General => General Discussion => Topic started by: vicandug on December 18, 2013, 08:56:36 AM

Title: What's in your first aid kit?
Post by: vicandug on December 18, 2013, 08:56:36 AM
Hi guys...
So many things to think about. (For Ug anyway)
He is a man of lists and his latest is the first aid kid. I don't want to take 20 gazillion band aids and Panadol, just what's needed.
So tell me what's in your first aid kit?
Title: Re: What's in your first aid kit?
Post by: scarps on December 18, 2013, 09:09:26 AM
Bottle of pain killer - Jim Beam
Post by: edz on December 18, 2013, 09:36:51 AM
In no particular order
1st aid book, crepe bandages, elastic bandages, scissors, tweezers, scalple,magnifying glass, splinter picks, plastic tube, eye flush cup, mouth to mouth sheild, gauze pads assorted sizes, saline tubes, roll of strapping tape, roll of elastoplast bandaid, anti hystamine tablets, bettadine, burn gel, panadol, vicks, anticeptic wipes, tooth ache gel,  lighter, small high power torch, plastic bag, cotton buds, safety pins, small mirror . Note pad and pens.
Post by: speewa158 on December 18, 2013, 11:10:46 AM
Stuff to try to put me back together after l do something really stupid ....its a given  :cup:. l just hope thers enough to do the job  :cheers:
Post by: Marschy on December 18, 2013, 11:15:30 AM
Most off the shelf first aid kits lack two essential items. Bandaids and painkillers. Painkillers I can understand, but why do most first aid kits not have bandaids?
Post by: scarps on December 18, 2013, 11:27:02 AM

Stuff to try to put me back together after l do something really stupid ....its a given  :cup:. l just hope thers enough to do the job  :cheers:
Duct tape and Silicone
Post by: muzza01 on December 18, 2013, 11:37:11 AM
In no particular order
1st aid book, crepe bandages, elastic bandages, scissors, tweezers, scalple,magnifying glass, splinter picks, plastic tube, eye flush cup, mouth to mouth sheild, gauze pads assorted sizes, saline tubes, roll of strapping tape, roll of elastoplast bandaid, anti hystamine tablets, bettadine, burn gel, panadol, vicks, anticeptic wipes, tooth ache gel,  lighter, small high power torch, plastic bag, cotton buds, safety pins, small mirror . Note pad and pens.

Ours is a big kit for Cape York trips and a smaller one (basic) that stays in the CT.
Ours is similar to EDZ but we also carry a suture kit, quite a few compression bandages and if you have kids a tube of stingoes.
Post by: MattNQ on December 18, 2013, 11:54:14 AM
In no particular order
what he said...plus space blanket, stingoze, instant cold pack, micropore tape.
Post by: oldmate on December 18, 2013, 11:58:02 AM
and don't forget about pets, if you take them. Our first aid kit propably has more crap for the 2 dogs then for us
Post by: MattNQ on December 18, 2013, 12:02:04 PM
Most off the shelf first aid kits lack two essential items. Bandaids and painkillers. Painkillers I can understand, but why do most first aid kits not have bandaids?

Our work remote area kits still have them.
One reason may be that some bandaids don't last well in the heat of a vehicle - the elastoplast type tape & bandaids do go all sticky if left in a vehicle for a long time.
Post by: AdrianLR on December 18, 2013, 12:14:54 PM
Spray bandage is probably the single most used item in our kit. Stings like hell but very effective at keeping first and water out.

Also duplicates of any special medication (migraine intranasal for my twice-a-year but often when we go camping migraines!)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: Bird on December 18, 2013, 12:15:59 PM
http://safetydave.com.au/first-aid-kits-and-supplies/outback-first-aid-kit/ (http://safetydave.com.au/first-aid-kits-and-supplies/outback-first-aid-kit/)

plus splints and lots more.
Post by: Ben.Archer on December 18, 2013, 02:38:03 PM
My brother in law is a senior paramedic and when I questioned him this exact topic a few years ago thinking I would get a long list of critical items all he said was "only carry what you know how to use......"

I can see some sense in that, especially from someone who spends his life on the end of a helicopter wire pulling people out of remote area's...

Post by: Patr80l on December 18, 2013, 02:53:40 PM
My brother in law is a senior paramedic and when I questioned him this exact topic a few years ago thinking I would get a long list of critical items all he said was "only carry what you know how to use......"

I can see some sense in that, especially from someone who spends his life on the end of a helicopter wire pulling people out of remote area's...

Similar to the advice given on this forum in the past; "Do a First Aid course."

One thing with paramedics and us doctors, we have lots of toys we like to use.   A paramedic's first aid kit is the size of a small truck because it is a small truck.
Post by: Hairs on December 18, 2013, 02:55:27 PM

Speewa,
The 6 million VB can man. ;D
http://youtu.be/5-oJ8sBkiIo (http://youtu.be/5-oJ8sBkiIo)
Post by: AdrianLR on December 18, 2013, 05:09:11 PM

Only agree to some extent. Definitely don't include stuff that could be used to do more harm than good in the wrong hands but like a tool kit, quite often even if you don't know how to use it or aren't confident, someone will come along who can.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: Spada on December 18, 2013, 05:41:50 PM
Don't laugh, but a common injury is gravel rash (skinned knees / elbows when kids fall from pushbikes, or from falling down while bushwalking) so my kit also includes a couple of ladies sanitary napkins- they're sterile, absorbent, non stick, pre shaped to knees and elbows,  and cover a large area.
Post by: MDS69 on December 18, 2013, 06:14:53 PM
Along with the common items listed above we also have a broad spectrum antibiotic in powder form that can be made up into a liquid for administering orally.
Post by: kiwi_camper on December 18, 2013, 08:05:17 PM

I agree Marschy. When I got our camping First Aid Kit (cost $100 mind you) I had to go and spend another $5 on bandaids. I have 8 and 11 year old boys and most of the time it's only bandaids I need. On the off chance it's something more, I have a fully equipped kit. Having a son who is a serious asthmatic, I can't afford to take any chances. I have found that if you have young kids, the kind of stuff you need in your First Aid Kit does differ a bit.
Post by: Hairs on December 18, 2013, 08:10:40 PM
Stingose, is a must especially if you have kids.
Something to take the sting away when they get bitten by ants or stung by wasps/bees.
Post by: Marschy on December 18, 2013, 08:22:03 PM
We also threw a tube of Savlon antiseptic cream in our first aid kit. Excellent stuff if you have chaffing.
Burnaid (http://www.burnaid.com/burnaid-dressing.php) is also a must, particularly if you have small kids around campfires.
Post by: Redcherokee on December 18, 2013, 08:27:34 PM
Soove, Zyrtec, toe nail clippers, extra and normal strength painkillers, Rhinocort, tweezers that work properly, antiseptic spray, gelnet, ankle and knee braces, anti diarrhoea drugs, rehydration/electrolyte powder, aloe tube for sunburn, savlon.  Plus the standard bandages, scissors etc.

Basically take a comprehensive kit and add in the stuff we actually use.
Post by: ewwreckers on December 18, 2013, 08:41:41 PM
The usual bandages, tape, needles, tweezers, scissors, tubes saline, eye wash, savlon, Dettol, bandaid spray, one of those silver blanket things, instant cold pack, stingos, stop itch, hydralyte, sunscreen, aloe vera, tea tree anti fungle gel other stuff.
I also have a tablet box with codral, panadol, nurofen, son's epilepsy meds, ear plugs, sedatives, anti hystamins, gastro stop tablets, butter menthols, etc
Post by: Patr80l on December 19, 2013, 07:12:50 AM
Mine keeps getting bigger as I think of more stuff.
Post by: TheOtherLeft on December 19, 2013, 08:22:07 AM
Only agree to some extent. Definitely don't include stuff that could be used to do more harm than good in the wrong hands but like a tool kit, quite often even if you don't know how to use it or aren't confident, someone will come along who can.

Just hope that "someone" who comes along who decides to use everything in your first aid kit because they watched one of the many Emergency-type shows on the idiot box.
Post by: Patr80l on December 19, 2013, 08:42:18 AM
Beware of those whose confidence exceeds their competence.
(Graduates of the Russel Coight School of Bushcraft)
Post by: galah on December 19, 2013, 08:34:57 PM
Cleaned out the first aid kit the other day. Do you get points for discarding a bottle of mercurochrome that 30 years past its use by date?  Clearly we didn't use the stuff enough.
Post by: tourin n fishin on December 19, 2013, 09:21:19 PM
My wife is a nurse so i'm fortunate to have a helper on family trips (and beer for the boys trips works as a fine substitute ;D). we have the basics plus a couple of pressure bandages for snake bite and a adrenaline needle (epi-pen) for anaphylaxis as my wife has had a couple of allergic reactions before (scary stuff believe me).
Post by: Patr80l on December 19, 2013, 10:48:31 PM
My wife is a nurse so i'm fortunate to have a helper on family trips (and beer for the boys trips works as a fine substitute ;D). we have the basics plus a couple of pressure bandages for snake bite and a adrenaline needle (epi-pen) for anaphylaxis as my wife has had a couple of allergic reactions before (scary stuff believe me).
If she's a nurse, why not get adrenaline ampoules and some syringes?    Dirt cheap, (might even get one for free from a friendly doctor's bag) and she can teach you how to use the needle.    Adrenaline doesn't need a prescription.    Epi-pens are worth over $100 each.   (or less, as a restricted pharmaceutical benefit with a script)
Post by: Burnsy on December 19, 2013, 11:56:18 PM
Along with the common items listed above we also have a broad spectrum antibiotic in powder form that can be made up into a liquid for administering orally.

Often thought this would be handy and had need for it a few times but how do you get a hold of it and how long does the powder last?
Post by: tourin n fishin on December 20, 2013, 12:00:15 AM
If she's a nurse, why not get adrenaline ampoules and some syringes?    Dirt cheap, (might even get one for free from a friendly doctor's bag) and she can teach you how to use the needle.    Adrenaline doesn't need a prescription.    Epi-pens are worth over $100 each.   (or less, as a restricted pharmaceutical benefit with a script)

Sounds good but there's no way In hell im giving a needle to anyone. I just couldn't do it
Post by: bully on December 20, 2013, 04:47:32 AM
Cable ties and 401 locktite (super glue )
Post by: Patr80l on December 20, 2013, 06:06:36 AM
Sounds good but there's no way In hell im giving a needle to anyone. I just couldn't do it
a) The epi-pen is a needle.  I assume you would give that.
b) If you're in a remote area you may need to give more than one dose
c) If she was dying in front of you, you could do it
d) If c) applied it would be good if you'd practiced on an orange at home first.
Post by: Patr80l on December 20, 2013, 06:14:33 AM

Often thought this would be handy and had need for it a few times but how do you get a hold of it and how long does the powder last?

I don't think antibiotics belong in a first aid kit.   They are a prescription item for good reason and it would be extremely unlikely that they would make a difference in a first aid setting.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on December 20, 2013, 06:44:01 AM
One thing I haven't noticed anyone mention, and is something for Southerners to consider when stepping back in time (travelling to Qld) is vinegar. At least 2 litres of it.

If you see your kids come running out of the water screaming histerically, you'll be needing that vinegar.  :laugh:

Shane.
Post by: Socks on December 20, 2013, 10:44:57 AM
a) The epi-pen is a needle.  I assume you would give that.
b) If you're in a remote area you may need to give more than one dose
c) If she was dying in front of you, you could do it
d) If c) applied it would be good if you'd practiced on an orange at home first.

Yes the epi-pen is a needle but you simply put it in the leg and press and it self injects. Very very different from giving an actual injection and much safer. I've used both and I doubt I'd be able to administer a needle in an emergency but the epi-pen takes away a lot of the issues with needles. Just my opinion of course

Post by: Bird on February 25, 2014, 07:03:47 AM
http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/23046 (http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/23046)

Reasonable kits :)
Post by: Brumbypt on February 25, 2014, 08:57:39 AM
I bought one of those 4wd action first aid boxes..

the box or case itself is very high grade, (Well it feels like it is) and was half filled with goodies.

Probably has cobwebs in it by now..

I should really put some whiskey in it..

anyway there is plenty of room for adding extras.

ANYONE else have one..

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.6 using Tapatalk HD
Post by: smartyingreen on February 25, 2014, 01:09:54 PM
Always carry too much gear in mine - one of the side effects of working in the field. Best option for those with basic first aid skills out camping should be a remote kit - realistically shouldn't need to add much extra that hasn't already been mentioned.
I just like to fix my hangover sooner with my extras!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: Pog on February 25, 2014, 02:29:43 PM
Truth be known - Smartingreen took a 'Birthing Kit' on his last trip.

He nearly used it on Sunday after he ate a 2kg rump steak for dinner on Saturday night.....
Post by: Patr80l on February 25, 2014, 07:51:17 PM
My first aid kit: Snake bite,paregoric,  antitoxic serum,painkillers.
Aid kit: cold medicine, sun cream, berberine, bandage, band-aid, Vitamin tablets, eyewash, safflower oil, tweezers?scissors, antibiotic cream, antidiarrheal, sterile cloth, flushing fluid, relieve sunburn pain spray.
I had to google a couple of those!   Some oldies I've never heard of here in Australia.   Probably not even legal.
Post by: smartyingreen on February 25, 2014, 07:54:33 PM
I had to google a couple of those!   Some oldies I've never heard of here in Australia.   Probably not even legal.

Glad it wasn't just me that had no idea on some of his listed items!

Post by: Patr80l on February 25, 2014, 08:31:42 PM
Glad it wasn't just me that had no idea on some of his listed items!

Don't feel bad; I'm a doctor and I had no idea.
Post by: pinkmia on April 03, 2014, 11:37:32 PM
Just dont forget the teeth  i have purchased emergency tooth filling dental/ kits i  think i got for 2 kits for around $35 ex UK it can be a long way from help when you have a tooth ache.
Post by: SteveandViv on April 04, 2014, 12:56:13 AM
Mine keeps getting bigger as I think of more stuff.

Dude, so much bigger than last year  ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on April 04, 2014, 12:58:00 AM
Two things I won't go away with out. One is Emla Anesthetic cream and splinter removers. Throw the cream on for 15 mins and you can get a good dig a those deep splinters. Also good for Mossie bites
Post by: Patr80l on April 04, 2014, 07:40:01 AM
Dude, so much bigger than last year  ;D
I have just added some bone injection guns. Do I win?
Post by: paceman on April 04, 2014, 08:30:26 AM
anyone got any suggestions for a starter kit to buy, so then things can be added to it?

something like this?

http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/First-Aid-Kit-126-Piece.aspx?pid=306945#Cross (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/First-Aid-Kit-126-Piece.aspx?pid=306945#Cross)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on April 04, 2014, 10:19:36 AM
Standard Catagory Level 2 kit with the following added

Betadine (will kill any infection)
Nurofen Plus (pain killer)
Hemmaroid cream (will get rid of severe bruising in 3 days)
Space Blanket (for shock)
Immodium ( for when you could not see the sea but ate the seafood)
Magnesium Tablets (crook in the guts take 3 of these and keep a clear path to the toilet in 8hrs)
Berroca Tablets (contains electorlytes for dehydration)
Super glue (not pretty but will seal a large cut)
Roll of Elasto plast tape with padding strip (bandaids are useless)
Post by: bazt on April 04, 2014, 11:45:11 AM
Dont forget that a lot of the stuff in first aid kits have a expiry date even things like scissors and tweezers sealed in plastic. Check and you may be surprised
Post by: GraemeL on April 04, 2014, 12:19:58 PM
I have one of those 4x4 first aid kits I bought from a first aid company. It is a soft bag that folds out and has different compartments for everything. I was surprised at just how much was included and haven't needed to add much at all.

Post by: Robbo on April 04, 2014, 01:03:32 PM
My First Aid Supplies..Simple but effective.. ;D
Post by: Patr80l on April 04, 2014, 04:42:58 PM
Standard Catagory Level 2 kit with the following added

Betadine (will kill any infection)
Nurofen Plus (pain killer)
Hemmaroid cream (will get rid of severe bruising in 3 days)
Space Blanket (for shock)
Immodium ( for when you could not see the sea but ate the seafood)
Magnesium Tablets (crook in the guts take 3 of these and keep a clear path to the toilet in 8hrs)
Berroca Tablets (contains electorlytes for dehydration)
Super glue (not pretty but will seal a large cut)
Roll of Elasto plast tape with padding strip (bandaids are useless)

Hmmmm.   Good list but it needs a few adjustments.
Betadine can be used to clean a contaminated external wound but will not treat an infection.   One problem with Betadine is it's brown!   It can make it hard to see the dirt!   Normal Saline or even water is better to flush a heavily contaminated wound before you use the betadine to kill the bugs.
Put ice on a bruise every two hours for the first couple of days.   I dont think haemorrhoid cream makes much of a difference and if it does it's only to the visible discolouration which is not really the same as healing.
Berocca is a multivitamin.   It has low levels of sodium (the main electrolyte) and no sugar.   There are better electrolyte tablets.
A space blanket is for when the patient is cold (hypothermic).   If the patient is in shock, keep them warm but don't overheat them.   You can get very hot under a space blanket.   By the way, shock (ie inadequate oxygen delivery to the tissues for whatever reason) is a medical emergency.   The patient needs urgent transfer to hospital.
Imodium is for severe diarrhoea.   If it's not too bad it's better to put up with it and let the bug out of your system.   It wont help nausea and vomiting, for that you need Maxolon (on prescription).
Cyanoacrylate can be used to close small cuts and lacerations.   If you use non-medical superglue, make sure it's a new tube and hopefully a little bit sterile.   It is also very important to make sure a wound is clean before you close it, otherwise you run the risk of a wound infection with delayed healing and a bigger scar.   If in doubt, it's better to leave it open and cover it with a sterile dressing, even if there might be a delay before you can get it seen by a doctor.
I agree bandaids are pretty useless.   Remember though that a roll of elastoplast wont be sterile so take care if using it on a wound.   There are some great dressings such as Primapore which are like a jumbo bandaid and these are good for large abrasions etc.
Post by: Terry W4 on April 04, 2014, 08:34:57 PM
I have a Trafalgar First Aid kit bought when I used to fly aeroplanes. It is a good unit - weighs 1kg.  I have kept it current. But I added a signal mirror, lighter, compass and other stuff to make it effective when in a remote location. I also have a second one provided by my Toyota dealer which is quite good containing mainly bandages and other straps - I keep both in the Prado.
Post by: SteveandViv on April 06, 2014, 11:41:59 PM
Betadine can be used to clean a contaminated external wound but will not treat an infection.   One problem with Betadine is it's brown!   It can make it hard to see the dirt!   Normal Saline or even water is better to flush a heavily contaminated wound before you use the betadine to kill the bugs.
Put ice on a bruise every two hours for the first couple of days.   I dont think haemorrhoid cream makes much of a difference and if it does it's only to the visible discolouration which is not really the same as healing.
Berocca is a multivitamin.   It has low levels of sodium (the main electrolyte) and no sugar.   There are better electrolyte tablets.
A space blanket is for when the patient is cold (hypothermic).   If the patient is in shock, keep them warm but don't overheat them.   You can get very hot under a space blanket.   By the way, shock (ie inadequate oxygen delivery to the tissues for whatever reason) is a medical emergency.   The patient needs urgent transfer to hospital.
Imodium is for severe diarrhoea.   If it's not too bad it's better to put up with it and let the bug out of your system.   It wont help nausea and vomiting, for that you need Maxolon (on prescription).
Cyanoacrylate can be used to close small cuts and lacerations.   If you use non-medical superglue, make sure it's a new tube and hopefully a little bit sterile.   It is also very important to make sure a wound is clean before you close it, otherwise you run the risk of a wound infection with delayed healing and a bigger scar.   If in doubt, it's better to leave it open and cover it with a sterile dressing, even if there might be a delay before you can get it seen by a doctor.
I agree bandaids are pretty useless.   Remember though that a roll of elastoplast wont be sterile so take care if using it on a wound.   There are some great dressings such as Primapore which are like a jumbo bandaid and these are good for large abrasions etc.

Good points indeed. Just a note. You can buy Anigrain over the counter which has Paracetamol and Maxalon or Nausitil which has paracetamol and Stemitil. They are sold as Migrain tablets but handy if you need some nausia tablets.
Post by: smartyingreen on April 07, 2014, 06:23:53 PM
I have just added some bone injection guns. Do I win?

Ha, I did actually get handed an IO gun on my last trip out in the bush last year - could have come in handy if one of the 80 Postie bike riders fell off and I couldn't get IV access!

Post by: disco1 on April 10, 2014, 01:45:55 PM

Have a home first aid kit (modified) and a large trauma kit, spig and cuff, steth, also found assorted airways, magill forceps, maternaty kit, and a few other things that i can't use any more. passed my only first aid course in1968

Mauri.

Post by: Bird on March 21, 2016, 09:47:06 AM
Quote from: Patr80l

Cyanoacrylate can be used to close small cuts and lacerations.   If you use non-medical superglue, make sure it's a new tube and hopefully a little bit sterile.   
It is also very important to make sure a wound is clean before you close it, otherwise you run the risk of a wound infection with delayed healing and a bigger scar.  If in doubt, it's better to leave it open and cover it with a sterile dressing, even if there might be a delay before you can get it seen by a doctor.

I agree bandaids are pretty useless.   Remember though that a roll of elastoplast wont be sterile so take care if using it on a wound.
There are some great dressings such as Primapore which are like a jumbo bandaid and these are good for large abrasions etc.
great info.
Post by: jk on March 21, 2016, 11:21:05 AM
We have two kits, one in the Landcruiser and another in the camper ( because if your at camp and the 4x4's not you don't have a kit handy ). I've put most of the common things in as well as Tooth Ache drops, Ventolin, Ear Drops, Burn Aid etc.
We keep the Landcruiser Kit in a Pelican Case so it's dry and dust free and the one in the camper is a soft fold out type !

Post by: Bird on October 25, 2022, 11:47:27 AM
Time again to restock with non expired stuff... any good places these days to buy supplies at good $?
Post by: ronmac on October 25, 2022, 01:56:11 PM
Time again to restock with non expired stuff... any good places these days to buy supplies at good $?
[/
I use a place up in Newcastle, NSW. Called Survival I also have the Snake bite kit by the same company a great bit of gear. cheers Ron.
Post by: Brij on October 25, 2022, 05:29:39 PM

This is who i use to restock our business first aid kits (6 or 7 depot kits as well as nearly 100 small kits from trucks and cars).
Small family company. Also does training and privides first aid at events, so have the real life knowledge to back the product.

https://www.1staidkits.com.au/

https://www.1staidkits.com.au/ (https://www.1staidkits.com.au/)
Post by: Hairs on October 28, 2022, 05:34:51 PM

This is who i use to restock our business first aid kits (6 or 7 depot kits as well as nearly 100 small kits from trucks and cars).
Small family company. Also does training and privides first aid at events, so have the real life knowledge to back the product.

https://www.1staidkits.com.au/

https://www.1staidkits.com.au/ (https://www.1staidkits.com.au/)

Thank you for the link.
I appreciate it. Cheers.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.