General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Pottsy on February 08, 2018, 11:54:49 AM

Title: AFLW
Post by: Pottsy on February 08, 2018, 11:54:49 AM
I have np problem with women's sport, I enjoy watching elite level athletes, netball, softball etc where they play to an elite and professional level BUT I cannot abide AFLW, they cannot handball, they cannot kick and many cannot tackle. The umpiring standard is poor with many decisions ignored just to allow the game to flow.
They claim it's a success, look at the crowds, it's still free to bloody well get in, let's have an AFL game with no admission costs and watch em turn them away at the gates.

Sorry no more viewing from me! >:( >:(
Title: Re: AFLW
Post by: Bird on February 08, 2018, 12:04:18 PM
The problem is AFL has pumped it up to be on par with the blokes. The advertising is hilarious.. and its not even at local comp skill level. I reckon there isn't a U16's team that would be troubled by them in the state.. I also think radio stations have been told not to talk it down, as they are all "amazed" by it.
I think the crowd numbers will drop like a brides nighty, as the TV ratings have done

(http://static1.businessinsider.com/image/560d2cee9dd7cc10008be5e5-480/gladiator-death-thumbs-down.png)

Same as AFLX that will be a pointless flop
Post by: 03GV on February 08, 2018, 02:06:49 PM
All the huff n puff about how they have improved their skills, got faster and fitter over the pre season is codswollop!  The scores show a different story.
Post by: Rumpig on February 08, 2018, 03:29:15 PM
I don't watch AFL, let alone watching a women's version of the game.
Post by: PWE on February 08, 2018, 05:20:53 PM
Aren’t both the NRL and Union starting a woman’s comp this year?
Both want to ride the success wave of the AFLW.
Post by: kylarama on February 08, 2018, 07:03:04 PM

Aren’t both the NRL and Union starting a woman’s comp this year?

I thought NRL was the women's version of Union....

In all seriousness.  The women's super 7's at the last Olympics was brilliant.

Post by: vern on February 08, 2018, 07:24:50 PM
May be when they get a few more seasons under the belt the skills will get better! Give it time.
As for the crowds, probably more people than any thugby game!

Post by: gronk on February 08, 2018, 07:25:11 PM
I don't watch AFL, let alone watching a women's version of the game.

X2 !!

I tried watching a game once, but couldn't work out what they were doing ??
Post by: Black Diamond on February 08, 2018, 07:25:27 PM
I went and watched a quarter of Melb GWS on the weekend. Problem is they are trying to keep the speed up  but unfortunately they don’t have the skills to execute. Biggest issue is they get the ball and just blaze away with a kick with not much direction. That’s what it seems like anyway especially live.
The coaches are too blame i reckon and need to come up with a slower game plan. I tell ya though they are not soft, there were some decent hits that you can appreciate more so live.
My 13 yo daughter has been playing for 3 seasons and was captain last year, also came runners up in the B&F. See what happens this year.

A good family day out though   :cheers:
Post by: gronk on February 08, 2018, 07:27:34 PM

As for the crowds, probably more people than any thugby game!

Must admit, the one thing the mexicans are good at is getting out to watch their sport......nothing else to do down there !!  ;D
Post by: vern on February 08, 2018, 07:30:22 PM
Must admit, the one thing the mexicans are good at is getting out to watch their sport......nothing else to do down there !!  ;D
Plenty to do in 'mexico', you should try it sometime.

Post by: vern on February 08, 2018, 07:33:21 PM
X2 !!

I tried watching a game once, but couldn't work out what they were doing ??
I have that same issue with rugby, i just don't get it. And why do they refer to it as football? They don't kick it as a way of passing, and its not even in the title, NRL.

Post by: rags on February 08, 2018, 07:55:15 PM
I always though AFL was a girls game, now it has been confirmed.
Post by: Bird on February 09, 2018, 08:53:51 AM
https://www.nrl.com/news/2017/12/06/nrl-womens-premiership-set-to-launch/ (https://www.nrl.com/news/2017/12/06/nrl-womens-premiership-set-to-launch/)

Theres been a womans league in NRU since the 80s.. mates sister played for AU in it...
although she looked more like a road train driver from Didyabringyabeeralong in stubbies and blue singlet... :(
Post by: BigJules on February 09, 2018, 11:19:20 AM
I have to say that I think the rise in popularity and especially coverage of women's sport has been fantastic and that for many of them I'd rather watch the women's version. Women's soccer is quality, no histrionics, our women's cricket team are the best by far, our basketballers, netballers, the Hockeyroos (my cousin is the goalkeeper), 7s rugby and more.

I accept that for those of you who have been long-time AFL fans the AFLW may not be your favourite flavour, as I won't be preferring The Wallaroos, Australia's women's rugby team over my beloved Wallabies, despite the fact the Wallabies will disappoint me.

But don't run them down. Fact is these ladies would run rings around most of us on our best day. Unlike many of the blokes, they haven't been feted since their teenage years and told they'll be footy stars, with all the support, coaching and encouragement; they are pioneering a new elite competition.
Post by: Bird on February 09, 2018, 12:01:42 PM
Quote from: BigJules
I have to say that I think the rise in popularity and especially coverage of women's sport has been fantastic and that for many of them I'd rather watch the women's version. Women's soccer is quality, no histrionics, our women's cricket team are the best by far, our basketballers, netballers, the Hockeyroos (my cousin is the goalkeeper), 7s rugby and more.

I accept that for those of you who have been long-time AFL fans the AFLW may not be your favourite flavour, as I won't be preferring The Wallaroos, Australia's women's rugby team over my beloved Wallabies, despite the fact the Wallabies will disappoint me.

But don't run them down. Fact is these ladies would run rings around most of us on our best day. Unlike many of the blokes, they haven't been feted since their teenage years and told they'll be footy stars, with all the support, coaching and encouragement; they are pioneering a new elite competition.

Your probably right in some ways, but I think its how it has been marketed and pumped up and was talked about before the first game this season (peoples expectations are probably way too high) is causing the damage more than the Shit skills and inability to kick the ball from the players (many of them have full time jobs).
No doubt they would run rings around me, Im a fat and old cripple but our local U16's boys team would annihilate any AFLW team.

Also the big panic from top end of town with it is TV Rights deal is this year- if AFLW fails, = loss of $, if AFLW is awesome = $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
As controversy swirls around Carlton’s super-defensive game style, Channel Seven is mulling dramatically lower viewer interest in the Friday night marquee clash.
The five-capital average for the game was 242,000, compared with 593,000 for the first ever game of AFL Women’s, played between the same teams, in 2017.
That’s represents a fall of 60 per cent.
In Melbourne the drop was only marginally less dramatic — from 424,000 to 185,000 (56 per cent lower).

Remember its only a 7 round competition... not much time to get it right and keep the interest in it.
http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches (http://www.afl.com.au/womens/matches)

I think the issue is they arent wearing tight enough shorts like the VFL did - Like warwick capper did ;)
Post by: PWE on February 09, 2018, 08:22:58 PM
Agree Bird, the marketing is over the top.
But the flip side is that I hope the AFLW is as successful as the AFL and that they will have their Gand final around June. I then have two weekend that I can drive in Melbourne without sitting in a traffic jam!
Post by: Ragman on February 09, 2018, 11:04:02 PM
I have np problem with women's sport, I enjoy watching elite level athletes, netball, softball etc where they play to an elite and professional level BUT I cannot abide AFLW, they cannot handball, they cannot kick and many cannot tackle. The umpiring standard is poor with many decisions ignored just to allow the game to flow.
They claim it's a success, look at the crowds, it's still free to bloody well get in, let's have an AFL game with no admission costs and watch em turn them away at the gates.

Sorry no more viewing from me! >:( >:(

So a bit like watching the Dockers AFL team then?
Title: AFLW
Post by: JB on February 10, 2018, 09:14:51 AM
The challenge with any women’s sport that has evolved out of a traditionally men’s game is that it will always be compared to the men’s version.   If that’s how it’s to be measured then it’s never going to be successful

I work in sport within government , and we prefer to measure it in a different way. 

The way we measure success is what does it do to increase women and girls participation in sport and what does it do to how women and girls feel about themselves and enhance their aspirations.

The first is really easy to measure, it comes down to how many teams are registering.  In AFLW, it has been a huge success with 38 teams in 2010, to 355 in 2016, to 747 in 2017 (AFLW first year).  That’s almost a 20 fold growth in 8 years and a doubling in the last year.   It will be interesting to see what it does this year.

Yes there has been some transfer from other sports, but there has been an overall increase across the board. This is because it has increased their choice.   Given the social and health benefits of sports participation that’s got to be a good thing.

The second measure of what it does to how women and (importantly) girls feel about theirselves is much harder.    This is a work in progress.

But, I know that my 12 yo daughter has a stronger belief in herself as a result of there being more strong women role models out there in the media.  Particularly role models that aren’t just recognised because of how great their bodies are, but what amazing things they can do with their bodies.

I’m comforted by the fact that my aspirations for her are only enhanced if she feels that she can do anything the boys can. 

I’m loving the AFLW and am taking a bunch of my daughters mates to the Carlton Brisbane game next weekend.

JB

Post by: Pottsy on February 10, 2018, 09:26:07 AM
The challenge with any women’s sport that has evolved out of a traditionally men’s game is that it will always be compared to the men’s version.   If that’s how it’s to be measured then it’s never going to be successful

I work in sport within government , and we prefer to measure it in a different way. 

The way we measure success is what does it do to increase women and girls participation in sport and what does it do to how women and girls feel about themselves and enhance their aspirations.

The first is really easy to measure, it comes down to how many teams are registering.  In AFLW, it has been a huge success with 38 teams in 2010, to 355 in 2016, to 747 in 2017 (AFLW first year).  That’s almost a 20 fold growth in 8 years and a doubling in the last year.   It will be interesting to see what it does this year.

Yes there has been some transfer from other sports, but there has been an overall increase across the board. This is because it has increased their choice.   Given the social and health benefits of sports participation that’s got to be a good thing.

The second measure of what it does to how women and (importantly) girls feel about theirselves is much harder.    This is a work in progress.

But, I know that my 12 yo daughter has a stronger belief in herself as a result of there being more strong women role models out there in the media.  Particularly role models that aren’t just recognised because of how great their bodies are, but what amazing things they can do with their bodies.

I’m comforted by the fact that my aspirations for her are only enhanced if she feels that she can do anything the boys can. 

I’m loving the AFLW and am taking a bunch of my daughters mates to the Carlton Brisbane game next weekend.

JB

Still not a good spectacle, 1/2 hour break due to bad weather, come on!
Yes of course the government measures it differently, but the average punter is only interested in a good spectacle. Even some early supported are starting to turn on it as it is not living up to the AFL and media hype.
Start charging admissions and see if it is financially viable.
Post by: tomo on February 10, 2018, 10:52:56 AM
For those who like NRL turn off now !! You may not understand written word . Flame on ha ha

For all the young girls out there its all positive ,so what if they are not at the skill level of the blokes .
The skills will get better , the attendances stabilize .
The woman`s version is leading the way . I say good on the AFL for taking a risk  ahead of many other codes
The attendances rival some mens games in other codes !!!

The pay checks for AFLW will grow as well rivalling other woman`s sports as well  !!
Much for my daughter to aspire to as well..

GO the
Crows
&
Cowboys
Post by: 03GV on February 10, 2018, 02:39:04 PM
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/aflw/blues-coach-wants-attractive-aflw-spectacle-but-winning-more-important/news-story/d4fc71f6bf617b2070de1e86cab88ca4 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/aflw/blues-coach-wants-attractive-aflw-spectacle-but-winning-more-important/news-story/d4fc71f6bf617b2070de1e86cab88ca4)

The AFL have shown their dislike of this game plan after the first match. Especially after the scathing reviews after the first round.

I'd put money on it that if it doesn't get better (regardless of the whole , its new got to give them time) this year because they have over pumped it up that it will be worse for their ratings.
And we all know ratings is money.
Post by: Rumpig on February 11, 2018, 09:31:37 AM
Yes of course the government measures it differently, but the average punter is only interested in a good spectacle. Even some early supported are starting to turn on it as it is not living up to the AFL and media hype.
Start charging admissions and see if it is financially viable.
exactly what i was thinking...at the end of the day it matters not how the governments views it as successful or not, if the game isn't of a high enough standard where people support it standing on it's own merit, it's gunna fail financially in the future. It's still early days for the women in the  ALF, so probably abit early for people to judge it's success or not.
Post by: kylarama on February 11, 2018, 11:44:40 PM
The AFLW won't be profitable for another 5+ years. The AFL know this despite what they say. Right now it's aimed at promotion for junior participation.

My daughter is in her 2nd year playing seniors in our local league. She was 16 before she'd ever kicked or handballed a footy. Majority of the girls playing AFLW are in the same boat. Never touched a footy until mid to late teens.

The AFL are targeting Auskick, under 12's and progression right through. Just like the boys any any code.

3-4 years ago probably 80% of local clubs didn't have any female junior sides. This season. 90% would be fielding 3-4 sides.
The growth in the last 4 years is crazy.

Yes the skill level isn't at the blokes level, but they've had a 100+ year head start. The girls right now are being thrust from local suburban comps into the big stage.
In the next 2 years well see an under 18's TAC Cup type competition, draft combines and AFLW reserves sides, not to mention better junior development.

Post by: Bird on February 24, 2018, 02:15:39 PM
i actually attempted to watch this farce last night. score was 44-0 in the third.. the skill levels = 0 they
even struggled to pick it up.

I watched for 4-5 mins, and didnt see one kick go to the person it was aimed at.. the commentators were hideous.

i said before that the chicks would beat a u16s side, I reckon they would struggle to beat a U14's.. the only issue would be the 4-6 'chicks" that looked more like road train drivers.

They need to hide this competiton somewhere for 5-10 yrs until its competitive
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2018, 12:06:44 PM
And the Shit fight continues.. Couldn't see this coming eh...
now the AFL is sexist cause the rules are different and the punishments are different.

The AFL will live to regret pumping up this joke competition.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/brennan-lodges-complaint-with-australian-human-rights-commission-over-ban-20180323-p4z5u3.html (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/brennan-lodges-complaint-with-australian-human-rights-commission-over-ban-20180323-p4z5u3.html)
Post by: Pottsy on March 23, 2018, 12:32:07 PM
And the Shit fight continues.. Couldn't see this coming eh...
now the AFL is sexist cause the rules are different and the punishments are different.

The AFL will live to regret pumping up this joke competition.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/brennan-lodges-complaint-with-australian-human-rights-commission-over-ban-20180323-p4z5u3.html (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/brennan-lodges-complaint-with-australian-human-rights-commission-over-ban-20180323-p4z5u3.html)

Can of worms anyone. Scrap the competition and let the women start their own league without the Afl involvement and they can set it up how they like, run their own tribunal system, etc.
Going to the courts etc is Shit.
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2018, 01:29:24 PM
Quote from: Pottsy
Agree with this in any sport. You read about it in high end car racing etc.. why have rules if you can go to court and **** them up?

Then again, what is considered "sport" anymore?
Post by: macca on March 23, 2018, 03:10:12 PM
Can of worms anyone. Scrap the competition and let the women start their own league without the Afl involvement and they can set it up how they like, run their own tribunal system, etc.
What a bloody joke, they yell and scream wanting equality and then as soon as something doesnt go their way they pull out the sexism card. The AFL need to realise they have made a huge mistake and get rid of it and let them run their own circus

Post by: Swannie on March 23, 2018, 03:11:47 PM
I’m embarrassed as a bulldog supporter. Ya got done .. move on did it before so you were warned

Post by: macca on March 23, 2018, 03:30:04 PM
I’m embarrassed as a bulldog supporter. Ya got done .. move on did it before so you were warned

Haha, wouldnt be embarrassed Swannie your boys have earnt their position at the top , nuff said

Post by: GeoffA on March 23, 2018, 04:34:29 PM
It was a sling....cop it and move on.
Post by: Bigfish on March 24, 2018, 11:33:01 AM
Grand final to start in 10 mins.  I,ll be watching.  Its a good thing to get more women/girls involved in sport.  Better than having them sit on their arses at home playing bloody video games like half of our kids do. Team sports help create better adjusted kids and this can only be a good thing.  Hope the doggies win.
Post by: Bird on March 24, 2018, 12:35:39 PM
Quote from: Bigfish
Grand final to start in 10 mins
than thankfully we wont have to hear about it for 11 months and Fox can start playing games worth watching!
Post by: Swannie on March 24, 2018, 01:23:56 PM
Well done doggies
Post by: Bigfish on March 24, 2018, 01:55:47 PM
Well done doggies

Enjoyed watching it. Good on the doggies.  Hopefully will inspire more players in the future.  Bridesmaids for 2 years....brissie girls  will be heartbroken.
Post by: Swannie on March 24, 2018, 02:01:02 PM
Enjoyed watching it. Good on the doggies.  Hopefully will inspire more players in the future.  Bridesmaids for 2 years....brissie girls  will be heartbroken.

Yeah I just reckon they play a little like the Auskick kids the fast push on no matter what which their skills are not there yet. Slow it down and they may be able to do a bit more with the ball!
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2018, 04:06:20 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/27971966_1990027227922788_2694080140932983299_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=45d1829e142541f1b85402a8fdbddc5f&oe=5B3EA3AE)
Post by: glenm64 on March 27, 2018, 04:52:30 PM
Glad the season is over. AFLW is somewhere behind the WAFL etc, in terms of skill levels and watch ability, yet the support the AFL has thrown at it must have grass roots footy scratching their collective heads (Tassie is screaming for help).
The AFL have taken a leaf out of the McDonalds marketing text book. Get everyone feeling like they belong to a big happy family, then you end up with every generation completely hooked on something that is really just lipstick on a pig(no pun intended).
As has previosly been mentioned, let it stand on its own 2 feet with punters paying non subsidized prices for tickets and then lets see how many turn up.
Even elite womens sports like netball, hockey and the like cant get decent media coverage. AFLW would die a natural death if it played on equal footings.
Post by: Bigfish on March 27, 2018, 05:26:37 PM
Glad the season is over. AFLW is somewhere behind the WAFL etc, in terms of skill levels and watch ability, yet the support the AFL has thrown at it must have grass roots footy scratching their collective heads (Tassie is screaming for help).
The AFL have taken a leaf out of the McDonalds marketing text book. Get everyone feeling like they belong to a big happy family, then you end up with every generation completely hooked on something that is really just lipstick on a pig(no pun intended).
As has previosly been mentioned, let it stand on its own 2 feet with punters paying non subsidized prices for tickets and then lets see how many turn up.
Even elite womens sports like netball, hockey and the like cant get decent media coverage. AFLW would die a natural death if it played on equal footings.
And several AFL senior teams wouldn,t be around either!!
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2018, 05:36:36 PM

I have no idea what Tassie ever did wrong. apparently they arent a "Market"... sad that the world only looks at things through dollars and cents. I miss the 80s when sport was sport.