Author Topic: You may need to turn your monitor on its side for this.  (Read 8584 times)

You may need to turn your monitor on its side for this.
« on: August 23, 2012, 06:48:57 PM »
The wife and i both enjoy a good hot shower, which is why i bought the aquacube thing.

The twin towers ensuite is on its way, but i wanted something we could stand in to shower and do it easy.

OK, I'm no handyman, in fact, i'm more of a Homer Simpson than a handy man, but anyway, this what i've done. By the way, the wife loves it too.

I took a brand new $22.00 plastic dogs basket/bed, not the small one (too small) and not the big one(too big), but the Glodilocks size, the one that was juuuuuust right.

I then drilled a few small holes in a circle to make a bigger hole. (Ya with me so far?)
Good.
Then, using a piece of multi-purpose bracket material, i strenghtened the area around my hole.

Then, using a spare tent pole and hose clamp, attached the said pole to the prevoisly mentioned Goldilocks sized dog bed.

Using a multi purpose shower rose holder, one more hose clamp and  2 zip-ties, i fashioned a budget, but very trendy and attractive piece of shower ware.

(NOTE: The basket/bed, has multiple holes already installed from new, thus allowing the easy transfer of used shower water to the ground below)
This could be the next big thing on Better Tents and Camping on channel 7.

Re: You may need to turn your monitor on its side for this.
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2012, 06:57:40 PM »
sorry, Couldn't help myself  ;D

great job BTW  :cheers:

Offline JAV6

• "Love the OUTBACK"
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2012, 06:58:35 PM »
This is why I love this webs site. There are all sorts of ideas from shower builds to trailer construction and all other sort of ideas in between. Good work, and thanks for the idea as im looking at doing something similar.
GU Patrol 4.2 TD with some mods.

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2012, 07:09:22 PM »
Nice work Homer.....errr....JC!!
Your posts are always good for a bit of a laugh, but mate, this one is up there with the best.....

......Then, using a piece of multi-purpose bracket material, i strenghtened the area around my hole.

Is that bracket available from Bunnings, and did it make your hole stronger? >:D ;D ;D ;D

Seriously, great idea. They do say necessity is the mother of invention. Imagine what you could do if you were Janitor Willy!

« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2012, 07:09:27 PM »
Is it strong enough for when she spins around and upside down?

« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2012, 07:10:52 PM »
Oh yeah, by the way, i made a second small bracket near the bottom to help secure the pole in my hole.

The pole can be easily loosened and pushed into the ground a little to help stabilise it, but not all that necessary though.
It weighs in at 2/10ths of 5/8th of sweet F. A. too.

You can use the plastic tub to pack stuff in as well.

hmm, OK, i think I'm done now.

Oh, if ya hate it, be kind, as i do have feelings ya know.  :D

And how the hell did he turn that pic around? I'd been trying for hours..... :-[
« Last Edit: August 23, 2012, 07:14:07 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2012, 07:17:35 PM »
right click on it and it should show an option to rotate  :cheers:

Offline Patt31

• James and Patsyannes big aussie adventure
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2012, 07:44:59 PM »
my hubby is going to hate you, now I want one, :) Great job. Really like it, top idea  :cup:
Test driving early retirement - every chance we get :)

Toyota Landcruiser with extras, cape york hard floor camper trailer...

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2012, 07:46:32 PM »
right click on it and it should show an option to rotate  :cheers:
What.? the hole.?  ;D ;D

BHG
PS, i love this post,,,but i'm not sure what it's realy about..  :angel:

« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2012, 07:52:31 PM »
Oh yeah, by the way, i made a second small bracket near the bottom to help secure the pole in my hole.

???

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2012, 07:55:31 PM »

Oh mate, stop it , you're killing me!!!!!!!!

« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2012, 08:09:39 PM »

I guessing this post is about a shower doo-dar ... and having your neighbours see you butt naked on the driveway once more ... with strange things happening near your hole   ??? ... something to do with a pole  ???  ... and your wife loves it? 

Thank Goodness your directly opposite neighbour has no front windows!     

:cup: Post!

Now with a crick in her neck from viewing said hole and pole sideways.   ;D  Wish I'd been wearing my sunnies though.   ;D  ;D  ;D

« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2012, 04:56:29 AM »
Oh dear, some of you need to get your dirty little minds out of the gutter, how rude.  >:D

If you like the shower base set-up, then you gunna love my base for the Porta-Pooper to give it some height.

I gave it a test sit and found it was too low. With my old lawn mower man knees, i couldn't get back up again easy.
Now, i had thought of getting myself some of those old people "grunt bars" but I'd have no place to secure them in the twin towers, shower and pooper cubicle we ordered.
The only way off, was to sought of roll off the bloody thing to be able to wipe, buff and polish and go.

I had a plan......
So, early yesterday morning, whilst it was still dark, i went down to the bakery to find a milk grate. I was in luck, there was heaps of ém.
I knew the baker was inside talking to someone, so i looked around to make sure the coast was clear (Its Queensland, the coast is always clear) before undertaking my daring act of theft.

The excitement of my upcoming theft was out of control, my blood was pumping, i had beads of sweat forming on my brow, my breath was fast and i had a stomach cramp.
I tried to pass a small discrete fart.... you know the one, sounds like air being eased out of a balloon with ya fingers.

Jesus Christ, as i moved ever so slightly to one side to allow the escape of said wind, it went off like a late afternoon summer storm thunder clap.
Well, the start of it did, then it just sounded like a good bit of canvas being ripped in a wind storm.

I went on for nearly a full minute too before i nearly sh1t myself, as two stray cats that got a fight ran straight past me. I let out a loud yell with fright.
Bugger, my cover was blown.......

The baker and another fellow came to see what was happening, i was only a metre or so from the milk grates.
IT WAS NOW OR NEVER.......
I grabbed the first milk grate, quickly tipped out the 2 litre bottles of milk, and ran.

My wind wasn't finished either, as i ran, everytime my left foot hit the ground, there was a little fffffffttttt coming out my exhaust.

But hey, i got my milk grate  ;D

No persons or milk was damaged in the exercise, although, i think my old white Y fronts might be a bit average now.

Stay tuned for the next exciting episode, when i actually make the base for the Porta-Pooper.

*Some portions  of this story may or may not be true.*  >:D

« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2012, 05:59:38 AM »
so there must not be any chinese take away close by ?

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2012, 06:05:56 AM »
Never let the truth get in the way of a good story, and that was a good story ;D ;D I thank you for starting my day off with a good laugh, albeit with some strange looks from my fellow train riders (some of whom look like they are in dire need of a good laugh themselves!). Looking forward to hearing about the outcome to the "Great Milk Crate Heist".

« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2012, 07:01:31 AM »
Tears are rolling down my face.  Made my morning.

Have a look at this link for inspiration

http://www.campertrailers.org/loo_lift.htm
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

Offline hargs

« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2012, 07:19:26 AM »
That is all so funny........!!! Love the shower base, look forward to lou heightening.................
Life is to short not to...............

Offline LucyJ

• A Year of Adventure
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2012, 07:50:17 AM »
Fantastic idea!
Heading off on our big adventure - The Big Lap 2013
Sar Major Offroad Camper Trailer
Toyota Landcruiser 105s 2000

Blog: http://lucyjanec.tumblr.com/

Offline Daawl

• Always trying to get out & about
    • Lightning Ridge Police Bush Safari
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2012, 09:14:30 AM »
Oh I Love it.  :cup:

I think any further posts that Im going write I will forward to you Homer. :)

« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2012, 09:54:38 AM »

Stop making me laugh!  My work mates are starting to doubt my sanity.  I charge lots of people lots of money for doing things for them.  I bill people for liquid waste removal (yes the types of liquid waste we are talking about here) ... a not so "funny" business (okay so Kenny made it a bit funny) ... until today. 

I'm getting strange looks from others now that I'm in complete hysterics and there are tears running down my cheeks (no the top cheeks) and this isn't the sort of business to make you laugh or cry!

On a more serious note though ... when are you writing your next book?  I'd love a copy.    ;D

P.S.  I'm so glad to hear about the Twin Towers shower pavillion that's on order ... I'll bet your neighbours are too!

« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2012, 06:07:28 PM »
Our twin towers shower tent arrived today, yahoo.

Gotta wait for some paint and timber stain to dry before i road test the crapper.

« Reply #21 on: August 25, 2012, 05:48:37 AM »
PART 2.

I took a measurement of the height of a standard crapper, which came in at roughly 16 inches high to seat level.

I then measured the porta-crapper height and it was surprising, how little it needed to be lifted up.
Using a loose hacksaw blade, i ran it around the milk crate at the top of the main base area. (About a turd of the way up)
(It was easier with a loose blade than using a hacksaw)
At this point, the crate will be at its strongest and will give me a height of only 1/2 an inch higher than a standard crapper.

So the porta won't slide off the milk crate during those more energetic craps,
(the ones were you need to give ya bum a little wiggle to get rid of a Klingon)
I always break into song when that happens.....

There's Klingons on the starboard bow, starboard bow, starboard bow;
there's Klingons on the starboard bow, starboard bow, Jim.

It's crap, Jim, but not as we know it, not as we know it, not as we know it;
it's crap, Jim, but not as we know it, not as we know it, Captain.

there's Klingons on the starboard bow, starboard bow, Jim.

Star Trekkin' across the universe,
On the Starship Enterprise under Captain Kirk.
Star Trekkin' across the universe,
Only going forward, still can't find reverse.

It's worse than that, it stinks, Jim, stinks, Jim, stinks, Jim;
it's worse than that, it stinks, Jim, stinks, Jim, stinks.

It's crap, Jim, but not as we know it, not as we know it, not as we know it;
it's crap, Jim, but not as we know it, not as we know it, Captain.

there's Klingons on the starboard bow, starboard bow, Jim

Oh, there it goes...... :D

Oh crap, where was i now, ummm, oh yeah, to make sure the potti doesn't go feral on me, i ran a couple of pieces of  aluminium strap metal and bolted them to the cut down milk crate.
I then took a cheap piece of outdoor builders ply, and bolted that to the straps.

Now, to stop the satanic potti from trying to slide off that, i simply edged the builders ply with a piece of beveled trim.
I know it has a proper name, but stuffed if i can remember what it is. (JWB will point it out, I'm sure.  :D)

To mount the anti-slip trims, i pre-drilled them, dampened the ply, then used gorilla glue and nailed it all together.
Once done, i spun it upside down, sat a pushmower on top of it and left it overnight to dry.

With Gorilla Glue, you damp down one side, use a small amount of glue (it expands) and clamp it. I had no clamps, so i had to imprevise.

In the morning, pulled it all apart, ran some gloss back over the milk crate and 3 coats of stain over the wood.
Looks OK too.

Because i didn't have a mitre box to cut the trims in, i cheated and just cut them straight and butted them together.
My measurements were out somewhere too, as i was supposed to have covered the bolt heads with the trim bits and i missed one.
Oh well, who cares, its just a mobile portable porta crapper lifter.

I'll post a pic on Monday, as soon we'll head off to Fraser for the weekend, but this time by boat.
Going to take a run up to Moon Point, top up with fuel at Hervey Bay (Urangan Harbour) and then come back and spend the night at the Sheraden Flats near Yankee Jack Creek.

Have a nice weekend folks.....  :cheers:
« Last Edit: August 25, 2012, 05:50:40 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #22 on: September 02, 2012, 04:03:21 PM »
The finished porta-pooper....

I didn't have a mitre box to get the angle cuts correct, so in the end, just made ém a butt fit. Its a toilet, so a butt fit will work out fine.

« Last Edit: September 02, 2012, 04:04:52 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline brickiematt

« Reply #23 on: September 02, 2012, 07:00:55 PM »
That's one snappy crapper ;D ;D

Offline Nick74

« Reply #24 on: September 04, 2012, 09:30:16 AM »
Best thread ever............love ur style jeepers.   :cheers:

I'm assuming that you are a jeep driver and that is why your comfortable dealing with sh1t  ;D

Shower and porta pooer throne are a great idea. I think I may steal the porta pooper.............now where to find a milk crate??
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger
2011 GIC Offroad aka Katie
If I loved these tyres any more they would be beer - David Freiberger 2015