Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488956 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #700 on: April 27, 2017, 11:58:46 AM »
N +1 = Happy face I recon.

Scott Foil 20 Road Bike

Wheeler Route 61 Road  Bike

Rapallo Road Bike

Azzurri Sprint Pro Trac Bike

Hoffy Track Bike

Fuji 2.0 Track Bike

Aldi 29er

Shimano Road Bike (my wifes old one)

Think that's it.

Hurry up corkhead!

Gezzzz Mate ....your the Amelda Marcos of bikes.....lol...... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline scblack

« Reply #701 on: April 27, 2017, 12:22:35 PM »
I only have three bikes these days:

Intense Slopestyle II - light DH MTB.

Cinelli Pro Estrada - carbon roadie with Campagnolo Super Record Titanium.

Avanti Vitale - wet weather/training roadie.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #703 on: April 27, 2017, 12:39:00 PM »
I read that, it would be pretty frightening to have a chainsaw coming at you.

N+1 maybe...

« Reply #704 on: April 27, 2017, 04:42:25 PM »
How much weight would be in the front of that, D4D? You wouldn't want to go very quick on it.

Hurry up corkhead!

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #705 on: April 27, 2017, 05:27:11 PM »
My Fuji Roubaix 1.3.
Quite a nice aluminium frame and quick bike. I'm enjoying it! Crank out over 200km most weeks in an attempt to keep the weight down and heart working :)
A.D.

A.D.
Colorado RG MY2014 dual cab ute, swag and tent

« Reply #706 on: April 28, 2017, 02:50:51 PM »
Are the front forks CF or Aly, Tradie?

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #707 on: April 28, 2017, 05:12:33 PM »
Front forks are carbon. The bike came with a Fulcrum wheelset/Schwalbe 700C 25mm width tyres upgrade from standard factory spec. The frame is race quality and I sure notice the difference from my cheaper (although quite good for my purposes) Hasa R2 and Cell 105 bikes (for me the Fuji is 2-3 kph faster on average and more stable at high speeds down an incline).
I must admit I still think the Hasa R2 with Tiagra group set is the best bargain buy for anyone wanting to get into road cycling for fitness in a serious way. And on special at the moment from the Oz distributor for $799 - great value!
I was lucky enough to pick up the Fuji on sale at the beginning of the year, for $1500 from my local bike shop, after another guy who had ordered it failed to come up with the dollars.
I remember a few blokes have told me "a good aluminium (frame) beats ordinary carbon fibre", so I went for the Fuji 1.3. No regrets!
A.D.
A.D.

« Reply #708 on: April 28, 2017, 05:44:52 PM »
Yep, a good aly does out do a crap CF frame. :cup:

« Reply #709 on: April 28, 2017, 06:08:14 PM »
Next best thing to new bike day, is new bike parts day :)

« Reply #710 on: April 28, 2017, 06:29:54 PM »
I was lucky enough to pick up the Fuji on sale at the beginning of the year, for $1500 from my local bike shop, after another guy who had ordered it failed to come up with the dollars.

Looks like you have the same problem as I do - finding a big enough frame to begin with, but at the end of the season they become a great deal...

« Reply #711 on: April 28, 2017, 06:47:52 PM »
Next best thing to new bike day, is new bike parts day :)

Nothing wrong with upgrades, the seat look like it has a hard ridge at the back. Will be interesting what you think of the grips, I have a set of lock on DH grips at the moment and think I may go back to the old and trusted Oury grips

Offline Prydey

• Rob
« Reply #712 on: April 28, 2017, 06:54:01 PM »
I must admit I still think the Hasa R2 with Tiagra group set is the best bargain buy for anyone wanting to get into road cycling for fitness in a serious way. And on special at the moment from the Oz distributor for $799 - great value!

Reid Falco is the same price and has 105 instead of tiagra.

personally i wouldn't buy one of those brands though, as they just don't have the runs on the board.  the frame is the most important part, and i'd rather stick with a known quantity. 

i have an ally cannondale caad8, which along with the caad10 were often touted as being the best aluminium frames on the market.  unfortunately, when it comes to carbon, cannondale are often known as 'cracknfail'.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #713 on: April 28, 2017, 07:43:17 PM »
I may go back to the old and trusted Oury grips

many people don't realise it... but the std Oury grips are actually a lot softer than the lock-on Ourys. In the lock-ons... half the thickness is the plastic centre sleeve for the locking clamps to clamp onto.

Just chuck some 10c coins in the end to stop the bars punching through.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #714 on: April 28, 2017, 07:48:36 PM »
many people don't realise it... but the std Oury grips are actually a lot softer than the lock-on Ourys. In the lock-ons... half the thickness is the plastic centre sleeve for the locking clamps to clamp onto.

Just chuck some 10c coins in the end to stop the bars punching through.

Thanks for the hint, nothing better that the old girls with a bit of hair spray to hold them on and a bit of thin tie wire to hold them on when the going gets steep.

By the way nice to catch up at the meet Muru, its a small world once you start chatting and realise you probably spoke about riding on another forum 20 years ago.

« Reply #715 on: April 28, 2017, 07:52:46 PM »
I want to find some ODI Rogue grips - I run them on most of my bikes, but they're now only Lock-On not normal... although it does look like I can get some for a quad bike that would tick the boxes...

Must also remember to grab the wife's hairspray to fix my 29ers grips...

« Reply #716 on: April 28, 2017, 08:36:02 PM »
Nothing wrong with upgrades, the seat look like it has a hard ridge at the back. Will be interesting what you think of the grips, I have a set of lock on DH grips at the moment and think I may go back to the old and trusted Oury grips

The seat is padded all over, the flat back/tail is designed to be used with dropper posts where you're off & on the seat a lot. I use my dropper all the time now after watching this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykfElfH5LvI

« Reply #717 on: April 28, 2017, 08:41:59 PM »
The seat is padded all over, the flat back/tail is designed to be used with dropper posts where you're off & on the seat a lot. I use my dropper all the time now after watching this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykfElfH5LvI

I still forget I have one at times. It is handy when you hit the DH parts of some of the trails though. Luckily my bike makes up for my lapses at times

« Reply #718 on: April 29, 2017, 06:30:06 AM »
Where can I get a dropper post for my GU??

« Reply #719 on: April 29, 2017, 06:37:08 AM »
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 06:39:00 AM by D4D »

« Reply #720 on: April 29, 2017, 06:45:28 AM »

« Reply #721 on: April 29, 2017, 08:22:16 AM »
Both of us are working this morning, but I think this afternoon we're going to wander off to watch a bit of the 12 hours in the Piney race - 18km laps of the pine forest. Looks like it's going to be a good day today, a bit of sun, but no rain... not too hot either (it was baltic riding in on the motorbike to work this morning - 50 minutes later and my legs haven't warmed up yet...)

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #722 on: April 29, 2017, 08:54:03 AM »
personally i wouldn't buy one of those brands though, as they just don't have the runs on the board.  the frame is the most important part, and i'd rather stick with a known quantity. 

Reality is though some of us look for a bargain, and when it comes to just wanting a bike to get and keep fit on, something that is a step up from a supermarket chain bike may suffice(?) In my case looking at an online purchase was convenient at the time as I was "living in the sticks". In 2012 I purchased a Hasa R2, happy that it was made in Taiwan and came with a Tiagra groupset, figuring it would do me as a first bike (after 3 decades of distance running to keep fit I decided I needed something a little easier on my aging joints). After sorting out a problem with some dodgy rear wheel spokes, I have used it consistently since, clocking up around 15,000 km on it with no issues other than usual maintenance (new chain, just replaced brake and gear cables). I can't complain about that! I also bought a Cell 105 a year later as a second bike, but actually prefer the Hasa to ride.
Found this review on some budget bikes interesting.
http://www.bikeradar.com/au/road/gear/article/best-direct-buy-budget-road-bikes-40753/
Buying the Fuji was a step up again from my Hasa and Cell, noticeably a little faster and "smoother" to ride. I was willing to buy a carbon frame bike and spend a bit more, but considered the Fuji a good buy, too good to knock back at the time. 
I still rotate rides on all 3 bikes, although these days prefer the Fuji (understandably).
A.D.

« Reply #723 on: April 29, 2017, 08:57:06 AM »
Doesn't matter what you ride, as long as you're getting our there and enjoying it.

Which reminds me, Swannie what's the go with your Scott?

The following users thanked this post: ADTradie

« Reply #724 on: April 29, 2017, 09:34:22 AM »
Doesn't matter what you ride, as long as you're getting our there and enjoying it.

Which reminds me, Swannie what's the go with your Scott?

Need to get it out of shed and look at it today, then will need to catch up mate.