Author Topic: Hi from Darwin  (Read 6537 times)

Offline Yoda42

• Beagle kisses don't grow hair
    • Travels With Beagles Blog
Hi from Darwin
« on: November 17, 2010, 08:15:17 PM »
 Hi to all from Darwin, we own a Nissan Navara with all the toys you can think of, and have just ordered an Aussieswag Rover LX, can't wait till March!!!
we are already planning our first trip with the new toy, Finke River Gorge near Alice springs over Easter, then Cape York in July/August via the Savannah way
2011 can't come fast enough for us
 :cheers: to all
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, 2 beagles & an Lifestyle Reconn
http://travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com

Re: Hi from Darwin
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 08:24:10 PM »

Nice camper, good choice.

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2010, 08:30:04 PM »
welcome aboard.  Souns like a couple of ripper trips planned.

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2010, 08:48:50 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, a wait that will be worth it in the end, a great camper

« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2010, 09:12:58 PM »
G'day Yoda and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:

Mmmmm...the force is strong with this one. (Snowbieonekenobi) ;D ;D
« Last Edit: November 18, 2010, 03:49:25 PM by Snow »

« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2010, 11:13:49 PM »

Welcome to the Swag ... and the Aussie Swag Family!  You will just love doing those trips in the comfort of your new Bed On Wheels.  We love ours.  Those months and weeks will pass ... slowly ... but be over before you realise.  By the time it arrives you'll have a My Swag addiction ... guaranteed!!!

P.S. If you ever drop into Bunnings in Snell Street please say hello to Jenny on reception for me.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 03:00:49 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2010, 11:34:05 PM »
Hi Yoda and welcome to the forum.
I am new as well and am finding some great reading here, so am sure you will as well.
Now how you feel having to wait all those months as ours doen't arrive until Feb.
Pass the time by planning trips, thinking about how to set things up and what gear to pack.

Offline Damo

« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2010, 05:45:57 AM »
G'day mate and welcome to the forum.
Cheers Damo.

05 Hilux, Customline Deluxe Offroad Camper

Aussie Spirit

« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2010, 10:35:56 AM »
Welcome to my swag yoda, a great place to find information. I lived in darwin from 66 till 72, had many a great time up their.

Offline SKEMPIE

« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2010, 12:28:58 PM »
Welcome to the forum Yoda like you i am also a newbie on here. Plenty of good advice from the friendly on here too.. :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2010, 01:49:20 PM »
Welcome to the forum Yoda

Had some great times in Darwin courtesy of the Royal Australian Navy (1980-1983 on patrol boats). :cup:

Plenty of info here, and some characters, sit back and enjoy the ride ;D

For the want of sounding corny, "May the Force be with you"

Offline littlefamily

• The Little Travelin Family
« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2010, 02:54:13 PM »
welcome
Brendan, Sarah & Brodie's 61 series & Vacationer

Offline Yoda42

« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2010, 03:47:06 PM »
Thanks all for the welcomes.

For those with the Aussie Swag, what were the first modifications you made, if any? We're already watching some LED lights on eBay and got a new inverter for half the price we could get locally 8)

It will be kind of sad to semi-retire the Oz Tent, but there's a lot of life in it yet!

Oh yeah, the other big trip on the horizon is 2013 - 4 or 5 months long service leave, with the highlights looking like Flinders Ranges, Vic High Country and NSW outback. At this stage ;D We don't tend to do a lot of national parks with beagles on board unfortunately, but camping's not the same without them.

« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2010, 09:47:40 PM »
G'day from FNQ Yoda42 and welcome to Myswag.
Congrats on ordering your first ct - very exciting.  We're new to Myswag too - only ordered our first ct a few weeks ago now and won't see it till the end of Feb.  Can't wait!!
Your trip planning sounds great.  We did Cape York mid 2008 in convoy with our son and family who were towing their new ct then - a Trackabout Safari.  Hubby and I were tenting and it was our first real 4wd adventure - what a great trip it was. You'll love it!  We can't wait to do it again one day.   Our first big trip in our ct will be next July across to Katherine where son now lives (he's a Raafy at Tindal) and then back across the Gulf in convoy with him and his family, along with their friends who are coming up from NSW. Can't wait!
Enjoy your time on the website - lots of friendly folk who are also very knowledgeable and eager to help.
Sharyn

« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2010, 10:22:51 PM »
For those with the Aussie Swag, what were the first modifications you made, if any? We're already watching some LED lights on eBay and got a new inverter for half the price we could get locally

We didn't so much modify as option up.  Fridge slide (for ease of use), second battery (to run those light and charge those camera/phone/laptop batteries), annex pack 1 (for those rainy/windy days ... I highly recommend some protection ... the draught flap alone is worth any $ they ask for).  All we need for the time being.

The first modification we did was to add a Cuda Alarm to the front wall on the passenger side.  Security is a must in these recent times.  Second mod was to put a floor in our fridge slide so the esky wouldn't fall through.  We'll have a fridge one day.  I think the next mod's we'll do will be to mount another tool box in the centre of the drawbar (against the front wall) and put 1 jerry and 1 gas bottle on either side OR get some 'jerry can tool boxes' made to fit into the jerry holders (similar to what JKohn has had made perhaps).

Not sure if you can call this a Fem-Mod or not, but I ensured that some non-slip matting went into the panty & under the sink.  Stops marks on the stainless steel and keeps things in their place.  Next I want a hose of some sort attatched to the sink outlet (removable for storage), so that when I empty the sink, the water doesn't splash into the bucket ... most annoying for we sheila's.

Offline Yoda42

« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2010, 11:08:34 AM »
Yep, Kit_ekat9, we've got bits and pieces we've collected over the years that can be transplanted, and we've also ordered the annex pack too. We currently have a custom canopy on the back of the Nav that has a Platinum fridge slide for the Trailblaza, sliding drawers and a Drifta kitchen. We have an older tilt fridge slide that will go in the Aussie Swag, we're going back to the well body tub for the Nav, and will transplant the drawers back into that. We'll still bring the Drifta and the Oz Tent along for longer trips where we might make a side journey for a few days away from the trailer to places where it might not be wise to take the trailer.

The non-slip matting is great stuff, we also put a layer in the bottom of the fridge too, as well as in the Drifta. We love the Drifta, but the Aussie Swag kitchen we think is the best set up we've seen, so we're really looking forward to creating some feasts with that.

« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2010, 04:00:45 PM »
Yonda 42 Welcome to Myswag , you really are making good decisons  as you go including becoming a swagger . Enjoy the comfort of the CT   :cheers:

Offline Rowanb

« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2011, 06:06:36 AM »
Welcome YODA42 get a look at the Finke Desert Race if you get an opportunity, Queens B/day long weekend from memory and the local Kamfari, Ahhh Dirtbikes dirtbikes is there nothing better? Don't forget Dundee beach, plenty of ok places close to Darwin.

Oh I lost some brain cells up there a year or 2 ago if you find them can you let me know. ;D

Row and Shaz.
Hubby and Wife team

« Reply #18 on: January 13, 2011, 07:27:45 PM »
Gday Yoda welcome to My Swag

Cant wait to hear and see about those trips you have planned, sounds great

« Reply #19 on: January 13, 2011, 08:16:20 PM »
Hi Yoda, welcome to Myswag. We are also going to be up the cape in august, might see you up there. :cheers: