Poll

What New 4x4 / SUV would you buy if you had $60K to $70 spend?

New Toyota Prado
48 (47.5%)
New Ford Everest
12 (11.9%)
New Toyota Fortuner
9 (8.9%)
New Mitsubishi Pajero Sport (Challenger)
9 (8.9%)
Other.  Leave a comment with your suggestion
20 (19.8%)
Jeep Grand Cherokee
3 (3%)

Total Members Voted: 95

Author Topic: Looking for a new tow vehicle to replace the X-trail...$70K max and New!!!  (Read 39141 times)

Re: Looking for a new tow vehicle to replace the X-trail...$70K max and New!!!
« Reply #25 on: October 22, 2015, 01:53:24 PM »
New prado

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #26 on: October 22, 2015, 03:47:41 PM »
I know that it is leaving it open for all the VW comments, but looking at a Toureg may be worthwhile. As far as I know all the problems with the VW relate to the 2.0 l engine. The Toureg 150 TDI runs a 3.0l engine, towing rated to 3500kg, fuel figures of 7.2l/100kg for a new price of $69,990. May be worth further investigation. ( not my cup of tea as I will be sticking with the old 80 series for many years to come)

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Offline millzzy

« Reply #27 on: October 22, 2015, 04:18:07 PM »
Brand New engine designated 1GD-FTV not the old 1KD in the Hilux. Euro 5 with DPF

Obviously couldnt find a manual gearbox to handle the torque so they have to detune the manual  ala colorado

Offline rotare

« Reply #28 on: October 22, 2015, 04:27:35 PM »

Obviously couldnt find a manual gearbox to handle the torque so they have to detune the manual  ala colorado

Interesting Toyota think that 130kw and 450nm is 'stand out'.  Most manufacturers have been achieving that and more from their core stable of diesel engines for a few years now...

Offline Kiwijohn

« Reply #30 on: October 22, 2015, 07:47:22 PM »

Firstly I have not driven any of these vehicles.

At the start of the year we made a similar choice to update our 2010 Xtrail, we test drove a number of vehicles in this band including the old Prado and old Challenger. One thing is clear the higher the car the worse the road handling will be (e.g. higher centre of gravity) and it took some convincing for the wife to give up the Xtrail.

From what I understand the Fortuner has old style 3rd row seats that clip up to the side rather than fold flat - this would be a game breaker for me.

In the end our choice came down to the MuX and Colorado7 - I preferred MuX (more truck like ride) and wife liked Colorado7 (more car like, but still worse than Xtrail).

We ended up with with the Colorado7  :laugh:

That said I am very happy with the choice and it would be my first choice next time.

It was good being able to play Holden and Isuzu off against each other to save plenty and get things thrown in - we brought the top model (leather etc) and you should be able to get $25k change from $70k.

Enjoy the test driving and then the game of buying, there are plenty of options out there.

John

« Reply #31 on: October 22, 2015, 07:54:03 PM »
I cant wait till then get to 1/5th litre engines with 45 letters designating it, and throw on... oh say 50 turbos on them for reliability and power...

Bring on the future.

« Reply #32 on: October 22, 2015, 08:00:23 PM »
You are forgetting they will have negative emissions and remove harmful gases from the atmosphere. Well when the test is running that is

;D ;D ;D

Maybe even produce oil as a side effect of operation. Oh hang on, Landrover have that one covered already  :cheers:

Offline dales133

« Reply #33 on: October 22, 2015, 08:06:57 PM »
You are forgetting they will have negative emissions and remove harmful gases from the atmosphere. Well when the test is running that is

;D ;D ;D

Maybe even produce oil as a side effect of operation. Oh hang on, Landrover have that one covered already  :cheers:
Like Jeremy  clarkson said, they spent millions of dollars designing probably the best 4x4 power to weight ratio and handling (about the earlier range rover )
Then built it in the midlands!

Offline Topender

« Reply #34 on: October 22, 2015, 10:02:50 PM »
Great feed back so far everyone.  I think the Patrol is a massive overkill and has two major faults for me a) it's petrol only and this one is the killer b) it's a Nissan.  Having to deal with Nissan is the biggest pain in the arse and never again.  I know all brands have issues it's how the dealer(s) works with you and not against you like Nissan has done with us in the past.

Second on the list of negative vehicles is The Isuzu both Mu-x and the ute.  I didn't like the finish or the ride (no offence just not what I'm after). My parents have a ute and I wouldn't go that way personally having seen the dust and water issues that utes naturally have and generally the ride in them is agricultural at best although I haven't been in the new Hilux.  The Ranger and new Navara (bloody Nissan) are quite impressive though having been in both.

So basically at this stage (not completely) Utes are out and it has to be Diesel.  The VW Toureg was mentioned by Hewy and has actually been a vehicle I've been looking at too along with the Audi Q5.  Initial cost and cost of ownership is probably the killer for both of these.  VW is struggling so might be able to get a bargain though  >:D

Keep the feed back coming everyone and Bird new tech is just the way of the future...VHS and cassettes are dead! (new tech is why vehicles like I'm looking at have the power and minimal fuel use that they have)

Nissan X-trail TL dci & 2012 Jayco Outback Swan

Offline Topender

« Reply #35 on: October 22, 2015, 10:05:01 PM »
This post is just so I can finally get 500 posts  :cup:
Nissan X-trail TL dci & 2012 Jayco Outback Swan

« Reply #36 on: October 23, 2015, 07:28:34 AM »
I personally wouldn’t buy a new Patrol because if they can’t sell them new, then your going have to expect to cop a massive loss when you sell/trade it in.

My neighbour just signed up for a new Amarok and got $16K off the recommended price as the dealer admitted sales are dead. So if your keen on a  Toureg then now is the time to enquire.

Offline scblack

« Reply #37 on: October 23, 2015, 07:32:10 AM »
On the Touareg. My last year retired Director at work has a Touareg, probably 2006-2008 model. A few months ago he had issues with the aircon. It cost him $4,500 to repair, so as you mention being European you have to bump up the service/maintenance costs. Bloody nice car though.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #38 on: October 23, 2015, 08:08:42 AM »
Google 'touareg gearbox problems'

http://www.mytreg.com/index.php?/topic/10163-buying-a-used-touareg-what-to-look-for/
hese are not budget Cars
 Touaregs were expensive when new and they can be very expensive to repair. These are not cars for someone on a tight budget. Engines and gearboxes can run away with £5,000 each. The V10 engine costs over £10,000 and it takes 30 hours to remove and replace it.
 There are next to no VW specialists serving the Touareg community. There are plenty for your Polo, Golf or Passat, but definitely not for the Touareg [some don't even have car lifts man enough to lift 2.5 tons] so you are probably going to be in the hands of main dealers and their labour rates. But even here there are few dealers recommended for their Touareg knowledge but at least they may have the right tools to do the repairs!
 Unlike Land Rover where you have an excellent choice of independents AND alternative sources for parts, with the Touareg most of the bits have to be sourced from VW and you can either pay dealer prices [sometimes things are very reasonable, sometimes not!] or use one of the motor factors who offer decent discounts.
 And don't think that if you are buying new or nearly new, VW dealers are going to roll out the red carpet as you buy one of their top of the range cars. They don't. And VW GB don't give a sh"t either even if you have a serious problem with a brand new car!

« Last Edit: October 23, 2015, 08:10:24 AM by Bird »

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #39 on: October 23, 2015, 08:31:07 AM »
I actually went from an Xtrail to a Prado. If I was looking again I'd be looking at the Fortuner as well. They've been out in the US and other regions for a while. Australia has come late to the party.

The Fourtner is in the Colorado, MUX and Challenger territory. Ford are pitching the Everest as a Prado competitor. I've been put off Ford and their build quality with my wife's Fiesta experience. The mirror control knob fell off as we drove it out the showroom. 2 gearbox and 1 seatbelt replacements and one steering column knock fixed in 3 years from a brand new car.  I've had to replace one seal on my 2008 Prado after 3 years and 40,000km. I'm never buying a Ford again  (various other family members have had similar issues over the years so its not just based on one experience)

After that it depends on your needs. Fortuner is based on the Hilux chassis but uses Prado front suspension and coil rears so it's pedigree is good. The slightly higher tow capacity over the prado is attractive too.  The factory diff lock is also appealing on the Fortuner if you want to get into the rough stuff. Though the Prado's traction control is almost as good as a diff lock in getting you places you need to go.   But the 180Litre tank on my Prado is awesome. Having fold flat rear seats loses you 30litres in the 150 series prado.   I haven't seen the Fortuner in the flesh but if the rear seats are like my Prado then they pop out in less than a minute. Having fold up rear seats has never worried me. Shame about the Fortuner's rear though. FUGLY.

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline rotare

« Reply #40 on: October 23, 2015, 09:13:35 AM »
But the 180Litre tank on my Prado is awesome

Maybe I'm missing something, but what's the fixation with a huge fuel tank?

Unless you're traversing the Simpson desert everyday to work, or every time you go on holidays, when do you actually need to carry 180L of fuel?  Most places I've travelled to around Australia where it's considered 'remote' there's usually fuel stops every 200/300km. The reality is if you're doing long hauls you have to stop occasionally anyway - toilet breaks, stretch the legs, check the trailer.  For me it's not really an inconvenience having to pull into a servo and topping up the tank after travelling 500km non-stop.

I've a couple of mates who own Prado's with the 'big' tanks, and the irony is none of them fill them up very often cause they reckon it's a waste lugging around all that fuel!  They'd probably be better off with a fuel tank half the size! 

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #41 on: October 23, 2015, 12:57:33 PM »
Maybe I'm missing something, but what's the fixation with a huge fuel tank?

Unless you're traversing the Simpson desert everyday to work, or every time you go on holidays, when do you actually need to carry 180L of fuel?  Most places I've travelled to around Australia where it's considered 'remote' there's usually fuel stops every 200/300km. The reality is if you're doing long hauls you have to stop occasionally anyway - toilet breaks, stretch the legs, check the trailer.  For me it's not really an inconvenience having to pull into a servo and topping up the tank after travelling 500km non-stop.

I've a couple of mates who own Prado's with the 'big' tanks, and the irony is none of them fill them up very often cause they reckon it's a waste lugging around all that fuel!  They'd probably be better off with a fuel tank half the size!

Not having to carry extra Jerry Cans of fuel when we go somewhere remote. 4 jerry can holders on the camper = 80 litres more water
Sydney to Dubbo and back without refuelling - just cause I can.
Paying for fuel at Alice springs either end of an Uluru trip and not at Yulara resort so not paying the extortionate fuel prices
Being able to fill up in major towns and not road houses - 10c differences in fuel make a big difference in a 180L tank
Fill up Harrietville then head up in the Vic High Country for a week of driving and return to Harrietville without having to make the hour round trip to refuel 
Fill up on the mainland, drive over to Fraser and not worry for the rest of the week about fuel stops - fill up again back on the mainland
I fill up around Sydney every 4-6weeks so I can wait for the cheap prices and/or take advantage of shopper dockets to get 20c off fuel - 180 litres @20c cheaper saves me $30+ a tank. I don't buy into the lugging around the extra fuel argument. The car gets driven almost every day so fuel is pumping through the system so little chance of algal growth
We go to a campsite every xmas for 2-3 weeks that has a lot of 4wding around it. Its 15km to the nearest road/house servo and fuel is 10c more expensive, or its 30mins to the nearest town to get fuel so again one less thing to worry about.
We drive to the south coast every month or so. I can fill up at the bottom of the cycle and then do the 700km on single tank  at Sydney not rural prices.

Would it kill me not to have the large tank? No, but its nice.

« Last Edit: October 23, 2015, 12:59:54 PM by tk421 »
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline Julian Kaye

« Reply #42 on: October 23, 2015, 01:14:00 PM »
 Interesting topic. As a new vehicle buyer in the last eight months and after a lot of research I went for a 150 GX Prado. Thats not to say there aren't other good trucks out there and I really liked the Isuzus. The conclusions I came up with were:

* Go Japanese, avoid Europeans.
  * There are lies, damned lies and then there are power and torque figures.
  * Fuel capacity IS important. It's nice to pick the place of purchase and it takes the doubt out of "have I got enough to get there?" I have learnt the hard way
  * Availability of after market gear is important and makes life so much easier
  * I was set on a ute but did the figures and by the time you add a canopy, suspension (essential)
and long range tank, the cost savings in a ute were gone

One final point, drive 500 kms from a capital city and have a look at what people drive. There is your answer

« Reply #43 on: October 23, 2015, 01:50:00 PM »
Quote from: Julian Kaye
   One final point, drive 500 kms from a capital city and have a look at what people drive. There is your answer
what dual cab utes and cruiser/patrol utes ???

Offline scblack

« Reply #44 on: October 23, 2015, 01:56:44 PM »
Why? I live in a capital city.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #45 on: October 23, 2015, 03:02:43 PM »
what's the fixation with a huge fuel tank? 

I have 150L tank and admit I rarely fill it up totally, but when we spend a week at Fraser or Moreton Island the large tank is invaluable as it gives me the range to explore the island without having to worry about buying or carrying fuel. Yes you can buy fuel on the Islands, but it comes at a premium price, plus previously having to pay for a fuel pump rebuild, I’m now very picky from where I buy fuel.

Other good thing about a large tank is the grocery shopper docket as when we get a 8 or 10 cent discount, it makes a difference.

Offline SUPA105

• Saw it....wanted it....chucked a fit....got it
« Reply #46 on: October 23, 2015, 04:21:04 PM »
We have been Toyota through and through.....not anymore  >:D MUX LST and add after market suspension fixes any short falls in ride and handling then add a LR tank for towing and your still way under your $70K with 5 years warranty added in.

2000 GXL Landcruiser with toy's
2004 Wallaby camper
& bugger all time to get the two together.....

« Reply #47 on: October 23, 2015, 05:55:52 PM »
One thing that hasn't been mentioned is, what sort of terrain are you looking at travelling? Do you need  something in the Prado class which will get you a little further "Off road" than, say, an XTrail? A lot of rigs I've seen over my travels have been way over the top for where, after talking to the owners, they were intending to go.
Good luck with your dilemma & I'm sure you'll make the decision to suit.

« Reply #48 on: October 23, 2015, 06:10:08 PM »
........new tech is just the way of the future......

Nope. New tech is the present, not the future.

Even old tech was new tech once........

"simplicitas est pulchritudo"

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #49 on: October 23, 2015, 06:56:48 PM »
How long do you expect to keep your new car? If it's longer than the warranty period I would seriously consider buying a petrol model. The amount of "new" diesel vehicles that have major engine issues around the 200,000k mark and even less is rediculous. And the way they meet emissions regulations means that they gunk themselves to a slow but sure death unless additional (not in the logbook) preventative maintenance is done.
The cars that I would look at if buying new is a Disco 4, Prado or cruiser 200, Y62 patrol even a new FJ.
Diesel is overrated, most people don't need it especially if City bound for most it's life.
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback