General => General Discussion => Topic started by: rockrat on May 12, 2019, 06:42:07 PM

Title: Companion 125w solar mat at Bunnings
Post by: rockrat on May 12, 2019, 06:42:07 PM
Just wondering if anyone has got one of the Companion 125w solar mats from Bunnings?

Saw them today and thought they were a good buy for $199. Still deciding whether to get one or save up for a bigger one.

Title: Re: Companion 125w solar mat at Bunnings
Post by: hardroad on May 12, 2019, 08:20:21 PM
Check out the unit at Anaconda. Seems to be the same at $799. https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/power-cooling/solar/companion-120w-solar-panel-kit/BP90133500 (https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/power-cooling/solar/companion-120w-solar-panel-kit/BP90133500)
Go figure! At $199 might just get myself one.
Post by: rockrat on May 12, 2019, 08:22:09 PM
I saw the one at Anaconda when I did a search on them. Bunnings quotes 125w, so not really what the difference is.

Post by: tryagain on May 13, 2019, 08:42:00 AM
I saw the one at Anaconda when I did a search on them. Bunnings quotes 125w, so not really what the difference is.

My guess is that the 125w is exactly the same but labelled slightly differently for Bunnings to be exclusive to them, otherwise, you could go to Anaconda and use their 10% price beat policy and get there $799 panels for $179  ;D
Post by: tryagain on May 13, 2019, 08:53:35 AM
It does seem like VERY good value, you could probably buy one and if it's not big enough buy a second.
Post by: paceman on May 13, 2019, 09:11:11 AM
It does seem like VERY good value, you could probably buy one and if it's not big enough buy a second.

the no-question return would also be very appealing...

would love to know what type of solar cells they use in these things...
Post by: PWE on May 13, 2019, 09:15:34 AM
Bunnings companion 125kw solar mat package is 0.1kg heavier than Anaconda
Post by: corndog on May 13, 2019, 10:14:51 AM
0.1kg heavier. They might use a thicker cardboard on the packaging. :D :D :D
Post by: rockrat on May 13, 2019, 10:42:58 AM
Looking at the specs on the two, it seems that the Anaconda mat using Sunpower cells with a 22,5% efficiency and the Bunnings version uses cells with 19.5% efficiency. Looks like the Anaconda controller is also better but I will probably change to a MPPT unit anyway as part of 12v dual battery install in the Ute in due course.

Post by: Bird on May 13, 2019, 10:45:20 AM
My guess is that the 125w is exactly the same but labelled slightly differently for Bunnings to be exclusive to them, otherwise, you could go to Anaconda and use there 10% price beat policy and get there $799 panels for $179  ;D
try it :D
Post by: paceman on May 13, 2019, 10:54:42 AM
Looking at the specs on the two, it seems that the Anaconda mat using Sunpower cells with a 22,5% efficiency and the Bunnings version uses cells with 19.5% efficiency.

where are you seeing those specs and cell info?
Post by: rockrat on May 13, 2019, 11:04:07 AM
Oops just realised I quoted the specs from the Bunnings mat and the Roman mat (also made/distributed by Companion) from Snowys. Anaconda ones look like same controller as Bunnings but no other info.

I have emailed Companion to see if they can tell me the difference.

Here is a link to Bunnings:
https://www.bunnings.com.au/companion-125w-solar-mat-kit_p0078047

And here is the one from Snowy’s (Roman made by Companion), $669:
https://www.snowys.com.au/portable-120w-solar-mat-kit

Might give a Bunnings unit a go, can always return it if it is crap.

Post by: tryagain on May 13, 2019, 11:09:05 AM

Just did the same ;D not really expecting too much of a substantive answer but will wait and see.
Post by: sharkcaver on May 13, 2019, 11:11:27 AM
Any idea of the Voc specs on the bunnings panel?
Post by: tryagain on May 13, 2019, 11:16:51 AM
Any idea of the Voc specs on the bunnings panel?
25V
https://2ecffd01e1ab3e9383f0-07db7b9624bbdf022e3b5395236d5cf8.ssl.cf4.rackcdn.com/Product/ec37ac02-9f9b-4d3f-96b2-2c45f0b8eb86.pdf
Post by: WilSurf on May 13, 2019, 11:39:50 AM
Must be an East Coast thing as no store in my area are stocking those mats.
Post by: paceman on May 13, 2019, 11:58:40 AM
Oops just realised I quoted the specs from the Bunnings mat and the Roman mat (also made/distributed by Companion) from Snowys. Anaconda ones look like same controller as Bunnings but no other info.

Here is a link to Bunnings:
https://www.bunnings.com.au/companion-125w-solar-mat-kit_p0078047 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/companion-125w-solar-mat-kit_p0078047)

And here is the one from Snowy’s (Roman made by Companion), $669:
https://www.snowys.com.au/portable-120w-solar-mat-kit (https://www.snowys.com.au/portable-120w-solar-mat-kit)

Might give a Bunnings unit a go, can always return it if it is crap.

the Roman unit appears to have a better quality charger/controller:

"12V DC, 5 stage smart charger, 15A inline weatherproof digital controller"

the Companion controller/charger seems to have the same specs, but the Roman one looks more substantial...

still, for the price, the Companion one looks like pretty good value...
Post by: sharkcaver on May 13, 2019, 01:09:47 PM
Must be an East Coast thing as no store in my area are stocking those mats.

I've seen that a few times over here  >:D Oh well, saves me a trip to bunnings to find out. Cheers.

Thanks tryagain. I found the manual too and note  Voc - which is what I am assuming is their Vmp value is 17.6V.

Be aware some dc/dc chargers require a higher voltage input than this panel produces to switch into MPPT mode - older redarcs for example.

I like that this mat has a stand feature, most mats do not.
Post by: Fizzie on May 13, 2019, 01:30:26 PM
Wonder how they compare with the 4wd Supa ones: https://www.4wdsupacentre.com.au/products/solar/120w-solar-blanket-combo-deals/adventure-kings-portable-solar-blanket-120w.html (https://www.4wdsupacentre.com.au/products/solar/120w-solar-blanket-combo-deals/adventure-kings-portable-solar-blanket-120w.html) ???

Also $199 for 120w, with what appears to be lower voltage but higher amps ???
Post by: BBull on May 13, 2019, 01:49:52 PM
So I just bought one. Upon inspection it looks pretty good. I have a Projecta 180w that I use on the camper so I wanted this for the Car.
All looks ok to me for the money. I have a regulator already in the car so I will be connecting straight into that, so i'm not concerned about the regulator but the panels look fine.

Post by: paceman on May 13, 2019, 01:52:56 PM
I've seen that a few times over here  >:D Oh well, saves me a trip to bunnings to find out. Cheers.

Thanks tryagain. I found the manual too and note  Voc - which is what I am assuming is their Vmp value is 17.6V.

Be aware some dc/dc chargers require a higher voltage input than this panel produces to switch into MPPT mode - older redarcs for example.

I like that this mat has a stand feature, most mats do not.

i can get you one and mail it across, if you want... :)
Post by: McGirr on May 13, 2019, 07:35:07 PM

Since your offering I will have 2 free ones also please. That’s so kind of you  ;D ;D

Post by: paceman on May 13, 2019, 08:24:02 PM
Maybe some clarification is in order... :)

Post by: sharkcaver on May 13, 2019, 08:47:22 PM

Interesting......thanks.

I'm thinking freight may be a killer though. 4wdss with free freight is about the same??

Had a look at their panels today too.

volt max 17.6V.

but they also show Voc around 21V. So the companion panel may well be ok with those higher threshold DCDC's??
Post by: PWE on May 14, 2019, 06:33:19 AM
I thought one can order any Bunnings items from any Bunnings, at no extra charges.
Post by: paceman on May 14, 2019, 07:45:25 AM
here's another option for consideration:

https://www.sunyee.com.au/100w-mono-flexible-folding-solar-panel-kit-caravan-camping-12v-battery-charging.html (https://www.sunyee.com.au/100w-mono-flexible-folding-solar-panel-kit-caravan-camping-12v-battery-charging.html)

sunyee flexible panels have been rated pretty well in the past... these might be good too... apparently using sunpower cells...
Post by: Alan Loy on May 14, 2019, 10:08:52 AM
here's another option for consideration:

https://www.sunyee.com.au/100w-mono-flexible-folding-solar-panel-kit-caravan-camping-12v-battery-charging.html (https://www.sunyee.com.au/100w-mono-flexible-folding-solar-panel-kit-caravan-camping-12v-battery-charging.html)

sunyee flexible panels have been rated pretty well in the past... these might be good too... apparently using sunpower cells...
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/120W-Folding-Solar-Panel-Kit-Black-Silicon-Blanket-Generator-Power-Charger-12V/231256885565?epid=1478281941&hash=item35d7fc093d:g:rDkAAOSwpLxcz~na&utm_source=Main+Newsletter&utm_campaign=2e9a15ce63-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2019_05_13_08_38&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_8e9b04923e-2e9a15ce63-45339107&goal=0_8e9b04923e-2e9a15ce63-45339107&mc_cid=2e9a15ce63&mc_eid=daee3c41ac (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/120W-Folding-Solar-Panel-Kit-Black-Silicon-Blanket-Generator-Power-Charger-12V/231256885565?epid=1478281941&hash=item35d7fc093d:g:rDkAAOSwpLxcz~na&utm_source=Main+Newsletter&utm_campaign=2e9a15ce63-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2019_05_13_08_38&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_8e9b04923e-2e9a15ce63-45339107&goal=0_8e9b04923e-2e9a15ce63-45339107&mc_cid=2e9a15ce63&mc_eid=daee3c41ac)

15% with PIPES code.  Just bought one for $170
Post by: sharkcaver on May 14, 2019, 10:26:08 AM
Something else I just noticed. 4wdss and sunyee blankets are double rowed. This means you can never free stand them. The companion, roman and the projecta are single row. Although this makes them far longer, you can free stand them instead of having to hang them or lay flat on the ground/vehicle. May not be an issue for some, but just putting it out there.

Also: TAKE NOTE

Make sure you put some insulating material between the panels when folding up. My expensive projecta has been damaged due to vibration which rubbed the plastic sheet into area's of opaqueness, thus limiting the suns penetration to the cells. I used sheets of moving blanket I had on hand here at home, but the damage is done now.
Post by: rockrat on May 14, 2019, 11:12:31 AM
Think I’ll give the Bunnings ones a go. At least I know I will be able to take them back to a real store if I have any problems.

Post by: tryagain on May 14, 2019, 01:55:36 PM
I thought one can order any Bunnings items from any Bunnings, at no extra charges.

Should be able to order one from the special orders desk I would think.
Post by: sharkcaver on May 14, 2019, 02:18:22 PM
Nope. I just tried . They told me I could buy online. So I came home, went and created an account, only to find you can only order online stuff with a blue tick (special order), the exact same stuff the special orders desk can order. They can not iner store transfer. Those panels are not special order, so unless I've been given incorrect info, you can only physically pick one up from a store that has them. They never made it across the border.
Post by: WilSurf on May 14, 2019, 02:27:04 PM
They never made it across the border.

Maybe we don't want them because we know they are rubbish?  ;D
Post by: BBull on May 14, 2019, 03:29:50 PM
Maybe we don't want them because we know they are rubbish?  ;D
Are they? Have you owned one? Can you give us a real life review then please?????
Post by: WilSurf on May 14, 2019, 03:57:53 PM
Doesn't the following indications tell you something @BBull?
- Maybe
- ?
- :-)

Only stirring the pot.
Post by: tryagain on May 14, 2019, 04:01:55 PM
For anyone wanting to take a punt https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125W-Solar-Mat-Kit-Highly-Efficient-Compact-Lightweight-COMPBI023/333195617656?epid=8025963328&hash=item4d9401a578:g:97YAAOSw4FRcrUxy (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125W-Solar-Mat-Kit-Highly-Efficient-Compact-Lightweight-COMPBI023/333195617656?epid=8025963328&hash=item4d9401a578:g:97YAAOSw4FRcrUxy) might be good for those in WA. My initial thought was that it was a dodgy listing, I now think the listing is probably legitimate, got questions about how the person who sold it to them, first came into possession of them though. 
Post by: sharkcaver on May 14, 2019, 05:49:00 PM
Next time in on the gold coast, I owe you a beer tryagain. Many thanks for that.  :cup:  :cheers:

Just had a look at the listing, it was his last one. Using code "phoenix", I just bought one for $139.50.

At that price, with only 1 left, it's too good to either procrastinate or let go, rubbish or not. I suspect it will be pretty good myself.

Now, lets see if it gets delivered.
Post by: rockrat on May 14, 2019, 06:23:34 PM
It will be a bargain if it turns out all good.

Post by: Juzzman on May 15, 2019, 03:27:56 AM
For anyone wanting to take a punt https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125W-Solar-Mat-Kit-Highly-Efficient-Compact-Lightweight-COMPBI023/333195617656?epid=8025963328&hash=item4d9401a578:g:97YAAOSw4FRcrUxy (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125W-Solar-Mat-Kit-Highly-Efficient-Compact-Lightweight-COMPBI023/333195617656?epid=8025963328&hash=item4d9401a578:g:97YAAOSw4FRcrUxy) might be good for those in WA. My initial thought was that it was a dodgy listing, I now think the listing is probably legitimate, got questions about how the person who sold it to them, first came into possession of them though.
I took the punt when I first saw this advertised early Sat morning as well!!
Also ended up getting it for $139.50. At that stage it was advertised as the last one, obviously not.
Sellers page now quoting 3 sold, 0 left
Sharkcaver = 1
Juzzman = 1
2/3 for Myswaggers, that's pretty good odds!!
:D  :D
At that price and supposedly BNIB, pretty good gamble, especially when backed up by Paypal.

If it's any good I'll definitely get another one from the big green shed.
Companion have always had reasonable gear, I'm still using my Companion gas stove purchased in the early 90's. So here's hoping they haven't  sold their name out for crap.

Post by: Fizzie on May 15, 2019, 07:58:36 AM
So has anybody got the Bunnings mat & tested it out yet ???
Post by: tryagain on May 15, 2019, 09:14:07 AM
Sounds like BBull has one
Post by: BBull on May 15, 2019, 09:14:11 AM
Yes I have bought one. No I haven't tested it yet.
Hopefully I will give it ago this weekend
Post by: rockrat on May 15, 2019, 07:17:06 PM
Picked one up from the big green shed this afternoon... will see how it goes on the weekend.

Post by: tryagain on May 16, 2019, 12:47:45 PM
So just in Bunnings and notice they have got them on clearance with all the companion fridges (didn't think they had sticked them for that long) The panels are $149 had a quick search online and they have dropped the price there as well now https://www.bunnings.com.au/companion-125w-solar-mat-kit_p0078047 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/companion-125w-solar-mat-kit_p0078047)
Post by: filcar on May 16, 2019, 12:54:31 PM
Yes just picked one up at $149 from Bunnings in Vermont, 3 left. The Companion battery packs are on clearance as well at $199, as compared to Anaconda's reg $499, club price $299 currently.
Post by: Bird on May 16, 2019, 12:58:07 PM
Yes just picked one up at $149 from Bunnings in Vermont, 3
ya shoulda dropped in for coffee ;)
Post by: tryagain on May 16, 2019, 01:17:41 PM
I wonder if it is a case of companions normal retailers kicking up a stink so they are withdrawing from supplying them at such a cheap price.
Post by: Pete79 on May 16, 2019, 01:36:10 PM
I wonder if it is a case of companions normal retailers kicking up a stink so they are withdrawing from supplying them at such a cheap price.
My guess would be more like another Bunnings special build deal.

They won’t be identical products. It might only be very minor, but there will be a variation so Bunnings are the only ones stocking that specific product at the Bunnings only wholesale price.
Post by: rockrat on May 16, 2019, 01:38:11 PM
Could be but I am a bit peeved that they have dropped the price by $50 overnight. Might have to take advantage of the no questions asked returns policy and then re-buy at the lower price.

Post by: filcar on May 16, 2019, 02:01:38 PM
Could be but I am a bit peeved that they have dropped the price by $50 overnight. Might have to take advantage of the no questions asked returns policy and then re-buy at the lower price.
Being a clearance item check stock levels first, my closer Bunnings had none so had to travel a little further
Post by: tryagain on May 16, 2019, 02:12:05 PM
My guess would be more like another Bunnings special build deal.

They won’t be identical products. It might only be very minor, but there will be a variation so Bunnings are the only ones stocking that specific product at the Bunnings only wholesale price.

Yeah, I think the difference is that they put 125W as opposed to 120W on the box.  Just checked Price Hipster https://pricehipster.com/product/wR-KcR5W3L_updGvazxc9A~HJ1Ki6pa~au and it looked like they have stocked them for about 6 months with a number of price drops, so my guess is that they just weren't moving.

I would, I literally walked past and saw them at $149 and thought I wonder if that is site-specific or everywhere, looked on my phone and the price was still $199 online, pulled my phone out again a couple of minutes later and the page refreshed and the price had dropped down to $149 online as well.
Post by: Pottsy on May 16, 2019, 02:38:13 PM
Grabbed the last one at Noarlunga, set up now, smaller than my projecta 120 watt by about 100mm in height. Set up side by side, both charging a waeco 36 amp/hr battery, both were reading 12.6 v so it will be interesting to see which comes up quickest.
Post by: AdrianLR on May 16, 2019, 03:21:24 PM
Grabbed the last one at Noarlunga, set up now, smaller than my projecta 120 watt by about 100mm in height. Set up side by side, both charging a waeco 36 amp/hr battery, both were reading 12.6 v so it will be interesting to see which comes up quickest.
I'd say the one on the bottom because it doesn't have as big a shadow cast on it.:)
Post by: Pottsy on May 16, 2019, 03:35:20 PM
I'd say the one on the bottom because it doesn't have as big a shadow cast on it.:)

Well, they both have performed ok, took about the same time to bring the batteries back up to full, for a $149  solar blanket, no issues, bloody good value if you can lay your hands on one.
Post by: BBull on May 16, 2019, 03:56:57 PM
Well, they both have performed ok, took about the same time to bring the batteries back up to full, for a $149  solar blanket, no issues, bloody good value if you can lay your hands on one.
Of course they are $149 now I paid $199. Bastards :D :D
Post by: outbackogre on May 16, 2019, 04:01:49 PM
Grabbed one from the Nunawading (Vic) store.  10 left.   ;D

A store assistant at the Box Hill store (which has none in stock) said the price had been reduced because they are a discontinued item.
Post by: plusnq on May 16, 2019, 04:03:46 PM
There was three left on the shelf  at Stafford this afternoon.
Post by: Foss on May 16, 2019, 04:14:31 PM
I went into the Vermont store at about 2.30 this afternoon, not knowing the new clearance price of $149 and expecting to pay the $199. I grabbed the last 3 on the shelf - 1 for me, 1 for my son and 1 for a mate who was after one as well.  I don't know if they have any more out the back or at any other stores. Great value for $. Hopefully they perform as "advertised".
Post by: McGirr on May 16, 2019, 06:23:28 PM
Called and there were 8 left at a store near me.
at Warrawong.
Post by: loanrangie on May 16, 2019, 07:28:39 PM
I got one as well, plenty in the Broadmeadows store as bogans don't know what they are :)
Post by: rockrat on May 16, 2019, 07:32:35 PM
Plenty at Oxley in Brisbane too - just took back the $199 one and got a $149 one

Post by: Bird on May 16, 2019, 08:31:21 PM
I got one as well, plenty in the Broadmeadows store as bogans don't know what they are :)
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: jmorgan1981 on May 16, 2019, 08:45:37 PM
They don't stock them at Port Macquarie so I got my brother in law to go to his local in grafton.

He grabbed 3 one for himself and two for me.

He said they still a few. 
Post by: duncan on May 16, 2019, 08:47:40 PM
4 at Mentone and about 10 at Moorabin Victoria about 30 min ago
Post by: chillipepperz on May 16, 2019, 09:17:08 PM
I gotta thank the OP for this information. I read it at 14,000 feet above the Indian Ocean yesterday and was keen to get one but thought “yer, right, there’ll be none left when I get home”. Well I got home and managed to grab two from the Mt Barker SA store (one left tonight) and was pleased that while I was in the air the price had dropped. FTW.

Cheers!
Andrew
Post by: Merts on May 16, 2019, 11:28:39 PM
Bought one for $149 at the Epsom (Bendigo) store this arvo, and my mate got one too. There were 3 on the shelf when we got there, and I'm pretty sure the staff member that helped me find them was going to grab the last one. He wasn't aware they sold them and appeared stunned when he found out how much the same thing was going for elsewhere.
Post by: paceman on May 17, 2019, 07:00:45 AM
for those that have one of these, do you think it would be easy enough to replace the smaller anderson powerpole connectors coming from the solar mat itself with 50amp anderson plugs?
Post by: rockrat on May 17, 2019, 07:02:36 AM
for those that have one of these, do you think it would be easy enough to replace the smaller anderson powerpole connectors coming from the solar mat itself with 50amp anderson plugs?
I would think so. Mine actually came with a small adaptor lead from the small Anderson plug to a larger 50A plug, apparently to plug into the battery pack they sell according to the label on it.

Post by: paceman on May 17, 2019, 07:06:39 AM
I would think so. Mine actually came with a small adaptor lead from the small Anderson plug to a larger 50A plug, apparently to plug into the battery pack they sell according to the label on it.

i'll probably end up keeping all the cables, but replace the main lead from the mat to a 50A genuine anderson and then replace all the rest of the 30A powerpoles with genuines as well...

don't plan on using the included reg at all, but handy as a backup, i guess...
Post by: paceman on May 17, 2019, 08:28:27 AM
just picked one up...  :cup:

mackay (paget store) had 5 or 6 in stock...

might give it a test with the waeco CFX50 over the weekend...

and if they still have some next month, i might snag another one...  :D
Post by: noel_w on May 17, 2019, 09:20:04 AM
Just picked up two from Browns Plains store. Bloody good value if they work plus the added value of being much lighter than the glass one I already have.
Score  :cup: :cup:
Still about half a dozen left on the pallet this morning.
Post by: rockrat on May 17, 2019, 09:23:35 AM
Does anyone know if you can parallel these up to effectively get 250w of solar power?

Post by: tryagain on May 17, 2019, 09:25:09 AM
I think that any future MySwag meetups are going to have these everywhere.
Post by: paceman on May 17, 2019, 09:49:15 AM
Does anyone know if you can parallel these up to effectively get 250w of solar power?

don't see why not... as long as your regulator can handle it, you should be able to just have a Y-connector, with both panels going into one end, and the other single end going into your regulator...

i plan on doing the same thing with a second mat...
Post by: BBull on May 17, 2019, 10:02:58 AM

I will be hooking them in parallel to the panels fixed to the cruiser. I did this with my projector panels so these will work the same.
Post by: Merts on May 17, 2019, 10:07:07 AM
i'll probably end up keeping all the cables, but replace the main lead from the mat to a 50A genuine anderson and then replace all the rest of the 30A powerpoles with genuines as well...

Why?
The included plugs are all good quality and even 30 amp connectors are massive overkill for a mat that will poke out less than 7A maximum.
Post by: sharkcaver on May 17, 2019, 10:17:04 AM

don't plan on using the included reg at all, but handy as a backup, i guess...

Same, same, as soon as it arrives out comes the snips and soldering torch - which reminds me - I wonder how many andersons I have?. I now have a few elcheapo PWM's and I always carry one for backup. I need one if I ever want to charge the starter anyway - the aux being taken care of with the dc/dc.

Quote from: tryagain
I think that any future MySwag meetups are going to have these everywhere.

Haha, the 2020 national meet, proudly sponsored by Bunnings and Companion  :cup:
Post by: Bird on May 17, 2019, 10:18:22 AM
Chick at bunnings took 30 mins to find, the computer said there was 10 at Nunawading 10 mins ago..
... well 8 after I left.

I got 2 - I got 1 spare if anyone in Melb needs one.
Post by: paceman on May 17, 2019, 10:21:54 AM
Why?
The included plugs are all good quality and even 30 amp connectors are massive overkill for a mat that will poke out less than 7A maximum.

because i don't trust non-genuine anderson connectors... been burnt before...

i have the crimp tools for both sizes (30A & 50A) and spare plugs, so it won't take me long to do it, and i'll know that they won't fail in the future...

but, mainly because i can... :)
Post by: paceman on May 17, 2019, 10:23:49 AM
interested to see if these go down further in price, because they are marked as clearance... ?
Post by: Bird on May 17, 2019, 10:34:25 AM
Quote from: paceman
interested to see if these go down further in price, because they are marked as clearance... ?

considering they probably cost $15 out of china, there wouldnt be much profit left ;)

The Nuna store said they had them for ages, and moved none.. they had a camping display setup at the front near registers for month or so with them on display... they didnt even know they still had them until I showed the bunnings site on me phone..
Post by: Merts on May 17, 2019, 10:35:55 AM

Unlikely. The way things are going Swaggers will have bought every one in stock by Monday....
Post by: Spada on May 17, 2019, 10:36:18 AM

based on how many Myswaggers have bought in the last 24h, I'd say not.
Post by: Bird on May 17, 2019, 10:38:49 AM
Checking the Bunnings website, plenty of stores seem to have them in stock. Even Frankston.. LMAO

Post by: Bird on May 17, 2019, 10:39:44 AM
Unlikely. The way things are going Swaggers will have bought every one in stock by Monday....
too much paperwork on the returns from swaggers wanting to save another $10.
Post by: rockrat on May 17, 2019, 10:41:47 AM
based on how many Myswaggers have bought in the last 24h, I'd say not.
As the OP for this post I should send Bunnings an invoice for my marketing services.

Post by: loanrangie on May 17, 2019, 11:13:14 AM
considering they probably cost $15 out of china, there wouldnt be much profit left ;)

The Nuna store said they had them for ages, and moved none.. they had a camping display setup at the front near registers for month or so with them on display... they didnt even know they still had them until I showed the bunnings site on me phone..

Same here, none of the staff had any idea. I saw all the camping gear out the front just before Easter but didn't see any panels.
Post by: rockrat on May 17, 2019, 11:15:48 AM
At Oxley Brisbane, they were on the end of a row near all of the solar garden lights.

Post by: tryagain on May 17, 2019, 11:33:14 AM

Most clearance items they will keep making down until they are all sold, I suspect they will all sell at this price, unless you hide one in-store and wait.  ;D
Post by: corndog on May 17, 2019, 11:53:11 AM
Got one last night. Is outside right now. Sunny, no clouds, connected to a flat calcium battery using the supplied charger. It's giving 13.55v at 5.71a into the battery so 77w output from the charger. Though it might have been a little better. Also plugged it into my Projecta IDC25 on solar input. Does work through it but the battery is fully charged so couldn't tell much.
Post by: tryagain on May 17, 2019, 12:19:13 PM
Got one last night. Is outside right now. Sunny, no clouds, connected to a flat calcium battery using the supplied charger. It's giving 13.55v at 5.71a into the battery so 77w output from the charger. Though it might have been a little better. Also plugged it into my Projecta IDC25 on solar input. Does work through it but the battery is fully charged so couldn't tell much.

Could also be high resistance in the battery if it's getting long in the tooth, run down your other battery and give it a shot through the projects. I would think it should be delivering better figures than that.
Post by: McGirr on May 17, 2019, 12:41:25 PM
Grabbed 2 and will change all connectors over and make a 2 in 1 connector to run them both together.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 17, 2019, 12:46:18 PM
Grabbed one from Hawthorn store (1 more left) and got another 5% off with my Powerpass card  :cup:

Post by: corndog on May 17, 2019, 12:54:48 PM
Found this in the manual.
Q; How many Amps do I get out of my 125W Solar Mat and what can I run?
A: A 125W kit can supply between 5 and 6 Amps in optimal conditions on a sunny day or for most of the sunlight hours
of the day. There are many variables, but let’s assume that we can achieve 6 to 7 sunlight hours in a day, anymore
sunlight hours would be considered a bonus.
Provided it is not too cloudy, the solar mat is moved every now and again to best track the sun’s path and the solar
mat is kept out of the shade, it is safe to assume that the solar mat can supply between 5 and 6 Amps per
charging hour.
So my 5.7a might not be that bad given the time of year. They also state their figures on 125w at 17.6v and 6.82a. Only 14v coming out of the panel into the regulator.
Even so, thinking of getting another to use separately or paralleled.
Post by: Fathom on May 17, 2019, 03:07:09 PM
Was 9.. now 7 left at Bunnings Morayfield.  Qld.
Post by: Moxley on May 17, 2019, 03:07:10 PM
Found this in the manual.
Q; How many Amps do I get out of my 125W Solar Mat and what can I run?
A: A 125W kit can supply between 5 and 6 Amps in optimal conditions on a sunny day or for most of the sunlight hours
of the day. There are many variables, but let’s assume that we can achieve 6 to 7 sunlight hours in a day, anymore
sunlight hours would be considered a bonus.
Provided it is not too cloudy, the solar mat is moved every now and again to best track the sun’s path and the solar
mat is kept out of the shade, it is safe to assume that the solar mat can supply between 5 and 6 Amps per
charging hour.
So my 5.7a might not be that bad given the time of year. They also state their figures on 125w at 17.6v and 6.82a. Only 14v coming out of the panel into the regulator.
Even so, thinking of getting another to use separately or paralleled.

I wonder how these compare to the Kings ones.

Post by: Merts on May 17, 2019, 03:43:03 PM
because i don't trust non-genuine anderson connectors... been burnt before...

Fair enough.
It's worth noting that whilst the plugs on these aren't Anderson brand, they aren't non-branded generics either.
"aitm connectors" which is unsurprisingly a Chinese brand. They look and feel okay to me.
Post by: Tweekin on May 17, 2019, 04:58:40 PM
Thanks for the heads up - picked on at at Chatswood in Sydney - even knocked it down to $120 ! winner
Post by: jwb on May 17, 2019, 07:49:49 PM
I went onto my local BGS
 ( Compton rd Underwood) and wasn't filled with hope when told " we don't sell solar panels"!??
Next person knew where they were.
They had 2 left on the shelf after mine

Post by: filcar on May 17, 2019, 08:28:38 PM
Checking the Bunnings website, plenty of stores seem to have them in stock. Even Frankston.. LMAO

No longer on the web site ...
Post by: jwb on May 17, 2019, 09:58:47 PM
Get in there and have a look!

Post by: AdrianLR on May 17, 2019, 10:56:49 PM
Took the last one from West Footscray.
Post by: bkim on May 18, 2019, 02:09:49 AM
Fair enough.
It's worth noting that whilst the plugs on these aren't Anderson brand, they aren't non-branded generics either.
"aitm connectors" which is unsurprisingly a Chinese brand. They look and feel okay to me.

All the companion and Primus stuff I've seen before has AITM branded 50amp "Anderson style connectors" they seem to work OK, but one thing to note, their red coloured Anderson style connectors are the same as, and only fit the standard grey Anderson plugs, they will not fit the red colour coded genuine Anderson plugs, see attached photos.

The photo with the two red plugs has the AITM branded one on the left with a Primus branded regulator attached and a SMH/genuine Anderson plug on the right, as the photo shows they are not compatible and will not fit together, the other photo has a grey Anderson plug which does fit the AITM branded plug
Post by: D4D on May 18, 2019, 05:57:19 AM
Not available on the VIC Bunnings web site...

Might have to go for a visit...
Post by: McGirr on May 18, 2019, 06:56:46 AM
Just opened up "McGirrs Solar Store"

First special, companion solar panels $198  ;D

Post by: JCAT on May 18, 2019, 08:54:44 AM
There are a dozen of them at Bunnings Pakenham. Label says $199, did a price check, $149.

Do the connectors need to be upgraded to fit standard Anderson Plugs ?
Post by: Rowlie on May 18, 2019, 09:45:30 AM
I plugged mine into my camper's standard Anderson plug yesterday. We had full sun here (in Melb) yesterday and whilst I didn't put a multimeter on it the time it took to lift the two 120ah Ritar batts in it from 12.8v to 13.3v was pretty good. Guessing it was pumping in somewhere around 5 - 6 amps. Thats enough to get me thru a few days in the top end ie the land of the big blue cloud, when I head there soon. Down this end of the country I might need a couple assuming we will get rain again at some stage during my lifetime. Bought 2 at Notting Hill yesterday. No one sees them in the pool chemicals aisle - fair dinkum !! None at Scoresby though.
Post by: loanrangie on May 18, 2019, 10:28:40 AM
Not available on the VIC Bunnings web site...

Might have to go for a visit...
Broady still has a few.

Sent from my K10000 using Tapatalk

Post by: corndog on May 18, 2019, 10:36:57 AM
Mill Park had a few left, Thomastown reported to have some too, last I checked.

Connections on the cables are the powerpole type, not the standard Anderson type.
Post by: jwb on May 18, 2019, 10:55:02 AM
The kit includes a power pole to 50 amp Anderson style plug adapter

Post by: paceman on May 18, 2019, 11:21:45 AM
picked up another one today... :)

bunnings north mackay had about 5 left...
Post by: corndog on May 18, 2019, 12:20:37 PM
The kit includes a power pole to 50 amp Anderson style plug adapter

should have added that in as well :-[
Post by: penski on May 18, 2019, 01:46:59 PM
Just bought one from North Lakes, Qld. They have at least 5 left. My 330ah bank is at 85% so as soon as we get a sunny day I will give them a go.
Post by: boobook on May 18, 2019, 04:14:45 PM
They are still for sale at $149

The I/N: is 0078047

Call your local Bunnings and see if they have them or the nearest who has stock.

Notting Hill in FTG Rd had 9, there are 5 left now.
Post by: rags on May 18, 2019, 05:42:26 PM
Got one today, Bunnings Carseldine Qld had approx 10-15 left.
Post by: macca on May 18, 2019, 06:11:47 PM
10 on display at Bunnings Fountain Gate (Vic) this morning and the young lady I spoke to said they had more yet to go out

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: boobook on May 18, 2019, 06:38:34 PM
10 on display at Bunnings Fountain Gate (Vic) this morning and the young lady I spoke to said they had more yet to go out

You found a Bunnings Staff member?

WOW.
Post by: tryagain on May 18, 2019, 07:26:13 PM

WOW.

https://youtu.be/HNRIILA8Cu4
Post by: macca on May 18, 2019, 08:22:06 PM

WOW.
Simple, dont like 'em, don't shop there

Post by: #jonesy on May 18, 2019, 09:06:26 PM
Which section of Bunnings are they in?
Post by: rags on May 18, 2019, 09:12:27 PM

I found them( rather a staff member helped me find them) in the row that had the seat cushions etc. There was a spot with companion fridges, battery packs and solar panels. 1 row over from the outdoor furniture.
Post by: macca on May 18, 2019, 09:46:25 PM
Where the eskys are, usually near the outdoor settings

Post by: bobnrob on May 19, 2019, 03:06:27 PM
Still 5 left ay the Batemans Bay store, was 7  lol
Post by: Aussie Iron on May 19, 2019, 05:57:14 PM
They were taken off their online site yesterday. But stopped in at Rockhampton store and they still had 9. Now they only have 4. If you still want one looks like you need to ask.

Dan.
Post by: MDS69 on May 19, 2019, 06:06:42 PM
9 left at Rouse Hill late this afternoon. $149.00.
Post by: CTL on May 19, 2019, 06:08:56 PM
I got two for $100.  Bargain with the manager.
Post by: tryagain on May 19, 2019, 06:33:46 PM
I got two for $100.  Bargain with the manager.

How did you manage that!
Post by: CTL on May 19, 2019, 06:35:04 PM
Asked for the manager and bargained.  The last two in the store
Post by: Let560 on May 19, 2019, 07:28:17 PM
Heaps at Warwick drove down from Toowoomba to get 2 and got them for $100 each on sat morning then used one Saturday arvo as we went camping at Gordon Country and went well
Post by: Bird on May 20, 2019, 10:49:47 AM
mate got yesterday 2x $75ea at carrum :'(
Post by: Fizzie on May 20, 2019, 12:35:08 PM
Picked one up last week, the day before the price dropped :'( >:(

Went back to the BGS this morning for something else, took the receipt with me & asked the Service Desk if there was any chance of a refund as it had dropped $50 the next day ???

"Yep, no worries"!!! :o :o :o

Done & one very happy customer :cup:

So they've either got a price drop policy, or the young bloke on the Service Desk is going to get reamed by his manager ??? :D

BTW, Burleigh Waters still has 8 - 10 in aisle 32 with the Eskys
Post by: rockrat on May 20, 2019, 12:58:26 PM
I rang the store I bought mine from to see if they have further reduced the prices. Apparently they still have around 10 left and won’t reduce prices until most are gone.

She told me a couple of other stores in Brisbane that have less in stock so might go in one evening and see if I can get a second one.

Post by: tryagain on May 20, 2019, 01:10:00 PM
mate got yesterday 2x $75ea at carrum :'(

Bargained or listed price?
and can you get a pic of his receipt? Would be worth going in and see if my local would match it at that price!
Post by: AdrianLR on May 20, 2019, 01:32:30 PM
Only one left in the Geelong area apparently is in the Leopold store.
Post by: Bird on May 20, 2019, 01:43:47 PM
Bargained or listed price?
and can you get a pic of his receipt? Would be worth going in and see if my local would match it at that price!
apparently wasnt him - he saw it here ->  https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?threads%2Fsolar-blankets-and-soft-style-panels.45591%2Fpage-4
https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?attachments/cb0e97f7-8ff6-4d2b-8886-451eb0d24c7c-jpeg.61122/
Post by: tryagain on May 20, 2019, 02:07:20 PM
apparently wasnt him - he saw it here ->  https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?threads%2Fsolar-blankets-and-soft-style-panels.45591%2Fpage-4
https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?attachments/cb0e97f7-8ff6-4d2b-8886-451eb0d24c7c-jpeg.61122/

Old mate has already posted his receipt  ;D might see what my local can do tonight!
Post by: Pete79 on May 20, 2019, 04:50:55 PM
I sent the boss in to the Maroochy store this afternoon, she was armed with the photo of that receipt and her usual take no prisoners negotiating skills.

No extra discounts or 2 for 1 deals around here unfortunately.
They wouldn’t budge on the $149 price at all.

There’s now 3 left a Maroochy and there was only 1 left at Caloundra when I called them at 3pm today.
Post by: rockrat on May 20, 2019, 05:26:17 PM
I sent the boss in to the Maroochy store this afternoon, she was armed with the photo of that receipt and her usual take no prisoners negotiating skills.

No extra discounts or 2 for 1 deals around here unfortunately.
They wouldn’t budge on the $149 price at all.

There’s now 3 left a Maroochy and there was only 1 left at Caloundra when I called them at 3pm today.
So much for lowest price guarantee - they won’t even match their own prices!

Post by: Pete79 on May 20, 2019, 05:38:01 PM
So much for lowest price guarantee - they won’t even match their own prices!

Yeah apparently his words were; “if you want that price looks like you’re going to have to go to Victoria”.
The guy on the floor was cool, but couldn’t do the deal. He called over the boss, who said he didn’t need to mark them down, they’ll all sell at full price.

Once an item goes into clearance it’s up to each store what they want to do with it.
Maroochy store doesn’t even have them marked as clearance.
Post by: rockrat on May 20, 2019, 05:49:19 PM
Just sent you a PM. Might be able to sort you out.

Post by: Paul (SA) on May 20, 2019, 06:17:51 PM
I just bought two at Seaford in SA for $75 each.
Post by: tryagain on May 20, 2019, 08:19:30 PM
Went in to see if I could maybe get a couple at $75ea, even though I didn't really need them.......... Walked out with 4  :o at $75ea

Will post up the receipt incase someone wants to use it to try and get them for $75
Post by: lloydus67 on May 20, 2019, 09:24:05 PM
Yes please

Post by: austastar on May 20, 2019, 09:50:30 PM
Ditto,

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: tryagain on May 20, 2019, 10:38:09 PM
Just to clarify, I am pretty sure their price match policy says they don't match other bunnings stores (or clearance prices), they are under no obligation to sell them for the lower price. With this in mind, I went in and basically said that I knew of someone who got the panels for $75ea so had come in hoping to get the same but they are still $149 on the shelf here, is it possible to get them at the price the other store sold them at, I have a pic of their receipt here with the lower price as proof. After umming and ahhing for a bit, and a couple of phone calls they said yep we can do that. As Pete experienced though, it is up to their discretion, so it probably pays to be as nice as possible. I have also found in the past the staff/managers who are in charge at night seem to be a bit more laid back than those on during the day, but again, this will vary from store to store.
Post by: sharkcaver on May 21, 2019, 12:01:01 AM
My panels from the ebay link Tryagain posted last week arrived today. Just in time, I'm off for another little solo walk in the desert come Wednesday.

Reading the above posts, I thought I had a bargain, now I feel ripped.

For $75 each, I'd buy all their stock at that price.

Quick view, panels seem pretty cool. Even comes with waterproof zippers. Not keen on storing the plugs/cables in their little zippered bags though. Panels will sit much flatter putting the adaptors elsewhere. And the stand doesn't fit in the bag with the panel. That said, they seem quality at first glance.
Post by: tryagain on May 21, 2019, 12:14:44 AM
My panels from the ebay link Tryagain posted last week arrived today. Just in time, I'm off for another little solo walk in the desert come Wednesday.

Reading the above posts, I thought I had a bargain, now I feel ripped.

You still got a very good bargain, I just got a bit better one, in a week or two when they are all gone, a brand name equivalent costs 3x as much.

For $75 each, I'd buy all their stock at that price.

I did, will offer the extra two to my folks and see if I can run two in series to make the most of my MPPT Charger.
Post by: paceman on May 21, 2019, 06:12:17 AM
Quick view, panels seem pretty cool. Even comes with waterproof zippers. Not keen on storing the plugs/cables in their little zippered bags though. Panels will sit much flatter putting the adaptors elsewhere. And the stand doesn't fit in the bag with the panel. That said, they seem quality at first glance.

agree about the cable storage...

i will probably get a bag made up for both panels/stands and then another smaller one for cables...

don't worry about the price, mate... tryagain is right... the nearest one i can see is the ridge ryder 100w and it is not as user-friendly, IMO with the two rows of panels and it doesn't come with stands... and it is $400...
Post by: BBull on May 21, 2019, 06:12:45 AM
Bloody hell this has turned into a how much can I screw Bunnings over thread. No wonder the world is the way it is at the moment, everyone is just worried about screwing everyone over.
Yes Bunnings is a corporation and will handle this loss but you are also dealing with people who have to answer why they gave it at that price and potentially get in trouble for it.

To go into a shop with all guns blazing to save 50 bucks is just plain wrong.
Post by: Rumpig on May 21, 2019, 06:55:46 AM
Bloody hell this has turned into a how much can I screw Bunnings over thread. No wonder the world is the way it is at the moment, everyone is just worried about screwing everyone over.
Yes Bunnings is a corporation and will handle this loss but you are also dealing with people who have to answer why they gave it at that price and potentially get in trouble for it.

likely Bunnings aren’t selling them at a loss at that price, might be cost price for them. Being in the building industry over 25 years i’ve seen how they’ve screwed the hardware industry over, so care factor is low if they are selling at a loss anyhow....not that I am buying one anyway.
Post by: BBull on May 21, 2019, 07:12:30 AM
likely Bunnings aren’t selling them at a loss at that price, might be cost price for them. Being in the building industry over 25 years i’ve seen how they’ve screwed the hardware industry over, so care factor is low if they are selling at a loss anyhow....not that I am buying one anyway.
Yes that's fine for Bunnings as I stated. Its the people on the counter that cop the flack.
The poor 15 year old on the counter that gets questioned why they gave them the money back.
That kid goes home and has it in their head all night they are a failure, and potentially pushes them over the edge.

You are not dealing with Bunnings when you buy a product, you are still dealing with a human who then has to answer to Bunnings.
But everyone is just worried about themselves and how much they can screw people over.
I paid $199 and I am more than happy with that price.

It's just interesting that people think they are screwing Bunnings over, when its the people on the counter who greet you with a smile and say hello to you, they are the ones you are screwing over mentally just to save $50.
Where is the Humility??????
Post by: tryagain on May 21, 2019, 07:38:40 AM
Yes that's fine for Bunnings as I stated. Its the people on the counter that cop the flack.
The poor 15 year old on the counter that gets questioned why they gave them the money back.
That kid goes home and has it in their head all night they are a failure, and potentially pushes them over the edge.

You are not dealing with Bunnings when you buy a product, you are still dealing with a human who then has to answer to Bunnings.
But everyone is just worried about themselves and how much they can screw people over.

It's just interesting that people think they are screwing Bunnings over, when its the people on the counter who greet you with a smile and say hello to you, they are the ones you are screwing over mentally just to save $50.
::)
Settle petal, there are policies and procedures they go by, there has been no one breaking the rules for them to get in trouble, there was no 15yr olds (or anyone under 30) involved when I politely asked if they were able to match the price another store had already sold them at and I wasn't in any way pushy or demanding.
There will be no-one copping flack as they weren't operating outside of the what Bunnings is happy for them too.
I don't think you could have got the situation any more incorrect if you had tried.
Post by: rockrat on May 21, 2019, 07:39:41 AM
I seriously doubt anyone is getting roasted, especially 15 year olds.

Bunnings has an advertised refunds policy   allowing returns without reason so likely doesn’t even hit the radar, particularly for a deleted stock item.

But if you want to rant about customers and retail, I could tell you plenty. My wife works in a hospital cafe and between the passive aggressive abuse and almost sexual harassment, a few Myswaggers wanting to get a better deal would be the least of her worries.

Post by: Pete79 on May 21, 2019, 07:58:03 AM
::)
Settle petal, there are policies and procedures they go by, there has been no one breaking the rules for them to get in trouble, there was no 15yr olds (or anyone under 30) involved when I politely asked if they were able to match the price another store had already sold them at and I wasn't in any way pushy or demanding.
There will be no-one copping flack as they weren't operating outside of the what Bunnings is happy for them too.
I don't think you could have got the situation any more incorrect if you had tried.

And going by BBull's logic the guy at the Maroochydore store is an abolsute ledgend...
He has discontinued stock that is currently a clearance item sitting on his shelves marked at full price.
Give that man a pay rise!!!

A lady politely questioning the price of said clearance item that is marked at full price would hardly be cause for depression in a man as arrogant as the guy at the Maroochy store.
I have had the 'pleasure' of asking that guy for assistance once before, one gets the feeling he was destined for greater things in his life and he doesn't hide his contempt for people whenever he's asked to give customer service.

But right now I am feeling terribly guilty about those 30 boxes of stainless steel bolts I bought from Bunning on clearance for $1 per box.
How dare Bunnings discontinue a product line and want to clear it from their shelves. They should be ashamed.
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 21, 2019, 08:12:13 AM
Got mine for $120 this morning, seems that's within the wriggle room quite easily, and that was for one or 3.

Admittedly our store needs to keep their sales high so they can show they can trade through the drought, so not too worried. They've wiped out the smaller guys on the whole, so you have to try to keep them here now.
Post by: tryagain on May 21, 2019, 08:55:13 AM
Got mine for $120 this morning

$120 is a great price, at about $1/W. There will almost always be someone that ends up picking one up for next to nothing right at the end when managers just want the last one to go, but if you wait for that there is a chance you will miss out all together. (Speaking from experience)
Post by: McGirr on May 21, 2019, 09:20:28 AM
Whether you bought one for $149 ( I bought 2 at that price) or one for $50 you still saved $$$ compared to the prices of other brands.

I now have a total of 450watts of solar blankets ( already had a 200 watt blanket) that will come in handy in the future when we buy our van and run lithium batteries. Will add another 300 watts worth of panels on the roof of the van also. Total of 750 watts of solar at my disposal.   ;D when we continue our adventures,  working and traveling Australia.

A big thank you to the OP for posting this up , his commission must be big  ;D

Like all of us, Bunnings is a great place for the bargains and I am sure I am not the only one that tells the misses I have to go and check my mail that has been redirected to the nearest bunnings.  ;D

Post by: Fizzie on May 21, 2019, 09:41:37 AM

there are policies and procedures they go by, there has been no one breaking the rules for them to get in trouble, there was no 15yr olds (or anyone under 30) involved when I politely asked ... and I wasn't in any way pushy or demanding.

Backing up what TA said, the "young bloke" who I spoke to was in his early-20s. I showed him the receipt, said that the day after I'd bought the panel, the price had dropped $50, & asked (& i think these were my exact words?) "Big ask I know, but any chance of a refund of the $50"? If he'd said No, I would have laughed & politely said, "Ah well, it was worth a try - thanks, mate" & gone & paid for the other item I had in my hand, & thought nothing more of it except maybe "Bugger - blew $50 that time" :'(

But no, he said "Yep, not a problem" & put it through then & there. At the very least I would have expected him to call a manager to get the OK but he didn't even hesitate, so I'm thinking it must be policy?

As to "getting reamed by his manager" - you did see the :D at the end of the sentence, didn't you? :D
Post by: D4D on May 21, 2019, 09:44:53 AM

You do realise in some countries it is considered rude to accept the first price and not bargain :)
Post by: Fizzie on May 21, 2019, 09:47:27 AM
Whether you bought one for $149 ( I bought 2 at that price) or one for $50 you still saved $$$ compared to the prices of other brands.

& lots of them - $399 at Tentworld for apparently the same item & $799 :o at Anaconda for very similar!

I now have a total of 450watts of solar blankets ( already had a 200 watt blanket) that will come in handy in the future when we buy our van and run lithium batteries.

On that - the manual (yes, I'll admit - I looked at it :-[) very strongly warns to NOT use this blanket for lithium batteries ??? Can anybody explain why not ??? I thought that if solar was coming through a regulator into a battery of any sort, then it was OK & the type of panel generating the power wouldn't make any difference ???

I am sure I am not the only one that tells the misses I have to go and check my mail that has been redirected to the nearest bunnings.

Nah, it's just that I've got to get smoko ;D
Post by: Bird on May 21, 2019, 09:47:51 AM
within weeks there will be something better for cheaper.. thats life.
Post by: Pete79 on May 21, 2019, 09:58:56 AM
On that - the manual (yes, I'll admit - I looked at it :-[) very strongly warns to NOT use this blanket for lithium batteries ??? Can anybody explain why not ??? I thought that if solar was coming through a regulator into a battery of any sort, then it was OK & the type of panel generating the power wouldn't make any difference ???
You’re not the only one that reads everything... ;D

They are referring to the controller.
The panels would be fine, but you’ll need a lithium charger.
Post by: McGirr on May 21, 2019, 10:11:00 AM
You’re not the only one that reads everything... ;D

They are referring to the controller.
The panels would be fine, but you’ll need a lithium charger.

Yes I knew the controller was not comparable for lithium but I have a lithium mppt controller already on the 200watt blanket but will set up another one for the car and when we get the van it will have a lithium setup for the solar also.

Post by: Paul (SA) on May 21, 2019, 10:30:04 AM
Last night I got 2x kits for $75 each.

My local Bunnings also offered me the 44amp hr power pack for $75.

https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/power-cooling/generators/companion-44ah-power-pack/BP90133490

Winner winner.
Post by: macca on May 21, 2019, 11:50:32 AM

The 15 yo won't get questioned, he has a set of rules to work to and they do, it's no skin of his nose if he gives you money back and he is certainly not authorised  to give discounts and you can bet you bottom dollar Bunnings aren't losing money on the deal, probably Companion aren't losing money either, the guys here that are paying $75 are probably only getting close to the landed cost for the panels

Post by: Fizzie on May 21, 2019, 01:16:14 PM
Last night I got 2x kits for $75 each.

My local Bunnings also offered me the 44amp hr power pack for $75.

Wow - saw them but didn't check the price (notice they're no longer up on the website either though)

Currently got a Waeco RAPS 36 pack, but a 44 for $75 would be really nice :D - I could see that becoming the in-use battery while the 36 moves to the shed for power out there :D
Post by: Merts on May 21, 2019, 02:34:18 PM
Just an FYI for anyone who may be interested.

As others have mentioned, it's a tight fit to get the cables, regulator and adapters in the supplied bag, and the legs just don't fit at all.
I've grabbed a canvas bag which is designed for the Jimmy's Thunderbox (dunny). The panel inside the provided bag fits in it fairly neatly but with enough room for all the other stuff (which I put inside the plastic bag that came with the legs in it).

The online price is $40 (includes shipping) or if you live nearby (Bendigo) they are $35 at the factory.

https://doubledleather.com.au/index.php?route=product/product&path=60&product_id=171
Post by: D4D on May 21, 2019, 04:21:49 PM
I picked one up this afternoon from the Epping store, they have 7 left. I asked if they would price match $75 and he said no, he told me discounting is store and stock dependant, he gave it to me for $120. Net cost was $20 as I had a $100 gift voucher that I've been looking for something to spend on. Haven't tested it out yet as it is overcast :(
Post by: MDS69 on May 21, 2019, 05:01:32 PM
Was in the Northmead store this arvo and saw about 9 panels @$199.00 ea.
Post by: lloydus67 on May 21, 2019, 06:30:01 PM
Hopefully they still have a few left around the brisbane area when I get back from work in 9 days next Thursday

Post by: sharkcaver on May 21, 2019, 08:28:58 PM
Well mine is now on the back seat of the car. Aligator clips, reg and stand left behind.  In a couple of days, it will be thrown on the roof basket while I go for a little walk. Last time I went for the same walk, I got back to a low voltage cutout fridge. I was on the road in a couple of hours back then, so no real drama. This time, I wont leave until the following morning, so the panels are coming. For the record, my projecta mat is always in the car, but this new one needs a workout.
Post by: lloydus67 on May 21, 2019, 08:31:28 PM
Good luck with the trip

Post by: Tim - Stratford on May 21, 2019, 08:59:40 PM
Great post & I just wanted to make an offer.

I hope nobody minds my post.

If anyone wants/needs a quote for a canvas bag for the cables or Stand please send a message through. Let me know the measurements that you require the bag.
Sarah's canvas products.

Sarah
Post by: rags on May 21, 2019, 09:27:55 PM
Great post & I just wanted to make an offer.

I hope nobody minds my post.

If anyone wants/needs a quote for a canvas bag for the cables or Stand please send a message through. Let me know the measurements that you require the bag.
Sarah's canvas products.

Sarah

I was thinking the same thing there Sarah, maybe the price needs to be adjusted to match the price payed for the panel, those who badgered Bunnings down pay more and us other folk who paid less😀
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 21, 2019, 11:28:37 PM
Can't praise Sarah enough for work she's done for me over the last few years.
Always helpful, and makes sure she's clear about what you want.
Post by: Ger08 on May 22, 2019, 12:45:33 AM
Anyone had any luck getting their hands on one or two in Perth?
Post by: sharkcaver on May 22, 2019, 01:12:49 AM
Anyone had any luck getting their hands on one or two in Perth?

None made it to bunnings in WA. I only secured one because tryagain listed an ebay jobbie, which I grabbed.
Post by: Ger08 on May 22, 2019, 01:44:56 AM
None made it to bunnings in WA. I only secured one because tryagain listed an ebay jobbie, which I grabbed.

Thanks for the info
Post by: penski on May 22, 2019, 11:56:16 AM
I have tried mine this morning as we finally have some sun in SE Queensland. It easily hits the 17.5v to trigger Redarcs that need that voltage. It then dropped to about 14v and 5 amps once the Redarc kicked in. The battery banks is at 80%.

Yesterday afternoon there were at least 4 still on the shelf at the North Lakes store (near Costco) for $149.
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 22, 2019, 10:45:06 PM
Technical question... I run a Projecta IDC25 for my MPPT solar controller; can I skip the one that comes with the 125W mat and use it directly with the Projecta box?

It looks like I can, because of output and input voltages..
Post by: McGirr on May 22, 2019, 10:54:22 PM
Went to a different Bunnings today and they had 9 blankets at $149 and 6 of the power packs at $199.

Spoke to the supervisor in that section and he said they are a deleted line hence not on the website. Regarding prices he advised that they go through a process and over time they mark them down further until they sell.

It will be interesting to see how low they will go until sold.

Post by: tryagain on May 22, 2019, 11:50:09 PM
Technical question... I run a Projecta IDC25 for my MPPT solar controller; can I skip the one that comes with the 125W mat and use it directly with the Projecta box?

It looks like I can, because of output and input voltages..

Yep, just hook the mat up straight to the Solar input on the IDC25
Post by: Wingnut84 on May 23, 2019, 07:45:51 AM
For anyone on the Northern Beaches in Sydney, I picked a couple up last night at the Balgowlah Bunnings.
They had about 20-30 on the shelf, they weren't marked down on the price tag but asked a staff member and they scanned and said they were $149.
Also got a further 5% off with bunnings Trade account. :cup:
Post by: Paul (SA) on May 23, 2019, 08:29:21 AM
Has anyone worked out how to set up 2 of these kits in parallel?
Post by: paceman on May 23, 2019, 08:38:41 AM
Has anyone worked out how to set up 2 of these kits in parallel?

would have thought you just get a Y-cable made up (2 plugs at one end, one plug at other end), with the 30A powerpoles (or with 50A andersons if you are replacing the existing plugs, like me), plug the two panels into the Y Part and run a single cable to your solar regulator...
Post by: McGirr01 on May 23, 2019, 09:29:39 AM
See attached pic(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190522/6103f6c683a2cdfd2e08a0a87b94c7c5.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Post by: macca on May 23, 2019, 10:12:36 AM
Or make up a double adaptor by screwing three Anderson plugs on top of one another. Plug your reg into one and the panels into the other two

Edit. you get a 30 to 50 amp adaptor cable in the kit so no real need to swap to 50 amp Anderson's on the panels

Post by: Coolblue80 on May 23, 2019, 03:14:37 PM
Went to my local Bunnings and they only had one mat left, which was missing its box. They also had one battery pack left. Just happened to be in another town for work today and checked Bunnings while I was there. I got the last two panels at $75 each and two battery packs at $90 each. Pretty happy with that.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: tryagain on May 23, 2019, 03:39:08 PM
I haven't opened the box to have a read yet, has anyone looked at it to see if there is any reason why you can't run them in series? my experience is that most MPPT charges seem to do their thing better when the voltage is higher. Also get smaller losses through the cables at higher voltage and lower Amps.
Post by: Bird on May 23, 2019, 03:54:34 PM
Went to my local Bunnings and they only had one mat left, which was missing its box. They also had one battery pack left. Just happened to be in another town for work today and checked Bunnings while I was there. I got the last two panel at $75 each and tow battery packs at $90 each. Pretty happy with that.
Cheers, Mike.
thats a win :)
Post by: austastar on May 23, 2019, 05:17:50 PM
    Four left at Bunnings Kingston (Tas), but even with the $75.00 receipt the would not go below $100.00. The ticket price was $145.00.

Post by: rockrat on May 23, 2019, 08:20:24 PM
Has anyone thought about making a frame or stand to support 2 mats, one above the other?

Post by: macca on May 23, 2019, 08:35:02 PM
Thanks tryagain,  did as you said went in late tonite, was very nice to the young lady, showed her your invoice, she  rang her manager who said no problem we can match that and just for bbull I asked her if she was at all offended or annoyed and she said "no problems" in fact she was happy to see the smile on my face when the manager agreed

Post by: wakychapmans on May 24, 2019, 09:15:41 AM
does anyone have the Bunnings part code for the Power Pack?

Post by: paceman on May 24, 2019, 09:26:31 AM
does anyone have the Bunnings part code for the Power Pack?

i think it is 0078046...

(https://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/ODAwWDM3OA==/z/3ZAAAOSwGDNcsrA-/$_20.PNG)
Post by: BBull on May 24, 2019, 09:46:29 AM
Thanks tryagain,  did as you said went in late tonite, was very nice to the young lady, showed her your invoice, she  rang her manager who said no problem we can match that and just for bbull I asked her if she was at all offended or annoyed and she said "no problems" in fact she was happy to see the smile on my face when the manager agreed

GREAT WORK MACCA ;D :D
Post by: wakychapmans on May 24, 2019, 10:40:56 AM
i think it is 0078046...

thanks paceman.

For those still looking...

Marsden Park (Richmond Road Western Sydney) had 12 (now 11) of the solar blanket kits left. (none of the power packs)

they are still priced at $149, but some haggling got them down to $99 (for one)

Post by: filcar on May 24, 2019, 10:57:57 AM
A bit of profiteering????

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125-Watt-6-Panel-Solar-Mat-Kit-Portable-Camping-4x4-New/202687816575?hash=item2f3122a37f:g:k3MAAOSwBGBc5zq8
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2019, 11:19:02 AM

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125-Watt-6-Panel-Solar-Mat-Kit-Portable-Camping-4x4-New/202687816575

If they sell at $330, im selling mine...   
he has More than 10 available

RRP $799 ???? WTF?
https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/power-cooling/solar/companion-120w-solar-panel-kit/BP90133500
Post by: wakychapmans on May 24, 2019, 11:32:31 AM
If they sell at $330, im selling mine...   More than 10 available

I'll give ya $50
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2019, 11:46:16 AM
I'll give ya $50
wonder how you'd go taking your Bunnings docket into Anaconda @$75.... lol
Post by: tryagain on May 24, 2019, 12:02:48 PM

RRP $799 ???? WTF?
https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/power-cooling/solar/companion-120w-solar-panel-kit/BP90133500

He dosen't live in Romsey does he?

I was originally going to post them on OzBargain but decided not too, so as to stop this kind of thing happening, I'd rather people who will use them actually get them cheap as opposed to people buying them to resell or just buying them because they are cheap and have them sit in a cupboard.

Don't forget to ask for your extra 10% off  ;D In all seriousness though, there are a few grounds in their policy that they could knock it back on.
Post by: rockrat on May 24, 2019, 12:28:03 PM
Not sure what the exact differences are but they are different to the Anaconda ones. Anaconda are 120w and listed as Epak, with slightly better efficiency too.

Post by: Bird on May 24, 2019, 12:31:52 PM
He dosen't live in Romsey does he?
yep
Post by: tryagain on May 24, 2019, 12:49:03 PM
Not sure what the exact differences are but they are different to the Anaconda ones. Anaconda are 120w and listed as Epak, with slightly better efficiency too.

Are you sure, I can't see anything on Anaconda's website about them being epak, everything to me looks to be the same apart from the part code and the 125/120W which would be enough for Anaconda to say they are not the same anyway?

yep

Thought you said your mate has 10 for some reason and was wondering if he was the seller, but just re- read your post and don't know where I had got that from.

Post by: rockrat on May 24, 2019, 12:59:55 PM
Are you sure, I can't see anything on Anaconda's website about them being epak, everything to me looks to be the same apart from the part code and the 125/120W which would be enough for Anaconda to say they are not the same anyway?

Thought you said your mate has 10 for some reason and was wondering if he was the seller, but just re- read your post and don't know where I had got that from.
You could be right, may be identical except for labelling on the box. But as you said that would be enough for Anaconda to knock you back on price matching, probably why it is different. It must be others I’ve seen as labelled as Epak, maybe for similar reasons.

Who knows, but I managed to get a couple so I’m happy.

Post by: tryagain on May 24, 2019, 01:20:08 PM
Who knows, but I managed to get a couple so I’m happy.

As am I, thanks to you bringing it to our attention. Oh, and also Bunnings for 1) Hiding them away so no one knew they had them, therefore, no one bought them. 2) Then as opposed to making them more prominent so people knew about them, decided to just keep dropping the price to the point of clearing them out.  ;)
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2019, 01:57:57 PM
Are you sure, I can't see anything on Anaconda's website about them being epak, everything to me looks to be the same apart from the part code and the 125/120W which would be enough for Anaconda to say they are not the same anyway

LOLOLOL

(https://i.pinimg.com/originals/47/95/38/4795386f38b5d384544ac95acc5cedad.jpg)
Post by: wakychapmans on May 24, 2019, 07:44:10 PM
so as mentioned above... I grabbed one set of the solar blankets.

did anyone here get a power pack for cheaper than $149?

I know a local Bunnings that has one and heading there tomorrow to try and haggle down a little...

Post by: filcar on May 24, 2019, 08:30:21 PM
so as mentioned above... I grabbed one set of the solar blankets.

did anyone here get a power pack for cheaper than $149?

I know a local Bunnings that has one and heading there tomorrow to try and haggle down a little...

The guy from Romsey has everything ...

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-44Ah-Power-Pack-New-In-Box-Camping-4x4-10-Off-With-Code-Rrp-499/202685334676?hash=item2f30fcc494:g:qKcAAOSwWI1c4-zH&frcectupt=true
Post by: wakychapmans on May 24, 2019, 08:42:32 PM
The guy from Romsey has everything ...

he does...

I'm hoping that someone here got a pack for $75 and will (generously) share their receipt so that I can better haggle with Mr Bunnings

Post by: Paul (SA) on May 25, 2019, 07:56:14 AM
I have a mate in SA going in today to get a battery pack for $75. Apparently the store has 5 to clear.
Post by: lloydus67 on May 25, 2019, 07:57:47 AM
I’m still hoping I get a couple on Thursday when I finish work for the week

Post by: wakychapmans on May 25, 2019, 08:14:31 AM
I have a mate in SA going in today to get a battery pack for $75. Apparently the store has 5 to clear.
the two green sheds near me have 4 and 6 respectively...

I'll be happy if I can talk them down to $99 even. It's still a great deal...
Post by: lukeycat on May 25, 2019, 08:26:41 AM
 Curious as to what section the solar blankets were in guys.

Post by: Rumpig on May 25, 2019, 08:30:18 AM

it was mentioned earlier in the thread from memory, scroll back in the thread and you should find it.
Post by: macca on May 25, 2019, 08:33:40 AM

With the eskys , in the outdoor/ BBQ area up the end of the store

Post by: Rowlie on May 25, 2019, 09:30:05 AM
I got mine in the pool chemicals aisle. Go figure.
Post by: lukeycat on May 25, 2019, 09:32:32 AM
Thanks guys I’ll try my luck today

Post by: wakychapmans on May 25, 2019, 12:34:05 PM
well... Bunnings South Penrith has 6 of the Power Packs and around 10 of the Solar Blankets.

Blankets are on the shelf at $149

Power packs are on the shelf at $199

woman at the counter refused (quite bluntly) to even talk to the manager about discounting them further.

Post by: Gazza00 on May 25, 2019, 12:56:34 PM

FYI   2 left (now) at the Sunshine ( Melb Vic) store  as of 1/2 hr  ago
Post by: lukeycat on May 25, 2019, 12:57:37 PM
Both the stores I checked out had sold out oh well lol

Post by: D4D on May 25, 2019, 01:01:44 PM
My solar mat is currently soaking up the sun pumping electrons into the aux battery :cup:

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/solar1.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/solar2.jpg)
Post by: McGirr on May 25, 2019, 01:06:53 PM
Interesting they say the following from Anaconda about the power pack

Suitable for camping, fishing, caravanning and other outdoor activities, the Companion Power Pack enables you to charge most 12V DC equipment including portable fridges and lighting. With the robust case and integrated handle, the Companion Power Pack can be easily carried around the campsite, worksite or home.

It must be a very small fridge as you only have 22ah of running time. Still good for lights etc.

Another alternative is this product

https://offroadliving.com.au/collections/jump-starters/products/20000mah-allspark-jump-starter-1000amp-diesel (https://offroadliving.com.au/collections/jump-starters/products/20000mah-allspark-jump-starter-1000amp-diesel)

We used this on our Kimberley trip. Tested it can run a 40ltr Engle for 9 hours and a 75 ltr Waeco for 4 hours.

Post by: Suncruise on May 25, 2019, 01:14:16 PM
I have been testing mine for 3 days now in camper trailer with fridge running and using a Epever 20 amp PWM.

Quite impressed so far, they perform very similarly to the 120 watt Protectas according to the digital read out and crap all over the 100 watt Ridge Ryder which is lucky to even generate 50% of the other two.

Very happy with them.
Post by: GeoffA on May 25, 2019, 01:45:32 PM
None at the Werribee store when I called in today, but the Hoppers Crossing store was showing 4 left when the young lass checked for me.

I'd be all over these, but I have more than enough solar as it is....(trying hard to resist  ::))

Post by: Barson on May 25, 2019, 01:45:42 PM
Still 2 left on the shelf at Bunnings Taylor’s Lakes 11 am today

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Post by: Bird on May 25, 2019, 02:14:59 PM
Both the stores I checked out had sold out oh well lol

I got a spare one if your chasing one but i was early didnt get the bargain of 75.00 :(
Post by: Marcus73 on May 25, 2019, 03:30:52 PM
I got a spare one if your chasing one but i was early didnt get the bargain of 75.00 :(

Well that’s what you’re telling Lukeycat anyway

Post by: lukeycat on May 25, 2019, 06:12:42 PM
Hahaha bird only need the solar blanket and if ya moving that for 75 I’m keen I’ll hit up the one near work on Monday based on the demographic of the area they may still have one ;)

Post by: wakychapmans on May 25, 2019, 06:19:36 PM
if anyone stumbles across a power pack, surplus to their own requirements... at sub $100

let me know. Interstate is no probs as swagmail fixes all...

Post by: Barson on May 25, 2019, 06:31:49 PM
There was about 8 of the power packs at Taylor’s lakes Vic today

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Post by: rags on May 25, 2019, 08:03:15 PM
So after testing the one I purchased last week for $149 and being impressed, I went back down to the green shed armed with a photo that Tryagain posted at post #143 showing a price of $75. I went to the returns counter and asked about whether I could get another at that price ($75). The girl on counter looked at the photo, put a few numbers in the computer and said go grab  another for no cost.

So effectively she gave me a 50% refund on the original $149 price and charged the 2nd one at $74. No money changed hands.
Happy solar camper😀

Post by: AdrianLR on May 26, 2019, 07:34:11 AM
There may be two versions. Mine came with an adapter from powerpole to alligator clamps. Others might have got an updated version with powerpole to 50A Anderson so that it goes straight onto the powerpack.
Post by: D4D on May 26, 2019, 07:45:14 AM
One power pack left this morning at Mill Park for $150
Post by: Mitch92 on May 26, 2019, 07:50:31 AM
There may be two versions. Mine came with an adapter from powerpole to alligator clamps. Others might have got an updated version with powerpole to 50A Anderson so that it goes straight onto the powerpack.

Mine had both in with it
Post by: D4D on May 26, 2019, 08:00:00 AM
Mine had both in with it

Post by: AdrianLR on May 26, 2019, 08:24:00 AM
Mine had both in with it
Not listed in the parts list unfortunately. Not a big deal.
Post by: Coolblue80 on May 26, 2019, 11:27:44 AM
I've been having a bit of a play with the panels and battery packs this morning. plugged one panel into a battery pack a put it out in the sun. Input into the b/pack was up around 14.5 - 14.7. Unfortunately the display only show amps when hooked up to 240v. So not sure of amps output on panel. The other battery pack I put on 240v charge overnight. I opened it up this morning and fitted an anderson plug for my fridge. Plenty of room inside the case for extra cabling, circuit breakers etc. The pack runs 2 x 22a/h batteries. With mods to the inside of the case you might be able to fit larger batteries if needed. The wiring going to the cig. and merit plug is small. I wouldn't run a fridge of it but that's just my opinion. Anyway, it's currently running my 80L Primus fridge at zero degrees, pre-cooled on 240v prior to swapping to the battery pack. We'll see how it goes.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: D4D on May 26, 2019, 12:05:45 PM
I've been having a bit of a play with the panels and battery packs this morning.

What did you pay for the battery pack?
Post by: Coolblue80 on May 26, 2019, 12:13:40 PM
What did you pay for the battery pack?
$90 each
Post by: D4D on May 26, 2019, 12:14:35 PM
$90 each

Hmmm I'd pay $90, lowest local Bunnings would go is $150...
Post by: wakychapmans on May 26, 2019, 12:24:13 PM
$90 each

asking a big favour here...

but you ahem... wouldn't happen to ahem... you know... have a copy of that receipt for the battery pack would you?

and if you *did* just happen to have it... would you be prepared to share it?

it would certainly make haggling with my local Bunnings somewhat easier...
Post by: Coolblue80 on May 26, 2019, 02:44:12 PM
asking a big favour here...

but you ahem... wouldn't happen to ahem... you know... have a copy of that receipt for the battery pack would you?

and if you *did* just happen to have it... would you be prepared to share it?

it would certainly make haggling with my local Bunnings somewhat easier...

(https://i.imgur.com/9j2QIWH.jpg?1)
Post by: Black Diamond on May 26, 2019, 02:51:44 PM
Just picked up a couple from Mornington $75 each that’ll do me  :cheers:
Tossing up whether to get one more or not
Post by: xcvator on May 26, 2019, 03:40:52 PM
Just picked up a couple from Mornington $75 each that’ll do me  :cheers:
Tossing up whether to get one more or not
Could have got 1 for me while you were there, thanks mate   ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on May 26, 2019, 03:47:05 PM
Could have got 1 for me while you were there, thanks mate   ;D ;D ;D
Sorry mate. I’ll make it up to you  :-*
Post by: tryagain on May 26, 2019, 03:49:54 PM
I wonder what the Myswag collective companion solar panel tally is up to?
Post by: jmorgan1981 on May 26, 2019, 04:20:32 PM
I have 2. Brother in law got them for me at $149. Can't complain about that.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Post by: wakychapmans on May 26, 2019, 04:49:27 PM
(receipt)

awesome mate. you're a legend.

Post by: JCAT on May 27, 2019, 09:44:55 AM
Someone cleaned out the last 9 at Bunnings Pakenham on Friday. They were all sitting in a trolley with a power pack after a phone order.
Post by: wakychapmans on May 27, 2019, 10:14:20 AM
Someone cleaned out the last 9 at Bunnings Pakenham on Friday. They were all sitting in a trolley with a power pack after a phone order.

Bird... would this be your mate from eBay?

Post by: lloydus67 on May 27, 2019, 10:15:24 AM
Lol probably, I have rang 5 stores in central Qld and got none so far

Post by: Bird on May 27, 2019, 10:46:28 AM
Quote from: MuruCycles
Bird... would this be your mate from eBay?

I dunno the bloke LOL but hes going to get rich real quick.
Post by: tryagain on May 27, 2019, 02:01:44 PM
I dunno the bloke LOL but hes going to get rich real quick.

Not if he can't sell them! a lot of people who would be interested would have already purchased them!
Post by: WilSurf on May 27, 2019, 02:08:52 PM
Someone is trying to make money out of it: https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125w-Panel-Blanket-Solar-Mat-Kit-Portable/133064381643?hash=item1efb4154cb:g:w74AAOSwCRpc6mYB

$249 for one.

Another: https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125w-6-Panel-Solar-Mat-Kit-Portable-Camping-4x4-New/202687816575?hash=item2f3122a37f:g:k3MAAOSwBGBc5zq8
$299
Post by: Bird on May 27, 2019, 02:10:54 PM
Not if he can't sell them! a lot of people who would be interested would have already purchased them!
How many on here knew they existed before a week or so ago!

Most people shop Ebay these days as the bargain place - not many would look for camping solar panels at Bunnings did/would they?
Post by: McGirr on May 27, 2019, 05:31:33 PM
Someone is trying to make money out of it: https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125w-Panel-Blanket-Solar-Mat-Kit-Portable/133064381643?hash=item1efb4154cb:g:w74AAOSwCRpc6mYB

$249 for one.

Another: https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125w-6-Panel-Solar-Mat-Kit-Portable-Camping-4x4-New/202687816575?hash=item2f3122a37f:g:k3MAAOSwBGBc5zq8
$299

If I could buy them for $75 I would be flogging them off on eBay also to make some extra money.

Post by: AdrianLR on May 27, 2019, 09:35:21 PM
Dropped by Altona Vic Store. System says 7 available but none to be found. Others have also been asking according to staff.
Post by: Ozsnowman on May 27, 2019, 10:48:21 PM
Ah geez, you stay off the forum AND away from Bunnings for a week........damn, damn, damn....would have loved one for $75! Good going everyone that got one, and a pox on anyone grabbing them just to sell on ebay  :'(
Post by: Bird on May 28, 2019, 11:06:36 AM
Interesting that bunnings have a few others ... might be worth waiting for them to be on clearance at those prices..

https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-180w-soft-folding-solar-panel-kit_p0088849 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-180w-soft-folding-solar-panel-kit_p0088849)
https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-120w-soft-folding-solar-panel-kit_p0088848 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-120w-soft-folding-solar-panel-kit_p0088848)
https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-120w-portable-folding-panel-solar-kit_p0088847 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-120w-portable-folding-panel-solar-kit_p0088847)
Post by: tryagain on May 28, 2019, 11:42:48 AM
Interesting that bunnings have a few others ... might be worth waiting for them to be on clearance at those prices..

https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-180w-soft-folding-solar-panel-kit_p0088849
https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-120w-soft-folding-solar-panel-kit_p0088848
https://www.bunnings.com.au/projecta-12v-120w-portable-folding-panel-solar-kit_p0088847

They are special orders, so they only order them in if you want one, so no stock and therefore no clearance likely.
Post by: Shippo on May 28, 2019, 02:22:15 PM
After reading this thread ive bit the bullet and grabbed one for $80 at Victor Harbor, SA Bunnings. They werent keen to drop the price but i had a few screenshots from previous posts and told them other stores had sold them for $75 so we agreed on $80. There were approx 9 left..and yes the lady asked me if I was going to flog them on ebay too!! 
Post by: Bird on May 28, 2019, 03:02:52 PM
Quote from: Shippo
and yes the lady asked me if I was going to flog them on ebay too!!
you should!
Post by: Kimber on May 28, 2019, 03:19:55 PM
My thanks to Coolblue 80 for the receipt copy, it enabled us to prove the case for a $75.00 purchase price. I travelled 1 1/2 hours to find a store with stock and they stated that each individual store Manager has the say on deleted stock prices and it would be $149.00 per blanket. We eventually won out and purchased 2 at $75.00 each. For anyone who strikes a similar stance have a close look at the Bunnings price matching policy, don`t just rely on the first paragraph consider the whole policy, under the circumstances I decided it would be a bit cheeky to try and enforce the 10% additional discount.

The receipt was the `clincher`

Leigh.
Post by: Shippo on May 28, 2019, 05:37:18 PM
you should!

Nah ive waited so long to set up my camper with 12volt! Just got an agm battery delivered yesterday aswell so solar will come in handy.
Post by: Ozsnowman on May 28, 2019, 09:58:17 PM
Thanks from me also for the receipt copy! I went to the Echuca store on the way to work, the camping area had been totally replaced a while back by the look of it. At lunchtime, I went to the  Shepparton store, and found one mat left on the shelf! It was marked at $149, but I went up to the information desk and asked the nice lady there about price matching another Bunnings. She rang the floor manager, told her it was in the computer as a deleted item, and that other stores were marking it down to $75, and the manager gave it her ok  :cheers: :cup:
There were 3 in stock according to the system, but only one on the shelf, so I suspect staff had gotten the others. All of the battery packs were gone also - they'd been marked down to $199.

So huge thanks to all of you that posted about the $75 markdown!  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: weeds on May 29, 2019, 07:33:10 AM
Keysborough have four left, after I grabbed one.

Got it for $75 although still advertised for $149 on clearance.

The operator said they can 1/2 the price on clearance items without getting managers approval hence where the $75 comes from.

Post by: lloydus67 on May 29, 2019, 02:49:01 PM
For those still looking, Rockhampton has 3 battery packs but no solar mats

Post by: lloydus67 on May 29, 2019, 04:58:47 PM
None at Gladstone either

Post by: lloydus67 on May 30, 2019, 09:42:52 AM
Found9 available at pageant Mackay
7 at Hervey Bay and 3 left at cannon hill Brisbane

Post by: lloydus67 on May 30, 2019, 09:54:13 AM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190529/f888e01ae82078a057a88ce4c5b2a877.jpg)
Bunnings are now asking how long ago were they bought
So here is a new receipt

Post by: Ozsnowman on May 30, 2019, 11:09:20 AM
Does anyone know if the power packs are still available anywhere in the Melbourne stores? I have to come down to Werribee on Sunday/Monday for work, so I'd love to pick one up while they are cheap. Or if anyone has grabbed one too many lol  ;D

Many thanks!
Post by: wakychapmans on May 30, 2019, 11:20:46 AM
Bunnings are now asking how long ago were they bought
So here is a new receipt

hows the pet bed?
Post by: Rumpig on May 30, 2019, 11:25:17 AM
hows the pet bed?
perfect for when he’s in the doghouse...lol
Post by: lloydus67 on May 30, 2019, 12:10:39 PM
Lol it’s for the fussy cat
I haven’t taken it home yet, for him to try

Post by: Tim - Stratford on May 30, 2019, 12:32:27 PM
Does anyone know if the power packs are still available

Heaps out my way but might be a bit far for you (200km)
Post by: Ozsnowman on May 30, 2019, 12:56:26 PM
Heaps out my way but might be a bit far for you (200km)

May not be Tim - I’m coming from the country! Which store is that mate?
Post by: Tim - Stratford on May 30, 2019, 01:38:08 PM
May not be Tim - I’m coming from the country! Which store is that mate?

Bairnsdale store.
Post by: weeds on May 30, 2019, 04:20:00 PM
Does anyone know if the power packs are still available anywhere in the Melbourne stores? I have to come down to Werribee on Sunday/Monday for work, so I'd love to pick one up while they are cheap. Or if anyone has grabbed one too many lol  ;D

Many thanks!

The store I was in had four , scroll up

Post by: weeds on May 30, 2019, 04:30:58 PM
Keysborough have four left, after I grabbed one.

Got it for $75 although still advertised for $149 on clearance.

The operator said they can 1/2 the price on clearance items without getting managers approval hence where the $75 comes from.

Bump for ozsnowman this store had four power packs on Tuesday.

Post by: corbijn on May 30, 2019, 05:59:32 PM
Hey Folks. Bunnings Kotara (Newcastle NSW) has two of the solar mats in stock. I am pretty sure they are running them at $75.

Post by: Jimbags on May 30, 2019, 07:56:01 PM

Many thanks!

I saw 4 power packs at dandenong bunnings today. Sticker price was $199. They are over in the corner next to the eskys. Couldn't see any solar mats tho.
Post by: lloydus67 on May 30, 2019, 08:01:30 PM
Every store I went to had battery packs and fridges, not so many have the solar panels

Post by: McGirr on May 30, 2019, 08:14:24 PM
I contacted Bunnings head office in NSW regarding their pricing policy. They had the manager of the my nearest store call me.

I told him about people buying the panels and battery packs at the prices quoted and he advised it’s up to each individual store as they do not price match other Bunnings stores. Their system they follow is all dictated by their head office. He did say some states may be different regarding pricing policy on matching receipts.

He was very upfront and honest. This store has 8 blankets and 6 battery packs marked at the current mark down prices. He advised that once they have only a few left they would look at marking them down further to clear them out.

I told him I went to a store not far away with only one blanket left and I was told that’s the price ( $149) and they would not reduce it any further. He said yes he understands the inconsistencies but it’s up to the store manager / section manager. He did say a number of staff have been sacked by reducing deleted items well below what they should have been.

I will just wait until the battery packs reduce over time.

Post by: Paddler Ed on May 30, 2019, 09:20:21 PM
I contacted Bunnings head office in NSW regarding their pricing policy. They had the manager of the my nearest store call me.

I told him about people buying the panels and battery packs at the prices quoted and he advised it’s up to each individual store as they do not price match other Bunnings stores. Their system they follow is all dictated by their head office. He did say some states may be different regarding pricing policy on matching receipts.

He was very upfront and honest. This store has 8 blankets and 6 battery packs marked at the current mark down prices. He advised that once they have only a few left they would look at marking them down further to clear them out.

I told him I went to a store not far away with only one blanket left and I was told that’s the price ( $149) and they would not reduce it any further. He said yes he understands the inconsistencies but it’s up to the store manager / section manager. He did say a number of staff have been sacked by reducing deleted items well below what they should have been.

I was happy when I chipped another $20 off the 2x panels I got - I do wonder if I could have got more, but they were happy enough to do that. Having worked in retail, I know that your performance is measured on sales (and per unit averages and per sale average). Combined that with being in a drought affected area (but not having my own income directly affected by drought) I know the importance of keeping money moving through both the independents and the big guys - get rid of the big guys, and there's now no way an independent can come back in.
Post by: tryagain on May 30, 2019, 09:42:26 PM

I think the only people getting sacked would be people dropping prices to buy for themself or for friends/family, and as it is up to the manager on duty as to what price is acceptable, it should only be anyone not getting their approval.

As I mentioned at the beginning, they are not obligated to match other stores prices, it is up to the discretion of the manager who is there. My experience is that those whose day job/career is working at Bunnings tend to work at the day time and have a greater tendency to suffer from little Hitler syndrome, those at night (managers included) tend to be the ones working around studying etc and don't take their role overly seriously.

Hence my suggestion of going in at night time and asking politely. It sounds like your local store though has a manager who thinks he is pretty important, and now that he has had this bought to attention from head office he won't be dropping the price anytime soon, just because he can. He has probably instructed other managers now that they aren't to do it either, because thats his delegated authority and he is going to milk it for all its worth.

I wouldn't be holding my breath for him to reduce them anytime soon. If you really want some, I'd try and find another store that has them nearby that you haven't already approached in the day time and ask politely if they can match what other stores have sold them for, if they say no (as is there prerogative), move on and try another.
Post by: wakychapmans on May 31, 2019, 12:56:07 PM
So I grabbed one of solar kits last week at Marsden Park, but they had no Power Packs. (paid $90 for the solar blanket, with the aid of a receipt on my phone from this thread)

Today I was able to get a Power Pack from North Penrith.

The power packs were on the shelf at $199

But I showed the receipt copy for $90 and they checked with the manager and matched it with no problems at all.

For what it’s worth, North Penrith have 3 x Power Packs left and about 5 x solar blanket kits

copy of receipt below if it's helpful to anyone.

Post by: Rob C on May 31, 2019, 04:08:44 PM
Bunnings at Southport Qld still have 7 Solar panels & about 6 of the power packs available but still at the clearance prices. They were aware that there are people chasing these items and will not discount till they only have a few left.
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 31, 2019, 04:25:26 PM
Just been to see if I could get a refund to get mine that I paid $120 for down towards the $75 mark.

Because a lot of the stores that are discounting heavily are the metro stores, the country stores aren't always as willing/able to discount as they have a % of the freight cost in that margin that's being knocked down, so no luck in getting a bit of the difference back - always worth asking nicely though.
Post by: #jonesy on May 31, 2019, 07:02:46 PM
Some of the stores of also clearing the Companion fridges.
Post by: aussie9 on May 31, 2019, 09:42:13 PM
I think you'll maybe see a bit more Companion gear being cleared. Oztrail bought Companion in January 2018. And now Leasure Industries have bought out them both. Oztrail brand will be handling all camping gear sales, including some Companion, Roman and Primus.
Companion will be handling the industrial lines.....hoses, gas burners (map, butane etc).
July this year sees the first "Oztrail" retail catalogue distributed.
Maybe between Oztrail, Primus and Companion there is a lot of surplus stock to be rationalised

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Post by: D4D on June 01, 2019, 06:16:49 AM
I think you'll maybe see a bit more Companion gear being cleared. Oztrail bought Companion in January 2018. And now Leasure Industries have bought out them both. Oztrail brand will be handling all camping gear sales, including some Companion, Roman and Primus.
Companion will be handling the industrial lines.....hoses, gas burners (map, butane etc).
July this year sees the first "Oztrail" retail catalogue distributed.
Maybe between Oztrail, Primus and Companion there is a lot of surplus stock to be rationalised

Are you sure? Companion Brands is the trading name of Primus Australia P/L and OZtrail is the trading name of Adventure Trading Australia P/L.
Post by: tryagain on June 01, 2019, 06:46:40 AM
Are you sure? Companion Brands is the trading name of Primus Australia P/L and OZtrail is the trading name of Adventure Trading Australia P/L.

Looks like some truth to it but he might be a bit off with some of the details.

https://www.businessnewsaus.com.au/articles/oztrail-entrepreneurs-acquire-companion-brands.html
Post by: D4D on June 01, 2019, 06:56:31 AM
Looks like some truth to it but he might be a bit off with some of the details.

Thanks, I wasn't aware of that. At least it wasn't SRG then they'd have the wholesale and retail stitched up.
Post by: aussie9 on June 01, 2019, 07:11:13 AM
Sorry guys.....just passing on what the Oztrail Rep told us.
I'll go back and sit in the corner again

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Post by: tryagain on June 01, 2019, 08:37:23 AM
Sorry guys.....just passing on what the Oztrail Rep told us.
I'll go back and sit in the corner again

You were mostly right, just a few details which can easily happen to get mixed up along the grapevine. That's all assuming the article is correct which isn't guaranteed either.
Post by: Ozsnowman on June 01, 2019, 09:52:55 AM
Bairnsdale store.
Bugger lol yeah - wrong direction. Thanks :)

Bump for ozsnowman this store had four power packs on Tuesday.

Thanks Weeds!

I saw 4 power packs at dandenong bunnings today. Sticker price was $199. They are over in the corner next to the eskys. Couldn't see any solar mats tho.

Cheers!

Thanks to all. I'll see where I can get to tomorrow :)
Post by: Ozsnowman on June 01, 2019, 10:02:09 AM
Some of the stores of also clearing the Companion fridges.
Yeah Shepparton have the 45 litre for $599 and the (i think) 60l for $750
Post by: Bird on June 01, 2019, 03:26:32 PM
Yeah Shepparton have the 45 litre for $599 and the (i think) 60l for $750
https://www.bunnings.com.au/companion-40l-transit-fridge-freezer_p0077002
Post by: #jonesy on June 01, 2019, 06:41:42 PM
Seeing Bunnings were also clearing camping stretchers, which I think we're Roman brand.

Hopefully they aren't going to drop Companion, Oztrail etc like they have with a few other brands.
GMC was dropped for Ryobi and killed that business. Also Tridropped and it ton workbenches were
Post by: loanrangie on June 02, 2019, 11:55:24 AM
Seeing Bunnings were also clearing camping stretchers, which I think we're Roman brand.

Hopefully they aren't going to drop Companion, Oztrail etc like they have with a few other brands.
GMC was dropped for Ryobi and killed that business. Also Tridropped and it ton workbenches were

Ozito were the new GMC.
Post by: weeds on June 08, 2019, 03:45:22 PM
Three power packs at Rockhampton Bunnings. No solar blanket

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190608/130aba2e5deb1183ae3aa716b1f7bf96.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on June 09, 2019, 10:18:01 AM
As of last Tuesday, there were 2 of each left at Burleigh Heads store (sorry, been a busy week :-[), & they honoured the discounted prices from the dockets others had put up here :D :cup: Don't know where the extra 2c crept in though ???

Lady at the Service Desk didn't even pause, she just said yep, we'll match those - don't know, maybe she was the duty manager?

Anyway, here you are:
Post by: tryagain on June 09, 2019, 11:47:27 AM
I think some places denote clearance prices by being so many dollars and 1c, probably why there was an extra cent on your prices.
Post by: Bigfish on June 09, 2019, 12:01:54 PM
Three power packs at Rockhampton Bunnings. No solar blanket

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190608/130aba2e5deb1183ae3aa716b1f7bf96.jpg)

$199 here in Smithfield, QLD.
Post by: Fizzie on June 09, 2019, 12:44:57 PM

$199 here in Smithfield, QLD.

Try showing them a copy of the receipt & ask if they'll match another store ???

Someone also suggested going in at night when things may be more "relaxed" - that's what I did & it certainly worked a treat! ;D

Post by: wakychapmans on June 09, 2019, 12:57:36 PM
Try showing them a copy of the receipt & ask if they'll match another store ???

Someone also suggested going in at night when things may be more "relaxed" - that's what I did & it certainly worked a treat! ;D

similar thing to me. I had the copies of the other peoples receipts on my phone...

Penrith (south?) had the power packs at $199 and straight up refused to budge on them. (on a Saturday morning)

I hit up North Penrith the following Friday afternoon around lunch(ish). They still had them listed at $199. But I was buying a couple of other things and asked about the Power Pack and they ok'd it at $90.
Post by: tryagain on June 11, 2019, 02:02:01 PM

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Companion-125-Watt-6-Panel-Solar-Mat-Kit-Portable-Camping-4x4-New/202687816575?hash=item2f3122a37f:g:k3MAAOSwBGBc5zq8

Old mate has dropped his prices a few times now with it at $195 ($175 after discount) and still no sales!
Post by: Pete79 on June 11, 2019, 02:22:12 PM
While on Gumtree there’s 2 at Knoxfield for $200  each and 2 at Caboolture for $220 each and 2 at Deception Bay for $300 each.... ;)
Post by: Bird on June 11, 2019, 02:36:26 PM
Old mate has dropped his prices a few times now with it at $195 ($175 after discount) and still no sales!
lol..
be nice if he got caught with em.... but sods law, some flog will rush out for *bargain of the year*
Post by: Nifty1 on June 12, 2019, 01:07:37 PM
There are 4 power packs at Bunnings Bairnsdale. No price indication anywhere, but I found a solar mat which scanned at $149. Showed them Tryagain’s scanned receipt and got it for $75 (thanks mate), so I guess they will do the same with the power packs. No solar mats left - got the last one, broken box and all.
Post by: nab on June 12, 2019, 04:29:54 PM
Have seen a couple pop up on another forum for $200 “brand new still in box”!!!
Post by: Bird on June 12, 2019, 05:18:44 PM

one more on there tryin at $269
Post by: weeds on June 15, 2019, 11:33:55 AM
Just giving mine its first test run.......

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190615/66d4df7d5e61ad63b080e486f726a886.jpg)

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2019, 01:11:46 PM
99w
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190615/aa6b003360df46f9f7d81a6e6064faf8.jpg)

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2019, 01:49:57 PM
Absorption
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190615/48e588a8c5befdb6682f4501e2a88568.jpg)

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2019, 03:31:13 PM
Peaked at 101w...I wasn’t chasing the sun, just had it pointing NNE.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190615/b3bd8807aecdd39481c63dbdbc712fad.jpg)

Post by: lloydus67 on June 15, 2019, 04:17:27 PM
Thanks weeds
What solar controller and app are you using?

Post by: JusyApples on June 15, 2019, 04:40:41 PM
Thanks weeds

Looks like the Victron one

Post by: torsion on June 15, 2019, 04:52:34 PM
See attached pic(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190522/6103f6c683a2cdfd2e08a0a87b94c7c5.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Any issues running this type of parallel connection with each of the mats solar regulator/controller?
Post by: lloydus67 on June 15, 2019, 04:56:11 PM
Can’t see why you would have issues, it’s a straight forward parallel setup
Putting it in series could cause issues for some controllers

Post by: weeds on June 15, 2019, 11:22:10 PM
Thanks weeds

Victron 75/15.....the latest version has in-built blue tooth, mine is a few years old and blue tooth needs an extra plug in.

Post by: Chappie on July 25, 2019, 09:21:50 AM
Hi All, I have ended up with one extra solar mat. If anyone needs one, it is $149.
Pickup is Coopers Plains or Browns Plains or Jacobs Well area (once a month) or a cunning plan could be hatched with swag mail.
Cheers Iain
Post by: corbijn on July 28, 2019, 11:00:47 AM
Hey All, I too have an extra Solar panel at the end of the day. I only paid $75 for it so if anyone wants it - I am in the Newcastle Area. Otherwise I plan to make use of Bunnings very flexible returns policy :)
Post by: tryagain on July 28, 2019, 12:07:46 PM
Hey All, I too have an extra Solar panel at the end of the day. I only paid $75 for it so if anyone wants it - I am in the Newcastle Area. Otherwise I plan to make use of Bunnings very flexible returns policy :)

You would get $100 for it easily, probably more on gumtree or similar.
Post by: corbijn on July 28, 2019, 12:09:38 PM
Yeah, I wanted to try here first and only ask what I paid. Some people missed out and I don’t want to rip them off :) not sure then I can be bothered with gumtree. But maybe I will.

Post by: Benduro on July 29, 2019, 08:33:01 PM
PM sent :cheers:
Post by: lukeycat on July 29, 2019, 09:04:53 PM
Yeah, I wanted to try here first and only ask what I paid. Some people missed out and I don’t want to rip them off :) not sure then I can be bothered with gumtree. But maybe I will.

Karma police should look after you bud that's gotta be worth a few good karma points ;) doesn't happen that often. Well played.

Post by: gronk on July 29, 2019, 09:33:12 PM

Mate, I will take it off your hands for $75...if you still have it ?
Post by: corbijn on July 30, 2019, 07:46:17 AM
Hey @gronk - I do have one potential buyer and I have given them until tomorrow afternoon. Otherwise it is all yours :)
Post by: Ozsnowman on August 02, 2019, 12:29:36 PM
If anyone else has a $75 one they'd like to get rid of, I would have a confirmed buy from a mate of mine in a heartbeat.  ;D

He is still bitching to me that he missed the sale lol  >:D
Post by: McGirr on August 03, 2019, 03:54:24 PM
They are down to $100 at the Bellambi Store in Wollongong.

Post by: tryagain on August 03, 2019, 03:57:58 PM
They are down to $100 at the Bellambi Store in Wollongong.

Was that the one you had issue's bargaining with earlier?
Post by: Coolblue80 on August 08, 2019, 06:38:25 PM
The Companion 45L Black Ice Fridge is on clearance as well. Our store was down to it's last five and had them at $499. A mate and myself went in and we haggled them down to$462. That's the lowest they would go. That'll do us and we took two. A bloke walked in and took one while we were chatting to the Bunnings bloke and paid full wack for it. I only wanted one as a smaller alternative to our 80L Primus for daytrips etc. Comes with an insulated cover as well.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: McGirr on August 08, 2019, 06:45:16 PM
Was that the one you had issue's bargaining with earlier?
[/quote

Yes and now one left at $80.
Post by: pugga on September 20, 2019, 12:33:23 PM
Hey all, know it’s a long shot but if anyone has a spare panel or two and wants to part with them let me know cheers in advance ps based in Adelaide
Post by: McGirr on September 20, 2019, 07:27:30 PM
Hey all, know it’s a long shot but if anyone has a spare panel or two and wants to part with them let me know cheers in advance ps based in Adelaide

I have a spare one but paid $149. Not sure want postage is from Wollongong

Post by: Bird on September 21, 2019, 12:41:09 PM
Quote from: pugga
yea I got a spare too...
I was one of the last suckers to pay 125 before they went to 75  :'( :'( :'(
Post by: lloydus67 on September 21, 2019, 01:09:03 PM
Even at $149 they were still bloody cheap for a reasonable quality unit

Post by: pugga on September 27, 2019, 11:51:08 AM
Hey guys thanks for the messages and offers. Looking at postage atm. Definitely want to grab one of theses or a solar blanket (and see how I can get it to work but not on my windscreen). I’m sick of my big glass panels, they are just too big and heavy.
Post by: loanrangie on September 27, 2019, 06:22:50 PM
I opened mine up for the first time today to charge the bike but sun didn't last long enough, more compact than i expected.
 Much easier to handle than my glass folding panels, wish i got 2 now.
Post by: jmorgan1981 on September 27, 2019, 06:43:01 PM
Has anyone given them a good run?

Are they a good quality panel?

Post by: weeds on September 27, 2019, 07:21:15 PM

I’ve given mine a couple of good runs, haven’t any of the other bands to compare, I’m happy enough with the performance.

Post by: weeds on September 27, 2019, 07:47:03 PM

This was me playing early on

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190927/c03a5aa2600bf9347e189869d4c391c2.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190927/91a161eb77eefda2a9425fc03168a93b.jpg)

Post by: jmorgan1981 on September 28, 2019, 09:42:16 AM
This was me playing early on

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190927/c03a5aa2600bf9347e189869d4c391c2.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190927/91a161eb77eefda2a9425fc03168a93b.jpg)

Sweet thanks guys.

Post by: weeds on September 29, 2019, 12:11:02 PM
Sweet thanks guys.

Decided to crank up the travel buddy today, left over pies from yesterday.

84w, it’s not keeping up with the oven.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190929/dea2f730f7ca1162ec0ae2e2a9c14d81.jpg)

Where as the roof mounted solar is keeping up nicely.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190929/af57b247659a8c2ae605955927561dae.jpg)

Post by: Gazza00 on September 29, 2019, 04:42:31 PM
Buggered if I can get anywhere near that output from mine.
Today : cloudless sky   temp : 28C
old 120w folding panel   93w  6.3amp
new folding blanket thing  68w  4.8amp
 same position, same angle towards sun
Not overly impressed, and would be a bit pissed if I had have paid full price for it
Post by: weeds on September 30, 2019, 06:38:07 AM
Not overly impressed, and would be a bit pissed if I had have paid full price for it

I work on if I’m getting 80% performance than I’m happy

Post by: Bigfish on September 30, 2019, 07:41:50 AM

After having spent several weeks mucking around with various size blankets compared to the one piece non-foldable, I can safely say that the one piece ones easily give a better output per claimed wattage.. I laid out a 100 w, 150w and 200watt blanket connected together over a period of several days and the best I could see was 17amps.  I then put 2 x 200 watt solid panels out and best I got was 23 amps.  Its a pity that the foldable blanket doesn't come with some sort of guarantee as the difference in output among them is huge.  Many people buy them without much knowledge and if they are getting a small output, assume this is normal. As the foldable also consist of 4,6 or 8 connected panels it is quite possible one or more are not working...I found this out also when I tested a 4 panel 200watt unit and 3 of the panels had no output-from brand new!.  Same thing happened with another brand new 200watt one...only 2 panels worked!.   I,m going to chase up a 300watt house panel and see how that goes.
Post by: edz on September 30, 2019, 10:18:00 AM
Craigs set up seems to work well with house panels when he goes up to the Cape etc .. Would be a Ducks guts of a set up with four LiFePO4 batteries in regards to total power and weight over the AGM's     http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=53036.msg918931#msg918931 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=53036.msg918931#msg918931)
Post by: Mitch92 on September 30, 2019, 12:46:38 PM
I normally get around 6A out of mine which I am happy with.
Post by: Fizzie on May 22, 2023, 04:33:54 PM
Dragging this topic back up out of the crypt! ;D

Got a couple of these when they were being thrown away by the BGS.

Was using it t'other week, & looked at the book (please forgive me! ;D) to check what it's production levels are specced as ???

While doing so, I noticed a comment "This blanket is not to be used for charging lithium batteries under any circumstances" ???

Why not ???

Can anybody think of a reason ???

Has anybody tried them on lithium ??? (& is still here to talk about it! ;D)
Post by: austastar on May 22, 2023, 05:25:24 PM
   The charging profile of a Li battery is quite different to a Pb battery. When fully charged a charger meant for Pb will go into a float mode, a Li charger turns off.
So the reason may be, that if over charged, the Li might be inclined to overheat and get all combustible.

Post by: rags on May 22, 2023, 05:47:49 PM
Thanks for this post Fizzie,
Just setting up my new wheels with a lithium battery and had full intentions to use this charger to supplement the roof panel. I also had planned to use it with our van also lithium equipped.

Might have to revisit this plan
Post by: Gazza00 on May 22, 2023, 07:09:07 PM
 I would think  it would be more to do with the pissant PWM regulator that they supplied with the kit.  I've used mine through a MPPT regulator on AGM batteries with no problems, so if you have a regulator suitable for Lithium batteries you should be OK
Post by: austastar on May 22, 2023, 07:48:49 PM
   Yep, if you can bypass the supplied regulator and insert a Li suitable one, the panels themselves make no different to the charging profile.

Post by: Fizzie on May 23, 2023, 07:17:56 AM
So if, as you say, you ditch the attached inverter, & feed it in through your normal Andersen connection to a DC-DC, it should be fine ???
Post by: manchu on May 23, 2023, 09:43:50 AM
So if, as you say, you ditch the attached inverter, & feed it in through your normal Andersen connection to a DC-DC, it should be fine ???

Assuming the DC-DC has an input for solar then yeah it should be fine to ditch the included Solar Charge Controller. 

I also had planned to use it with our van also lithium equipped.

you'll need a Solar Charge Controller (or DC-DC with solar input) in the van too.

It's actually better to have the  charge controller close to the battery because the voltage from panels to controller is higher than voltage from controller to battery.     higher voltage =  lower current = smaller wire size/less losses. 

Post by: austastar on May 23, 2023, 02:22:00 PM
   If you have 2 panels that are the same, it is relativity easy to rig a few non genuine Anderson plugs to switch from parallel to series if voltage loss on a long cable is an issue.

Post by: sharkcaver on June 15, 2023, 12:51:06 PM
Dragging this topic back up out of the crypt! ;D

Got a couple of these when they were being thrown away by the BGS.

Was using it t'other week, & looked at the book (please forgive me! ;D) to check what it's production levels are specced as ???

While doing so, I noticed a comment "This blanket is not to be used for charging lithium batteries under any circumstances" ???

Why not ???

Can anybody think of a reason ???

Has anybody tried them on lithium ??? (& is still here to talk about it! ;D)

As said, the panels themselves will be fine, you just need a Li compatible solar controller.

Mine has had the supplied PWM controller disconnected (as all my panels get this treatment). The companion panels use powerpole connectors, readily available from Jaycar if you wish to make your own cabling. I put powerpoles on the supplied reg so it could be used (on flooded/agm) in an emergency should my main aftermarket reg fail.

Re the powerpoles, I'm pretty sure this is them:
https://www.jaycar.com.au/15a-anderson-powerpole-connectors-red-and-black-pair/p/PT4402 (https://www.jaycar.com.au/15a-anderson-powerpole-connectors-red-and-black-pair/p/PT4402)

I have made a few cables to suit this panel with powerpoles one end, anderson the other so I can use my existing solar extention cables if required. Sometimes I link both my rooftop mounted panel and this blanket together via the one aftermarket mppt regulator installed in the vehicle to maximise solar input on those less sunny days.

As a foot note, yesterday I purchased a kings MPPT. Li compatible regulator for $100.
in typical kings fashion, its a bit more expensive today:

https://www.4wdsupacentre.com.au/undefined/undefined/undefined/premium-mppt-solar-regulator.html (https://www.4wdsupacentre.com.au/undefined/undefined/undefined/premium-mppt-solar-regulator.html)

I haven't looked into the charge specs for the Li side of this reg as I only run agm. But first impressions is that it is as good as my Li compatible, mppt, Epever branded reg installed in the vehicle.
https://www.epever.com/product/tracer-an-10-40a-mppt-charge-controller/ (https://www.epever.com/product/tracer-an-10-40a-mppt-charge-controller/)

I hope the above helps. It'll be fine  :cup:

So in a nutshell, grab some powerpole connectors, replace the supplied PWM reg with a Li compatible one, and you are in business.
Post by: Fizzie on October 11, 2023, 09:57:09 AM
Wow - saw them but didn't check the price (notice they're no longer up on the website either though)

Currently got a Waeco RAPS 36 pack, but a 44 for $75 would be really nice :D - I could see that becoming the in-use battery while the 36 moves to the shed for power out there :D

Re-entering the crypt to ask a question about these battery packs that lot's of people grabbed back then ;D

How are you finding them after a few years?

We've always charged ours regularly, but this last week or two it's started beeping to say low power. Charge it up, but within a day it's back down <12.7 :'(

Anybody else having an issue at all, or anybody asked Companion about warranty ???

Post by: Pottsy on October 11, 2023, 03:03:16 PM
I have two Waeco Raps 36s which I have had for nearly seven years, both have been used for running lighting and occasionally a 35l fridge. I recharged them both for the first time in six months with a projecta 120w solar blanket on the weekend, went from 12.4v to full in approx 5hrs. Never had any issues and they seem to discharge very slowly when just sitting in the shed. Mine have only ever been charged via solar.
Post by: Fizzie on October 11, 2023, 04:04:44 PM
Thanks, Pottsy.

Also just dumped one of them, as it was going from fully charged to 0.6V in under a week, just sitting on the shelf :'(

No, I'm not having a good run with battery packs atm! ::)
Post by: lloydus67 on October 11, 2023, 08:06:28 PM
While not exactly related, I have bought a 100ah Aldi deep cycle battery for $100 on sale and put it in a battery box $65 from Kogan
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231011/03af3ec41fa642fb578ba9e36e181f5a.jpg)
A little bit heavier than what you guys have but very effective.

Post by: loanrangie on October 19, 2023, 09:51:24 AM
Re-entering the crypt to ask a question about these battery packs that lot's of people grabbed back then ;D

How are you finding them after a few years?

We've always charged ours regularly, but this last week or two it's started beeping to say low power. Charge it up, but within a day it's back down <12.7 :'(

Anybody else having an issue at all, or anybody asked Companion about warranty ???

I bought one just over a year ago with a dead battery for $30, found a 40ah battery that was slightly larger than the 2x18ah that these come with and trimmed the inside of the case. Batteries often turn on on gumtree or facebook for around $30 or so which makes for a cheap upgrade.
 I also 3d printed a flush mount anderson plug bracket and replaced the charging sock to anderson plug and use the companion blanket to charge it.
 When this one dies i'd like to put lithium cells in it with a small BMS.
Post by: Fizzie on October 19, 2023, 03:17:37 PM

That was what I was toying with as well, but it seems to have come good again ???
Post by: Fizzie on November 12, 2023, 07:07:48 AM
That was what I was toying with as well, but it seems to have come good again ???

It now appears that yes, at least one of the cells has died as it now won't even hold charge for 24 hours :'(

Spoke to Companion who's basic reaction was That's sad >:(

So what would be involved in doing this ???
Post by: loanrangie on November 15, 2023, 10:56:07 AM
It now appears that yes, at least one of the cells has died as it now won't even hold charge for 24 hours :'(

Spoke to Companion who's basic reaction was That's sad >:(

So what would be involved in doing this ???

Finding suitably sized LIPO cells and a BMS, i havent looked at itany further yet as the 40ah i put in the waeco raps is working fine.