Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1759431 times)

Offline grafy82

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3300 on: October 28, 2016, 09:39:16 AM »
Put some two stroke in my 1hdt's diesel tank.
Because it's not a CRD piece of crap  ;D

Put some 2 stroke in the 80's tank, and 20 litres of chip oil. Grabbed a drum pump off eBay for $25 which has made it a whole lot easier process to fill up. I scored 18, 20L drums of unused oil from the army base, so I don't even have to filter it. I've been adding one 20L drum per full tank.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar
The following users thanked this post: Hairs

« Reply #3301 on: October 28, 2016, 12:45:15 PM »
Put some 2 stroke in the 80's tank, and 20 litres of chip oil. Grabbed a drum pump off eBay for $25 which has made it a whole lot easier process to fill up. I scored 18, 20L drums of unused oil from the army base, so I don't even have to filter it. I've been adding one 20L drum per full tank.

:cup:  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:

Offline Ben.Archer

« Reply #3302 on: October 28, 2016, 01:37:34 PM »
White vinegar'ed and then Clove oiled the side wall for the annex that had grown a little fur over the winter.  No the whole hose stinks of a strange combination of the two as the wall hang to dry...
2015 Land Rover Discovery 4
2000 90 Series Toyota Prado RV6
2013 MDC Off Road Step-Through V3 - Heavily modded and I am only just starting :-)

« Reply #3303 on: October 28, 2016, 05:51:11 PM »
That'll teach ya!!! ;D ;D ;D

Offline Ben.Archer

« Reply #3304 on: October 28, 2016, 05:58:15 PM »
Lesson learnt, the really smelly way....

The Chinese laundry is now open - not sure though how long I can put up with the smell though before I have to dump them back in the camper.

« Last Edit: October 28, 2016, 06:00:00 PM by Ben.Archer »
2015 Land Rover Discovery 4
2000 90 Series Toyota Prado RV6
2013 MDC Off Road Step-Through V3 - Heavily modded and I am only just starting :-)

« Reply #3305 on: October 28, 2016, 06:20:36 PM »
No benefit without some pain.

« Reply #3306 on: October 28, 2016, 07:56:31 PM »

Haha, wait till the seagulls flock around you while driving down the road.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline grafy82

« Reply #3307 on: October 28, 2016, 09:26:08 PM »
Haha, wait till the seagulls flock around you while driving down the road.

Hahaha, it's surprising how much it does smell like a fish and chip shop.
My old man has been running his 2.8 litre hilux on straight used chip oil for 2 and a half years now with no issues. He just runs it through a paper cone filter before putting it in the tank. Hasn't paid for fuel in a long while.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline Fathom

« Reply #3308 on: October 29, 2016, 05:37:23 PM »
Got some paint work on the Troll a few weeks ago. Due to a disagreement with a dirt wall in the Glasshouse recently.
Paint job was ok. But their buffing was crap.
So got rid of all the swirl marks today. And chucked some wax on. She's all shiny ready to get scratched up again now.

Also changed our the RHR tail light as it may have melted a bit with the HID Bulb I had in there.
Swapped it for some new LED that shouldn't get as hot, but can still use for a camp light.
And seeing as I was already playing with electrical goop.
I cut the alligator clips off the Challengers compressor and added an Anderson plug so I don't need to pop the bonnet anymore.
It's almost like I was a sparky only with no skill, knowledge or ability.

And the new sliders go on the Troll tomorrow.
Poor old girl hasn't had this much attention in ages.
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

Offline Fathom

« Reply #3309 on: October 30, 2016, 11:32:26 AM »
New sliders fitted this morning...

Offline 100bedonderd

« Reply #3310 on: November 06, 2016, 08:23:50 AM »

Started 10 am and work till 4pm ,may just finish it tomorrow

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #3311 on: November 06, 2016, 05:47:06 PM »

Sliders? Id like to see what happens the first time they act as as sliders. ???
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING
The following users thanked this post: Snapman007

Offline Fathom

« Reply #3312 on: November 06, 2016, 06:18:13 PM »
Sliders? Id like to see what happens the first time they act as as sliders. ???
I'd say they would slide.

« Reply #3313 on: November 06, 2016, 06:41:30 PM »

They look awesome. Shouldnt get stuck on any speed humps now  ::)

Offline Fathom

« Reply #3314 on: November 06, 2016, 06:43:42 PM »
They look awesome. Shouldnt get stuck on any speed humps now  ::)
I thought they'd be fine at Coles and even Woolies.
Wasn't sure about Aldi on sale day though.

« Reply #3315 on: November 07, 2016, 08:10:18 AM »
Yeah good point. Might get stuck there

« Reply #3316 on: November 07, 2016, 08:52:05 AM »
Built a chook shed yesterday :)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #3317 on: November 07, 2016, 08:53:24 AM »

Should have fitted lobsters, then you could have had rock lobsters....
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #3318 on: November 07, 2016, 09:45:27 AM »
Set the Kamper up to dry/air out.....love the new shed.  ;D

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline Fathom

What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3319 on: November 07, 2016, 10:08:05 AM »
Should have fitted lobsters, then you could have had rock lobsters....
Now that's thinking!!
Everyone loves seafood!
I wonder how much one would have to shell out for them??

Offline fergy

« Reply #3320 on: November 07, 2016, 10:12:05 AM »

that should protect the sills a bit
sure beats cutting the sills off and putting RHS in there
I haven't seen them made like that before. are they useable as a step
1996 Suzuki Sierra    2008 jayco hawk now gone 1978 millard pop top
Iveco daily 4x4
WR450F

Offline Fathom

« Reply #3321 on: November 07, 2016, 10:42:18 AM »
that should protect the sills a bit
sure beats cutting the sills off and putting RHS in there
I haven't seen them made like that before. are they useable as a step

I was impressed when I saw them.
The guy that makes them calls then a hoop slider.
They still have a full straight beam directly under the sill so will function well as a slider...
They angle up a fair bit. Usable as a step.. not as good as flat for that to be truthful...
The Troll is not exactly low... so never super easy to get into anyway.
I'll probably add a bit of grip tape to the top.
How usable as a step is probably subjective to the height of the vehicle.

I have dinged up the lower door panels once or eight times at Aldi.
So these will protect that a bit more.
The scalloping is perhaps not as pronounced as it looks in the pics.
I think they will add a bit more protection than my last set, which sat flat. Especially on closed in tracks where a fair bit of flex is required.
And I just liked the look of them.

« Reply #3322 on: November 07, 2016, 11:06:45 AM »

I'll probably add a bit of grip tape to the top.

Be careful with the grip tape...............I added some to the top of our sliders and everyone would slide out of the 4x4 and tear up their calves on the grip tape  >:(  .
Ended up removing it to stop the loss of blood and screaming from all involved  ;D

Offline Fathom

« Reply #3323 on: November 07, 2016, 11:27:32 AM »

Be careful with the grip tape...............I added some to the top of our sliders and everyone would slide out of the 4x4 and tear up their calves on the grip tape  >:(  .
Ended up removing it to stop the loss of blood and screaming from all involved  ;D

Perhaps I'll put it on the passenger side only...

« Reply #3324 on: November 07, 2016, 12:09:08 PM »
Quote from: jk
Be careful with the grip tape... I added some to the top of our sliders and everyone would slide out of the 4x4 and tear up their calves on the grip tape  >:(
What he said....