Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1755445 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3400 on: December 19, 2016, 04:35:21 PM »
I'm sure there is a comment/suggestion about getting rid of some other dead weight by you sleeping in a swag instead, but being nearly Christmas I won't go there mate!!

PMSL. Mystic loved it

Offline Ragman

« Reply #3401 on: December 24, 2016, 05:47:39 PM »
hooked up a flexi cable connector to the reversing camera on the CT.

« Reply #3402 on: December 24, 2016, 06:16:12 PM »
2 weeks ago I filled a container with water, sugar, weetbix and yeast and yesterday I converted into 80% ethanol and today I watered some down to 40% and tasted it, very young, very raw, very smooth, :cup: and better than anything under $60-00 pb that you can buy, trying to wait another 6 months  >:D

« Reply #3403 on: December 24, 2016, 06:19:36 PM »
Tried to reduce the ever growing Slab collection ,,,,, l might be on top of it Sooonish or Sooo                           :cup:                             :cheers:

« Reply #3404 on: December 27, 2016, 02:53:59 PM »
have had one of these for a while to use at powered sites:

so i grabbed an old plastic ammo case i had, cut the 12v socket off the unit, wired it into a 12v socket (switched) and an anderson plug for more connectivity:

the unit itself has a small fan working, so i added a vent/filter at the back to prevent overheating:

nice job to get done while watching the cricket and the rain here in mackay... :)

« Last Edit: December 27, 2016, 03:19:25 PM by paceman »

« Reply #3405 on: January 01, 2017, 11:15:21 PM »
Well when we cleaned out dads, I found my old bike layin on the ground looking very sad...

The handle grips had actually turned to Jelly.. I had to slice then shave off the rest!

So after many discussions with Murucycles (much thanks for advice Wayne... Awesome bloke!)...
... and a donor bike and bits from a not so random bloke on bicycles.net.au forum - that it turns out about 8+ years ago on Exploroz I offered to let him stay at our joint, I didn't remember him, but he remembered me (legend  :cup: ) (warthog1) the bike started to come together..

So far all I've replaced is the wheels/tyres and cable inners.. Paint handle bars and gooseneck, lubed everything well
Still a few things to paint and touch up...
- chain to replace,
- rear gear cable that freyed to Shit while threading the new one
- a derailleur to remember how to adjust, but all gears work after stripping down the shifters with some great advice from the dudes at Casey cycles (went in to buy new shifters and they told me how to repair mine :) ),
- grips to fit, but didn't have any hairspray at home
Also need to find some decent barends, since my left arm doesn't straighten out anymore, hanging on can be a bit of a mission
something like these

I'd like to have reused the original hub/rims but the spokes are corroded to Shit, I could polish the heck out of rims and hubs - but most places want a billionty kg's of gold to lace new spokes up to em :( I've never laced a wheel (although my boss did try and teach me ONCE, and had the Shits that I didn't 100% nail it after that) it and all I can picture is a rim that looks like an egg :( I did think of tryin to rebuild it 1 spoke at a time (cut one, replace it etc.. ??? but wouldn't be able to polish easily that way either. )
`
and somehow through all of this, I ended up with 2 of em :D

« Last Edit: January 01, 2017, 11:30:40 PM by Bird »

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #3406 on: January 04, 2017, 05:22:42 PM »
Shelves for Jayco Swan Outback Cupboard.....finally !!

I know this topic has come up elsewhere previously which I have read and thought helpful for others with Jayco's and other similar pop tops...but for some reason I thought it was either too hard or too expensive if you pay someone like Jayco to do it.

This post is for others out there like me who may not be the most tradie like workman at home...and especially if you are a....shhh...a public servant like me ;D

Don't know why I let myself get psyched out of putting this off for so long as it was something that we really needed...and as it turns out it was fairly easy to do.

Remember reading on here that someone ( thank you all )mentioned getting the shelves and beading (pine bar) from Bunnings...so off I went this am was lucky to 1... actually find a floor staff bloke to talk to in the timber section and 2....he actually had a caravan so he knew exactly what I needed....amazing.

He showed me where the shelving was and I bought a sheet of 16mm Melamine Colourboard that was fairly close to the same shade that the cupboards were, and as the cost was only $16.65 for the sheet compared to who knows what Jayco would have charged (i have heard whispers of them charging well over $200 for putting shelving in themselves) I thought, as it was only seen when opening the cupboard and would have towels, clothes on them etc...who cares !

As I was only intending on putting two shelves in I only needed one section of pine bar at $9.59.

Had to be careful with inner cupboard measurements as the thing wasn't exactly square, but was close. Measured 3 times just to be sure and cut out the sections with a jigsaw, but had to be careful with this because if you push though the timber too fast you run the risk of the blade running off line and cutting at an angle. I can hear you experienced guys saying..tell us something we don't know...but I don't have any other cutting tools other than hand saws and circular saws and they would no doubt have made a mess of it. Also had to make a small allowances for the inner metal corner bracing as the melamine didn't fit first go because it was a touch too large.

Pre drilled the holes and screwed in the pine bars using 25mm wood screws on a dry run to make sure everything fitted ok and then used liquid nails to secure the shelving to the pine board. No screws poked through the other side of the walls...phew !!

Then went around and sealed the inner shelving edges and wall sides with liquid nails and used my finger to create a smooth surface. Just wish I had some turps at home to clean up the excess residue around the shelving...will have another go at that on the weekend.

Oh...obviously forgot to mention that as we had just got back from a week down at Burleigh Heads Tourist Park last Friday....I actually though it might be a good idea to remove the cupboard from the van so I could have better access while doing the job....amazing for me as I normally only think of that AFTER I have decided to do something on the van !!

Hope this post and the pics help others who may be contemplating doing the same thing.

« Last Edit: January 04, 2017, 05:30:49 PM by archer63 »

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #3407 on: January 04, 2017, 05:23:47 PM »
Couple more of the material sizes.

« Reply #3408 on: January 05, 2017, 07:23:47 AM »
Nice job on the shelves...
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"
The following users thanked this post: archer63

Offline millator

• Martins Astro
« Reply #3409 on: January 05, 2017, 08:19:18 AM »
Sprayed and fitted two pole holders yesterday for the Stirling GT camper trailer, Cherry red and stand off tube clamps from Reece plumbing. All poles fit fit in the 150mm tubes  ;D

« Reply #3410 on: January 05, 2017, 08:28:48 AM »
Sprayed and fitted two pole holders yesterday for the Stirling GT camper trailer, Cherry red and stand off tube clamps from Reece plumbing. All poles fit fit in the 150mm tubes  ;D

looks good...  :cup:

what sort of paint did you use for the PVC?  have had trouble with some in the past adhering to the pipe...

« Reply #3411 on: January 05, 2017, 08:29:33 AM »
they look like torpedo launch tubes  ;D

Offline millator

• Martins Astro
« Reply #3412 on: January 05, 2017, 08:39:28 AM »
looks good...  :cup:

what sort of paint did you use for the PVC?  have had trouble with some in the past adhering to the pipe...

First cleaned it with acetone and then sprayed them with (hate to say it) "British paints" spray easy paint and prime, it is for wood metal and plastic
The following users thanked this post: paceman

Offline millator

• Martins Astro
« Reply #3413 on: January 05, 2017, 08:42:00 AM »
they look like torpedo launch tubes  ;D

SHHHH!!!!! Dont tell everyone  :angel:
Still have room in second launcher for other stuff or maybe beer  :cheers:

« Reply #3414 on: January 05, 2017, 08:49:24 AM »
how many 1000 poles you intending to carry ???

Offline millator

• Martins Astro
« Reply #3415 on: January 05, 2017, 08:56:26 AM »
how many 1000 poles you intending to carry ???

All  ;D

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #3416 on: January 05, 2017, 12:10:37 PM »
Love the red, but I'd replace the stand off clamps with something stronger, as I lost about $1300 worth of fishing rods off the side of my kayak trailer when three of them failed on a trip...

I now use these instead...  From memory they are Rhino Rack Tradesman accessories. http://www.rhinorack.com.au/products/work-solutions/conduits-carriers/150mm-conduit-clamps-x2-_bc2-150

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 12:12:08 PM by DrewXT »
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline millator

• Martins Astro
« Reply #3417 on: January 05, 2017, 12:51:32 PM »
Thanks Drew have to have a look into this  :cheers:

« Reply #3418 on: January 05, 2017, 06:17:55 PM »
Refurbished some louvered windows out of a 40 year old caravan.

Scrubbed, new glass, new gaskets, new seals, repaired broken pivots and lubed them.

3 down. 10 to go....

« Reply #3419 on: January 05, 2017, 08:19:59 PM »
Good luck finding the Little stamped brackets with the hex holes.
They're the ones that operate the opening and closing of the louvre sections from the hex shaped rod attached to the winder.
Both the hex shaft and the bracket are aluminium from memory.

« Reply #3420 on: January 06, 2017, 12:05:52 AM »

Good luck finding the Little stamped brackets with the hex holes.
They're the ones that operate the opening and closing of the louvre sections from the hex shaped rod attached to the winder.
Both the hex shaft and the bracket are aluminium from memory.

Yeah the shaft is ali extrusion and the shaft pivots and winder mech die cast.
Luckily its only the pop rivets on the louvre arms that were broken. I've got a spare window I can pilfer parts from if required.

Hardest part was removing the seized flat blade self tappers. They can ruin your day if they snap off in the screw flutes.

« Reply #3421 on: January 06, 2017, 12:30:25 AM »
Good luck with it, Mi****d Louvre windows weren't the best things in the first place.

Offline toglhot

« Reply #3422 on: January 06, 2017, 04:10:47 PM »
Moved.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2017, 10:29:29 AM by toglhot »

« Reply #3423 on: January 06, 2017, 05:48:28 PM »
I whipped the lawn mower blades of the mower and gave them a hit on the bench grinder. Geez no wonder they didn't cut very well beforehand, bloody things were round on the front edge...lol Made a huge differance, especially when it decided to start bucketing down rain mid mow  >:(
The following users thanked this post: toglhot

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #3424 on: January 06, 2017, 05:49:43 PM »
Replaced 3 basin sets and a cistern float for the in-laws...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup