Author Topic: What am I Grateful for today.  (Read 59826 times)

Re: What am I Grateful for today.
« Reply #250 on: November 11, 2020, 06:03:19 PM »
You are a Legend Pottsy. Lorraine is very lucky to have a husband like you. Well done.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk
X 2  :cup:

The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

« Reply #251 on: November 13, 2020, 01:24:40 PM »
I am grateful today,
For our youngest has completed a bitch of year to finish in the top ten of Y12.
He has applied & been excepted to Southern Cross Uni Lismore, Bachelor of Science.
He has made his mum & dad so very proud of the young man he had grown into.
You, Jack should be proud of your effort this year, as well as you mates who have stuck by each other.
Enjoy the life a head son.

I never make plans,
In a court, it's call premeditated

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, noel_w

« Reply #252 on: November 13, 2020, 01:51:18 PM »
Congratulations to Jack on his effort. A proud day in the Hairs household.

« Reply #253 on: November 13, 2020, 02:10:28 PM »
Congratulations to Jack on his effort. A proud day in the Hairs household.
Unfortunatley, we both could not attend his formal, none the less we are proud of him.
:)

I never make plans,

Offline 2Strokeit

« Reply #254 on: November 13, 2020, 02:14:15 PM »
Congrats Jack!!
My daughter finishes next week then heads to a cattle station near Alice for a year before heading to Lismore uni as well to pursue a career in National parks.

« Reply #255 on: November 13, 2020, 02:18:38 PM »
Congrats Jack!!
My daughter finishes next week then heads to a cattle station near Alice for a year before heading to Lismore uni as well to pursue a career in National parks.
Awesome Stuff mate,
We hope she has the time of her life.
I reckon all kids have done well to finish this year.
Good on em.

I never make plans,

« Reply #256 on: November 13, 2020, 04:07:10 PM »
Good on both of them :cup:

« Reply #257 on: November 13, 2020, 04:21:22 PM »
Well done all of you

« Reply #258 on: November 13, 2020, 05:40:49 PM »
Congrats Jon.
Jack has always been a fine young man.
A credit to you and Karen...

:cup: :cup:

« Reply #259 on: November 14, 2020, 03:09:13 PM »
Thanks Guys,
He asked if he could use the Criuser to take his girlfriend for a weeks camping trip.
They are going to Manilla for a couple of nights, then head back to some of the National parks east of Armidale.
They have no interest in going to Schoolies.
Happy Days.

Offline 2Strokeit

« Reply #260 on: November 14, 2020, 10:20:11 PM »
Very cool!
Our kids think along similar lines.
Mine had organised a alcohol free schoolies for 40 kids catered/costed and activities 4 day event in the planning for 2 years but covid bureaucracy killed that dream. So she's loading the 80 to head up to the Whitsundays with her best friend. I'm trying to convince her to take their dive gear to make memories. The only good thing to come out of this hide under the bed lockdown mentality is so many kids get to experience camping who otherwise wouldn't have. Forum camping kids excluded from that generalized statement.
Ask Jack to get a pic of the 80 at a campsite and we'll post them up when they get back.

« Reply #261 on: November 15, 2020, 05:41:10 AM »

Ask Jack to get a pic of the 80 at a campsite and we'll post them up when they get back.
Great Idea,
Will do.

You don't use magic to disappear, all you need is a 4wd & a Swag. :)

« Reply #262 on: November 21, 2020, 10:56:56 AM »
I am so very grateful today because a piece of funiture has come to our family.
26 years ago when my Father passed away, my mother went loopy, she gave stuff away to anyone & everyone.
I received a phone from the ex partner of a mate who end up with a Sideboard after they broke up.
This morning I went and picked it up.
My Grandmother( Dads mum) owned it when she lived in Manilla(NSW), Dad would happy to know it is back with us.
I will get it restored.

« Reply #263 on: November 21, 2020, 11:01:30 AM »
I am so very grateful today because a piece of funiture has come to our family.
26 years ago when my Father passed away, my mother went loopy, she gave stuff away to anyone & everyone.
I received a phone from the ex partner of a mate who end up with a Sideboard after they broke up.
This morning I went and picked it up.
My Grandmother( Dads mum) owned it when she lived in Manilla(NSW), Dad would happy to know it is back with us.
I will get it restored.

love old furniture.. it was SOLID adn built... does it need restoring? Looks fine to me.

« Reply #264 on: November 21, 2020, 11:05:42 AM »
Yeah, there a split in the bottom board and there are a couple of scuff marks on surfaces.

« Reply #265 on: November 21, 2020, 11:27:23 AM »
If its too dear to restore, i'd be happy to keep car parts in it.

Kick it to me.... kick it to me.... kick it to me....

« Reply #266 on: November 21, 2020, 11:32:00 AM »
If its too dear to restore, i'd be happy to keep car parts in it.

Kick it to me.... kick it to me.... kick it to me....
:) :) :)

« Reply #267 on: November 26, 2020, 05:53:22 PM »
Hi Swaggers,
This maybe long winded.
Last night I was invited to a dinner, at a local pub, I accepted, a mate in town picked me up along with another bloke who lives in town whom I had never meet before.
Anyway, the purpose of this was,
To get Blokes together to share their stories, their struggles, their fears, they stories of over coming the dark days.
There were about 14 of us, I knew four of these guys, we introduced ourselves, it was heart breaking to hear a couple of their stories, drug abuse, being abused as kids, marriage break ups and not seeing their kids.
Everyone had a story that needed to be told.
One of the blokes, wont name names, but he designed the shirts the last couple of years for NRL Indigenous rounds, he comes from Tabulam.
2 others played first grade nrl in the 80's, they have made it their quest to help blokes, not just Aboriginals blokes/kids.
God I learnt a lot from them last night.
This is an event that will happen each fortnight, and any bloke is welcome.
Us blokes don't like change, we need to help each other.

On Another What am I Grateful today, Tuesday night I came off probation Firefighter, I'm a member of The Lawrence Brigade  I'm still a newby, but my journey is official.
I attended the huge fire on the Pacific Motorway at Franklins rd on Monday, 13 hours on Fire Ground.
I can not thank my captain, deputy captain and fellow members for their support, encouragement and guidance.
I wear the uniform with pride and accept the responsibility the comes with it.

Take care Swaggers

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Titfish, plusnq, Fizzie

Offline 2Strokeit

« Reply #268 on: November 30, 2020, 07:48:56 AM »
Great Idea,
Will do.

These are the pics when she remembered. They got up to Ayr then down to Airlie, Agnes and Rainbow and Amamoor.

« Reply #269 on: December 19, 2020, 01:35:40 PM »
RFS Chrissy Party this evening.
Dinner, a few beers at the Tavern.
Caught up with all the crew.
Happy Days.

« Reply #270 on: December 23, 2020, 09:50:56 AM »
Siting here at the beach.Cool breeze.Cold beer and not even a thought about work.

Sent from my CPH2069 using Tapatalk

« Reply #271 on: December 23, 2020, 08:04:55 PM »
Today I swung on by the Cemetery where my Father rests.
Do it every year, just before Christmas or as close as possible as to when he left us.
16/01/94.
He never got to see us get married, He told Fysh many times that she was the best thing to of ever happen to me(I have to agree) :)
Miss him dearly, I was just getting my Shit together, listening to his Words.
I am Grateful for the arse kicks  the hard love, the silent love.
I am for ever grateful for know this man.

Christmas isn't the best time for many, we miss those that we love.
Cheerish the memories.

Take care Swaggers.
MERRY CHRISTMAS.
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #272 on: December 23, 2020, 09:13:25 PM »
Today I swung on by the Cemetery where my Father rests.
Do it every year, just before Christmas or as close as possible as to when he left us.
16/01/94.
He never got to see us get married, He told Fysh many times that she was the best thing to of ever happen to me(I have to agree) :)
Miss him dearly, I was just getting my Shit together, listening to his Words.
I am Grateful for the arse kicks  the hard love, the silent love.
I am for ever grateful for know this man.

Christmas isn't the best time for many, we miss those that we love.
Cheerish the memories.

Take care Swaggers.
MERRY CHRISTMAS.
Some great words there Jon, your a good man mate  :cheers:
Can empathise a lot with what your saying, lost the ole man 20 years or so ago but not a day goes by i don’t think of him. Was a great father and mate.
All the best to you and the family for Christmas mate stay safe  :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, Hairs

« Reply #273 on: December 25, 2020, 07:11:44 AM »
I am so very grateful for living where we do, having a loving family, good mates, a job, and being able to do what I do.
We will get to camp again, share a fire and laugh.
Take care Swaggers
Merry Christmas Swaggers.
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #274 on: January 17, 2021, 07:24:03 AM »
What am I grateful today?
I am grateful for the member messeges regarding my Brother, thank you to each one of you that have given us advice, hope or just reached out to say hi, we are thinking of you.
It means a great deal, we are blessed to have made life long friendships through MySwag.
You guys & girls take care, safe travels and fingers crossed we can share a campe fire soon.

Jon & Karen
« Last Edit: January 17, 2021, 05:57:28 PM by Hairs »
The following users thanked this post: plusnq