Author Topic: Noob, and when I say Noob I mean green. :-)  (Read 4846 times)

Offline Chubbyone

Noob, and when I say Noob I mean green. :-)
« on: February 07, 2012, 03:56:38 PM »
Hi there,

I am just starting to get into camping and eventually would like to get a 4WD, I have a 5 year old boy who I would like to spend time with and can't think of a better way, At this point we have a Falcon ute and a 6 x 4 box trailer that is begging to be modified or at the very least set up for camping.

I am pretty much clueless, but it looks like there may be a great deal for me to learn here

Hope to catch up with some of you somewhere

Chris

Re: Noob, and when I say Noob I mean green. :-)
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 04:02:23 PM »
Welcome chubbyone,

Plenty of advice to be had here - we all have our clueless moments too!

Keep on posting.

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 04:11:08 PM »
Welcome to myswag Chris & Family

Offline Dreama

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2012, 04:28:04 PM »
Hi Chris,
welcome to Myswag, plenty of info to be digested.
Noob, haha not the first nor the last.  ;D
Where abouts are you located?

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2012, 04:38:39 PM »
Hi Chris,

Welcome to myswag. You've come to the right place for help and info  :D

:cheers: Glenyse

Noob, and when I say Noob I mean green. :-)
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2012, 04:51:22 PM »

Camping with kid(s) is terrific; the most memorable holidays they'll have.

« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2012, 04:52:35 PM »
Welcome to Myswag Chris.
From someone who has been into camping from way back (and I'm talking over 30 years!!) - we started with a Holden panel van with a mattress in the back with our 6 month old son.  Eventually collected bits of camping gear over the years but was still only driving by then a Mazda 323 station wagon with 2 sons around 10.  Boys would sleep in the back of the car with the seats down while hubby and I were in a small tent.  I do wonder how on earth we fitted what we needed in that car. haha   Eventually upgraded to a twin cab 2 wheel drive Rodeo ute, which gave us more room for "stuff" - 2 tents by then.
Anyway, I guess what I'm trying to say is that you don't need the latest gear or the 4wd or camper trailer to get into camping. The kids don't care - they just love getting out there exploring and maybe doing some fishing or whatever. 
Nowadays there is only the hubby and I left at home and we now have the 4wd and campertrailer  but have no regrets of all those years of tent camping.
So, just get some stuff together and get out there with your son.
You'll love it and have no regrets I'm sure.
(Sorry this was a bit long winded.  haha)
Sharyn  :D

Offline Chubbyone

« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2012, 06:04:57 PM »
Thanks heaps for all the hello's, We've taken the boy camping once before in the tent and he loved it, even though we were in a caravan park and it rained the whole time we were there,

We are in the western suburbs of Melbourne but love to get outta town ;D

« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2012, 06:13:53 PM »
I am just starting to get into camping Chris

Something you will never regret!! 

« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2012, 06:14:25 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, our kids love to get out all the time, best times are had out in the bush

« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2012, 06:37:53 PM »
Welcome fellow Mexican :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2012, 07:07:35 PM »
G'day Chris,

You & your son will love it, memories that will last for ever.
It doesn't matter what you have or can afford, what matters is your having a go, Good Onya.
Their is plenty of info here and if you don't know just ask.
keep an eye on the planned trips, one will come up around your area or if it doesn't put up trip yourself, other may want to join you.
Happy camping and safe travels.

« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2012, 07:33:00 PM »
G'day Chris,

I got back into camping for the same reason, the kids, but we have found that we probably enjoy it more than them............
When I finished Uni and before I had to get a serious job the Mrs and I used to go camping for as long as the cash could hold out whenever we could in an old Rocky and a two man tent. We used to have an absolute ball and met some awesome people and saw some awesome places. So it doesn't matter how you do it, rather that you get out and do it however you can.

You will find out about things here that you had no idea about so take on board what you want and ask heaps of advice and questions.

Enjoy it.

« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2012, 08:12:03 PM »
G'day Chris
Welcome to the forum.Great to see your getting out camping mate.
Any ideas where you would like to go?

Offline Chubbyone

« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2012, 08:40:22 PM »
No ideas where we wanna go yet, but there is sure to be something out there, keen to head up the river, and the boy loves the beach

« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2012, 09:34:16 PM »
welcome chis to myswag we all have to start some where

« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2012, 07:01:39 AM »
Hi Chris, welcome to My Swag.
You have already made one great decission, you have decided to get out there and go camping. Dosen't matter how you do it.

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2012, 07:23:55 AM »
Welcome Chris, I hope you enjoy and learn much from the forums.... Good luck!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2012, 08:21:42 PM »
Hi Chris and welcome to the Forum.

Just remember, the simple things in life are often the best  :cheers: !

« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2012, 07:20:30 PM »
Hi Chris and welcometo My Swag