Author Topic: D.I.Y Lithium battery set up  (Read 8941 times)

Offline BC66

Re: D.I.Y Lithium battery set up
« Reply #25 on: October 03, 2019, 08:24:24 AM »
Yes, I have considered it also a few times. I have 2x120 ah at 33 kg each. I’m a light weight compared to some out there using 300-400 ah. That’s a lot of weight that could be saved

Offline BC66

« Reply #26 on: October 03, 2019, 08:26:09 AM »
I’m currently unloading a pallet of 120 ah agm by hand. I wish they were lithium right now

« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2019, 09:00:07 AM »
There is a big difference between LifePO4 and Li-ion(LiCoO2).
The lithium-iron battery has superior chemical and thermal stability. A Lithium-iron battery remains cool at room temperature while the Li-ion may suffer thermal runaway and heats up faster under similar charging conditions.

LiFePO4 is a nontoxic material, LiCoO2 is a hazardous material.

LifePO4 batteries are slightly heavier and more bulky in size than Li-ion batteries and Li-ion have greater energy density. For this reason Li-ion is more commonly used for portable devices. 

LifePO4 have a longer cycle life.

All lithium batteries dont like sub zero temps when recharging.

Fyi look at videos of Li- ion catching fire.

Have read here
https://www.newcastlesys.com/blog/lithium-ion-vs-lithium-iron-batteries

https://www.batterystuff.com/kb/articles/battery-articles/lithium-battery-overview.html

« Reply #28 on: October 03, 2019, 11:33:29 AM »
I am thinking of lithium battery for the CT when the 4 x 33Ah batteries are dead.
But building one, not so sure.

« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2019, 11:47:20 AM »
Easy as Will, not building one, you just bolt them together. Ive got 4 x 200ah Winstons in the van, and theyre only slightly bigger than the 105 lead acid they replaced.
See here
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/topic?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Emyswag%2Eorg%2Findex%2Ephp%3Ftopic%3D43250%2E0&share_tid=43250&share_fid=54922&share_type=t&link_source=app

The following users thanked this post: edz, Craig Tomkinson

« Reply #30 on: October 03, 2019, 01:14:11 PM »
Thats real Hoora of a battery Glenno .. Roughly 35 Kg of  200 AH LiFePO  would roughly be equal to 4 x leaded 100 AH and 110 Kg lighter .. has that remote BMS ever give trouble ? given the rough stuff / heat youve travelled in  .
« Last Edit: October 03, 2019, 01:16:43 PM by edz »

« Reply #31 on: October 03, 2019, 01:18:51 PM »
Just checked up on it.
You need 4x batteries, BMS, cell balancer or what ever it is called.
Isn't it cheaper to buy one as a complete set like Itechs one for $849?

« Reply #32 on: October 03, 2019, 03:21:02 PM »
Its been trouble free. The only problem I ever had was once getting ready to go away, I turned on the batteries but the generic brand Mofset switch wouldnt reset. It was a faulty low voltage Mofset switch rather than a damaged component. I use Victron gear with solar charging and BMS and reckon its second to none.
Edz on the batterry weight I have 200a/h at around 30kg. Each cell weighs around 7.3kg (the 9kg listed includes packaging). The equivalent 260a/h in lead acid would weigh around 70kg(2 x 130a/h) so the weight saving is around 40kg, which is still heaps in my situation.
The thing I like about lithium is also the storage. Just run batteries down to under 50% SOC and turn the isolator off. I can switch them back on months later and the voltage has not dropped at all.

The following users thanked this post: edz, Craig Tomkinson

Offline Poita

« Reply #33 on: October 04, 2019, 03:52:42 PM »
What bms do you use? I have the Victron 100/20 MPPT and just use the over / under load disconnect right now.

« Reply #34 on: October 04, 2019, 04:12:41 PM »
Victron 100/30 MPPT and BMV 700

« Reply #35 on: October 14, 2019, 10:58:54 AM »
https://www.facebook.com/100010369921673/videos/pcb.10157103736313393/983637151991940/?type=3&theater&ifg=1
' Lithium battery pack for sure they go off like a string of double happy crackers on steroids. That’s why if you consider using them go for LiFePO4 lithium fero phosphate, much safer lithium ion chemistry, but doesn’t have the energy density of some other Unstable brews, I was given a Kush electric scooter that that had happened to the fire brigade could not put it out. They let it burn out.'

All the cars are running some variant of lithium cells, in this case they have had a mishap with BMS. Everyone involved has been reported safe and the competition continues! Millions of dollars are spent on these cars and this style of car usually carries 20kg of Liion.

« Reply #36 on: October 19, 2020, 04:23:58 PM »
Interesting from a mate 
Dunno how true....

« Reply #37 on: October 19, 2020, 06:21:28 PM »
My guess is that some pulled a dodgy return, order, harvest the cells, claim there was an issue, and then return for a refund. The seller then resells them and then the preverbial hits the fan.

Offline BC66

« Reply #38 on: October 19, 2020, 06:25:39 PM »
Interesting from a mate 
Dunno how true....
That happens to often, Maverick batteries are known for similar tricks but using sheets of glass to add some weight.

« Reply #39 on: October 19, 2020, 06:57:03 PM »
That happens to often, Maverick batteries are known for similar tricks but using sheets of glass to add some weight.
struth!!!!!

« Reply #40 on: October 20, 2020, 06:20:30 AM »
I went with a Renogy  lithium after watching Will Prowce tear one down on his youtube channel ..Hopefuly the one I got is built the same inside ..   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aahHWaV6Zdk   ..
« Last Edit: October 20, 2020, 01:59:17 PM by edz »

Offline BC66

« Reply #41 on: October 20, 2020, 11:29:41 AM »
We sell Power Lithium Batteries at work. 5 year warranty and 110a discharge
They seem ok, no returns as yet.

« Reply #42 on: October 20, 2020, 02:33:07 PM »

Now I normally take product review with a grain of salt, but https://www.productreview.com.au/listings/think-out

Offline BC66

« Reply #43 on: October 20, 2020, 03:18:34 PM »

That is a cut away of a Maverick battery. See the glass sheets , they are real glass.

Offline BC66

« Reply #44 on: October 20, 2020, 03:21:58 PM »
That copy in the last product review started up under another name but has since shut shop again

https://www.productreview.com.au/listings/extreme-batteries

I wonder if they will pop up again

« Reply #45 on: October 20, 2020, 03:27:15 PM »

« Reply #46 on: October 20, 2020, 03:28:54 PM »
Quote from: BC66

I wonder if they will pop up again
3 weeks ago review....
We bought 8 X 250ah batteries from Extreme batteries who are now X Battery

also interesting
We have detected a number of positive reviews for this listing which we suspect have been falsely generated and have the potential to mislead consumers.

ProductReview.com.au takes a zero tolerance approach to any fake reviews and have removed these reviews accordingly.

I'd be happy to pay extra and walk into the store and buy it over the counter... **** buying it online.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2020, 03:41:43 PM by Bird »