Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730068 times)

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5700 on: June 30, 2020, 09:16:51 PM »
I’m estimating around 105kg at this point, inclusive of the ply, fixings and fittings. Will let you know.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline 6knights

« Reply #5701 on: June 30, 2020, 09:38:39 PM »
Hi Trevor, I get plans from a couple of sources, Aschisworkshop.com and Bearwoods.
I tend to run my own race and change their plans to suit my needs.
Pottsy

Thanks Pottsy , l will have to check them out.

I done a lot of the same sort of work in my younger days before family and work seemed to take all my time,  but l am wanting to get back into it again now that the kids have growen up  (Last one is in yr 11)  and now at 52 l find that work just fits around the hobby some days instead of the other way round. ;D
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

« Reply #5702 on: July 01, 2020, 03:56:00 AM »
0-60kmh in 20yards, wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!! ;D

Hey Pottsy, did you want chain drive or belt drive with that whipper snipper engine.

You do know, if it has a spark, which it does, nitrous oxide can be fitted as well.

HERE, HOLD MY BEER.....0 to busted bones in under 6 seconds....... food for thought.

« Reply #5703 on: July 01, 2020, 09:59:52 AM »
Just finished re building a set of clipless pedals for the mountain bike

Man the shimano factory must hire 7 year olds to get the tension spring and backing plate arrangement back together

« Reply #5704 on: July 01, 2020, 12:21:30 PM »
This weeks project 3 Vintage fire Trucks 11” 275mm long.
Available for sale in classified.

Offline Raym

« Reply #5705 on: July 02, 2020, 05:36:13 PM »
With all the great projects being posted I thought I would add my meagre offerings.

Latest restoration that is almost finished. Still some bling to add & seal up the rear of the saddle when the stuffing settles a bit more. Stand ( no photo) still needs work as it is showing its age.

Maker G J Lines (English) C1910

Close up is the chest as I received it. That badge was introduced when the company became incorporated in 1907. The badges are rare as most fell of & were lost or not replaced during "dad" makeovers.

The next one is a C1920 Roebuck that is a stage behind this one.

I only have one more confirmed restoration after that then maybe a build of a replica horse to match an old merry go round horse.

« Reply #5706 on: July 02, 2020, 07:05:44 PM »
As usual Ray, beautiful work. :cup:

« Reply #5707 on: July 02, 2020, 09:08:35 PM »
Beautiful Ray, again.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #5708 on: July 03, 2020, 10:15:06 PM »
Ray, you are a are a truly remarkable/gifted craftsman.
2019 LC78 (troopy)

Offline Raym

« Reply #5709 on: July 04, 2020, 06:34:04 AM »
Thanks guys but I am just a backyard chook farmer making it up as I go along. I am fortunate to be able to access to advice from some of the best in the world.

« Reply #5710 on: July 04, 2020, 06:44:50 AM »
Buying 35 year old bike parts to make my bike period correct and giving them a polish. They don't make metal like this anymore.

« Reply #5711 on: July 04, 2020, 08:32:04 AM »
Buying 35 year old bike parts to make my bike period correct and giving them a polish. They don't make metal like this anymore.

So you spent all morning polishing your Rod! :-*

« Reply #5712 on: July 04, 2020, 08:57:45 AM »
So you spent all morning polishing your Rod! :-*

« Reply #5713 on: July 04, 2020, 09:48:09 AM »
Quote from: D4D

postin this at 06:44:50 AM - an all nighter polishing ?!?  Up at that time on a Saturday?? Madness!

« Reply #5714 on: July 04, 2020, 01:43:12 PM »
Bought a second hand canopy for the Hoorilux ..No keys for the tailgate lock .. Cool , will just take the handle lock assembly  to the local Locksmith,  $40 later done ..
" Nup never seen one like that, must be a shaped key special to the canopy manufacturer , Dont even know how to remove the key barrel on this one " ..
Ok so Ill find one with similar size mount holes ..
 Nup every canopy place comes back with " ours only fit our canopies " could you please measure the lock handle assembly for me " Nup we dont have one here, ours only fit our canopies ." Grrrr.
Ebay generic, "  cool might be a winner "  10 in stock $180 not available till possibly mid September  ??? ??? WTF .
Bunnings $28 for a garage door T handle,  A bit of scrap ally strap, 2 hours of leisurely mucking around ...Done .

« Reply #5715 on: July 04, 2020, 02:26:24 PM »
postin this at 06:44:50 AM - an all nighter polishing ?!?  Up at that time on a Saturday?? Madness!

I was in the shed just before 6am working on the Z car.
Just came in now.... They don't build themselves.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #5716 on: July 04, 2020, 04:34:15 PM »
Drawers finished, just need the wife to decide what she wants to do with the inside (foam, soft rubber, etc.). Pretty happy with the result. I have left the front wings open at this stage, and will decide if they need covering after our trip around QLD, starting next week.
All up weight of the drawers is close to 110kg, while the drawers and the battery box are closer to 140kg including a 230ah lithium battery.

Base is in and bolted down.

Top screwed down and wing planks in position.

Finalised with carpet etc.

Drawer dividers in (temp, as they will need to be re-made out of MDF. Ply is just too splintery )

The battery box has a 2000w inverter, a Redarc BCDC12400 battery charger, a 4G mobile booster, and a 5 stage 240v 20amp charger, all bolted on top. My recovery gear also fits comfortably in with the battery.

Just need to fill the suckers up now

2019 LC78 (troopy)

« Reply #5717 on: July 04, 2020, 05:11:12 PM »
Proper job BMW, looks good.

« Reply #5718 on: July 04, 2020, 06:01:27 PM »
Looks good. I always intended to make my own but decided on the King's one, which also weighs similar

« Reply #5719 on: July 05, 2020, 07:09:01 AM »
Bunnings $28 for a garage door T handle,  A bit of scrap ally strap, 2 hours of leisurely mucking around ...Done .
Winner  :cup:

« Reply #5720 on: July 05, 2020, 07:18:41 AM »
I've broken the step off the camper twice now from dragging it's arse over rocks or steep banks, so yesterday I mocked up a protection rail out of PVC pipe that will bolt to the chassis and hopefully stop it happening again. Now I just need to drop it off to my friendly neighborhood fabricator who will dunk it in some steel to make it strong for me.

« Reply #5721 on: July 05, 2020, 07:36:30 AM »
Bought a second hand canopy for the Hoorilux ..No keys for the tailgate lock .. Cool , will just take the handle lock assembly  to the local Locksmith,  $40 later done ..
" Nup never seen one like that, must be a shaped key special to the canopy manufacturer , Dont even know how to remove the key barrel on this one " ..
Ok so Ill find one with similar size mount holes ..
 Nup every canopy place comes back with " ours only fit our canopies " could you please measure the lock handle assembly for me " Nup we dont have one here, ours only fit our canopies ." Grrrr.
Ebay generic, "  cool might be a winner "  10 in stock $180 not available till possibly mid September  ??? ??? WTF .

See, that's what happens when ya think outside the box.  :cup:

« Reply #5722 on: July 05, 2020, 07:49:31 AM »
Now I just need to drop it off to my friendly neighborhood fabricator who will dunk it in some steel to make it strong for me.

Looks good!

After your effort with your little robot men, you shouldn't need any help to build it! ;D

The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #5723 on: July 05, 2020, 10:07:44 AM »
I've broken the step off the camper twice now from dragging it's arse over rocks or steep banks, so yesterday I mocked up a protection rail out of PVC pipe that will bolt to the chassis and hopefully stop it happening again. Now I just need to drop it off to my friendly neighborhood fabricator who will dunk it in some steel to make it strong for me.

Spadz instead of fitting a crash bar, Maybe look at making the steps  a slide in  / pin setup / removable and give yourself the extra clearance  .. As you say theyve been smashed up a couple of times already ..Just thinking the chassis rail outrigger could take a hiding aswell with a crash bar fitted .
EDIT ; Found Morris 1932's slide in step .
« Last Edit: July 05, 2020, 12:16:38 PM by edz »

« Reply #5724 on: July 05, 2020, 11:28:32 AM »

Spadz instead of fitting a crash bar, Maybe look at making the steps  a slide in  / pin setup / removable and give yourself the extra clearance  .. As you say theyve been smashed up a couple of times already ..Just thinking the chassis rail outrigger could take a hiding aswell with a crash bar fitted .

Agree with that ^, but I reckon I'd look at using a folding plastic step.