Author Topic: Old Stuff I Really Miss  (Read 34205 times)

Re: Old Stuff I Really Miss
« Reply #75 on: February 04, 2015, 09:29:47 PM »
Catching the train from Wangaratta to Melbourne and stopping at Seymour to go into the station dining room / kiosk.   And stopping at all the 1 horse towns along the way
Used to be fun when on the 'up' train.
Into the caf and line up the beers.  Then wait for the 'noobs' to 'pack' it when the train 'moved' .
LOL, was just the front and rear sections being separated into Wodonga and Echuca trains.  ;D  ;D :cheers:
« Last Edit: February 04, 2015, 09:47:29 PM by B&B »

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #76 on: February 04, 2015, 09:46:27 PM »
Don't know, I moved to Qld 3 maybe 27 years ago but it's a great memory from my childhood. I would vote for spectators being allowed to jump the fence again!

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

« Reply #77 on: April 14, 2016, 09:27:27 PM »
I miss the old driveway service that you got at service stations, fill her up and check your oil and water, all with a smile. Now you hardly even get acknowledged at the counter of the modern fuel shops.

cheers duggie
:cup: :cup: :cup:

Offline Champin

« Reply #78 on: April 15, 2016, 08:07:56 PM »
Yeah I remember servos where you could inflate your tires. Now most of the "new Australian" run ones only have a sign saying 'air' but no hose or inflater. 

« Reply #79 on: April 15, 2016, 08:43:30 PM »
Square glass milk bottles with bright and shinny and various colourful aluminum tops that you would stove-in with eager thumbs each and every morning...!

(Having been delivered fresh every morning to your door by the milkman). ....   

Yes, no need to make a 21st century contribution/correction here and say  "milk delivery person"....  grrrr...... this pre 1990's domain was a (self employed) mans job....

No sight of "Jims Milk" operators either....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline mrdenn1s

• Dennis Does Cricket
« Reply #80 on: April 15, 2016, 08:59:57 PM »
Carlton not being Shit
2014 Blue Water Tanami Soft floor Camper
2000 Landcruiser 105 GXL Inline 6
2011 Kia Sorento

« Reply #81 on: April 15, 2016, 09:07:31 PM »
Square glass milk bottles with bright and shinny and various colourful aluminum tops that you would stove-in with eager thumbs each and every morning...!

(Having been delivered fresh every morning to your door by the milkman). ....   

Yes, no need to make a 21st century contribution/correction here and say  "milk delivery person"....  grrrr...... this pre 1990's domain was a (self employed) mans job....

No sight of "Jims Milk" operators either....

I was a milko for six years in high school

« Reply #82 on: April 15, 2016, 10:36:47 PM »
As a kid at primary school here in WA we use to get a bottle of milk 1st thing each morning.
Real milk, with cream on top and a foil cap.

« Reply #83 on: April 15, 2016, 11:58:08 PM »
What about Sunnyboys....

(Thirst quenching cordial drinks sold at the tuckshop - that came packaged in waxy cardboard pyramid shapes,  I recall....)

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline Gold Coaster

« Reply #84 on: April 16, 2016, 12:26:23 AM »
As a kid at primary school here in WA we use to get a bottle of milk 1st thing each morning.
Real milk, with cream on top and a foil cap.

Also got the same in NSW but as I attended a small one-teacher school the milk had to come from the closest town in an unrefridgerated truck just over an hour away.

Upon arrival at the local drop-off two students would have to trek more than a kilometre each way to retrieve it. By morning break at 11 o'clock we then had to drink our warm milk before being allowed to go out and play! Memories ....

Offline raider

« Reply #85 on: April 16, 2016, 06:45:51 AM »
Carlton not being Shit

And Richmond not being Shitter   :'(
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

« Reply #86 on: April 16, 2016, 08:34:19 AM »
I also miss milkbars that sold fireworks to kids. :cheers:

So do l     :cup:                         :cheers:

scrapsD40

« Reply #87 on: April 16, 2016, 09:28:18 AM »
xcavator and speewa. Tho don't really miss them
« Last Edit: April 16, 2016, 09:29:50 AM by scrapsD40 »

« Reply #88 on: April 16, 2016, 09:28:49 AM »
    2 shillings at the self serve near North Road Adelaide would fill the tank on the motorbike and have some left over to give to the next vehicle in line.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Offline denidoug

« Reply #89 on: April 16, 2016, 06:28:43 PM »
Trout fishing in the vic high country with my dad

« Reply #90 on: April 16, 2016, 08:12:25 PM »
1 cent pieces.... lollies 10 for a cent

« Reply #91 on: April 16, 2016, 09:05:43 PM »
[/quote
Old diabetics      :-*             :cheers:

« Reply #92 on: April 16, 2016, 09:09:57 PM »

Me too.

Offline Husky77

« Reply #93 on: April 17, 2016, 05:21:11 AM »
What about Sunnyboys....

(Thirst quenching cordial drinks sold at the tuckshop - that came packaged in waxy cardboard pyramid shapes,  I recall..

You can still get sunnyboys.. had one the other day only they dont come with the "freebies" anymore  :'(

Offline gv 2003

« Reply #94 on: April 17, 2016, 06:40:06 AM »
You can still get sunnyboys.. had one the other day only they dont come with the "freebies" anymore  :'(
  also 1 cent pieces.... lollies 10 for a cent

My old milk bar /fruit veg shop own by the 2  Joes  take you by the ear to the jars of lollies take the lid off one and put a lolly in my mouth
while mum was doing the veggie shop.

« Reply #95 on: April 17, 2016, 07:15:32 AM »
The recorder band playing God save the queen while your shoes stuck to melting bitumen - not.
'Standard or super mate?'
High school bodies - theirs and mine haha.

« Reply #96 on: April 17, 2016, 07:29:25 AM »
Jelly Tip ice blocks, straight out of the dry ice cooler in the back of an olive green/white roof EJ Holden station wagon on a Sunday afternoon.

If we were good, we got the 10 cents required.
If we were not so good, we got 5 cents for a normal ice block.
If we were little turds, we got the old man's size 9 up the date.

Online Troopy_03

« Reply #97 on: April 17, 2016, 07:31:05 AM »
Can I add my wife????

She's old and I keep missing her, one day I'll get her though!!!!

;D ;D ;D

On a serious note, I really miss "service"
You know when people actually cared and let you know..............
Ah the good ole days.....................

You don't have to lead them so much when they are older  ;D The young ones run much quicker
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Online Troopy_03

« Reply #98 on: April 17, 2016, 07:35:30 AM »
I miss the old driveway service that you got at service stations, fill her up and check your oil and water, all with a smile. Now you hardly even get acknowledged at the counter of the modern fuel shops.

cheers duggie
Driveway service and swap cards for the kids ..  :D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Online Troopy_03

« Reply #99 on: April 17, 2016, 07:55:40 AM »
Paying 9d for a meat pie (that's pence for the youngsters on here) 6d for a brown paper bag of broken biscuits, at the post office who sold Arnott's Biccies from big square tins. Buying a 20 pack of Chesterfield Filter for the old man for 3'3d (three shilling and threepence). Buying a 10 pack of Craven A for 20c a bit later when we used to go for a smoke behind the school oval. Pinching the bottles of beer left out for the garbo or the dunny man, at Christmas, because they got shiploads anyway... Playing closest to the wall, with your lunch money and going home with 5 times what you went to school with... Experimenting with making wine while in high school, and a few others who also did swapping the results to see how it tasted...  :cheers: Although we got busted with that, when one winter we put the bucket of fermenting brew up in the ceiling where it was nice and warm, and out of sight... Then it bubbled over and made a  big stain in the ceiling in our bedroom. The old man wasn't very amused...