Author Topic: Your camping chair  (Read 17675 times)

Offline martyn

Re: Your camping chair
« Reply #25 on: March 06, 2012, 09:22:35 AM »
Also, we carry one of those poly tables with the fold out legs, again Bunnings $40 to $50. We like the table because of it size, but its too high to sit at with a camping chair, particularly the kids, so I guess will cut the legs down, when I get some new chairs.

If you decide to buy a new table rather than cutting your current one I highly recommend one of these, height adjustable legs and folds up pretty small http://www.officeworks.com.au/retail/products/Furniture/Desks/Tables/OWBFLD4FGY

Offline medion

• My Camper Buildup
« Reply #26 on: March 06, 2012, 11:26:00 AM »
I bought one of the EMG "roothy" chairs at the Eastern Creek 4x4 show.

Solid arms, comfortable, and good price (about $60).
Dion
Jackaroo SWB
Oztrail Camper 7 buildup

Offline apsilon

« Reply #27 on: March 06, 2012, 12:47:22 PM »
And these for either sitting at the table ... or resting your drink on beside your comfy chair.  These fold up flat and about 30cm long and 15 wide ... about 5cm high.  Our table is thicker.

What brand and/or where did you get these? Could be jsut waht I'm after.

Back on to chairs, my most comfortable is a Spinifex branded one from Anaconda. Looks a lot like those King Goanna ones. Only down side is it's huge when folded. Probably equal to about 6 of the most basic $7 camp chairs.

« Reply #28 on: March 06, 2012, 01:22:58 PM »
What brand and/or where did you get these? Could be jsut waht I'm after.

I believe they are called an "Oz Trail Slat Stool" so still technically a chair ... cost me $20 at Down Under Camping ... only place I've seen them, but you can order online (of course).  See them Here.

I'm not what you'd call a "fly away in the breeze" kinda girl and they are sturdy enough for me to eat dinner at the table off, as well as supporting as much of my rear as possible.  I wouldn't suggest sitting on them for hours, but you could if you took a cushion of some sort, but I prefer the kind of chair you can't fall out of.   :cheers:

As a side table, I can fit my drink, another drink, the butt bucket (I'm a responsible smoker), my slr camera and my notebook on it.

You can see them in action here:

Offline apsilon

« Reply #29 on: March 06, 2012, 01:27:45 PM »
Awesome, thanks. If they're Oz Trail I'm sure I'll have no trouble finding them. Want them more as a side table and to hold the Coleman HWOD off the ground next to the shower etc than a chair.

Offline MADCOW

• I Rescue Fish from Water and Beer from Bottles
« Reply #30 on: March 06, 2012, 01:49:36 PM »
Coleman 5 position chair, Reclines, even has a folddup can holder on the side, 5 year warranty, The only issue the early ones had was with the plastic arms, now replaced with metal ones. should last a loooong time!

http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/default.aspx?pid=300300#Description

Show the older style but all have Steel arm rests
03 4.2 TDI Gu, Mountain Trail Extended Escape Camper,
 June 2018 Terrain Tamer Calendar

« Reply #31 on: March 06, 2012, 06:23:31 PM »
I have been known to have "just one more" around the campfire. ;D

Of course I regularly see the sunrise................ so I need a comfortable chair.
I find a lot of camp chairs tend to "cut in"to the underside of my legs after a while.

Problem solved with this ever so comfy, I can fall asleep in you type chair.

http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Wanderer-Moon-Chair-Blue-Grey-Quad-Fold-100kg.aspx?pid=290654&menuFrom=511102#Description

Of course the family found it so comfy, poor old dad never got to sit in it, so I went out and bought one for everyone.............

« Reply #32 on: March 06, 2012, 06:46:01 PM »
Problem solved with this ever so comfy, I can fall asleep in you type chair.

Tried out a mate's one a few months ago - couldnt get out of the d$&m thing after a few reds.  Had to order in room service when it was my shout.  ;D ;D

They are very comfy.

« Reply #33 on: March 06, 2012, 06:56:03 PM »
I find a lot of camp chairs tend to "cut in"to the underside of my legs after a while.

One reason I too just can't stand the "traditional" style of chair Brian.  The second reason I love my comfy chair is it has timber armrests on either side ... helps get me out when I've had one or two too many.   ;D  The third reason I love my comfy chair is that I can lean back in it and I'm reclined and relaxed.

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #34 on: March 06, 2012, 07:06:57 PM »
got to agree with Kit_e_Kat9... i hate the traditional camping chair,,, love my Dune chair,    bit like Kit_e's 3rd reason, execpt i tend to fall asleep in mine once it's reclined... ;D

BHG

« Reply #35 on: March 06, 2012, 07:09:43 PM »

So does The Man I go camping with Baldie!  You'd think handing him a rum & coke (with ice cubes) would keep him awake, but no ... once that chair reclines ... it's all over!   ;D

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #36 on: March 06, 2012, 07:25:25 PM »
I have an ARB chair enjoy using it greatly, those that have camped with me know I can sleep anywhere as long as there is a fire.  Oh, I don't need a table for my drink either as I a very good at balancing the drink whilst sleeping.... :laugh:  ; :cheers:

Offline XJeepers

Your camping chair
« Reply #37 on: March 06, 2012, 07:29:07 PM »
got to agree with Kit_e_Kat9... i hate the traditional camping chair,,, love my Dune chair,    bit like Kit_e's 3rd reason, execpt i tend to fall asleep in mine once it's reclined... ;D

BHG

We got the same ones in the camper. Fallen asleep in mine a few times now. We reckon they are the bees knees.

« Reply #38 on: March 06, 2012, 07:31:16 PM »
Decisions decisions.................... ;D

I still haven't made one but am appreciating everyone's thoughts.

I don't mind the look of any of those Oztrail's but can appreciate everyones reasons for different chairs and the pro's and cons of each.

I think I am leaning to an Oztrail type for me I'm not sure whether the aluminum armed ones like the Kokoda or the standard arms like the Goanna.

I think the Mrs is leaning towards a fold flat one like a Dune, actually the Nomad Dune, because as mentioned about the feeling of cutting into your legs.

Anyway I am sitting on my esky in the garage having a beer and thinking about all of this. I actually thought about asking this question after looking at a photo the group of swaggers around the camp fire at the last SEQ get together, which I missed and every chair looked different.

Keep your suggestions coming.

Nomad.  :cheers:

« Reply #39 on: March 06, 2012, 07:36:59 PM »
Decisions decisions.................... ;D

I still haven't made one but am appreciating everyone's thoughts.

I don't mind the look of any of those Oztrail's but can appreciate everyones reasons for different chairs and the pro's and cons of each.

I think I am leaning to an Oztrail type for me I'm not sure whether the aluminum armed ones like the Kokoda or the standard arms like the Goanna.

I think the Mrs is leaning towards a fold flat one like a Dune, actually the Nomad Dune, because as mentioned about the feeling of cutting into your legs.

Anyway I am sitting on my esky in the garage having a beer and thinking about all of this. I actually thought about asking this question after looking at a photo the group of swaggers around the camp fire at the last SEQ get together, which I missed and every chair looked different.

Keep your suggestions coming.

Nomad.  :cheers:

Hey Nomad, enjot that beer.
Mate the chairs are made by oz tent not oz trail and you want either one in the King..more comfy.

Offline KevinD4D

« Reply #40 on: March 06, 2012, 07:37:39 PM »
As you say everyone has different chairs and reason why they have them. Best thing to do is go to a large camping store eg. BCF and sit in a few and see what suits you best and what you can fit in etc etc.
2011 Goldstream Wing III (SWMBO's choice) With quite a few mods towed by 2009 GXL D4D 120 Prado with many extras...

« Reply #41 on: March 06, 2012, 07:40:18 PM »
As you say everyone has different chairs and reason why they have them. Best thing to do is go to a large camping store eg. BCF and sit in a few and see what suits you best and what you can fit in etc etc.

Been there and done that, actually a few times now. I think the only way to do it properly is take a box of beer and a couple of bottles of red, the Mrs and a few mates and have a good sit down for a couple of hours.  ;D

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #42 on: March 06, 2012, 09:52:23 PM »
I have the Oz Trail Royale....... A mans chair!!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #43 on: March 06, 2012, 10:05:28 PM »
another for an Oztent King KOKODA
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

Offline outbackogre

« Reply #44 on: March 09, 2012, 03:57:22 PM »
Bought 2 King Goanna chairs at the Vic Camping Show today ($89 each).  They pack up a bit smaller than the Kokoda and I prefer the Goanna's fabric arms.
My friends call me Rob.  You can call me ... Rob!
NW auto diesel Pajero towing a Jayco Starcraft Outback.

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #45 on: March 09, 2012, 04:40:17 PM »
The missus and i both had the Coleman deluxe fold up chairs with built in cooler bags but i have just upgraded to a wanderer 8 position recliner from BCF as the  the old Coleman played havoc on my back and plus i can recline my new chair right back and have a good grand pa nap while doing tough out camping.
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

« Reply #46 on: March 09, 2012, 06:39:55 PM »
Bought 2 King Goanna chairs at the Vic Camping Show today ($89 each).  They pack up a bit smaller than the Kokoda and I prefer the Goanna's fabric arms.

Godd price mate

« Reply #47 on: March 09, 2012, 08:16:10 PM »
I have an ARB chair enjoy using it greatly, those that have camped with me know I can sleep anywhere as long as there is a fire.  Oh, I don't need a table for my drink either as I a very good at balancing the drink whilst sleeping.... :laugh:  ; :cheers:

Ya not wrong there Marc ;D

Offline Campfire

« Reply #48 on: March 09, 2012, 08:56:46 PM »
I can open a stubby and put up My King Goanna Oztent chair,  quicker than it takes to put up the 30 second RV 5 Oztent,

Pity Oztent didn't brew beer, probably go down just as quick.....

Glad they don't sell Viagra, can't see the 30 second marketing thing working there like their other products.

Campfire