Author Topic: If you had to live somewhere else in Australia, where would it be.  (Read 7517 times)

If you had to live somewhere else in Australia, where would it be.
« on: September 01, 2019, 03:12:25 PM »
Interesting thought I recently had was, if you had to move somewhere else in Australia, where would it be? For arguments sake, has to be over 200km from where you are now.

Re: If you had to live somewhere else in Australia, where would it be.
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2019, 04:53:53 PM »
Sth nsw coast/ranges. Nice part of the world.

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2019, 04:55:42 PM »
Probably somewhere around Newcastle NSW, which is where I grew up. Otherwise, somewhere in the tropics between Mackay and Cairns.

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2019, 05:26:59 PM »
If there was a nice town about 10kms out of Carnarvon, that would be it.

« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2019, 05:34:57 PM »
Retired or still need to work??

Either Hawker, Sofala or Warnambool or one of those islands off the north coast where its warm and you have no neighbours..

Online Pottsy

« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2019, 05:55:06 PM »
Port Lincoln, Coffin Bay

Offline Goshen

« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2019, 05:58:51 PM »
Woodgate Beach  :cup:

Online xcvator

« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2019, 06:10:03 PM »
Anywhere warm in winter  ;D

« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2019, 07:15:47 PM »
Anywhere warm in winter  ;D

Yep, warm in winter, but not too humid in summer. Somewhere north of Brisbane, but far enough south of Cairns to miss the humid summers.

Offline Titfish

« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2019, 07:19:35 PM »
Somewhere in the Bega Valley.

« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2019, 08:23:48 PM »
North eastern corner of TAS, where the mountain biking is! I did apply for a job in Launceston, but didn't get it :(

Possibly down into the Barringtons, not sure I'd want the humidity of the coastal areas (I like the dry heat) or the higher temperatures (so I'll stay up on the Dividing Range).

The only thing I miss at the moment is the option to do any whitewater canoeing and kayaking - but when we do get some rain, there are some good rivers around here.

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2019, 09:54:41 PM »
Forster/Tuncurry, Mudgee or Gold Coast

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2019, 10:37:38 PM »
Reckon I could be happy somewhere between Dorrigo to Armidale, With a bit of flat ground not stuck in a hollow with a good flowing creek,  would be a must and no one within line of sight or earshot .. There are a couple of places near Ebor that would fit most of the bill .

« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2019, 04:51:50 AM »
The Mary Valley.

« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2019, 08:23:29 AM »
Teewah (Might be marginal on the 200 klms as the crow flies)
« Last Edit: September 02, 2019, 08:26:18 AM by Steffo1 »

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2019, 08:36:46 AM »
Kangaroo Island.
We've just returned from a trip there and fell in love with the place!

« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2019, 09:18:12 AM »
Port Fairy, Vic

« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2019, 09:30:16 AM »
Interesting topic...
I am planning a move when I retire based purely on the fact that i can't afford to buy what I want in the Brisbane region.
Have been looking around and have decided that somewhere within 3 hours of Brissie and so far Kingaroy has ticked most of the boxes.
Can get a 3-4 br house on an acre+ of land with a shed for less than $400K. Am planning to spend a lot of time in my shed and yard post retirement so a bit of land and a largeish shed (or two) will be a must. Plus there is a bacon factory in town, who doesn't love bacon  :laugh: :laugh:

Offline jmorgan1981

• It was that last beer!!!!
« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2019, 09:32:57 AM »
I would have to say Sunshine Coast.
2017 Mazda BT-50 XT
2014 Kimberley Kamper LE

« Reply #19 on: September 02, 2019, 10:12:09 AM »
Quote from: noel_w
Am planning to spend a lot of time in my shed and yard post retirement so a bit of land and a largeish shed (or two) will be a must.
you have to travel out to get any form of land these days - ANYWHERE.... or pay up the arse for it :(

« Reply #20 on: September 02, 2019, 12:24:26 PM »
After living in Wollongong and Cairns and working and living in areas around the NT and WA, we would prefer a warm climate away from the traffic, great fishing, reasonably priced but still to find that place.

We will be too busy, heading off again after Xmas, to head out looking for work to continue our travels around Australia with our new van.

« Reply #21 on: September 02, 2019, 04:12:20 PM »
you have to travel out to get any form of land these days - ANYWHERE.... or pay up the arse for it :(
Not sure why I am going to say this but this is really funny

Kingaroy used to be known as the gay capital of Queensland (not that there's anything wrong with that)  ;D

« Reply #22 on: September 02, 2019, 04:14:22 PM »
Interesting topic...
I am planning a move when I retire based purely on the fact that i can't afford to buy what I want in the Brisbane region.
Have been looking around and have decided that somewhere within 3 hours of Brissie and so far Kingaroy has ticked most of the boxes.
Can get a 3-4 br house on an acre+ of land with a shed for less than $400K. Am planning to spend a lot of time in my shed and yard post retirement so a bit of land and a largeish shed (or two) will be a must. Plus there is a bacon factory in town, who doesn't love bacon  :laugh: :laugh:

400K! That's peanuts!
It's really the wineries around there that tempt, Noel, isn't it. ;D

« Reply #23 on: September 02, 2019, 06:08:10 PM »
For the rest of my work life........ ANYWHERE but Sydney.

For my retirement, Kangaroo Valley or anywhere in Tassie.

« Reply #24 on: September 02, 2019, 06:14:34 PM »
For the rest of my work life........ ANYWHERE but Sydney.

For my retirement, Kangaroo Valley or anywhere in Tassie.
Kanga valley - what a stunning place that used to be.. dunno what its like these days...
used to go through on the way south... Is the Berry Donut van still at the servo down south there?
edit: https://berry.org.au/taste/berry-donut-van/
« Last Edit: September 02, 2019, 06:16:14 PM by Bird »