Author Topic: Do you remember when  (Read 36772 times)

Do you remember when
« on: December 15, 2015, 05:59:07 AM »
 Do you remember when  ??? ??? ???
A dimsin was 3c
You could feed all your mates on 5c of chips in news paper .
fuel was 4c a litre .
Sadddly l do        :cheers:
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 06:00:52 AM by speewa158 »

Re: Do you remember when
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2015, 06:01:07 AM »
Cracker Night

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2015, 06:02:23 AM »
l can live in fear of what you got up to  >:D

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2015, 06:12:05 AM »
I was a bit later than you Speewa , Coke was the real thing and a 10c bag of mixed lollies was enough to keep you chomping away for half the day .

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2015, 06:18:42 AM »
Where did you get the  10c from  ??? ???

« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2015, 06:27:08 AM »

Where did you get the  10c from  ??? ???
from the glass drink bottles we pinched from the back of the shop, then walked around the front of the shop and got the 5c refund;D

Offline terravista

« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2015, 06:33:11 AM »
30 cents for school lunch and you could get a cake for smoko, a pie and can of Coke for lunch and a packet of 10 Craven A cigarettes.
Then sell the ciggies for 2 cents each and buy a couple of comics to read on the bus back home or a spinning lure at the fishing supplies.

Offline Julian Kaye

« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2015, 06:53:41 AM »
Air conditioning in the FJ was opening the quarter vents on a really hot day, trains were made of timber and you could hang out the doors, dad mowed the grass with a Qualcast, mum did the washing by firing up the copper, delicatessens were called ham & beef shops, bread was wrapped in tissue paper, chips were wrapped in newspaper and newspaper was used in the outside dunny. Divers gave hand signals, our cricket stars were called Davo and Slasher and Bradman was a God. You didn't need a licence to fish, tents weighed a ton and somehow Dad, Mum, three kids,Grandpa and all the bags fitted into the FJ to go on Christmas holidays. Chicken was something special at Christmas and ham came in tins. Oh the memories.

« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2015, 07:09:44 AM »
Yep 3c a potato scollope, Craig

« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2015, 07:22:08 AM »
we all had to be home when the street lights came on  :cup:

« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2015, 07:28:55 AM »

And Mum had kicked you out of the house in the morning with a packed lunch.

UIZ733

« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2015, 07:31:05 AM »
Do you remember when  ??? ??? ???
A dimsin was 3c
You could feed all your mates on 5c of chips in news paper .
fuel was 4c a litre .
Sadddly l do        :cheers:
It might be sadder if you didn't.

« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2015, 07:33:57 AM »
lollies 10 for a cent.. 5cent paddle pops...
$10 used to do us a weekend of munchies, drinks, and fuel/oil in our bikes.

$2 of hot chips from cooks kitchen, and a loaf of bread used to feed several of us at lunchtime when out Boat Harbour

$9.99 for a carton of throwdowns.. we used buy a $2.00 ticket and get 5 beers out of it ;D ;D ;D

collecting ally cans, 1/2 filling every second one with sand and cashing them in...
same with the bottle trick above... 'the glass drink bottles we pinched from the back of the shop, then walked around the front of the shop and got the 5c refund' although we used to jump fences and return them to the other shop in town :D

« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2015, 07:40:37 AM »
PS.. Crawford Productions would make great aussie TV shows... and we had good actors who could act...

You could sit down and watch tele without smut being the selling point of the "show"

although, this is more likely what Speewa had (great theme music though! - John Meillon as Mr Pym  great work)
https://youtu.be/tlycZqRHUKI

or The FJ Holden!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xk54a0p1qw
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 08:02:14 AM by Bird »

The following users thanked this post: edz

Offline J.R

« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2015, 07:46:03 AM »
Mum would leave $4 on the bench for our lunch and bus money.

.40c was the combined bus and train fair (Rowville to Fern Tree Gully).

.99c would buy you a packet of 15's PJ durries from Safeway.

Lunch was s couple of steamed dim sims with soy sauce and a can of coke from the tuck shop.

Offline J.R

« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2015, 07:49:34 AM »
PS.. Crawford Productions would make great aussie TV shows... and we had good actors who could act...

You could sit down and watch tele without smut being the selling point of the "show"

although, this is more likely what Speewa had
https://youtu.be/tlycZqRHUKI

TV had proper entertainment shows. Mash, The Paul Hogan Show, Leyland Brothers, Chips and a lot more.

Now, TV is all about home reno's, very fat people loosing weight, has been TV stars dancing, gay couples on cooking shows and so on.
The following users thanked this post: timbo43

« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2015, 07:55:55 AM »
There was Number 96 though.....

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #17 on: December 15, 2015, 07:56:40 AM »
I didn't die riding my bike without a helmet and never drowned in an unfenced swimming pool.
Playing cricket and footy on the road (No, not at the same time stewped ;D). Xmas holidays we'd be playing out there under the street lights till after 9pm some nights and no one died.
Dry dog sh1t turned white.

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

« Reply #18 on: December 15, 2015, 08:18:45 AM »
TV had proper entertainment shows. Mash, The Paul Hogan Show, Leyland Brothers, Chips and a lot more.

Now, TV is all about home reno's, very fat people loosing weight, has been TV stars dancing, gay couples on cooking shows and so on.
http://australianmovies.net/

« Reply #19 on: December 15, 2015, 08:57:07 AM »
You had street lights?
Proudest kid in town when Dad bought a brand new Chrysler Royal Auto. Buttons on the dash for Drive, Park, Reverse etc. Like to have it now.

« Reply #20 on: December 15, 2015, 08:58:37 AM »
I didn't die riding my bike without a helmet and never drowned in an unfenced swimming pool.
Playing cricket and footy on the road (No, not at the same time stewped ;D). Xmas holidays we'd be playing out there under the street lights till after 9pm some nights and no one died.

A lot of that was pure luck though !!  ;D

I remember hanging onto the back of a car going downhill on the pushy and sling shooting past them when they slowed down for the corners !!

Or getting under a train bridge and popping your head up between the sleepers when a train approached......seeing the eyes of the train driver was magic !!

I remember 5 cents used to buy a packet of fags ( remember the fag lollies ).....now you throw away 5 cents because it's useless !!

« Reply #21 on: December 15, 2015, 09:09:06 AM »
Thanks for those links Bird, Just watching that FJ holden one, Anyone else remember how bloody terrible those press in safety pop tops on the coke and  drink cans used to be  :cheers
Early seventies going to  the pictures strolling like a king with $5 in ya pocket from washing a few cars at the miner's quarters [ We lived onsite at the mines ] , 40c for downstairs stalls or 70c for the balcony, A drink,  box of jaffa's,  10 minutes of cartoons before the first movie then intermision, out for a burger and drink and a flog of the pinnies at the cafe next door and back in time  to get an icecream and watch the 5 minutes of cartoons before the second movie started .And coming home with change left over ..
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 09:26:10 AM by edz »

« Reply #22 on: December 15, 2015, 09:26:58 AM »
Thanks for those links Bird, Just watching that FJ holden one, Anyone else remember how bloody terrible those press in safety pop tops on the coke and  drink cans used to be  :cheers:
these?

I liked these, pull in 1/2 and fling the ring part away!

« Reply #23 on: December 15, 2015, 09:27:53 AM »
Buyin Sunnyboy or razz and looking inside to see if you got a free one

The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #24 on: December 15, 2015, 09:39:42 AM »
That be the ones, the old slyle ones used to make great spring flung frizbies, later on when I'd left home, they were made into great chains strung around the flat as christmas decorations to go with the 8' high solid round beer can christmas tree  that we drunk in the lead up to crhistmas ..
Our only rule was each layer had to be all the same type of beer cans .. ;D
Similar to this one .
Remember when you had to open softdrink / beer cans with an opener like this
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 09:48:57 AM by edz »