General => General Discussion => Topic started by: terravista on June 20, 2019, 10:27:04 PM

Title: How bad are Navara's really and can you pick a crap one?
Post by: terravista on June 20, 2019, 10:27:04 PM
Hi team
I have the need to get a 3 tonne towing unit that will hopefully be trouble free for 6 months or so before spending a larger amount on a decent vehicle. I am budgeting  around $15 000 for a diesel auto twincab, but 95% of advertised units are Navara's.
Obviously there has been problems regarding the timing and other belts, and changing to duplex belts has been helpful, but do you need to be a mechanic to see what belts are fitted, and has there been recalls that a decent service record could make a Navara purchase a reasonable option?
For the $15 000 there are heaps of Navara's around 2010 to 2013 with 200 000 km on them. A very limited number of Tritons and Colorado's are available which could offer a better option.
Any suggestions will be treated with respect and/or suspicion.
Thanks.
Title: Re: How bad are Navara's really and can you pick a crap one?
Post by: prodigyrf on June 21, 2019, 11:52:49 PM
Don't know about belts in the Navara engine but maybe the owner has receipts for a duplex timing chain kit change-
https://andrewshightech.com.au/tips/nissan-navara-engine-failure-owners-beware/
Post by: prodigyrf on June 22, 2019, 12:14:42 AM
Thanks for the heads up as the timing chain kit is pretty reasonable-
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Timing-Chain-Conversion-Kit-Duplex-For-Nissan-Navara-2-5-TD-YD25DDTi-Diesel/273500700022

But changing it would be real fun and why there's lots of them for sale presumably-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAFsuX-Z6kM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MdD3O3bGPxE

Get a Triton although they require belt changes every 90k but you don't have to pull the car apart
Post by: terravista on June 22, 2019, 07:25:08 PM
[quote)

Get a Triton although they require belt changes every 90k but you don't have to pull the car apart
[/quote]

Thanks. I have a friend who bought a used Navara and the caryard allegedly had a chain replacement done with a duplex. The belt died after a few months and it cost the car yard warranty mob $3 000 plus the friends a further $3 000.
No prior or warning rattles.
The Navara's look and seem to perform half decent but it appears as though checking the belt visually is a time consusing method and may not he a non mechanics job.
Some Tritons and Colorado's are only marginally dearer and possibly a safer option.
Post by: loanrangie on June 23, 2019, 11:33:09 AM
If you have sat in one you will realise how poky they are inside, ride is typical crap dual cab with too heavy rear springs and skittish on wet roads.
 3ltr is torquey and gearbox is smooth but they are a ZD30 so tend to go bang, old man just did a head in his.
Post by: Mitch92 on June 23, 2019, 12:41:45 PM
The age you are looking at they are 2.5ltr not 3lt so don't worry about the issues loanrangie just posted.

They are a chain not a belt. The standard chain has a habit of letting go due to wear and design and next minute it costs alot to fix.

The D22 (98kw) was made in thailand had it but didn't  seem too bad, the D40 were made in thailand and Spain. One model had 112kw and one had 140kw.

All had same main block from memory.

Alot failed at the 100-120,000km mark. Yes sometimes there were indicators such as a chain slap noise on a cold start from the front of the engine.

They are a prick to change, and most places you would be looking at 3k plus before failure to upgrade.

I had a D22 for 113,000km from new and it was a good reliable vehicle, however it was starting to show signs so moved in on before it cost me.
Post by: fisher on June 23, 2019, 05:32:10 PM
I've got the 2.5L STX, 2006 with close to 170K on the clock.  To date it has been faultless - picked it up with 60K on the clock and new heavy duty clutch, and has been good ever since.  I did contact Nissan dealer to get a gauge on replacing timing chain, and they basically said its a double chain and if it isn't playing up don't touch it.  I get mine serviced every 10K because I want this car to last me for a few years yet.  So.….. I'm not sure you particularly need to worry about the timing chain - a well maintained car should see you get plenty of kms out of it.  The clutch is a known problem with manuals though.  My biggest issue is whether I get the injectors replaced, but that's another story.  My experience is that they are a solid reliable car...
Post by: nab on June 23, 2019, 05:37:35 PM
From the factory they are a single row chain. If Nissan has changed it they will put in another single row chain. Double row chain is only an aftermarket upgrade, not officially endorsed by Nissan. If it starts getting rattly get it changed to a double row chain before it fails, otherwise it’s time for a new engine!
Post by: prodigyrf on June 23, 2019, 09:30:15 PM

Alot failed at the 100-120,000km mark. Yes sometimes there were indicators such as a chain slap noise on a cold start from the front of the engine.

They are a prick to change, and most places you would be looking at 3k plus before failure to upgrade.

I had a D22 for 113,000km from new and it was a good reliable vehicle, however it was starting to show signs so moved in on before it cost me.

And hence terravista notices lots of used Navaras for sale but not so many Tritons-
https://www.facebook.com/MitsubishiStradaClubSriLanka/posts/194380364031225
Belts are easy to change in car at 6yr/90k intervals-
https://www.tsikot.com/forums/engine-fuel-system-talk-140/crash-course-4d56-timing-belt-replacement-pics-85821/

When I want a workhorse I do some homework (no excuse now with the net) never pioneer new tech for the carmakers and I'm not interested in the max HP or absolute fuel economy, pretty crap yada yada, but can it do the job well and how it's going to last without dramas  :cheers: 
Post by: cassgazz on June 24, 2019, 10:18:24 AM
If you're on facebook, jump onto the "Australian D40 Navara" page. Lots of great info & advice on there.
I have a D40, but it is the 3.0Lt V6 Diesel, so not much help to you engine wise.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 24, 2019, 11:29:03 AM
I had the non turbo daul cab, 3,2lt diesel D22 good 4wd did 350,000ks, front end was about to fall out of it so sold it, , My mate got the 2006 D22 3lt turbo motor burnt a hole in two pistons ,at 250,000ks cost 9 grand to rebuilt,  5 speed manual on his second gearbox can not selected 4th gear in them, another mate has a D40 120,000ks he bent its chassy going up the cape two years ago and sence then just spent 12 grand on the auto box rebuild and replace injectors and pump and double row timing chain, be fine if you stay on the black top and never select 4wd, other wise Just run the other way I recon
Post by: prodigyrf on June 24, 2019, 11:18:42 PM
I thought Tritons were supposed to be bendy- https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/2791663/nissan-navara-safety-fears/
It's OK he's from Barcelona and fortunately we don't put salt on the roads  :-*
Post by: Bird on June 25, 2019, 10:46:54 AM
Quote from: prodigyrf
I thought Tritons were supposed to be bendy
no problems with tritons (in their defence, who couldnt see this coming with all that weight over the arse end)

(https://cdn.exploroz.com/images/forum/uploads/88520_15__TN1000x800.jpg)

(https://cdn.exploroz.com/images/forum/uploads/83765_1__TN600F.jpg)
Post by: prodigyrf on July 02, 2019, 06:43:03 PM
Fourbies do attract their fair share of rabbits-
https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=toyota+hilux+bent+chassis&qpvt=toyota+hilux+bent+chassis&FORM=IGRE
Post by: isportfish on July 02, 2019, 09:31:29 PM
Hi team
I have the need to get a 3 tonne towing unit that will hopefully be trouble free for 6 months or so before spending a larger amount on a decent vehicle. I am budgeting  around $15 000 for a diesel auto twincab, but 95% of advertised units are Navara's.
Obviously there has been problems regarding the timing and other belts, and changing to duplex belts has been helpful, but do you need to be a mechanic to see what belts are fitted, and has there been recalls that a decent service record could make a Navara purchase a reasonable option?
For the $15 000 there are heaps of Navara's around 2010 to 2013 with 200 000 km on them. A very limited number of Tritons and Colorado's are available which could offer a better option.
Any suggestions will be treated with respect and/or suspicion.
Thanks.

Can't give you any real feedback on a D40 apart from a suggestion. If you are wanting to tow the full 3 tonnes get the v6. You will need to add another $10k for that though.
Wouldn't try to tow full 3 ton with a D22. 1 ton is enough for a D22 with these engines/gearboxes in my opinion.

Can give you real feedback on D22's as I've had 2 of them. First one I had was an 06 3L zd30 which had 345km on it when I sold it. I have an 09 2.5L yd25 currently
with 150km travelled.

3L Pros
Robust, simple, cheap and plentiful for parts/accessories/servicing, cheap to run(800km per tank) until tyre size changed 275/75r16 then 700km, poor ride is easy to correct.

3L Cons
Simple, lack of options(no cruise control, no central locking, no auto, no ABS or passenger airbag),  5 speed gearbox doesn't like towing in 5th, clutch doesn't like take
 off up slopes or heavy weight, poor ride in standard form.

2.5L Pros
Robust, simple, cheap and plentiful for parts/accessories/servicing, somewhat better optioned with ABS, passenger airbag, intercooler, poor ride is easy to correct.

2.5L Cons
Simple, lack of options(no cruise control, no central locking, no auto),  5 speed gearbox doesn't like towing in 5th again, clutch doesn't like
take off up slopes or heavy weight again, poor ride in standard form again. Economy not as good with 275/75r16 approx 600km tank.

Hope this helps.

Post by: terravista on July 04, 2019, 11:39:27 AM
Thanks guys
I ended up with a 2009 poverty pack Colorado and had the first tow a couple of days ago dragging 2 tonne from Brissie to Rocky. It went well enough to be satisfied with it, just hope to get a few months of trouble free work out of it.
Post by: Bird on July 09, 2019, 10:32:13 AM
Interesting.

After months of planning, We just finished a day testing with our engineers, including ESC testing, swerve tests & brake tests, we are pleased to announce we have passed our Navara with a 6" lift, 18x9 - 0 offset wheels & 34" tyres, that is a total lift of almost 8" - ENGINEERED! only at HPW.. stay tuned for the packages coming in the next few week

(https://scontent.fmel8-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/66087657_2315845938653575_5613747063050207232_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&_nc_oc=AQk45HNh9YDf2fBfJxUVQsElGumBgeH17TwIftmpxrTrEIGZvFhiycMeyPQPo-vWRYC7Zksad2olwhcs5iGYGFVy&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel8-1.fna&oh=74a67c3747d4ba0700f4f1621c5070ef&oe=5DB5E64B)
Post by: lloydus67 on July 09, 2019, 02:15:25 PM
Interesting.
Holy crap Batman, A navara with 8” of total lift. I’m sure that it will cost your right arm and youngest child

Post by: Bird on July 09, 2019, 02:35:51 PM
Quote from: lloydus67
Holy crap Batman, A navara with 8” of total lift. I’m sure that it will cost your right arm and youngest child

Love to know the details on what they have done to the steering, and angles of everything....
Post by: Winchy on July 09, 2019, 03:33:41 PM
I must be gettin' old, because all I see in this is a 30-40% decrease in performance and fuel efficiency. Be like pushing a brick wall into the wind
Post by: Bird on July 09, 2019, 03:36:47 PM
cost on their ranger package.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75f7OKznxH4
Post by: prodigyrf on July 13, 2019, 03:51:02 PM
I must be gettin' old, because all I see in this is a 30-40% decrease in performance and fuel efficiency. Be like pushing a brick wall into the wind

I think you're going to have to get used to it by all accounts if we rubber stamp EU emissions Regs so you can only get the detuned 6 speed manual-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/2019-nissan-navara-revealed-for-europe-update/ar-AAE2Cbl
Still you do get the enhanced vehicle posture and more formidable stance  :o

Post by: nab on July 13, 2019, 05:19:02 PM
Some other quirks with the Navara, the wheels have a unique stud pattern so you need specific wheels to suit.
Also when looking for accessories or parts, you need to specify if it is built in Thailand or Spain. For some reason they have different specs on some parts even though they were both sold here as the same car...
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2019, 08:30:01 PM
not everyone is touring the country for 12mths at a time :)
Post by: prodigyrf on July 16, 2019, 03:33:52 PM
I see the locals are pushing Nissan HQ for more cubes :4x4:
https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/nissan-navara-nismo-australia-pushing-for-hi-po-ranger-raptor-rival-75400
But maybe with emissions that only means petrol now and even then not for long if we adopt Euro6 which could be Nissan's consideration. Small market and they have to supply spares for 10 years which is costly.
Speaking of spares how'd you like some fancy matrix headlights with that? Yowzah!
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Hella-Matrix-LED-Headlight-Set-for-Audi-A7-Sportback-4GA-4GF-Year-07-14/113757503147
Post by: vern on July 16, 2019, 06:01:51 PM
https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/nissan-navara-nismo-australia-pushing-for-hi-po-ranger-raptor-rival-75400
But maybe with emissions that only means petrol now and even then not for long if we adopt Euro6 which could be Nissan's consideration. Small market and they have to supply spares for 10 years which is costly.
Speaking of spares how'd you like some fancy matrix headlights with that? Yowzah!
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Hella-Matrix-LED-Headlight-Set-for-Audi-A7-Sportback-4GA-4GF-Year-07-14/113757503147
Patrol engine would be sweet. Would love that engine in my defender.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on July 17, 2019, 08:45:41 AM
Quote from: prodigyrf

They did that in 2003, 2004, 2005.2006 etc... nothing new... will be ignored as per usual.