Author Topic: Noobie from West Melbourne  (Read 7562 times)

Offline mheloy

• Swag User
Noobie from West Melbourne
« on: November 06, 2014, 10:40:00 AM »
Hi,

New noobie from West Melbourne. We were invited by a friend to do camping. I thought this would be great
experience for me (I've never done camping before) and my kids (8y/o and 2y/o). My wife was convinced as well
so we decided to go. My friend brought us to Torquay that is a powered site. So we setup our tent (aldi tent).
We have a 4 person tent and our friend has the 9 person. I thought that was huge . We stayed there overnight (first
time campers) and it was a great experience. Having to relax and enjoy the day. The kids enjoyed the beach and other activities there
Over the weekend (Melbourne cup weekend), we invited another family (now three families) to go camping again over
long weekend and we did. We went to Warnambool (Big 4 Hopkins River). It was a great experience eventhough it was
a challenge to setup the tent with 40-60 kph winds. We still manage to setup all three tents, with few broken poles, by helping each other.
We went fishing, lots of swimming in the pool and beach, relaxing and playing with the kids. We occupied LS02-03-04
but LS 01,05,06 was not occupied so its almost we rented the whole area wherein the kids can play almost anything.

Now I was thinking where else can we go to see the beautiful places in Australia. After the first trip, I thought
of buying a better tent like the Coleman 8person instant up tent, then I saw camper trailers both soft and hard floors,
I like the hard floors. I then saw the hard floor foward folding version which I like as well given the main bed and
the second area (can be converted to a bed) is elevated from the floor. I've looked at Jayco Camper Trailers (I like the SWAN)
I also like the Expanda (we a lot of Expanda in Warnambool) but I think this will be out of my budget.

Where should I start?

Priorities