Author Topic: Yet another Newbie :)  (Read 3536 times)

Offline ewwreckers

Yet another Newbie :)
« on: October 28, 2012, 08:17:09 PM »
Hi guys
Stumbled across your forum and absolutely loving all the info and the laughs (I'm still in fits over the toilet story I found on here lmao).
I'm Vanessa, hubby is Vic, have 2 monsters (or angels depending on our/their mood) and we're from the middle of nowhere in NSW.  Not quite the end of the Earth, but if you get up on our roof you can see it lol
We own a 99 Jackaroo that has served us well for a $100 car (did 16000 k's last Christmas holidays, went on Stockton beach and through flood water so can't complain lol)  We are currently looking for our first camper.  We've got the big QLD holiday for December/January planned and a mates camper to borrow if we don't get one we like in time.
Looking forward to getting to know you all, and picking your brains!
Cheers :)
Vanessa

$150 Jackaroo + $1600 CT = One helluva happy family!

"Got my toes in the water,
ass in the sand,
not a worry in the world,
a cold beer in my hand,
Life is good today, life is good today"

Offline bert56

Re: Yet another Newbie :)
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 08:24:21 PM »
Hi Vanessa and Vic,

Welcome aboard. You will find everyone friendly and helpful.

Bert

Offline LB

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2012, 05:13:25 AM »
Welcome Vanessa and Vic :cheers:

What kind of specks are you looking for in a camper? eg hard floor soft floor, jayco style

LB
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

Offline ewwreckers

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2012, 07:39:16 AM »
Thanks for the welcome guys :)
We're looking at a soft floor camper, not sure if we need full 4WD or not (I say yes, Vic says no lol)  Had a look at the Dubbo Caravan and Camping expo, and would love a Conquerer...but we also need to eat so that's out of the question lol  We haven't camped in about 10 years, but with the kids getting bigger, and me being a bit more flexible and happy to try it all out, we'll give it a go and get out and see the country a bit.  We were going to hire one, but a mate owes Vic a favour so is happy to lend us his to see what we want/need in one.
Vanessa

ass in the sand,
a cold beer in my hand,

« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2012, 03:23:15 PM »
Hi Vanessa and Vic, welcome to My Swag

« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2012, 06:07:10 PM »
G'day Vanessa, Vic & Family,

Yep, there is plenty of great info here and fantastic trip reports to wet your appetite.

« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2012, 06:13:49 PM »
Welcome to Vanessa and Vic...

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2012, 06:38:04 PM »
Welcome to myswag.  Where are you headed on your holidays over Christmas?  I'm sure plenty of us are happy to help with recommendations if you tell us where you are headed.

Also where in NSW is close enough to world's end to see it  ???

Offline LB

« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2012, 07:36:23 PM »
Had a look at the Dubbo Caravan and Camping expo, and would love a Conquerer...but we also need to eat so that's out of the question

The Conquerer was the CT that got us thinking. Decided that eating was not important went back to look at it and found out that the kitchen was so high that I would have to stand on a stool to cook(Im not that short) not sure how I missed that the first time. We have now ordered a KK.

Good Idea to borrow one and figure out what you like and don't like.

LB

2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

Offline ewwreckers

« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2012, 08:00:08 PM »
Kingbilly, the plan is to make our way up to Hervey Bay via Cobar and Moree (got to stop and the the parents), after Hervey Bay we head to Fraser, then 1770 to take the kids on a cruise to Lady Musgrave Island, then Rocky, after that, it depends on how wet the wet season is.  If it's pretty dry like it was last year (according to a mate) we'll go to Mackay and maybe further, if it's wet, we'll travel back down south along the coast to Nelson Bay, and depending on time/dollars, try and go as far as Eden to another mates property.  No set plans, just see where the road takes us.
This will be our first time camping in about 10 years.  With 2 littlies is was too hard, and I liked my toilet and shower (hey, I'm female, it's not as easy to go to the loo for us lol).  Originally the plan was to caravan park it, but I got my Camps 6 book today, and I've decided I can rough it for the sake of an extra week or 2's holiday, and for the kids.  Looking forward to the big adventure starting!
Oh, and middle of nowhere is a tiny blink-and-you'll-miss-it town called Euabalong West out near Condobolin and Lake Cargelligo in the middle of NSW.
LB, we've been going over and over and over all different campers and it can get a bit overwhelming I tell ya (I'm naturally blonde, and confuse easy lol)  We'll keep looking til we find what we like/need
Vanessa

ass in the sand,
a cold beer in my hand,

« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2012, 10:40:39 AM »
G'day & Welcome Vanessa

I've read some of your other posts, and I reckon you and Vic would be fun to camp with. Good luck in looknig for a camper, great idea to take one for an extended experience, this makes picking one that really meets your needs much easier.