Author Topic: With today's technology, I cannot believe they haven't.....  (Read 26826 times)

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
Re: With today's technology, I cannot believe they haven't.....
« Reply #75 on: September 03, 2014, 06:01:38 PM »
"What is often of far more concern is the latency of the network, after all who cares if you can dump 700 DVD's in a second if the network responds like a slug on traqualisers."

Very true, like all the hype of the NBN, might give you more speed if you have a VPN point to point
service but pretty useless when your surfing the net or down loading from other hosts.
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #76 on: September 03, 2014, 06:16:49 PM »
I'd like a car stereo that won't play Lady Gaga, P!nk, Taylor Swift, and any of the crap they flog 20 tomes a day.....
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #77 on: September 04, 2014, 08:00:59 PM »
I'd like a car stereo that won't play Lady Gaga, P!nk, Taylor Swift, and any of the crap they flog 20 tomes a day.....
They already have it's called an am radio

Offline broncos11

« Reply #78 on: September 04, 2014, 08:05:34 PM »

JJJ or JJ
2003 IFS V8 100 series

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #79 on: September 04, 2014, 08:05:54 PM »

I like the other music though. And not into the oldies stuff.....
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline grafy82

« Reply #80 on: September 04, 2014, 08:12:04 PM »

JJJ or JJ

I once heard it said, "JJJ, the station for all the bands that will never make it". Cant stand most of the alternative crap on there.  ;D
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline broncos11

« Reply #81 on: September 04, 2014, 08:25:20 PM »
I once heard it said, "JJJ, the station for all the bands that will never make it". Cant stand most of the alternative crap on there.  ;D

Geez, if it wasn't for them, we'd have never heard of ACDC, Oils, Chisel, INXS, Skyhooks, Angles, Hunters Collectors, Powderfinger Pete Murray etc, etc etc because these bands were seen as "alternative crap" by our beloved mainstream radio/music industry of the time. But I'm hijacking a thread now.
2003 IFS V8 100 series

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #82 on: September 04, 2014, 11:01:02 PM »
found bigfoot...
or panthers in the aussie bush  (ahhhh here we go... bring it on!)
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

Offline bazt

• Don’t believe everything you think
« Reply #83 on: September 04, 2014, 11:03:25 PM »
Can't believe I have a 65k car and the radio can pick up bugger all in the bush.

2013 Navara ST-X Blackline V6
MDC XT17 HRT
2011 VW Golf R

« Reply #84 on: September 05, 2014, 06:23:57 AM »
the trouble is, the conspiracy buffs will tell you that unmanned craft put them there...
Fly an unmanned craft remotely to the moon and land without crashing, several second delay for "live" grainy video to come to earth respond and send signal back. Then leave all the bits behind, leaving various marks in the dirt and fly the craft off, successfully docking again via remote control.  Then fly home and in an era when they best way to land on earth was drop them in a really big puddle.

Next part is easy. Set up a studio that looks remarkably like where they land on the moon,  and transmit the actors playing their role.  Can't do it in real time due to the "slow motion".  So it must be prerecorded by at some reasonable time.   Have all the actors leave bits in the same places as the remote control thing on the moon.

And nobody gives up the secret.

Reminds me of the movie Capricorn One

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #85 on: September 05, 2014, 07:33:56 AM »
I've got one of those.
When the original nissan stereo died, I put in a 6 stacker and never connected the radio aerial.  Don't miss it at all. 

« Reply #86 on: September 05, 2014, 09:16:31 AM »

It is very dangerous to be a leader in the Technology markets, if your the first to jump one way and then everyone else follows as was the case with Telstra and 3G then your ahead, but if everyone else goes down a different path then you've just wasted hundreds of millions or billions of dollars.

The Government may learn the same lesson in the near future if a leap in Technology comes along and makes the NPN obsolete overnight.

This is so right.  I was involved on the fringes of the great fibre boon around the late nineties earlier 2000. It was leaping ahead. 1000's of jobs in Aus alone. JDS uniphase, ADC to name a few. Then adsl was developed, wow did that that kill the fibre industry ! All the big players either shrunk or disappeared overnight.

« Reply #87 on: September 05, 2014, 09:34:52 AM »
...a money tree

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #88 on: September 05, 2014, 11:51:08 AM »
Fly an unmanned craft remotely to the moon and land without crashing, several second delay for "live" grainy video to come to earth respond and send signal back. Then leave all the bits behind, leaving various marks in the dirt and fly the craft off, successfully docking again via remote control.  Then fly home and in an era when they best way to land on earth was drop them in a really big puddle.

Next part is easy. Set up a studio that looks remarkably like where they land on the moon,  and transmit the actors playing their role.  Can't do it in real time due to the "slow motion".  So it must be prerecorded by at some reasonable time.   Have all the actors leave bits in the same places as the remote control thing on the moon.

And nobody gives up the secret.

Reminds me of the movie Capricorn One

Yeah...even in the movie they couldn't keep the secret...!

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

champin

« Reply #89 on: September 05, 2014, 06:34:58 PM »
It's about time someone came up with a clone of me to send out to work in my stead. I could then focus my time spending said clones hard earned traveling. In saying that, I don't mind going to work. It's just the 8 hour wait to go home that bugs me.

Offline Fathom

« Reply #90 on: September 06, 2014, 06:29:31 AM »
A camper like the "google car" that drives itself to your destination, sets itself up and puts a camp oven roast on while you are at work on Friday. Ready for the weekend. :)
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

« Reply #91 on: September 06, 2014, 02:37:59 PM »
I'm pretty sure the Challenger disaster had a fair bit to do with that, it took quite a while before anyone was game to shoot people back into space.  Putting that aside, why would anyone go back?  It's a damn expensive tourist trip. 

Mars is a bloody long way, anyone who goes there is facing a one way trip.

There are heaps of people looking at this and there are all sorts of mathematical models to try and optimise traffic flow, I'm sure somewhere someone has got it right.

AM transmission will always be prone to interference from spark gaps, that's just the way it is.

That's because the mine pays for it, including all the infrastructure to supply that service.  Did you think that the government gives all these things to mining companies for free?

Someone give this man a beer.

I can't believe that people actually fall for this stupid conspiracy theory.  We have been to the moon six times - Apollo 11 to 17.  We have left stuff up there that people can track even now.  It's lunacy to suggest otherwise.  :cheers:

Because wireless is not better than fibre, not by a long shot.  Wireless is good for short distances at low bandwidth.  If you want to go any serious distance at high speed you need fibre.

Hi mate,

I am working with the CSIRO to deliver a new wireless protocol to support health up here. Interesting as it will deliver 50mg both ways. We will use a fiber back haul for that but in essence a lot quicker than LTE but no voice. I'll keep you up to date as this progresses.

« Reply #92 on: September 06, 2014, 07:16:50 PM »
A camper like the "google car" that drives itself to your destination, sets itself up and puts a camp oven roast on while you are at work on Friday. Ready for the weekend. :)

X20billions

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #93 on: September 06, 2014, 07:33:23 PM »
X20billions
It's called a caravan park with a pub next door. Some joints are doing the half tent thing now.