Author Topic: Four wheels move the body, but two wheels move the soul  (Read 33162 times)

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
Re: Four wheels move the body, but two wheels move the soul
« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2010, 06:37:07 PM »
Hey Duchess, next time you're there, say a big hello to Johno for me. He's an old friend from waaaayyyyy back, though he wouldn't know me as Crimso he would know me as "mule".

You're not that far, you should drop in sometime yourself! I think you'd love to wander the shop and I'm sure John would love to see you. Otherwise, I shall remember you to him when next up that way.

Duchess - I'll be round to pick up the Duc later. Beautiful machine - we used to park next to one that same colour under work. Always would have liked to have picked one up.

Good thread!

I hope by "pick up the Duc", you mean you'll drop round for a ride of it!  ;D Sure, I'll give a seasoned Trumpy rider a go! Bring yours so I can have a go on a proper Triumph and not one of those things sporting a small car engine!  :o (I'm talking about the Rocket III)

Here is my scooter, it is also Italian, an Aprilia Habana 125cc. Costs me about 8 bucks to fill up and lasts seemingly forever!

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Offline Mike Harding

« Reply #26 on: July 29, 2010, 07:18:38 PM »
In the vertical mode of existence I have yet to experience
anything more exhilarating than riding a (motor) bike on a
warm day wearing only jeans, a light shirt and no crash
helmet. Apparently, nowadays and for reasons I do not
understand, it's highly irresponsible to do that - but I did
it before such wisdom was commonplace and I know how
good it feels! :)

These days I don't have a bike, although I still have a
licence, and despite the fact I would like another bike I
will not get one 'cause I suspect I would kill myself on
one or, worse still, end up a vegetable or similar.

Mike Harding
"Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned" --- William Congreve (1670 – 1729)

Offline blaze

« Reply #27 on: July 29, 2010, 07:40:22 PM »
Damm you mike
Brings back memories
z900, early morning, fresh air blowin through my hair that was halfway down my back, sporting a good growth of facial hair, riding around the roads where ever I saw fit without a care in the world. Now I have to stop remembing the past days. These days my son has a honda 1000 sitting in the shed that I take a ride on sometimes, handles well but not something I can sit on for more than about 1 hour. Still get a rush of blood and Im bloody that close to 50 it dont matter.
Lost a few mates to accidents over the years and mainly just stick to my quad bike these days.
blaze

« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2010, 08:31:48 PM »
Loved my old Chook chasers.
First there was an 81 Honda XL 250, Silver tanked, with a Super Trap.
Got my license on the old girl.
Next was a 88 TT 600. best wheel stand bike I ever owned. Use to race it around the Maclean Dirt Bike Track when it was first built.

Next there was a 81 Yamaha IT 465. use to race it in the SE QLD Enduro Championships at Rappville, NSW.
At the time it use to flog 91 model RMX 250's, RM 500's and WR 500's, In a Straight line of cause Geez, didn't those blokes get upset.
Sold it to a bloke in Grafton for $400, I heard two weeks later he had broken both arms and his collar bone.
Ya gotta love Big Bore Chook Chasers  :cheers:

The bike that scared the crap out of me the most was A brand new 1986 RZ500, Brother in-law would not let me ride it when he owned it. A mate's little brother bought it of him 3 years later, I jumped on it took it for a spin out the road and jumped straight back off it. Christ it was quick.

Now I would be happy to own my little bro's 49 Pan head.
Slow it cool

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #29 on: July 30, 2010, 07:29:38 PM »
I don't ride anymore but my first bike was a Honda VT250FIID then upsized to 1100 Katana which is still my fav bike of all time. Wish I'd never sold it but kids became a priority and have never replaced the bike.
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

« Reply #30 on: July 30, 2010, 07:51:51 PM »
Mine were in order of;

Honda 110 of some sort on road- but took it in the bush ( too long ago) Sold
Honda XR 75 - Sold
A Suzuki 175 trail bike of some vintage
Yamaha DT400 d - road /trail - Sold
Yamaha XS 500c - Road - Sold
Kawasaki GP1000 R - Eddie Lawson Replica - Sold
Suzuki GSXR1100 - 1989 model - Wrote of by way of a tank slapper from a poor excecuted wheelie :(
Much skin loose, severe gravel rash, broken collarbone - lesson learned-
(Summer time, going to work- no protective gear except work boots) :(( ouch!
Suzuki GSXR1100 1992 M model I think- Only had 1800k's on it when I arrived home from picking her up!
She was so beautiful & powerfull.

Sold it in less than a year as all but 1 riding companion moved on.

Racer

« Reply #31 on: July 30, 2010, 10:29:42 PM »
Does DANBRI = FIGJAM?

Recently sold my Triumph Daytona 955i, previously ridden and raced my KTM300, sold late last year....next purchase will be a WR250F.....something to smoke everyone on the single track...

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #32 on: July 30, 2010, 11:02:43 PM »
Old nick name.  8)

Nice work on the 250F - Single track is where it's at. I was chasing a 250EXC (just perfect for single work, and just enough bottom end to lug greasy hill climbs) but the 450 came along at the right price... I'll be over-shooting often I think  ;D
« Last Edit: July 30, 2010, 11:07:27 PM by DANBRI »

Offline Blueboy

« Reply #33 on: July 31, 2010, 08:17:34 PM »
Another Giant XTC 29er.A beauty.

Offline whitedg

« Reply #34 on: July 31, 2010, 09:53:11 PM »
2000 Triumph Sprint ST (955 tripple). Had it since new and have not found anything else worthwile upgrading too.

Ride it to work a couple of days a week, and very rarely out on the track.

whitedg

Racer

« Reply #35 on: July 31, 2010, 09:59:10 PM »
Old nick name.  8)

Nice work on the 250F - Single track is where it's at. I was chasing a 250EXC (just perfect for single work, and just enough bottom end to lug greasy hill climbs) but the 450 came along at the right price... I'll be over-shooting often I think  ;D

I'll say good bye on the open fire trail....and you will say good bye in the single track....

Offline camdyson

« Reply #36 on: July 31, 2010, 10:04:57 PM »
Broom-broom: Triumph Sprint Executive '98

Whirr-Whirr: Giant TCR, Giant Trance, Giant Bowery (pimped... 8))

Looking-looking: 1966 Vespa

Cam
Set your chickens free

Offline SUPA105

• Saw it....wanted it....chucked a fit....got it
« Reply #37 on: July 31, 2010, 10:16:49 PM »
Honda ST1100....is our other hobby....
2000 GXL Landcruiser with toy's
2004 Wallaby camper
& bugger all time to get the two together.....

Offline cucinadio

« Reply #38 on: August 01, 2010, 07:13:44 AM »
Shouldn't this be Four wheels move the body, but a "LANDROVER" moves the soul!!!!! ...... ;D... >:D

My 130 HCPU camper build - (now sold) http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=6733.msg240757#msg240757

« Reply #39 on: August 01, 2010, 07:48:06 AM »
Shouldn't this be Four wheels move the body, but a "LANDROVER" moves the soul!!!!! ...... ;D... >:D

More like Landrover moves your bowel...
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 07:54:30 AM by darren »

Offline cucinadio

« Reply #40 on: August 01, 2010, 07:51:36 AM »
Mor like Landrover moves your bowel...

lmao..... :-*

My 130 HCPU camper build - (now sold) http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=6733.msg240757#msg240757

Offline oldturtle22

« Reply #41 on: August 01, 2010, 08:01:51 AM »
94 RMX 250
91 KDX 200
2000 RMX 250
K3 GSXR 750
2001 WR426F
2005 WR450F

Current ride VMOTO 125 scooter.........sort of embarrassing hey!

« Reply #42 on: August 01, 2010, 09:01:53 AM »
Yep I'm another bike nut,  been riding bike since the late 60s, got my first road bike in 1973, a 1970 650 Triumph Trophy ex-Police bike, can't remember ever being without a bike, my current bike is an 05 WR250F.
I have had many bikes over the years, it's my passion, I love bikes, there is no over way to get the feeling of speed or exhilaration than riding a bike and trust me I've tried ;D

Before this a KTM400 EXC, best dirt bike I ever owned

AND
my restoration project 1973 H2 750 triple 2 stroke

A few of my favourites

My Race Bikes
600 SOS, RGV250 rolling chassis XR600 motor (Thunder bike) at Bathurst

1972 H1500 triple 2 stroke Amaroo Park

85 GSXR750R Fairburn Park Raceway

87 RZ250 Fairburn Park

97 XR250F ;D Lue MotoX track

AND
My favourite road bike of all time

Me and a mate (Z900) at Tumut on my 81 Laverda Jota 1000

« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 09:11:04 AM by Redback »

Offline Slain

« Reply #43 on: August 01, 2010, 10:18:59 AM »
At the moment have a custom cbr954rr streetfighter im still building as a street/drag bike.
others i have owned:
04 ktm 640 motard
04 suzuki drz400e motard
94 honda cbr600f2 streetfighter stunt bike
92 kawasaki kr1s 250 stroker

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #44 on: August 01, 2010, 10:49:28 AM »

Dont ruin this good thread with references to your tractor! >:D Start your own thread.
More like Landrover moves your bowel...
Love it!! ;D

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645

Offline GSK33

• Tent
« Reply #45 on: August 01, 2010, 01:17:23 PM »
70's Yamaha TY175 - 1st bike at age 15. Started riding trials with dad after a 8 years in BMX. Still own this bike.
70's Montesa Cota 348 - 2ND trials bike. Still own.
1996 Honda XR250 - 1st new bike, 1st of the dry sumps. Broke me twice, sold it.
1998 Honda XR400 - Sold then bought back of a mate. Still own. Great reliable kick start bike.
2000 Suzuki DR400E - Sold. Great reliable electric start bike.
1998 Yamaha XT600E - Bought cheap of a work mate in 2002. Still own with 30000km on the clock.
2005 Gas Gas FSE450 - Broke it, sold it. Nice slipper clutch though.
2007 Yamaha WR450 - Broke me, sold it.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 01:34:19 PM by GSK33 »

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #46 on: August 01, 2010, 02:40:47 PM »
Here is a few pics of my 02XR400 which I regularally ride in the high country,  I rekon this bike was built for the high country  ;D LOL

It might not have the latest technolgy but its easy to maintain and reliable, (but yes there heavy LOL)!
Some of these pics are off the iPhone so a bit blurry

2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

Offline whitey1

« Reply #47 on: August 01, 2010, 11:15:13 PM »
Here is a few pics of my 02XR400 which I regularally ride in the high country,  I rekon this bike was built for the high country   LOL

It might not have the latest technolgy but its easy to maintain and reliable, (but yes there heavy LOL)!
Not as heavy as my old 85 XL600 ;D. I used to have a lot of fun on my XR400 as well. Great bike :cup:

Offline whitey1

« Reply #48 on: August 01, 2010, 11:18:40 PM »
At the moment have a custom cbr954rr streetfighter im still building as a street/drag bike.
Love that bike :cup:Good to see it when its finished.(although they never really are!!)

Offline BradandPeta

• I have a friend's with Jayco's ... I need new ones
« Reply #49 on: August 02, 2010, 08:02:04 AM »
Didn't think many myswaggers would still ride, but its good to see such a wide variety of nice bikes on and off road I have had these two for quiet a while now Trail bike is cheap and easy to maintain and keeps up with most bigger bikes, And Gsx-r well its quick last time I had mods done it measured 160RWHP on the dyno
« Last Edit: August 02, 2010, 08:09:22 AM by BradandPeta »