Author Topic: G'Day Swaggers and Swaggeretts  (Read 5673 times)

Offline PBR

G'Day Swaggers and Swaggeretts
« on: July 23, 2015, 11:06:39 PM »
Just joined the forum a few days ago after reading the topics and threads for a while. Enjoyed the good natured bantering and sense of humour and thought I can't go wrong with this mob, so here we are.  We are retired and living in Nelson Bay, NSW and have just ordered a CT from Stoney Creek Campers (pickup late Sep).  Ended up with a FF6 for the additional storage space and room for the grandkids sometime in future, as the eldest is only 2.5yrs and youngest 3 days old!

Kathy and I enjoy camping and our aim is to travel far and wide as often as we can focussing on free camping sites and being self sufficient as much as possible. Have a 100 Series petrol Cruiser which I'm going to have fun tarting up a little for our off-road adventures (already started with some new rubber last week - toyo LT ATIIs).

Into fishing, photography and exploring historical and nature sites and watching the sun set with a coldie or two (originally a sandgroper so I reckon sunsets over the ocean are hard to beat!).

This has to be one of the most friendly and useful forums I have come across, so keep it up guys and I hope I can contribute a little once I have racked up some time in our camper.

Peter
 :D :D :D         
« Last Edit: July 23, 2015, 11:08:43 PM by PBR »

Re: G'Day Swaggers and Swaggeretts
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 05:08:28 AM »
Welcome to myswag Peter and Kathy.  Glad you decided to join us.

Offline b1

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2015, 07:47:34 AM »
Anyone with a beer named after them is always welcome  :D

The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2015, 08:07:43 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Peter, sounds like you will fit in fine. Keep us updated on your travels and show us the new camper when it arrives

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2015, 08:08:01 AM »
G'day and welcome Peter and Kathy.
Congrats on the new camper and look forward to the pics when you get it. :cup:
You've come to the best forum too. Just be careful of the Electrical Thread ;D ;D

« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2015, 10:56:38 AM »
Welcome Peter & Kathy,

Yes you have the best site.!!

Offline PBR

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2015, 11:01:33 AM »
Thanks for the welcome guys, I'll post pics when we get the CT.

Sol, I've already noticed the interesting debates on the Electrical forum, got to love those sparkies for their enthusian!

Peter

Offline Buck

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2015, 11:42:28 AM »
Welcome to myswag Peter and Kathy.  Glad you decided to join us.

hi all new here today, but PABST is my fav beer!

« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2015, 08:19:18 PM »
Welcome mate

Offline slydar

« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2015, 09:01:23 PM »
Just be careful of the Electrical Thread

:laugh:

welcome aboard - we escape up to Stockton beach and birubi as often as we can but are finding free campgrounds are starting to fill up quick these days - we're not racist but our last trip to the south coast saw a few of the smaller ones filled with extended ethnic/refugee families which in itself isn't a bad thing but in a few cases some of them didn't like anyone else turning up = mind you we have had the same up at the bay with groups of fishermen too

down around the snowy mountains there are a few free places like the old honeysuckle and ororal tracking stations, mt clear campground and three mile dam that you will find interesting with old huts scattered here and there that have been maintained for hikers to shelter in, and up behind coffs harbour there are remnants of old sawmills and towns that are beautiful to visit (let me know if you need a guide, have three stepsons that grew up with this area as their back yard) - and scout around for these properties (farms etc)  that discreetly advertise little corners with creeks etc for small backhanders. another good guide for things like this is the grey nomad times where people often advertise vacant land and paddocks and occasionally houses for modest fees

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2015, 06:40:36 AM »
G'day welcome we are heading up your way at Xmas staying at Birubi Beach great part of the coast.

Offline slydar

« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2015, 08:07:54 AM »
be sure to grab an anna bay pizza!