Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1755917 times)

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3075 on: July 22, 2016, 03:47:53 PM »
put some checkerplate on the rear of my trailer....cause i can
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

« Reply #3076 on: July 22, 2016, 03:50:20 PM »
You could have asked me for the wb one tonner diff I am planing on taking to the dump.

« Reply #3077 on: July 22, 2016, 05:01:40 PM »
You still in Richmond, Snow?? We should go for a ride some time.
Yes mate, still in the same place and I'm always keen for a ride.  :cheers:

The following users thanked this post: Joff

« Reply #3078 on: July 22, 2016, 08:26:37 PM »
After our return from our Cape Tour decided to air the CT & clean it up to make ready for the next trip .
Opened the Cub & QLD weather escaped & it RAINED & its COLD . Did l mention rain & cold ?
So l pushed the water out of the roof & decided to let it sit for a few more days to dry . Like that might happen soooooish .................................

« Reply #3079 on: July 23, 2016, 07:24:00 AM »
You could have asked me for the wb one tonner diff I am planing on taking to the dump.

Don't dump it  :o

If it's the small one, (not your normal HQ/Z type) a lot of Torana guys are chasing them.

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #3080 on: July 24, 2016, 05:33:00 PM »
Sorted through all my camping gear. Still like a cat on a hot tin roof since I ordered the camper.
Got lots of stuff to get rid of and lots of stuff to buy.  :D

« Reply #3081 on: July 24, 2016, 05:39:05 PM »
I spent the afternoon trying to fit/stuff/rearrange 5 extra large bags of toys into the storage shelves. The missus gets tickets to the Mattel warehouse toy sale each year and buys up big for Christmas presents.

That said, it was productive as I found a cargo net I forgot I had that I can use in the rear of the Outback.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2016, 05:40:54 PM by D4D »

« Reply #3082 on: July 24, 2016, 06:12:47 PM »
Installed an alarm.
Hopefully, shut the gate before the horse bolts.....for a change....

Offline Greeny

What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3083 on: July 25, 2016, 04:44:51 PM »

BUILT IT! Well it was on the weekend and it's not quite finished but it's there! It's only 3x6 to start with but like any good swagger I have plans to mod!

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #3084 on: July 25, 2016, 04:57:17 PM »

BUILT IT! Well it was on the weekend and it's not quite finished but it's there! It's only 3x6 to start with but like any good swagger I have plans to mod!

Is that the shed to put all the materials in to build the SHED??

With all that space, you need a bigger shed.
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

Offline Greeny

« Reply #3085 on: July 25, 2016, 06:16:09 PM »
Is that the shed to put all the materials in to build the SHED??

With all that space, you need a bigger shed.

Ha tell me about it. Unfortunately the time and money that went into the space didn't leave much for the shed.

« Reply #3086 on: July 25, 2016, 08:21:31 PM »
Not that I have a shed anymore.....

I cut long lengths of timber into shorter similar lengths of timber.   

Some timber I reverted back to wood.

I found the drop saw works quicker than the hand saw but can't work out how to get the drop saw to make those finer cuts for the timber joints so I got to enjoy and the hand saw.

Trying to make a stand for a piece of exercise equipment for the bride to use when getting down to floor level is easier than getting back up from floor level.  Most of the cutting is done and the rough fit out looked a bit like the rough sketch I did to work out what I may need. 

Hopefully tomorrow after visiting the blue or green shed for more timber (will have to be the right timber for those bits), a small router and the right screws and bolts it may be closer to being ready to be painted, stained or just estepoled.

Taking a while and still a work in progress.  Long story short.  Nineteen years ago the bride had 23cms of her right femur removed do to a cancerous tumor within the bone.  To reconstruct the femur donor bone, surgical steel plate and her fibula was used, leaving only her tibia untouched. As a result she was cut from ankle to hip, muscles reconnected as best they could and extensive nerve damage.  While there was initial extensive physiotherapy to walk again, there has also been ongoing and continual physio and other medical and remedial work. 

However nothing is ever that easy.  Next month we go back to see the Orthopedic Specialist for future possible surgery on the knee and ligaments.  For this reason our physio is trying to strengthen the leg.  To make it easier we bought a cheap pilates reformer and built a frame to sit it on to make it easier for Jan to get on and off and ultimately use.  The bench only raised it by 38cm but makes a lot of difference in use.  The large uprights will have a pulley system to further exercise her leg as it strengthens.  That's the plan anyhow.

The following users thanked this post: sol, plusnq, archer63

Offline Champin

« Reply #3087 on: July 26, 2016, 06:55:01 PM »
Nice work alnjan. And I don't think I've seen a project with a more worthy cause on this thread. Stand proud young man. Stand proud.
The following users thanked this post: alnjan, Footy Shorts Shane

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #3088 on: July 26, 2016, 07:01:11 PM »
Agree  :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: alnjan

« Reply #3089 on: July 26, 2016, 07:18:52 PM »
You're a champion mate. :cup:

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
« Reply #3090 on: July 26, 2016, 07:20:57 PM »
hope it works well mate....your great people
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

« Reply #3091 on: July 26, 2016, 08:33:34 PM »
Gee thanks guys.  Just something I can do to help her. 

« Reply #3092 on: July 31, 2016, 12:40:51 PM »
Not in the shed as such, but I spent half of yesterday and most of this morning hand digging a trench so that I can finally run power to the shed. Next weekend I'll hopefully run all the wires to the shed and inside of it, then I'll get a mate to come around after that sometime to wire it all up for me  8)

« Reply #3093 on: July 31, 2016, 02:37:06 PM »
I cut the rust out of an old Holden.
Pretty sure I got it all.
Here's a bit of inspiration for you Shane.

https://youtu.be/fSisoRZoW-I

I have huge respect for this guys "everything's repairable" attitude.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

« Reply #3094 on: July 31, 2016, 03:06:57 PM »
Ya gotta love 80 life :)
Went to start the old girl this morning, not even a dash light came on.
Multi-meter out, yep start battery cactus.
Go to start from the Aux battery, not even a flicker of life, but the accessories all work(Which are wired to it, UHF, USB Ports, Fridge).
Double check with mulit meter, :) She's all good. Hmmm.
Figured it out after ten minutes, the Red Arc is rooted.
Put the Start battery on charge, four hours later she is still only 10.2V, Swap batteries, she starts first kick :)
So the Start battery is cactus,  check the warranty, 1 month of warranty left on it :) bonus.
While mucking around with the Spot lights, I notice the passenger side High Beam is dead :(
They reckon sh1te happens in three's.
So it's pulled out and a trip to the wreckers is on the cards tomorrow for another light.
While I'm in town, new Battery, New Red Arc  ;D
Beer time now and Footy.

« Reply #3095 on: July 31, 2016, 05:29:56 PM »
Bought a new sign for me shed yesterday, hung it this arvo. ;D ;D

:cheers: duggie

« Reply #3096 on: July 31, 2016, 05:55:18 PM »
So I've added this to my garage for reasons I'm not fully sure why?

2 owner deceased estate XF Ghia. Was first offered to me 2.5 years ago and came up for sale last week.  The price kinda made it attractive. Pretty original and untouched, a trip over a speed hump confirmed it has the original suspension bushes....

The following users thanked this post: pank

« Reply #3097 on: July 31, 2016, 07:51:36 PM »
So I've added this to my garage for reasons I'm not fully sure why?

2 owner deceased estate XF Ghia. Was first offered to me 2.5 years ago and came up for sale last week.  The price kinda made it attractive. Pretty original and untouched, a trip over a speed hump confirmed it has the original suspension bushes....

Yeah wow, can see what you you mean,  XF, its kind of between legendary and a ford.  Unlike the VK on the wall on duggies shed that he failed to show me when I was there.  ;D ;D

Offline Gohard

« Reply #3098 on: July 31, 2016, 08:34:52 PM »
Made a few leather belts.
The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #3099 on: July 31, 2016, 08:42:23 PM »
discovered that if you place 39 cans of VB in to an Engal  , when you get to the last can you may or may not be over .05 . This would render you unable to drive to the Bottle Shop to purchase more  .
Its a long walk home  .  :cheers: