Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506363 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1300 on: November 10, 2018, 07:18:08 PM »
Machinery show in town today - mate had his 1927 Chev in the show (along with a load of tractors and other things) which his 17 year old daughter drove to the show (after going to town to buy lunch stuff):

Had the dog there, and she's buggered as a result of seeing so many things!

More at the Machinery Club's Facebook page

« Reply #1301 on: November 11, 2018, 03:27:37 PM »
I found a place today with 5 Ford Zephyrs. (I had Zephyrs in the late 70's up until about 85 or 86, nice cars to drive)

2 with rego, one very easy to rego (I want, I want) and two for parts, which were both very complete.

All of them undercover too. Would love to get the factory pink one off him if I can.

« Reply #1302 on: November 11, 2018, 03:34:09 PM »
Spotted this combo today

« Reply #1303 on: November 11, 2018, 03:35:12 PM »

« Reply #1304 on: November 11, 2018, 03:50:10 PM »
Love seeing old cars out getting used.

No fun keeping it in the garage.

I attended a cars n coffee today at Colleges Crossing, must have been 200 cars there. (Only 1 Cadillac too  8) )

« Reply #1305 on: November 11, 2018, 04:13:08 PM »
And this spotted midday friday

« Reply #1306 on: November 11, 2018, 04:36:43 PM »
I think Valla Park was on over the week-end, or one of the other big rod runs.

« Reply #1307 on: November 11, 2018, 05:13:16 PM »
Lots of Rods about towing and being towed today North, When I headed down to Brunswick Heads this morning.

« Reply #1308 on: November 11, 2018, 05:23:17 PM »
Rods are doing all the towing in Vic atm.

Apparently passed tech inspection today.  Racing kicks off 9am tomorrow at Calder. 

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1309 on: November 12, 2018, 05:53:37 AM »
So that's Wild Willy huh.

9am this morning, its all happening. What times is he expecting out of it?

« Reply #1310 on: November 12, 2018, 06:14:58 AM »
They're hoping for consistent low 11's and more importantly make it through till next Friday.  Although they ran out of fuel on the way home from tech....

No where near as impressive as some of the big boys competing.  Boys were telling me they were parked up next to a few cars that looked way more stock than the Willys, but run in the 8's!

« Reply #1311 on: November 12, 2018, 06:30:26 AM »
Low 11's for the week, is still bloody fast though.

Some of the et's achieved these days in mind blowing and from, as you say, stock looking motor cars.

In the early 90's, I ran 10:60's at will, from a Datsun 1200. Fast as in the day, and a bit of a weapon. (Edz knew the car well)

I must admit, i'd love to drop a Barra Turbo in the old XF van for a drag challenge car that could run mid 9's.
The cost is the killer these days of course.

Having run a best of 7:43 @ 180mph during my drag days in Wild Bunch and Supercharged Outlaws, i'd be worried I'd spend the do ray me and not be happy with the end times/result.

I think i'm destined to just cruise my days out in the Cadillac.  8)

« Reply #1312 on: November 12, 2018, 05:12:21 PM »
They ran a best of 11.78 today.  Not the number they were hoping for, but the little Windsor is ticking over nicely. On the way to Swan Hill for tomorrow.

Jeepers. A Barra divvy van is a great idea.  Do it!

« Reply #1313 on: November 12, 2018, 06:03:34 PM »
Oh, I've thought hard on a Barra Van.

Easy as to cage the car and keep it hidden. plenty of XF's have been done, so not too hard to do.
Easy to drive on the street and a mid 9 would be a walk in the park.

BUT, then, the attitude of, I've it'll go 9:50, why not a 8:99 and it is doable.
BUT, then, if an 8:99 is good, then an 8:60 or so, would be better.

Can you see where this is going.  ???

Even the poor little Datto, was only built to run 11:50's when I started.
That became 10:60 @ 130 mph.
When I sold it, I had a heap of gear and a third N2O ready to go on, as I wanted a 9:90 out of it.

« Reply #1314 on: November 12, 2018, 06:34:50 PM »
I get what you mean. I was getting texts this arvo talking about ditching the stock block 347 for a Dart 363 for next years event.  That's after day 1.  It will be a twin turbo big block by day 4....

« Reply #1315 on: November 13, 2018, 08:41:23 AM »
Low 11's for the week, is still bloody fast though.

Some of the et's achieved these days in mind blowing and from, as you say, stock looking motor cars.

In the early 90's, I ran 10:60's at will, from a Datsun 1200. Fast as in the day, and a bit of a weapon. (Edz knew the car well)

I must admit, i'd love to drop a Barra Turbo in the old XF van for a drag challenge car that could run mid 9's.
The cost is the killer these days of course.

Having run a best of 7:43 @ 180mph during my drag days in Wild Bunch and Supercharged Outlaws, i'd be worried I'd spend the do ray me and not be happy with the end times/result.

I think i'm destined to just cruise my days out in the Cadillac.  8)

Datto 1200 eh...……..had a 1200 coupe with an RB30, but mine was built to go around corners. Entry level sports sedan...……...

« Reply #1316 on: November 13, 2018, 01:30:27 PM »
Mine had a 302 Windsor on the bottle with a 250hp shot.

Made for a great little street car.... highly illegal, but fun.

« Reply #1317 on: November 17, 2018, 02:14:59 PM »
Went out to Calder yesterday for the final day of Drag Challenge.  Some absolute bitchin cars there.

A blown HJ panel van done up as a mid 70's HDT shop van.  He got the 'don't come tomorrow' award after going to quick without chutes and a cage.  A wheel standing high roof T bucket nudging 9 seconds. Junkers doing 8's and grandma cars doing 9's.

Overall winner was the Dandy Engines XW Fairmont.  Stock body, leaf sprung, untubbed, on radials, with a twin turbo Dart  Windsor.   This thing did low 7's all week. Absolutely insane to watch.

My mates survived the entire week unscathed.  Biggest issue was a minor coolant drip, thanks to a stripped hose clamp and having to top up with half a litre of oil.  Averaged 11.7 & low 11.8's all week and didn't skip a beat.  They covered about 1400km for the week with an economy of 28L per 100km, using a 40 litre tank...

« Reply #1318 on: November 17, 2018, 02:17:14 PM »
Gotta be happy with that.

« Reply #1320 on: November 23, 2018, 04:41:37 PM »
https://www.facebook.com/groups/190760908334658/permalink/380312989379448/
Agree 100% with "the golden age of motorsports". Some absolute classics in there thanks Bird.

« Reply #1321 on: November 23, 2018, 04:50:45 PM »
Those old carby fed 308's and Clevo's had the sweetest sound.  Even the 4 banger class cars sound good.

« Reply #1322 on: November 23, 2018, 05:19:35 PM »
Working on some of that stuff back in the day was a hoot too.
In the late 70's, I was twirling tools for Bob Romano Performance Motors, and while we didn't do "FULL ON" race car stuff, we did play with some tough cars.

We were one of the very few Service Stations that had a BP 100 bowser, so always good stuff coming to visit.

Even yesterday, I did a major service on the Caddy, and its just good fun playing with big ol kick arse V8's.
A sensible size of 429 cubic inches or 7 litres in the new money.
340 hp and loads of torque, its just a shame those big ol girls weigh so much.

I tell you though, I wanted to grease the tailshaft unis and you can't get to them all with it still installed, so out it came.
Got ALL 5 UNI's greased, checked the centre bearing and then tossed it back in again.
You cop 2 unis at the back, in a ball and spring loaded coupling, another 2 uni's in the centre in a coupling and then one at the front in a more conventional set-up.

Thank Christ the shaft is in good nick, it would be a killer on the wallet if it needed doing.

« Reply #1323 on: November 23, 2018, 07:05:02 PM »
Those old carby fed 308's and Clevo's had the sweetest sound.  Even the 4 banger class cars sound good.
I agree 100% with all of that.

« Reply #1324 on: November 24, 2018, 05:27:32 AM »
After bending the Mercury pretty badly at Bathurst, she's back all straight and shiny.

Friggin stooped camera angle, but the little Windsor sounds the part.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IsTTpAhFWC8