Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488754 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #575 on: January 05, 2017, 03:41:42 PM »
Was looking for new tyres, ouch.
I bought 2 Schwalbe Marathon Supremes 700 x 32 in August 2015 for $70, now they want $95 each!
Anyone has a better deal or has a great tyre in mind?

I just ordered some GP40002s from Probikekit for $43 each.  ;D Have a look .

http://www.probikekit.com.au/components/tyres-tubes.list?utm_source=ecrm-browse-abandon&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=ecrm-browse-abandon&affil=thgemail&ecrmcid=2R61g7qekJP0vXWznJzrM5YnmAodEB8b&exn=&exv=

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #577 on: January 08, 2017, 07:11:03 AM »
Just come back from a week away. Took my big w fat bike and ...

Took it for a ride on the beach, well out of its comfort zone. Averaged 10km/h and toasted my legs. I'll take a bet and say that not many of them have ventured onto sand, it's too much hard work. Over geared and overweight.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2017, 07:18:59 AM by NewieCamper »

« Reply #578 on: January 08, 2017, 04:06:51 PM »
I've ridden a Big W Fatbike on the beach and couldn't believe how easy it was.  ???

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #579 on: January 09, 2017, 08:58:30 AM »
I've ridden a Big W Fatbike on the beach and couldn't believe how easy it was.  ???

While it wasn't that hard to ride once up and going, getting there was the hard part. It is geared too high for soft stuff. It will travel over soft stuff fine, but keeping up the pace requires stand and stomp fairly regularly. The kids were riding it round the van park easy enough on the grass or gravel, but the 13yo (2nd biggest kid besides me) struggled on the sand and gave up, the smaller ones wouldnt have had a hope of keeping it moving.

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #580 on: January 09, 2017, 09:08:35 AM »
While it wasn't that hard to ride once up and going, getting there was the hard part. It is geared too high for soft stuff. It will travel over soft stuff fine, but keeping up the pace requires stand and stomp fairly regularly. The kids were riding it round the van park easy enough on the grass or gravel, but the 13yo (2nd biggest kid besides me) struggled on the sand and gave up, the smaller ones wouldnt have had a hope of keeping it moving.
What pressure are you running in the tyres? Those fat bikes can run pretty low. Or may you need to put a smaller chain ring on the front.

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #581 on: January 09, 2017, 09:49:38 AM »
What pressure are you running in the tyres? Those fat bikes can run pretty low. Or may you need to put a smaller chain ring on the front.

Tyre pressures were running pretty low, barely registering on the pump indicator.

Yeah, it does need a smaller chainring. Being a Big W cheapie I don't expect much of it so am not surprised either. The gearing (single speed) is fine for cruising along the flat, but when the going gets tough (up any type of hill, a headwind or soft surfaces) overcoming the massive wheel weight means the gearing is just too tall. I do have plans for a tubeless hack and have bought a holesaw to get stuck into weight reduction for the rims, but haven't had time to do it yet. Reducing the weight should help, probably getting some better tyres might help, but I'm not spending many $ on it :).

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #582 on: January 09, 2017, 10:58:32 AM »
Try 6 pound in the tyres .a fatty will roll over pretty much everything - admittedly the bike prob weighs as much as a 10 yr old !
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #583 on: January 09, 2017, 03:46:53 PM »
Try 6 pound in the tyres .a fatty will roll over pretty much everything - admittedly the bike prob weighs as much as a 10 yr old !

It is under 10psi but can't tell how much! It does roll over everything and weighs in around 23kg (not too much different from the 9yo that kept asking to ride it!

« Reply #584 on: January 09, 2017, 04:42:06 PM »
I bought some new brakes for the missus' bike, mainly for the 1 finger levers and because I have OCD and wanted a full Deore group set on her bike.

Get home to find my goodies from Chain Reaction had arrived. My joy quickly turned to dismay when I opened the box and looked at what they sent me.

What muppets! >:(

« Reply #585 on: January 09, 2017, 06:31:28 PM »
Hahaha, I just sprung ya on another forum, that I'm on. ;D Only because I was looking at the post and thinking..........where'd my comments go?  ;)

« Reply #586 on: January 09, 2017, 06:52:41 PM »
Hahaha, I just sprung ya on another forum, that I'm on. ;D Only because I was looking at the post and thinking..........where'd my comments go?  ;)

« Reply #587 on: January 09, 2017, 06:59:19 PM »

Hahaha, I shoulda said.... Newie.  ;D

Offline ScottT

• Random acts of kindness without expectations
« Reply #588 on: January 12, 2017, 07:01:28 AM »
Beware of track dangers !

Hahahaha  :cup: :cup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUL56vrK75I
2005 Toyota Prado 1KZ 120 Series
2008 Customline 12ft Deluxe Off Road

« Reply #589 on: January 13, 2017, 04:03:51 PM »

Offline toglhot

« Reply #590 on: January 17, 2017, 07:00:24 PM »
I've made four recumbent trikes and two recumbent bikes in all, this is the last recumbent bike I made.   I made this because I couldn't ride my MTB anymore due to RA; unfortunately, I can no longer ride this one either, such is life - a bitch!

« Reply #591 on: January 22, 2017, 07:58:49 PM »
Had a couple of great days riding with my son over the weekend. As we were on bike paths, I rode my Scott hardtail which I've returned to stock configuration. Being 26" and a short wheelbase, it was nice and easy to manoeuvre around a busy bike path. I'm glad I decided to keep it, I have plans for it though. I'm going to fit the 1x10 gear off my dualie to it, as I am going to fit 1x11 M8000 to my dualie. Now to work out how to get the 'essential safety upgrades' approved by the wife :)

Offline crappsy

• Life's short so enjoy it when you can
« Reply #592 on: January 22, 2017, 08:08:37 PM »
Got this last week.
Installed a 3000mamp battery to charge cycle accessories on the go.

« Reply #593 on: January 22, 2017, 08:13:23 PM »
Tell me more about that battery setup, Crappsy, please?  ???

Offline crappsy

« Reply #594 on: January 22, 2017, 08:22:12 PM »
My dad finished a cycling holiday in Taiwan end of last year and picked it up at a bike manufacturing place. It's a thin black cylinder that slots into the headstem it sits in a cradle so it can be removed for charging, via normal phone charger. Then it has usb out to charge cycle computer or lights or your phone ect. I'll take some more shots of the unit and the box it came in tomorrow for you.

Offline crappsy

« Reply #595 on: January 22, 2017, 08:29:27 PM »
Or I could just post a link to the manufacturer Web page

https://www.necoparts.com/en/product/NECO-Series/NECO+3.html

« Reply #596 on: January 23, 2017, 06:17:27 AM »
That's a cool idea.

Hurry up corkhead!

« Reply #597 on: January 28, 2017, 05:48:04 PM »
Been getting mu bike mojo back of late since coming back from Tassie. Luckily we live 5 minutes from Lysterfield where there is heaps of riding.

Have taken on the state track of late and its a lot of fun with an 8 minute climb and a great descent.

Might have to organise a meet up out there soon for any Melbourne based riders

Intense is still a great bike.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

« Reply #598 on: January 28, 2017, 07:15:10 PM »
I just bought my younger son a Merida 7-10. Damn when I was looking in the shop bikes have come along way. Some of those duellies are cool would look good on the shed wall

« Reply #599 on: January 28, 2017, 07:20:49 PM »
Quote from: Swann nk=topic=23186.msg882143#msg882143 date=1485594910
I just bought my younger son a Merida 7-10. Damn when I was looking in the shop bikes have come along way. Some of those duellies are cool would look good on the shed wall

That they have, my bike in carbon is well above my riding skills, loves to climb. pity I prefer the down more