General => General Discussion => Topic started by: FZJ on June 15, 2013, 01:51:17 PM

Title: Kids toys and games from your youth
Post by: FZJ on June 15, 2013, 01:51:17 PM
Gday,
Not sure if anyone has brought this up before.Everyone says kids have too much computer time etc these days,I limit my kids exposure to that stuff.
But what do you remember as a kid growing up that you had to make or do?We had so much time running around the sand dunes,making bonfires,building karts and just making stuff out of...stuff..
I can start off with this that i used to make and that my kids spend ages playing with.
Magic jumping beans.

Here is a how to video
jumpingbean.wmv (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BwIOSpD6ro#)

Its just a 1/2inch ball bearing or sinker in an aluminium foil "bean "or casing like a peanut.It seems to take on a life of its own and the kids love it.they spend ages racing them down hills.I embellish the story a bit and  tell them the old tin I use to make them is said to have come from an old wizard.If they get damaged put them in the tin ,tap 3 times ,shake and they are like new.Cheap fun.
Title: Re: Kids toys and games from your youth
Post by: xcvator on June 15, 2013, 10:24:31 PM
making boats from milk bottle tops and sailing them down the gutter after rain  8)
Post by: muzza01 on June 15, 2013, 11:05:46 PM
Playing cricket with myself. I got pretty good at as I won nearly all of the time. I was outside pretty much during daylight hours. I still have all of my Tonks trucks. One is 40 years old and the others nearly the same.
Post by: Tjupurula on June 17, 2013, 06:33:37 AM
I used the same "toys" that my grandfather and father had, and my sons ans now grandsons are using them.  They consisted of a small boomerang and spear for target practise, and a coolamon (carrying dish) to carry them around with.  They have lasted at least 5 generations that I know of, so compared to a lot of bought toys, they are doing well.
I did make my sons a go-cart, using old pram wheels and the wood from an old pallet, the only thing that has ever needed changing are the wheels, oh, and quite a few bandages from the occasional spills.
Post by: HEM19X on June 17, 2013, 07:20:10 AM
Playing cricket with myself. I got pretty good at as I won nearly all of the time. I was outside pretty much during daylight hours. I still have all of my Tonks trucks. One is 40 years old and the others nearly the same.

Used to throw a golf ball at a set of concrete steps next to the house & try to hit with a cricket bat, got pretty good but busted a few windows. That plus a round skim board in the shallows, spent hours on these activities. Only when inside when it was too dark to be outside.
Post by: gclan on June 17, 2013, 07:38:36 AM
Not so much a game or toy, but two ropes tied between two trees. My sister and I spent hours pretending we were tightrope walkers in the circus. Got pretty good at it too.

We(Dad) also made a trapeze swing under the house, and I built myself a set of stilts, not that I needed compensating for anything...  ;D :-\

Karen
Post by: Draggin on June 17, 2013, 09:22:12 AM
As a kid, when I wasn't swimming and hitting the white water rapids in an inner tube, I pretty much spent my waking hours on a push bike. One of the "olden day" ones. One gear ratio only and pedal backwards to apply the brakes and no suspension. I did a lot of hunting and foraging with all my PNG pikinini mates too - I had an awesome childhood.
Post by: TheTaylors on June 17, 2013, 05:32:09 PM
Good old elastics - hours and hours of fun.

I also remember spending weeks at school, every recess and lunchtime, making cubbies.... which consisted of sweeping up the leaves/pine needles etc into lines to form walls, creating rooms, houses etc. Made natural furniture and everything.... loved it, can still picture it as clear as yesterday.
Post by: Mallory Black on June 17, 2013, 06:27:26 PM
matchbox cars.. had a bucket full of them
Post by: muzza01 on June 17, 2013, 07:28:24 PM
matchbox cars.. had a bucket full of them
Me too. I wish I still had them. They were all lete 60s and early 70s muscle cars.
Post by: edz on June 17, 2013, 11:52:09 PM
As for toys and things they werre fairly scarce at our place... remember that my matchbox cars were exactly that....Matchboxes stuck onto the top of a cigarete packets with the bottom cut out in the shape of wheels ...Recon I didnt get a store bought matchbox car till I was about 6 or 7 even then I ever had a few ..
Had a couple of old milo tins full of plastic soldiers though and loved to collect the plastic kits from the breakfast cereal boxes..wish I still had those kits, especially as they would be almost impossible to find these days .
Post by: Tjupurula on June 18, 2013, 12:08:57 AM
No exactly a toy, but there is one thing from my very young days.  There was a paperback magazine that regularl came out called "Look and Learn", I wonder how many other Swaggers remember that one and similar.
Post by: DannyG on June 18, 2013, 12:55:02 AM
I had matchbox cars and used to smash them up with a hammer and sit them under my parents cars tyres so they got smashed when they drove off!

I used to collect empty bottles and cash them in and bought my first car when I was 9 years old, it was a VW fastback, me and a slightly older mate went halves in it. We spent all our spare time working on it until I drove it through our timber fence that bordered my parents property.

My first electronic device besides getting a colour tv at our home was a digital watch lol

But most of my childhood we were so poor I mainly just played with myself ;)
Post by: Mallory Black on June 18, 2013, 05:48:05 PM
Danny Danny Danny, how could you

a lot my matchbox cars were "salvaged" items with broken wheels and such so I could have my very own matchbox cars wrecking yard, cars stacked 3 high and all that.

Anyone old enough to remember wrecking yards where you were allowed to walk around and kind of browse?

during cracker season we would tape little skyrockets to them...... and have rocket car races.
Post by: berlitza on June 18, 2013, 06:29:29 PM
Back in the days when Guy Fawkes Night allowed you to legally to blow sh!t up, kids didn't wear bike helmets it wasn't frowned upon getting wrapped over the back of the head with a wooden spoon and my beloved green machine and scooter didnt have brakes, Green Machines and tonka trucks, those where the days,
oh and setting fire to the little green soldiers  for a war reinactment
Post by: fishfinder on June 20, 2013, 05:29:17 PM
I had matchbox cars and used to smash them up with a hammer and sit them under my parents cars tyres so they got smashed when they drove off!

I used to collect empty bottles and cash them in and bought my first car when I was 9 years old, it was a VW fastback, me and a slightly older mate went halves in it. We spent all our spare time working on it until I drove it through our timber fence that bordered my parents property.

My first electronic device besides getting a colour tv at our home was a digital watch lol

But most of my childhood we were so poor I mainly just played with myself ;)
I use to tape soda siphon bulbs to them give the bulb a tap with hammer and nail for added horsepower
Post by: fishfinder on June 20, 2013, 05:48:45 PM
Toy from youth and still play with it I always have it with me every now and then i put my hands in my pocket to see if it is still there but seriously it would be best if I don't post a photo of it
Post by: berlitza on June 20, 2013, 06:03:48 PM
Toy from youth and still play with it I always have it with me every now and then i put my hands in my pocket to see if it is still there but seriously it would be best if I don't post a photo of it

lmao, ya just reminded me of that song 'my ding-a-ling' although i didn't know ding-a-lings where small enough to fit into pockets though ;D
Post by: fishfinder on June 20, 2013, 08:29:47 PM
lmao, ya just reminded me of that song 'my ding-a-ling' although i didn't know ding-a-lings where small enough to fit into pockets though ;D
he is called wilbert not ding a ling
Post by: DannyG on June 20, 2013, 08:46:22 PM
he is called wilbert not ding a ling

(http://www.1solo.com/images/C_LAUGH.GIF)
Post by: Squalo on June 21, 2013, 11:04:19 AM
In the late seventies I was growing up in the Snowy Mountains (Cabramurra) and we could go bushwalking by ourselves all we liked - so that's what we did. Building cubbys and hideyholes everywhere, and if you went down to the ravines around the town there was flowing water all year round and we built some stupendous dams out of rocks and mud.

In the eighties we were back in Sydney as high school from Cabramurra involved a to Tumbarumba. So it was billy carts, BMX bikes, street cricket etc.

The 'toy' that stands out from my childhood (say 12-14 years old) was the peg gun... we made them out of rubber bands, wooden clothes pegs and bits of timber. Get a 2"x1" x two or three foot long bit of wood, and drive a nail into the end. At the other end on the flat you nail a wooden clothes peg. The projectile is the spring from another peg, with a rubber band or three attached. Hook the rubber band over the nail, stretch it back and use the peg to hold the 'barrel' of the spring, then aim and 'press the trigger'.

Some of these were so powerful that they'd (theoretically) punch clean through the neighbour's fibro garage walls... I still don't know how we didn't lose eyes while playing with these things.
Post by: oldmate on June 21, 2013, 12:48:50 PM

The 'toy' that stands out from my childhood (say 12-14 years old) was the peg gun... we made them out of rubber bands, wooden clothes pegs and bits of timber. Get a 2"x1" x two or three foot long bit of wood, and drive a nail into the end. At the other end on the flat you nail a wooden clothes peg. The projectile is the spring from another peg, with a rubber band or three attached. Hook the rubber band over the nail, stretch it back and use the peg to hold the 'barrel' of the spring, then aim and 'press the trigger'.

Some of these were so powerful that they'd (theoretically) punch clean through the neighbour's fibro garage walls... I still don't know how we didn't lose eyes while playing with these things.

I remember making these also. You wouldn't be able to now with the cheap plastic pegs around
Post by: Mace on June 21, 2013, 01:23:37 PM
My most prized toy as a kid was an early model Scalextric Slot Car set.  The one with the Vanwall and a BRM.
Keeping the braided copper contacts clean used to be a pita.

Wish I still had them, although I do have some slightly newer ones - but no track.

Post by: tossie on June 21, 2013, 01:46:15 PM
In the late seventies I was growing up in the Snowy Mountains (Cabramurra) and we could go bushwalking by ourselves all we liked - so that's what we did. Building cubbys and hideyholes everywhere, and if you went down to the ravines around the town there was flowing water all year round and we built some stupendous dams out of rocks and mud.

In the eighties we were back in Sydney as high school from Cabramurra involved a to Tumbarumba. So it was billy carts, BMX bikes, street cricket etc.

Yep they were a huge part of my childhood. I lived across the road from a cypress mill so I had an endless supply of rifle stocks. I can still feel the pain of being hit by these things! Big red rubber bands were the best. You can still buy the right pegs if you look hard enough.

Cheers Tossie
Post by: chester ver2.0 on June 21, 2013, 02:19:15 PM
About once every 2 years the Coca Cola Yo Yo team would come to my school and you could guess what every kid was playing with the next day
Post by: noel_w on June 21, 2013, 02:23:06 PM
About once every 2 years the Coca Cola Yo Yo team would come to my school and you could guess what every kid was playing with the next day
That was cheap advertising then. Shame they still don't do it so kids aren't glued to a pc screen all day long
Post by: Bird on March 17, 2016, 09:45:09 PM
Quote from: noel_w
Shame they still don't do it so kids aren't glued to a pc screen all day long
somethings never change.
Post by: terravista on March 18, 2016, 09:10:16 AM
I guess my youth was before the wheel as we know it was invented. More like Fred Flintstone rollers.
We used wooden cotton reels, knitting needle, match, a soap scrap, paper scrap and a rubber band.
Cut v's out of the edge of the cotton reel to make "treads"
Stick the rubber band through the cotton reel and hold one end from pulling through with a broken piece of match wedging the paper in to stop this end spinning, and stick the knitting needle through the other end of the rubber band with the knob part extended just past the edge of the cotton reel.Grease up the knitting needle end of the reel with soap or grease to cut the friction.
Wind the sucker up, put it in the ground and have flat races or hill climbs.
A lot like these   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o82U9B50tZw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o82U9B50tZw)
Post by: tk421 on March 18, 2016, 09:58:21 AM
My boys have got all my old genuine matchbox cars in amongst their modern Hotwheels cars. Makes me smile when I see them playing with them.

I grew up in Africa in the 70's/80's.  School finished at mid-day, TV didn't start til 5.  Usual kids things: Spent hours climbing trees including rubber trees which mum hated cause the latex got in our clothes and hair.  Making bike tracks on the open ground outside the gates. We also used to sneak out to play with the local street kids who made awesome Bow and Arrows using sticks with string made from old plastic feed sacks. They'd unpick the stitching and braid the lines. One guy even made a rifle/crossbow hybrid, that fired nails using old inner tubes for the rubber bands.

We'd also have lots and lots of races with these things:
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/38/2b/0a/382b0a5ab325086884f5f89ed43357fe.jpg)

Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 18, 2016, 10:57:35 AM
Slip n Slides

We used to get all the neigbour kids as we had a 1/2 acre sloped block

Wire about 6 of the things together
Have about 12 hoses going
Take a panel out of the pool fence

100 meter slide with an exit into the swimming pool

Get your ass absolutely tanned by mum when the water bill turned up
Post by: raider on March 18, 2016, 12:08:42 PM
Before the area out Boronia West way got too developed we used to collect tadpoles from all the small ponds around the place ( then I think they would end up dying in ice cream containers  :-[). Then when the roads got tarred we would build billy carts with   bearings on the back wheels and go crazy. Other than that skateboarding and BMXing. I also loved the backyard incinerator where I would burn plastic and hold it up as burning fireballs whizzed to the ground. Ended up stuffing my models with tissues and simulating crashes too. >:D
Post by: WilSurf on March 19, 2016, 12:34:23 PM
When I was a kid, we were always in the bush next door.
Remember this is in Holland so a different bush than here.
We were climbing trees, building tree huts and underground huts.

The good old times.
Post by: edz on March 19, 2016, 01:02:56 PM
Would spend hours down at the creek on the farm, playng War's with the brothers and other kids from neighbouring farms, Fence paling rifles shaped with a tomahawk,  clodds of dirt grenades and the odd rock or two, the older kids threw the odd firecracker just to ad a bit of realism..
Used to help the older brothers build huge stick and bark humpie forts and cover them with tons of long grass .. then burn them down on cracker night ..
Coits used to be a bit of fun to play and darts [ though a cousin of mine  might disagree ] I flogged a dart deep into the side of his knee after he belted me in the face, and tried to run off . After he had lost a few games in a row.. ;D
Post by: noel_w on March 22, 2016, 02:59:33 PM
Similar to my toy when I was a kid. Used to spend hours going round & round paddocks towing a plough.
Post by: Bird on January 08, 2020, 08:57:46 PM
Meccano Sets... Metal toys
Mate dug one out today from his childhood.. I havent seen one in 40yrs!!

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/bicAAOSw8b1aJL-W/s-l1600.jpg)
Post by: Nifty1 on January 09, 2020, 10:32:13 AM
It’s good when old threads come back to life. We made shanghais but bike tube rubber back then was much stretchier. Melted down lead-head nails in a jam tin, then poured slowly into water to make pellets. All illegal now I think.
Post by: Heavensent on January 09, 2020, 10:39:12 AM
Meccano Sets... Metal toys
Mate dug one out today from his childhood.. I havent seen one in 40yrs!!

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/bicAAOSw8b1aJL-W/s-l1600.jpg)
My boy got some for christmas.
Hes loving it but he struggles with fine motor skills so getting everything tight is hard for him.

I spent my days as a kid on my bmx, junping on the trampoline and playing lego.
Had a stint of roller hockey after the mighty ducks movies came out.

Farm life sure pushes you to be outside more.
Spent week out on the farm over christmas, was so good seeing my kids all outside so much, especially on thier bikes.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: edz on January 09, 2020, 09:22:35 PM
DIY canoe  from an old sheet of corrugated iron, curved up to make a hull then hammered around a timber post each end ... limited ways to seal the thing equaled countless hours in the creek on hot days, sinking and bailing it out, not to mention the odd cuts from the rough tin work ..  ;D
Post by: Bird on January 09, 2020, 09:36:17 PM
Quote from: Heavensen
Spent week out on the farm over christmas, was so good seeing my kids all outside so much, especially on thier bikes.
I think its something all kids need and should be pushed towards....

My son and all his mates are welded to electronic games... no life apart from that.
Post by: edz on January 09, 2020, 10:00:50 PM
OOPS The charge leads are missing  ;D
Post by: garryc on January 10, 2020, 06:55:26 AM
we used to get a piece of Masonite, polish the smooth side with Johnsons floor wax and use them for sand sleds after the rutile mining had been through the beaches and made sand hills
Post by: ADTradie on January 10, 2020, 07:59:13 AM
Adding to the preceding, I recall spending a lot of childhood time making and flying kites.

Post by: chester ver2.0 on January 10, 2020, 08:20:48 AM
An old school trampoline. Mind you not with any of today's weak and safe mesh style cover im talking a vinyl base with no pads on the springs

I remember one time we decided with the neighborhood kids it would be awesome to wet it with the hose

When dad got home he said it was a scene out of his time at Vietnam. Bodies layed out on the ground being triage for broken wrists etc and waiting for medivac to hospital or back to their parents place
Post by: Kangaron on January 10, 2020, 09:04:53 AM
1950's First Version of the Board Game, ‘Test Match’ Cricket by John Waddington Ltd.
This first version is not so much of a game as a device for simulating a test match. The board holds a score board and two rotating randomizers. The bowler rotates his handle to first ball of the over and back to the start, revealing a type of ball (leg break, bouncer, etc). The batsman rotates his handle to the type of ball bowled, and back again, revealing a batsman scoring runs or being dismissed, (a game of chance as opposed to skill).

Post by: MattNQ on January 10, 2020, 09:34:16 AM
1950's First Version of the Board Game, ‘Test Match’ Cricket by John Waddington Ltd.
This first version is not so much of a game as a device for simulating a test match. The board holds a score board and two rotating randomizers. The bowler rotates his handle to first ball of the over and back to the start, revealing a type of ball (leg break, bouncer, etc). The batsman rotates his handle to the type of ball bowled, and back again, revealing a batsman scoring runs or being dismissed, (a game of chance as opposed to skill).
We loved this game. Many hours spent.  Used to even play full 5 day test matches with it in the school holidays. I sure don't have that attention span now.
When the batter's slide thingy broke, we batted by flicking his head back. Which had the benefit that when batting you could hit sixes out of the room.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on January 10, 2020, 09:47:24 AM
Quote from: MattNQ
We loved this game. Many hours spent.  Used to even play full 5 day test matches with it in the school holidays. I sure don't have that attention span now.
When the batter's slide thingy broke, we batted by flicking his head back. Which had the benefit that when batting you could hit sixes out of the room.

I had problems with the bowler, if you flicked his arm to try to bowl fast (it didnt) it would shoot the ball out on the full over the keeperLOL

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/40654315_316126092277189_2526791425593442304_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&_nc_ohc=bXKDAvhtbNUAX8eCANC&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=4a7d1f228ea5b5d9ff193e26698c94c8&oe=5E9AFCEB)
Post by: Heavensent on January 10, 2020, 10:05:18 AM
An old school trampoline. Mind you not with any of today's weak and safe mesh style cover im talking a vinyl base with no pads on the springs

I remember one time we decided with the neighborhood kids it would be awesome to wet it with the hose

When dad got home he said it was a scene out of his time at Vietnam. Bodies layed out on the ground being triage for broken wrists etc and waiting for medivac to hospital or back to their parents place
Used to do that all the time.
Same deal no nets, no mats.

But i used to squirt dish washing liquid on it first.
Dam was slippery but so mych fun.
Had some big bubble piles too.

Post by: Rhojef on January 10, 2020, 10:34:26 AM
Had a pushbike from the time I was 6. Only rule was it had to be home before the streetlights came on.
Other great time was the horses in the paddock behind our place. We were allowed to ride them around the paddock as much as we wanted unsupervised.  Can't imagine that happening these days.
Post by: Kangaron on January 10, 2020, 03:22:31 PM
I had problems with the bowler, if you flicked his arm to try to bowl fast (it didnt) it would shoot the ball out on the full over the keeperLOL

Different game Bruce.
Post by: Troopy_03 on January 10, 2020, 03:36:39 PM
DIY canoe  from an old sheet of corrugated iron, curved up to make a hull then hammered around a timber post each end ... limited ways to seal the thing equaled countless hours in the creek on hot days, sinking and bailing it out, not to mention the odd cuts from the rough tin work ..  ;D

We used to do that too. Vertical piece of board for the front, and a horizontal board across the back for a transom. We used to dig up chunks of melted tar off the roads, where it had pooled when it melted in the heat, to seal it. And if we had any rag, used to layer it with the tar to patch up bigger holes. We used to sink them in the creek somewhere not easy to see, so we didn't have to lug them home after playing with them.

Pretty much like this, but not quite as wide across the stern.
Post by: glenm64 on January 10, 2020, 04:31:37 PM
Knuckle bones.

Post by: Kangaron on January 10, 2020, 04:35:04 PM
Strech.
You start out with your feet spread as far apart as possible. Two guys facing each other.

One throws a knife into the ground between the feet of his opponent. He must move one foot, his choice, next to the standing knife.

Next, he throws his knife.

Etc. Etc.

The feet get closer and closer together and the amount of ground in which to stick the knives gets smaller and smaller.

Sooner or later, one will jump, flinch, or just quit.
Post by: Swannie on January 12, 2020, 02:35:15 PM
As a young bloke around 10 we would
Put on full motorcycle gear and run around shooting each other with an air rifle!!! The good old days

Post by: GeoffA on January 12, 2020, 03:05:23 PM
Used to ride around the paddocks on a 2 stroke mower engine between 2 wheel-barrow wheels.
A gallon of BP Zoom cost 50c, and it would last all weekend....
Post by: timmyh80 on January 12, 2020, 06:25:31 PM

The sprinkler and the trampoline was always a hit at our house.
We also used to stand ours up on it's side, run, jump on, grab the top rail and surf it as it tipped over.

Post by: timmyh80 on January 12, 2020, 06:29:20 PM
When we got to early teens, we spent most of our summers swimming in the main irrigation channel (no we were not meant to according to the water authority)
Then we discovered we could put our little tinny in with a rope and surfboard and Scurf up and down it. Good times.

Post by: edz on January 13, 2020, 10:22:06 AM
Dad built /  taught us how to make a Billy cart using old gal inch water pipe frame welded up with an ancient  stick welder and wheel barrow wheels ..
We carved a track down the steep sloped side of the creek bank and weaved in through the willow trees then  had a 90* turn right on the edge of the creek bank ..  My older brothers and I ended up going up side down off that bank into the deep pool in creek about twenty times a day, But christ it was fun .. Would give anything to go back to those days ..
Post by: Bird on January 13, 2020, 10:37:06 AM
Had a cubby house made from an old 15/20ft sq shipping crate, that dad and mates had lifted up into a tree, only 20-30ft up.. Cut some windows in it, made a shonky roof... and it was useable :)

Gee you could see the red tape and councils having strokes over that these days :(
eg: https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1429812 (https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1429812)
https://www.news.com.au/national/million-fine-for-the-kids-backyard-cubby-put-up-without-council-approval/news-story/3b6634d0ca8fcf850d543724586f3ff7?sv=bd5e872ef487fae4ecc3e360456a71e4 (https://www.news.com.au/national/million-fine-for-the-kids-backyard-cubby-put-up-without-council-approval/news-story/3b6634d0ca8fcf850d543724586f3ff7?sv=bd5e872ef487fae4ecc3e360456a71e4)
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-02-23/boys-backyard-cubby-house-sparks-bureaucratic-council-process/6217164 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-02-23/boys-backyard-cubby-house-sparks-bureaucratic-council-process/6217164)
https://www.3aw.com.au/victorian-council-orders-demolition-of-childrens-cubby-house/ (https://www.3aw.com.au/victorian-council-orders-demolition-of-childrens-cubby-house/)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 13, 2020, 02:02:12 PM
Had a cubby house made from an old 15/20ft sq shipping crate, that dad and mates had lifted up into a tree, only 20-30ft up.. Cut some windows in it, made a shonky roof... and it was useable :)

Gee you could see the red tape and councils having strokes over that these days :(

I may have one built in a couple of trees with satellite view blocked out, kids still use it a bit but they are getting a bit old now. Possibly one of them will move into it in a couple of years

Post by: Bird on January 13, 2020, 02:05:17 PM
Quote from: GGV8Cruza
Possibly one of them will move into it in a couple of years
LOL... I dont doubt it either.
Post by: edz on January 16, 2020, 11:53:26 PM
James has done what Ive always wanted tried to as a kid,  see how far a glider / paper plane would go .. Just couldnt get a high enough point to launch one .  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y19b0KCFiVc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y19b0KCFiVc)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on January 17, 2020, 07:32:28 AM
Skurfing

Mate had an old forward control tinny with a 25 Johnson on the back. Us kids had old surfboards and at 15 were lucky to weigh 45kg wringing wet

Hours of fun
Post by: edz on January 17, 2020, 08:46:22 AM
Summer fun with a group of mates Riding a couple of  old bikes flat out off the  jetty near the trawler base into the river, Then having to haul the bloody things back up out of the water to do it all again ..
I'm sure the guys on the trawlers thought we were mad . BUT it was fun .
Post by: Heavensent on January 17, 2020, 09:14:14 PM
Fireball soccer was always good fun.
Nothing like kicking a flaming ball arpumd the dunes at night.
Didnt have to worry about losing it in the dark

Post by: Bird on January 22, 2020, 01:22:36 PM
Imagine the Shit kids would get in now for 1/2 the things mentioned in the thread LOL!
Post by: edz on January 22, 2020, 01:58:34 PM
Nothing wrong with milking the Boat / mower fuel tank and putting small amounts of petrol into vegimite / jam jars .. To make Molotov Cocktails for our war games ..
I cant recall a kid ever getting burnt / cut from the flying glass or petrol .. Added a great realistic effect too .. 
Now those mongrels that wrapped rocks in the mud ball Grenades needed a Bloody good flogging, They Friggen well hurt ..  ;D ;D

Paddler Ed, Might need to check the drain at the van park entrance, If its still there You might find some of my Molotov fragments .  ;D ;D
Post by: Hairs on January 22, 2020, 04:43:36 PM
Imagine the Shit kids would get in now for 1/2 the things mentioned in the thread LOL!
Pouring petrol on cane toads and watching as they jumped all over sport grounds near the Ballina Football club(it was an open paddock back in the day 1977).

Guy Fawkes Night. The same block of ground.
The whole town would bring old furniture, pallets, logs, old fencing, old boats/punts.
Up she'd go, all the kids would run around with crackers, mothers would scream at kids to not go close to the fire and fathers/dads and men would stand around having a few beers and laughing.

Post by: rockrat on January 22, 2020, 06:31:29 PM
I used to love cracker night when I was a kid. I would save up my pocket money for weeks. I had an old Globite school port that I would keep them in until the big night. Except the occasional cracker or two I would sneak out to make a bunger with. Not entirely sure how but somehow dad always knew when i did!

Post by: Troopy_03 on January 22, 2020, 09:12:25 PM
Nothing wrong with milking the Boat / mower fuel tank and putting small amounts of petrol into vegimite / jam jars .. To make Molotov Cocktails for our war games ..
I cant recall a kid ever getting burnt / cut from the flying glass or petrol .. Added a great realistic effect too .. 
Now those mongrels that wrapped rocks in the mud ball Grenades needed a Bloody good flogging, They Friggen well hurt ..  ;D ;D

Paddler Ed, Might need to check the drain at the van park entrance, If its still there You might find some of my Molotov fragments .  ;D ;D

Back in Georges Hall, in the 60's, we used to make them out of the red clay that was everywhere. Used to carve the grooves into them, to make them look like an authentic pineapple, and let them set in the sun for a couple of days. You didn't need any rocks in them. LOL
Post by: edz on January 23, 2020, 09:54:46 AM
My boy got some for christmas.
Hes loving it but he struggles with fine motor skills so getting everything tight is hard for him.

I spent my days as a kid on my bmx, junping on the trampoline and playing lego.
Had a stint of roller hockey after the mighty ducks movies came out.

This is cool https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMlxxJ4dHx8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMlxxJ4dHx8)
Post by: timmyh80 on January 23, 2020, 03:17:03 PM
Fireball soccer was always good fun.
Nothing like kicking a flaming ball arpumd the dunes at night.
Didnt have to worry about losing it in the dark

Fireball soccer was great! We did this a few times with a church youth group, could you imagine trying to do it these days?

Post by: GBC on January 23, 2020, 09:08:34 PM
As a young bloke around 10 we would
Put on full motorcycle gear and run around shooting each other with an air rifle!!! The good old days

We got a flogging off the neighbour’s old man one day. It took him a month to do the forensics on his house but he eventually worked out we had dressed up in his leathers and helmet, hung the stainless steel dog water bowl on the dart board hook, and ‘played ricochets’ with the .177 in their besser block garage area .........
I can’t imagine what I’d do to my boys if I found them doing half the stupid stuff we got up to.
Post by: edz on February 07, 2020, 06:03:31 PM
Searching for a toy gun from my junior days and found these https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDMidB2eWd0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDMidB2eWd0)  get arrested if you had these today  ;D ;D
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjuuGRcYWW0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjuuGRcYWW0) 
Post by: Kangaron on February 07, 2020, 07:17:48 PM
Searching for a toy gun from my junior days and found these https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDMidB2eWd0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDMidB2eWd0)  get arrested if you had these today  ;D ;D
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjuuGRcYWW0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjuuGRcYWW0)

The toy 30/30 Winchester.
I caught a bloke out on a pig shooting trip in the 70's.
He was taking photos of boars with the toy 30/30 leaning on them.
The pics did look impressive, biggest boars I ever saw.
Post by: Fizzie on February 09, 2020, 08:16:28 AM

Here you go then Edz - I'm sure that it'd be fine! ;D ::)

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/rubber-band-minigun/ (https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/rubber-band-minigun/)
Post by: noel_w on March 06, 2020, 11:24:15 AM
Used to have fun with bolt bombs except instead of using match head scratchings I used ammo powder as it was there and readily accessible. Growing up on a farm meant there were some quite big nuts and bolts hanging around and plenty of ammo powder.
Post by: Bird on March 06, 2020, 02:48:37 PM
Used to have fun with bolt bombs
Shit I'd forgotten them!!!!!!! LOL

the other great one was a Frozen Grapefruit or Orange canon using PVC pipe lolol
Post by: Shippo on March 06, 2020, 04:50:40 PM
Used to have fun with bolt bombs....
Bolt Bombs, now theres something I havent thought about for a long time! I was the youngest out of all my cousins and family friends so therefore easily led astray and always eager to impress the older ones. I remember them telling me to throw a bolt bomb and when it went off, one of the ends went straight through my legs and hit the fence behind me! A little bit higher or off to the side and it would of been disaster!
I also remember as a teenager seperating the heads out of 22 bullets and using them in my slingshot. Funny how if I caught my kids doing anything like that I would crack it at them for being dangerous! Do as I say and not as I did!
Post by: MattNQ on March 06, 2020, 09:57:57 PM

Used to have fun with bolt bombs
I remember them. Must be 30 years since I've seen one.
Another one we used to do was the old matchbox bombs. Make sure a full box of matches has the heads all up one end.  Rip off the striking panel and slide it in gently against the matchheads. Tape the box up tightly with electrical tape. Throw it against a hard surface. Made a bang without the shrapnel. A bit more benign, but still  fun when you were young. A full lighter also made a nice pop when hurled against a concrete wall.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

Post by: tedota on March 07, 2020, 12:08:08 AM
No bolt bomb but bake beans in the fire. Jesus they burnt ya when they went off if you were to close.
Post by: edz on March 07, 2020, 01:11:19 AM
Made a match head fueled golfball sized throw downs out of masking tape, I may or may not have nearly burnt down our caravan and annex ..
First one I did,  I stood in doorway of the caravan and hoyked  the throwdown full force onto the concrete slab and away it went  shooting a jet of flame  what looked about a foot out of it.
Tons of white smoke and scorching / smouldering anything it hit with its blowtorch flame tail in its crazy spinning richochette course around the annex . ..
The old man never ever  worked out what caused or how  those scorch marks got there .. He knew I had to be involved in them somehow though . 
R.I.P. Dad,  yep it was me and this is how it was done 44 years ago ..  :angel:
Post by: austastar on March 07, 2020, 08:15:46 AM
   Empty 22 shells, a box of matches and a tram track,
Load shells with match heads and crimp closed.
Arrange along tram lines to create an interesting rhythm before said tram comes to a screeching stop.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Cammo on March 07, 2020, 08:24:47 AM
I loved the plastic soldiers with the parachutes, used to throw them off the house and shed roof and watch them float down.
Post by: Heavensent on March 07, 2020, 08:53:17 AM
Dam!!!! and i thought we were hard core blowing up 44 gallon drums in the sand dunes.
Nice fire made with few pallets. Bit of petrol/diesel mix added with what ever left over oil was still in it. Chuck it on and run.
Lids used to go flying.

Post by: MB TD42 on April 23, 2020, 02:34:44 PM
Had a skateboard and a BMX from the Salvos...got a new Lego kit every year for Xmas...used go next door to play with there Tonka trucks n match box cars.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk