-the-world-going-to-end-on-september-23/news-story/bd22a208cf5f2b251fb332543fa48758 (http://www.news.com.au/technology/science/space/is-the-world-going-to-end-on-september-23/news-story/bd22a208cf5f2b251fb332543fa48758)
Post by: sol on September 17, 2017, 06:45:58 PM

;D mate id like to be that sure, but any of the 4 teams could win it. I like the way the Cowboys are coming good at the right time. Its going to be 2 great games this coming weekend  :cup:

Post by: gronk on September 17, 2017, 08:51:33 PM
Once again, luck had nothing to do with their win.

Quality play and attitude.

Ha ha, luck always has a part to play, and going by all the ref decisions, getting the right rub of the green can make a huge difference.

Coming from 8th place and winning the comp hasn't been done before ( or has it been once ? ), so huge odds to go all the way .
Post by: Moggy on September 17, 2017, 09:09:34 PM

Ha ha, luck always has a part to play, and going by all the ref decisions, getting the right rub of the green can make a huge difference.

Coming from 8th place and winning the comp hasn't been done before ( or has it been once ? ), so huge odds to go all the way .

"HISTORY HAPPENS"

I think a team won it from 5th under the old system iirc

Post by: listo on September 17, 2017, 09:28:24 PM
If they defy the odds again & win the next game, I hope they go on with it. Same for the roosters, if they win, I hope they keep going.
There's no team I despise more than Melbourne & they're closely followed by Brisbane. Who ever wins out of Cows & Chooks, I hope take the cake.
Bloody hell, if Cows win it, they'll create a new legend!
Post by: Rumpig on September 17, 2017, 10:01:29 PM
Happy for any non NSW team to win the GF myself...being a Qld'er i see Melbourne is full of my states great players, so won't bother me at all if they take out the big one.
Post by: glenm64 on September 17, 2017, 10:06:20 PM
I reckon the Cowboys have played real disciplined football, they keep putting pressure on the opposition, and when they make a mistake the Cowboys capitalise.
Be interesting to see how their game plan works against the Storm, theyre the best drilled team in the comp.

Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 06:25:54 PM
First for the year...???
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/rugby-league/hasler-sacked-by-bulldogs/ar-AAscGZJ?ocid=ientp (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/rugby-league/hasler-sacked-by-bulldogs/ar-AAscGZJ?ocid=ientp)
Post by: rags on September 19, 2017, 08:21:55 PM
First for the year...???
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/rugby-league/hasler-sacked-by-bulldogs/ar-AAscGZJ?ocid=ientp (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/rugby-league/hasler-sacked-by-bulldogs/ar-AAscGZJ?ocid=ientp)

Or do you mean last for this year following Jason TAylor and Neil Henry out the door.Oh I also forgot Laurie Dailey
Did I miss anyone?
Just remembered Michael McGuire
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2017, 09:36:35 PM
(https://www.createacake.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/s/t/storm_160_1_1_1.jpg)
Post by: Rumpig on September 22, 2017, 09:40:18 PM
Team chock a block full of Qlder's...happy for them to win even if they are in Mexico
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2017, 09:53:43 PM
Team chock a block full of Qlder's...happy for them to win even if they are in Mexico

its all good, the chickens will bring it home next week ;D
Post by: Rumpig on September 22, 2017, 09:57:59 PM
its all good, the chickens will bring it home next week ;D
fingers crossed NQ beat them tomorrow...love a GF that doesn't involve NSW teams  8)
Post by: rags on September 22, 2017, 10:32:48 PM
Couldn't help but notice that Adam Blair was at his best again tonight, upholding his standing as the games grubbyest player. His side kick Sammy wasn't far behind again
Post by: Rumpig on September 22, 2017, 10:42:57 PM
Can't believe the carry on about Blair myself with his "late hits" on Cronk...every half back gets hit off the ball and it comes with their job,  just ask JT what it's like. It's impossible for. Lair to pull out of the hit they went on about, don't get Cronk and he dummies and goes himself, it's a no win situation for whoever takes him out...which is Blairs job. Biggest grub act of the night was when Slater got landed on after scoring the try, there was zero need for any contact to be made there with him, he's already gone in untouched.
Post by: macca on September 22, 2017, 11:19:45 PM
How good was that, just got home from the game.  Hey Bruce you want to come to Sydney, now your on the wagon, then its over to Bathurst on Wednesday for a few days of R & R

Post by: Pete79 on September 23, 2017, 06:36:59 AM
fingers crossed NQ beat them tomorrow...love a GF that doesn't involve NSW teams  8)
Yep, ANOTHER grand final with no NSW teams would be great.... ;)
Post by: krisandkev on September 23, 2017, 06:52:32 AM
The way the Bronco's played I don't think they were finals contenders. Very disappointing, Melbourne also better step up a little.  They deserved the win but Bronco's did not push them enough.  Looking forward to tonight's game.  Kevin
Post by: Rumpig on September 23, 2017, 08:35:02 AM
The way the Bronco's played I don't think they were finals contenders. Very disappointing, Melbourne also better step up a little.  They deserved the win but Bronco's did not push them enough.  Looking forward to tonight's game.  Kevin
last weeks game Brisbane were great in defence but looked very disorganised in attack, this week their attack had little again and defence nowhere near as good....I never had them as a serious chance to go all the way, they did well to get close though. Melbourne have looked the goods all year pretty much, would have taken a huge improvement on last weeks effort by Brisbane to challenge Melbourne, but that didn't happen. Regardless of what some say, the GF is Melbournes to lose IMO....the Cows are playing well but how long can they keep going?, the Chooks aren't playing for 80 minutes & been that way in many games through out the year, will they step up now the time has come with no second chances?
Post by: Moggy on September 23, 2017, 06:30:52 PM
Go the cowboys yeehaa.
Swmbo has granted leave if they win, so GF here I come

Post by: sol on September 23, 2017, 09:32:38 PM
We did it you bloody beauty :cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: Rumpig on September 23, 2017, 09:44:50 PM
Good win to the Cows, they didn't panick when behind and capitalised on Roosters mistakes...how sweet it is there's no NSW teams in the final....one Qld team and the other full of Qlder's 8) 8)
Post by: macca on September 23, 2017, 09:51:39 PM
Oh and Melbourne Storm made it too

Post by: rags on September 23, 2017, 09:54:46 PM
the other full of Qlder's

And Kiwi's
Post by: listo on September 23, 2017, 09:57:57 PM
Bloody good game tonight, I can't believe how well disciplined the Cows are. They're battlers that keep on keeping on. When Thurston goes, you NQ boys are looking sensational!
Hopefully Cows can win next week & stop that grub holding up the trophy!

Post by: Rumpig on September 23, 2017, 10:00:51 PM
And Kiwi's
i won't hold that against Melbourne ;D
Post by: glenm64 on September 23, 2017, 10:03:37 PM
I reckon the Cowboys have played real disciplined football, they keep putting pressure on the opposition, and when they make a mistake the Cowboys capitalise.
Be interesting to see how their game plan works against the Storm, theyre the best drilled team in the comp.

We will find out next week.

Post by: krisandkev on September 23, 2017, 10:07:48 PM
Yep, brilliant game.  Sorry NSW, maybe in the State of Origin, oh that's right........ Sorry >:D   Kevin
Post by: Bigfish on September 24, 2017, 06:19:39 AM
Great effort from Cowboys.  Neighbour erupted at the final siren.  I,ve always barracked for Storm since they arrived. Living in FNQ I am expected to barrack for Cowboys...sorry.  A true supporter of any game NEVER changes teams regardless.  Win/win for me as either team winning will leave me happy. :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on September 24, 2017, 06:30:11 AM
Gotta say.... what happened to the dog shagger?, other then his involvement in that one try, he was missing most of the night. Hopefully he steers NSW around the field the same way next year...lol
Post by: muzza01 on September 24, 2017, 07:25:59 AM
Gotta say.... what happened to the dog shagger?, other then his involvement in that one try, he was missing most of the night. Hopefully he steers NSW around the field the same way next year...lol
Exactly, the most inconsistent player in the NRL. Could believe he got picked for NSW SOO but glad he was.

Super happy for the Cowboys. Big celebration here last night.
Post by: gronk on September 24, 2017, 08:56:33 AM
..how sweet it is there's no NSW teams in the final....one Qld team and the other full of Qlder's 8) 8)

Yep, they could probably save the Olympic stadium and have the grand final at Liechhardt oval !!   ;D ;D

Maybe all the NSW people who bought tickets could get their money back and go fishing ??

Post by: Steffo1 on September 24, 2017, 09:27:42 AM
Go the cowboys yeehaa.
Swmbo has granted leave if they win, so GF here I come

Bags packed yet, Moggy?  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Post by: Pete79 on September 24, 2017, 09:41:03 AM
Yep, they could probably save the Olympic stadium and have the grand final at Liechhardt oval !!   ;D ;D

Maybe all the NSW people who bought tickets could get their money back and go fishing ??
Bit like last nights game aye.....
Rows and rows and rows of empty seats, apparently too much effort for the eastern elites to drive a couple of km to the west.
Play that game in Townsville and get a packed stadium with supporters willing to travel 100s of km to back their team.

Anyway, a small crew of NQ boys caught up together on the Sunny Coast last night and cheered home the boys.

Bring on the GF!!!
Post by: gronk on September 24, 2017, 09:55:03 AM
Bit like last nights game aye.....
Rows and rows and rows of empty seats, apparently too much effort for the eastern elites to drive a couple of km to the west.

Bring on the GF!!!

Bit hard for the Roosters supporters to fill a 70,000 seat stadium. Especially since only 245 Cows supporters turned up !!  ;D

I'm going camping where there is no TV reception....so won't feel bad if I can't watch the GF.

I hope the Cows get up....if only for sentimental reasons.....plus after the Broncos and Manly, the Storm is the next most hated team in the comp.
Post by: Bird on September 24, 2017, 09:58:39 AM
Quote from: gronk
I'm going camping where there is no TV reception....so won't feel bad if I can't watch the GF.
actually a great weekend to go away! nobody else is around
Post by: Pete79 on September 24, 2017, 10:03:27 AM
Bit hard for the Roosters supporters to fill a 70,000 seat stadium. Especially since only 245 Cows supporters turned up !!  ;D

I hope the Cows get up....if only for sentimental reasons.....plus after the Broncos and Manly, the Storm is the next most hated team in the comp.
Perhaps I was too specific then.... :)

Apparently it was too much effort for any of the SYDNEY elites to travel a couple of km in any direction to watch a great game of footy. :P

And play a finals decider between ANY two teams in Townsville and you're pretty much guaranteed not to see an empty seat. ;)
Post by: Moggy on September 24, 2017, 10:30:26 AM
Bags packed yet, Moggy?  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Yep, had flights, tickets & accommodation. booked by 10pm

Post by: Moggy on September 24, 2017, 10:33:45 AM

The game was actually at Allianz stadium which has a capacity of around 45k, there were 28k+ at the game

Post by: rags on September 24, 2017, 10:35:20 AM
Perhaps I was too specific then.... :)

Apparently it was too much effort for any of the SYDNEY elites to travel a couple of km in any direction to watch a great game of footy. :P

And play a finals decider between ANY two teams in Townsville and you're pretty much guaranteed not to see an empty seat. ;)

Bit harsh!
Most of the Rooster fan base would have been out canvassing for Yes vote

Must say though it is an easier task to fill 15000 or 20000 seats than 70000 or 80000.
Post by: Pete79 on September 24, 2017, 10:37:11 AM
Haha. :)
True and true... ;)
Post by: Steffo1 on September 24, 2017, 10:37:30 AM
Post by: paceman on September 24, 2017, 05:32:15 PM

and yet parra fans could get nearly 40,000 to their semi...  28,000 for a sydney team in a semi-final is pretty poor...

and plenty of those 245 cows fans probably traveled over 2000 klms just to get to the game...  and travel hundreds of klms just to get to home games every week...

and you can bet there'll be thousands more travelling to sydney for the GF...
Post by: rags on September 24, 2017, 06:49:01 PM
and yet parra fans could get nearly 40,000 to their semi...  28,000 for a sydney team in a semi-final is pretty poor...

and plenty of those 245 cows fans probably traveled over 2000 klms just to get to the game...  and travel hundreds of klms just to get to home games every week...

Pretty easy 2000km, drive to airport, catch plane and then go less than 10 km to game, but yes dedicated as it costs dollars.

Vast difference between a Rooster fan base and Parra. It is known that if there is not a story in the Sydney paper or channel 9 news about Parra  then sales / ratings drop.it is why the media kept digging with the Eels salary cap dramas. A bit like the Courier Mail not having aBronco story.
A Parra team going well ( I know a dumb statement) and the fans will come.
My earlier comment about the Roosters fan base has some basis. The inner Sydney and Eastern Suburbs is full of Either Toffs, Greenies or other folk who don't relate to the working class game of league. 28000 to a Rooster's game is a good turn out.
In general most of Sydney couldn't give a toss about the NRL, you need to head out to Western Sydney before you find fans and then the NRL is battling the might of AFL.
When I lived in the mountains you would be lucky to get me to a game, to far, too cold, too expensive and my lounge was comfy. In Brisbane for last 2 years I have had a season Bronco ticket and will say it is easy to get to, not cold, predictable in that it is on every2nd  Friday but still expensive.
The NRL has some huge issues to face in the coming years.

Post by: listo on September 24, 2017, 06:50:47 PM

That ones a no brainer for sure. A rare thing of a grand final appearance, I'd move heaven and earth to see my team too.
I'll not argue with you on the latte sippers fans though, the most piss poor mob in the comp. It's hard to understand too, it's easier to support a successful team than a struggling one
Post by: listo on September 24, 2017, 06:54:52 PM
Not NRL related, congratulations to the PNG Hunters on the Q Cup win  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: Now there's a good footy story!
Post by: rags on September 24, 2017, 06:56:47 PM
I watch the Intrust cup GF this arvo and was great to see PNG win in the 78 minute.
Good luck to them next week as they head to Sydney for the Winners Final against Penrith
Penrith defeated Wyong (rooster feeder) 20-10

Also seen the bad part of the game were the SC Falcons skipper was knocked out cold yet remained on the field taking part for a further 3 minutes before the call was made to remove him from the game, a bad look to the game.
Post by: Rumpig on September 24, 2017, 07:15:31 PM
Not NRL related, congratulations to the PNG Hunters on the Q Cup win  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: Now there's a good footy story!
yep, i posted similar in the What made you smile thread....great last minute win (well 2nd last minute actually) to them. Considering they were down 10 - nil after 6 minutes, they did well to stop the Sunny Coast scoring again.
Post by: paceman on September 25, 2017, 06:16:21 AM
Also seen the bad part of the game were the SC Falcons skipper was knocked out cold yet remained on the field taking part for a further 3 minutes before the call was made to remove him from the game, a bad look to the game.

saw that as well and could not believe what i was seeing... he was spasming on the ground and his face was contorting uncontrollably, the concussion was that bad...

you can see in the footage (i think) that he manhandles the trainer away from him on their try line...

absolutely agree with it being not a good look for the game...
Post by: Rumpig on September 25, 2017, 06:21:23 AM
In defence of the game, the Q Cup doctor was insisting he come from the field, it was the Falcons trainer that didn't do the right thing by making the game stay stopped until he was removed from the field.
Post by: paceman on September 25, 2017, 07:25:45 AM
In defence of the game, the Q Cup doctor was insisting he come from the field, it was the Falcons trainer that didn't do the right thing by making the game stay stopped until he was removed from the field.

agree...  just saying it didn't look good for game overall to see that...  even falcons teammates didn't do anything in the first instance... he was just poleaxed on the ground...

falcons trainer needed to do a lot more to get him off the field...  could be in a bit of strife....
Title: NRL Season 2017
Post by: Pete79 on September 25, 2017, 07:29:53 AM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/6378eabd26108eba6b2026df206803c7.jpg)
Post by: paceman on September 25, 2017, 07:33:03 AM
singin' ay ay yippee yippee ay!
singin' ay ay yippee yippee!
ay ay yippee yippee
ay ay yippee yippee ay!
Post by: listo on September 25, 2017, 09:02:59 PM
Everywhere you turn there is something about the Adam Blair "dog shots". They've been going on all year & he's been great, now they're out of contention he's a grub. Where were the critics when they were playing teams that didn't count?
Post by: rags on September 25, 2017, 09:29:18 PM
Everywhere you turn there is something about the Adam Blair "dog shots". They've been going on all year & he's been great, now they're out of contention he's a grub. Where were the critics when they were playing teams that didn't count?

I been sitting for the past 2 seasons as a payed season member at Suncorp watching Adam Blair and have maintained the view that he is both a grub and reckless and have said as such here.

I am not alone in this critism of him, Former bronco hard man has the same view following a chicken wing tackle on Sam Thaiday.
http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/nrl/gorden-tallis-slams-broncos-prop-adam-blair-following-chickenwing-tackle-on-sam-thaiday/news-story/152da8b78b11468f74fa0c94c0911bfe (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/nrl/gorden-tallis-slams-broncos-prop-adam-blair-following-chickenwing-tackle-on-sam-thaiday/news-story/152da8b78b11468f74fa0c94c0911bfe)

He is the same bloke that put his Storm captain out of the game for an extended period for a chicken wing tackle again in the 2010 test match.
 He was suspended before the Sammy incident for a grub hit on Josh Reynolds
He is the same guy who got offside with his tigers team mates and coach resulting in him ultimately leaving the club, due to a particular incident at training.

He is the same bloke that has been charged  12 times since joining storm in 2006
And you wonder why many are upset on his dog hit on Cooper Cronk last week.
Not bad for a so called clean player
Post by: listo on September 26, 2017, 05:36:39 AM
Well I stuffed the wording up on that one, didn't I.
I'm not defending him, I think he's a grub too.
I meant all year, journalists have been praising him up for his great games & being a broncos enforcer. Now they can't get the knives into him quick enough. Where were they when he was hitting no names & the broncos were on top?
I think the broncos did well to get rid of him myself.
Post by: paceman on September 26, 2017, 06:13:30 AM
I think the broncos did well to get rid of him myself.

me too...

more minutes for ofahengaue and pangai jnr...

it's a pity ese'ese signed with the knights... he was the best young forward we had...

hopefully we can pick up a couple of real props...  matt lodge seems to be ready and played really well in the QCup... (and has his brain in the right place, the second chance might be good for him)...

Post by: Bird on September 27, 2017, 10:01:32 PM
Surely not
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/north-queensland-cowboys/nrl-hoping-juniors-and-volunteers-can-fill-anz-stadium-for-grand-final-20170927-gypyip.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/north-queensland-cowboys/nrl-hoping-juniors-and-volunteers-can-fill-anz-stadium-for-grand-final-20170927-gypyip.html)

The NRL is offloading thousands of free tickets to its non-Sydney grand final in a bid to fill the 83,000-capacity ANZ Stadium for Sunday's season-ending showdown.

With out-of-towners Melbourne and North Queensland contesting the decider, ticket sales have been much softer than usual, with the league turning to Sydney juniors as the answer to fleshing out the grand final crowd.
Post by: paceman on September 28, 2017, 06:36:13 AM
what a farce the dallym voting is...

aaron woods as prop of the year...  ???

jason taumalolo couldn't even make the team of the year...  ???

good on cam smith for winning, though...
Post by: Bird on September 28, 2017, 07:42:05 AM
what a farce the dallym voting is...
sounds exactly like 1/2 the awards in the AFL
Post by: lukeycat on September 28, 2017, 07:55:16 AM
what a farce the dallym voting is...sounds exactly like 1/2 the awards in the AFL

HAHAHA Love that they have the Interchange player of the year award WTF.  For the blokes that aren't quite good enough to make the starting team  ;D
Post by: Bird on September 28, 2017, 10:22:35 AM
Many great points in the comments here
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/fox-sports-and-nine-tell-the-government-and-nrl-they-want-smaller--not-bigger--stadiums-20170927-gyptu0.html#comments (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/fox-sports-and-nine-tell-the-government-and-nrl-they-want-smaller--not-bigger--stadiums-20170927-gyptu0.html#comments)
Post by: MattNQ on September 28, 2017, 01:18:11 PM
Am I the only one who has never heard of Macklemore?
Had to google him. Why import a US artist for a grand final ???

If it was my choice, I'd get something nice & heavy and Australian.

Post by: glenm64 on September 28, 2017, 02:03:14 PM

HAHAHA Love that they have the Interchange player of the year award WTF.  For the blokes that aren't quite good enough to make the starting team  ;D

Just like the kiddies at primary school that get participation awards, even if they come last, so they dont hurt anyone's feelings.

Post by: Bird on September 28, 2017, 02:56:11 PM
Quote from: MattNQ
Am I the only one who has never heard of Macklemore?
Had to google him. Why import a US artist for a grand final ???

If it was my choice, I'd get something nice & heavy and Australian.
there was much discussion on it when it was announced....
If the adults would have voted we could have had something decent...

remember - it was voted for by the public.. like most things it was ****ed up.. the kiddies who wont go to the game get to see their hero that no footy fans have ever heard of.. wait till you hear what the moron sings...

Quote from: glenm64
Just like the kiddies at primary school that get participation awards, even if they come last, so they dont hurt anyone's feelings.
that was my first thought when I read the post.. I couldn't believe it...
Post by: Rumpig on September 28, 2017, 03:36:49 PM
I see Tedesco didn't get fullback of the year, even though he won the players association gong....what a joke that award was.
Post by: rags on September 28, 2017, 03:52:33 PM
I see Tedesco didn't get fullback of the year, even though he won the players association gong....what a joke that award was.

One award voted for by the winner's  peers and another award voted for by the media representatives, some who haven't played since the under twelves.
Post by: Rumpig on September 28, 2017, 04:40:52 PM
One award voted for by the winner's  peers and another award voted for by the media representatives, some who haven't played since the under twelves.
as a Wests supporter i have a pretty good idea of how Tedesco has played all season.....he didn't deserve the award he won IMO. Yes he was likely Wests best player for much of the season, but that isn't saying much for a team that nearly won the spoon.
Post by: Steffo1 on September 28, 2017, 04:52:42 PM
Geez Mal, you're a stern supporter ;D

I'm not a Wests follower but I have no beef with his gong. I admired the way he carried himself all season, even in a lower standard team. I felt a bit sorry for him in the fact that no team mates seemed to have the nous to play off him and his game.

As for Aaron Woo....woo.......woo, no, I can't say it, what a joke but not his fault, really
Post by: Rumpig on September 28, 2017, 05:23:38 PM
Geez Mal, you're a stern supporter ;D

I'm not a Wests follower but I have no beef with his gong. I admired the way he carried himself all season, even in a lower standard team. I felt a bit sorry for him in the fact that no team mates seemed to have the nous to play off him and his game.

As for Aaron Woo....woo.......woo, no, I can't say it, what a joke but not his fault, really
i reckon I'm just honest in his performance this year....he looked to be carrying an injury for about half the season, and whilst he did show patches of the fantastic season he had last year, this year he wasn't anywhere near that same standard i thought.
Woods certainly gets talked up more then he should IMO, he sort of does his job he's supposed to do, but there's harder working forwards out there for sure.
Post by: rags on September 28, 2017, 09:41:28 PM
as a Wests supporter i have a pretty good idea of how Tedesco has played all season.....he didn't deserve the award he won IMO. Yes he was likely Wests best player for much of the season, but that isn't saying much for a team that nearly won the spoon.

That is the difference, IYO as opposed to around 400 players of which the majority thought otherwise.
Seems fair but I am a tigers supporter. I agree that it is hard to stand out when you are playing in a team that looses more games than they win but others obviously recognised his efforts.
I think it would be nice that people can say congratulations instead of moaning and groaning.
Post by: Rumpig on September 28, 2017, 09:52:42 PM
I think it would be nice that people can say congratulations instead of moaning and groaning.
If i thought the guy had a great season (like he had last year) and deserved the award then I'd congratulate him, but being i reckon there were other players that had a much better season then he did, then i won't agree with him getting the award. I reckon it's actually easier for Tedesco to stand out as the star of the team when the team is going so badly, much harder for guys like Smith to stand out when he has players like Slater, Cronk, Munster etc in the same team doing good things each week.
Post by: listo on October 01, 2017, 03:35:05 PM
Pretty gutting to watch the Hunters going down this way. Penrith are making it look like a contact session rather than a grand final.
Post by: Rumpig on October 01, 2017, 04:42:14 PM
Pretty gutting to watch the Hunters going down this way. Penrith are making it look like a contact session rather than a grand final.
they were rubbish to watch last week, and lucky to win with all the dropped ball (from both sides) in that game
Post by: listo on October 01, 2017, 04:57:45 PM
They came alive when the game was done & dusted... when Penrith had switched off. I just wanted to see them go better due to representing a country that lives & breaths footy. This experience would have been indescribable for those players.
Oh well, all the lower grade stuff is done, now I'm torn. Do I find something else to watch of do I see if the cows are good enough to stick it to the storm? I couldn't bare to watch the storm win with Smith reffing the game to his liking.
Post by: Rumpig on October 01, 2017, 07:37:22 PM
Melbourne are to fast and to strong for the Cows...game over already unless Cows can work a miracle in the second half. I reckoned at 20 minutes in it'd be Melbourne by 30, sadly it's looking that way...a close GF would have been nice.
Post by: Rumpig on October 01, 2017, 08:39:49 PM
Congrats to the Storm, best team all season and deserved the win tonight
Post by: macca on October 01, 2017, 09:09:56 PM
Bloody good game tonight, I can't believe how well disciplined the Cows are. They're battlers that keep on keeping on. When Thurston goes, you NQ boys are looking sensational!
Hopefully Cows can win next week & stop that grub holding up the trophy!
Cams holding the trophy high specially for you. Geez, no matter who you barrack for your scraping the bottom of the barrel when you start calling one of the greats of the game a grub.

WE ARE THE STORM AND WER'E NUMBER ONE

Post by: listo on October 01, 2017, 09:18:11 PM
Cams holding the trophy high specially for you. Geez, no matter who you barrack for your scraping the bottom of the barrel when you start calling one of the greats of the game a grub.

WE ARE THE STORM AND WER'E NUMBER ONE

Most manipulative player to ever lace a boot in my opinion. You can have yours, I have mine.
Post by: macca on October 01, 2017, 09:31:31 PM
Most manipulative player to ever lace a boot in my opinion. You can have yours, I have mine.
Not just my opinion, I'll let his record speak for itself, but as captian yes he does "manipulate" his players well

Post by: sol on October 02, 2017, 06:17:31 AM
Congrats Storm. Too good. Best coached team in NRL by a long way. Class act.
Cowboys next year. ;D

Post by: krisandkev on October 02, 2017, 06:34:35 AM
Well done Storm.  The score should have been closer for a final but the Cowboys were just not in it for most of the game, a real shame. But they did have 2 of their best players out but no excuse, they were beaten by a better team.

Good to see the crowds came out and supported the game. And I thought the refs had a great game.  Kevin

Post by: vern on October 02, 2017, 02:13:44 PM
Well done Storm.  The score should have been closer for a final but the Cowboys were just not in it for most of the game, a real shame. But they did have 2 of their best players out but no excuse, they were beaten by a better team.

Good to see the crowds came out and supported the game. And I thought the refs had a great game.  Kevin
Didn't they have to give away tickets just to fill the seats? Just shows how the game is headed

Post by: Bird on October 02, 2017, 04:00:57 PM
Didn't they have to give away tickets just to fill the seats? Just shows how the game is headed

thought it was funny rab's saying 'well done to Sydney for embracing these 2 sides not from NSW to get to 79,000 here'... then remembered http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51520.msg921740#msg921740 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51520.msg921740#msg921740)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 02, 2017, 04:46:47 PM

You'd swear, the storm had twice as many players as the cowboys.
Nearly every move by the Cows was stopped in its tracks.

The storm, just hammered the Cows every move.
Once the Cows scored, i changed channels, content they wouldn't lose with a nil score.

Hats off to the Cows for making the final, but it was over as soon as they hit the paddock.

Good on the storm for playing a good game.
Post by: scblack on October 02, 2017, 05:15:04 PM

Or maybe they should have just photoshopped some crowd in, as they were caught doing this year.
Post by: vern on October 02, 2017, 06:22:06 PM
thought it was funny rab's saying 'well done to Sydney for embracing these 2 sides not from NSW to get to 79,000 here'... then remembered http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51520.msg921740#msg921740 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51520.msg921740#msg921740)
There fans obviously don't really care, i know victorians don't really care about storm, its a token thing, we have a team so we follow it.
Afl, 100000 people, tigers home ground had overflow of 21000 people (even a few crows supporters), and the streets and parks were full of supporters!
Obviously more heart in it over nrl.

Post by: Bird on October 02, 2017, 06:50:28 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
You'd swear, the storm had twice as many players as the cowboys.
Nearly every move by the Cows was stopped in its tracks.
great preparation and brilliant coaching...
Post by: Rumpig on October 27, 2017, 07:08:38 PM
Could they not have gotten someone better then the chick from the Coles ads for the pre game entertainment
Can't say the acknowledgment to country thing did anything for me either
Post by: Bird on October 27, 2017, 08:25:38 PM
Could they not have gotten someone better then the chick from the Coles ads for the pre game entertainment
Can't say the acknowledgment to country thing did anything for me either
at least they didn't get this thing from the ford ads
(https://www.joostjuicebars.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/cat-watermelon-helmet-img129d.jpg)
Post by: Rumpig on October 28, 2017, 05:11:43 PM
Just watched PNG give Wales a touch up on 7 Mate, 3 more games on tonight to watch yet 8)
Post by: Rumpig on October 28, 2017, 05:21:05 PM
How good is it watching Samoa and NZ face off with their cultural challenges before the game, so much passion from either side on show...much better then that embarrassing  acknowledgement of country thing the Aussies did last night, there was little to no passion on display in that.
Post by: Foo on October 28, 2017, 05:29:10 PM
I think that having all Countries that play League to come together in the World Series is a good thing. If you don't play against the better teams, you won't improve and I think that these Nations will be a force to be reckoned with, in the future.  :cheers:

Post by: paceman on October 28, 2017, 05:51:37 PM
watching the island nations play, with their obvious passion for the countries on full display, is proof enough we need more international football involving them...

great to watch...
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2017, 11:01:41 AM
Quote from: Foo
If you don't play against the better teams, you won't improve...
I dunno about that... getting smashed every game is not good for confidence, the fans, the players, coaches anybody.. destroys self esteem and does nobody any good.
Post by: paceman on October 29, 2017, 02:48:59 PM
I dunno about that... getting smashed every game is not good for confidence, the fans, the players, coaches anybody.. destroys self esteem and does nobody any good.

If you're getting smashed constantly and not seeing some improvement every time you play, then you need to look at coaching, support staff, overall setup... etc...

Bangladesh (cricket) is a perfect example of how minnows can become competitive by playing bigger nations.

Incremental improvement over time is what you want to achieve, if you are a smaller nation.
Post by: Bird on October 30, 2017, 02:29:16 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/cooper-cronk-joins-sydney-roosters-on-twoyear-contract-20171029-gzaqz8.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/cooper-cronk-joins-sydney-roosters-on-twoyear-contract-20171029-gzaqz8.html)

Cooper Cronk will join the Sydney Roosters after agreeing to a two-year contract with tri-colours.

The Roosters on Monday confirmed signing of the 33-year-old Kangaroos halfback, 10 days after he revealed he would not be retiring after the World Cup.
Post by: Rumpig on November 30, 2017, 06:48:30 PM
As expected, Hayne milked another payment out of the Titans before walking out on them today....wonder if he'll pick his act up at Parra next year or not
Post by: rags on November 30, 2017, 06:58:27 PM
As expected, Hayne milked another payment out of the Titans before walking out on them today....wonder if he'll pick his act up at Parra next year or not

But as report Hayne has not taken up the option to "milk" that payment

Quote from News
stringing the Titans along in an attempt to hold onto $180,000 in “holiday pay” by planning to only tell the club of his intent to walk away in January before his return to pre-season training following a break after the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.
The move would reportedly allow Hayne to continue his monthly payments of $90,000 under his deal with the Titans before he accepts his cut-price deal with the Eels.
The Daily Telegraph reported earlier this month Hayne stood to receive $90,000 on November 30 and December 30 if still employed by the Titans.
But Courier-Mail rugby league writer Peter Badel reported Hayne doesn’t plan on taking advantage of that situation.
“My understanding is he will not seek the $180,000 that was reported that he would look to seek over the next two months before he left the club,” Badel told Fox Sports News.
Post by: paceman on December 01, 2017, 06:22:50 AM

if i was Clint Gutherson at Parra, i would be filthy...

he's a club/coach/morale killer, with no heart or integrity.
Post by: glenm64 on December 01, 2017, 09:56:37 AM
if i was Clint Gutherson at Parra, i would be filthy...

he's a club/coach/morale killer, with no heart or integrity.
Sums him up perfectly

Post by: Rumpig on December 01, 2017, 11:44:06 AM
But as report Hayne has not taken up the option to "milk" that payment

Quote from News
stringing the Titans along in an attempt to hold onto $180,000 in “holiday pay” by planning to only tell the club of his intent to walk away in January before his return to pre-season training following a break after the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.
The move would reportedly allow Hayne to continue his monthly payments of $90,000 under his deal with the Titans before he accepts his cut-price deal with the Eels.
The Daily Telegraph reported earlier this month Hayne stood to receive $90,000 on November 30 and December 30 if still employed by the Titans.
But Courier-Mail rugby league writer Peter Badel reported Hayne doesn’t plan on taking advantage of that situation.
“My understanding is he will not seek the $180,000 that was reported that he would look to seek over the next two months before he left the club,” Badel told Fox Sports News.
seems a coincidence he announced at right at the end of the month to me.... he might have opted not to take the money once word got out as that article says (no idea how correct it is), but I'd bet all my coin he was going to do it before media got wind of it. The guy is a self centred team killer, no way would I have him in my team regardless of his talent (that only occasionally turns up to play)
Post by: Bird on December 01, 2017, 11:55:07 AM
Must admit I'm not a fan of the players chopping and changing at the drop of a hat, or before the season begins, stating they are moving next year..

I know theres no loyalty from clubs to players, but there seems even less these days from players to anything but $$$ and it seems to mainly be the higher profile players.

You sign a contract, you should be there until end of season, then if you don't make finals, you then start talks.
Post by: Rumpig on December 01, 2017, 06:26:17 PM
Must admit I'm not a fan of the players chopping and changing at the drop of a hat, or before the season begins, stating they are moving next year..

I know theres no loyalty from clubs to players, but there seems even less these days from players to anything but $$$ and it seems to mainly be the higher profile players.

You sign a contract, you should be there until end of season, then if you don't make finals, you then start talks.
totally agree, you sign a contract you should see it out...sadly though there's so many get out clauses in the contracts, there's no chance of making someone stay at a club if they really want to go. At the end of the day you have to ask, do you want a sook like Moses was at Wests and Hayne at the Titans moping about the place and doing nothing for club moral, or do you just let them go and try and move the club forward.
Post by: Bird on December 11, 2017, 03:34:20 PM
After all these years, and clubs getting bolloxed for salary cap breaches... clubs still play the game?

Manly are facing a "significant fine" after a lengthy investigation by the NRL's integrity unit found potential breaches of the competition's salary cap by the club over the past five years.

The NRL announced on Monday afternoon that it had issued Manly with a breach notice, giving the club five days to respond, as well as issuing show-cause notices to two club officials.

"Should these preliminary findings be confirmed, proposed sanctions could include a significant fine on the club," the NRL said in a statement.

"The club could also be required to adjust its salary cap for 2018 to recognise commitments made to players that are found to be in breach of the cap.

"In addition to the matters relevant to the club, show cause notices have also been issued to two current club officials, requiring them to demonstrate why their registrations should not be cancelled."

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/manly-sea-eagles/manly-sea-eagles-facing-significant-fine-after-nrl-salary-cap-breach-notice-20171211-h02l94.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/manly-sea-eagles/manly-sea-eagles-facing-significant-fine-after-nrl-salary-cap-breach-notice-20171211-h02l94.html)
Post by: Bird on December 22, 2017, 08:03:22 AM
(http://images.dailykos.com/images/279511/story_image/WTF.jpg)
South Sydney star Angus Crichton has had a finger amputated to ensure he's ready for the 2018 NRL season.

Crichton's manager David Rawlings confirmed the back-rower had had the middle finger on his left hand amputated, Fox Sports is reporting.
Crichton earlier this week confirmed he had signed a three-year deal to join the Sydney Roosters from 2019.

The 21-year-old had been told he needed more surgery on the digit, which would mean a three-month layoff.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/nrl-2018-south-sydney-rabbitohs-star-angus-crichton-amputates-finger-20171221-h08nf6.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/nrl-2018-south-sydney-rabbitohs-star-angus-crichton-amputates-finger-20171221-h08nf6.html)
Post by: rags on December 22, 2017, 06:28:23 PM
(http://images.dailykos.com/images/279511/story_image/WTF.jpg)

Looks like Ernie has had the same procedure with his 3 fingers and a thumb.
Post by: Bigfish on December 22, 2017, 06:34:01 PM
Mr. Haynes "digit" seems to have got him in trouble too.....
Post by: Rumpig on December 22, 2017, 06:43:35 PM
Mr. Haynes "digit" seems to have got him in trouble too.....
i can't stand the guy, but sounds more like a money grabbing bird to me that one...only 2 people really know what happened though.