Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506296 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1275 on: October 18, 2018, 05:06:30 PM »
I found a very sad and rooted XB Falcon sedan today....... way too buggered to do much with, but I may raid it for a few trinkets when I see the owner tomorrow..

I sent Edz a pic, so he might be able to load it up here, as I don't know how to get it from my new phone to here.

« Reply #1276 on: October 18, 2018, 05:20:35 PM »
Here Ya go Kev ..   Bloody thing would probably still run too with a bit of fresh juice, bit of a wax n polish, a set of wheels and flog it off on Fleabay  " GREENS TUFF GRAN DAD "  Falcon found .  ;D ;D 8)
The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers

« Reply #1277 on: October 19, 2018, 09:04:32 AM »
Here Ya go Kev ..   Bloody thing would probably still run too with a bit of fresh juice, bit of a wax n polish, a set of wheels and flog it off on Fleabay  " GREENS TUFF GRAN DAD "  Falcon found .  ;D ;D 8)
gee if thats what you wanna make money out of theres billions of those around the place..

trinkets?? what brake drums to use as ashtrays?

« Reply #1278 on: October 19, 2018, 03:31:24 PM »
The left front guard is pretty good, minor dent that would tap out easy.
The front bumper is as straight as.....

But just too hard for the return, with the old girl sitting on its guts.
I did find a HQ panel van today though, so will drop in and ask the question tomorrow.

« Reply #1279 on: October 21, 2018, 05:10:44 AM »
A lot of money....for an XA Falcon, regardless of what it is.

$2,000,000 plus the buyers premium of 7.5%....... holy snappin duck Shit batman

« Reply #1280 on: October 21, 2018, 09:30:58 AM »
The 1980's  .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEkwt2pPpeY   ;D ;D  Would be nice to see these cars around everyday though, Better than the ugly jelly bean cockroach pregnant roller skate looking and weird pieces of crap we have today .

« Reply #1281 on: October 22, 2018, 09:12:28 AM »
The 1980's  .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEkwt2pPpeY   ;D ;D  Would be nice to see these cars around everyday though, Better than the ugly jelly bean cockroach pregnant roller skate looking and weird pieces of crap we have today .

Even a bit in there of Cherry lane out in Altona...………Brings back a lot of memories...…...myself and my old 307 HK prem went to 1 or 2 Lygon st dances as well as an appearance once or twice in Dandy...…...aaahhh the good old days...……...

« Reply #1282 on: October 23, 2018, 11:30:15 AM »
Parked in the main street of Gatton today.

1964 Ford Falcon and about a 1962 Humber Hawk, both in pretty good nick already parked there. Lucky I was in the Caddy.  8)

« Reply #1283 on: October 23, 2018, 07:24:58 PM »
Dunno what it is about old vans and the street i’m currently working in, but today they were knocking down the house across the road from the VW camper I posted a pic of recently, and below is one of the vans they dragged out of the 2 sheds in the backyard. No idea if these are worth anything or not, but it looked like they (tilt tray hooked up another crappy van to the back to tow away also) were just going to a scrap yard. The tilt tray came back a second time to drag a few more vehicles away, didn’t get to see what they were as I was finished for the day when he came back the second time.....could see what looked like a kombi in one shed, but the truck had backed up to the other shed to collect something I couldn’t see.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2018, 07:29:14 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #1284 on: October 23, 2018, 07:25:48 PM »
Parked in the main street of Gatton today.

1964 Ford Falcon and about a 1962 Humber Hawk, both in pretty good nick already parked there. Lucky I was in the Caddy.  8)

Mate you'll have to do some barn hunting out there. In my uni days there were some great old cars stashed in garages and sheds out there.  It wasn't a classic but I picked up an early 70's corolla of an old ducky who lived next door for nicks. She was legally blind so wasn't allowed to drive. The deal was I drove her around once a week to do her shopping and stuff. I only had to put a battery in the car and away we went.

« Reply #1285 on: October 23, 2018, 07:45:48 PM »
Dunno what it is about old vans and the street i’m currently working in, but today they were knocking down the house across the road from the VW camper I posted a pic of recently, and below is one of the vans they dragged out of the 2 sheds in the backyard. No idea if these are worth anything or not, but it looked like they (tilt tray hooked up another crappy van to the back to tow away also) were just going to a scrap yard. The tilt tray came back a second time to drag a few more vehicles away, didn’t get to see what they were as I was finished for the day when he came back the second time.....could see what looked like a kombi in one shed, but the truck had backed up to the other shed to collect something I couldn’t see.

Looks like an old comer van...…...late '50s early '60s

« Reply #1286 on: October 24, 2018, 03:23:04 AM »
Correct.... j'd have it. geez, I hope they didn't scrap the stuff.

« Reply #1287 on: October 24, 2018, 07:24:16 AM »
Hey Kev, Do you remember that guy in the old white commer van V8 doing 360's through the fuel  bowsers at Auto Chick ? ..and the Brown Hilman Hunter with the 318 / auto Val running gear on stock cheese cutters .

« Reply #1288 on: October 24, 2018, 09:29:32 AM »
Quote from: doc evil
Looks like an old comer van...…...late '50s early '60s

Neighbour back home had about 5-6 of them... **** they were wollowy pigs to be inside of and slow! They were parked up in the back yard and rotted away in lantana, blackberries and salt air on the water front..

« Reply #1289 on: October 24, 2018, 11:54:46 AM »

they were wollowy pigs to be inside of and slow!

You just described every pre 1990 van....

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1290 on: October 24, 2018, 01:04:41 PM »

You just described every pre 1990 van....
Pretty much LOL
although... I didnt know they were that old... ;)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commer_FC
The Commer FC was a commercial vehicle produced by Commer from 1960 to 1976. During its lifespan, it was developed into the Commer PB in 1967, and the Commer SpaceVan in 1974. After the Rootes Group, which owned Commer, was purchased by Chrysler, the SpaceVan was also sold under the Dodge and Fargo marques. From 1976 onwards, the van was only sold as the Dodge SpaceVan, and it remained in production until 1983.

« Reply #1291 on: October 24, 2018, 04:14:00 PM »
Hey Kev, Do you remember that guy in the old white commer van V8 doing 360's through the fuel  bowsers at Auto Chick ? ..and the Brown Hilman Hunter with the 318 / auto Val running gear on stock cheese cutters .

That was Emil with the Hillman Hunter.

Those old commers, go pretty good if you drop a 6 cyl Zephyr motor in 'em. (Not hard either)

« Reply #1292 on: October 25, 2018, 02:18:45 PM »
Correct.... j'd have it. geez, I hope they didn't scrap the stuff.
today I see the sheds were in the pile of stuff the excavator had crunched up and was loading in the back of a truck, so I doubt the property owner cared to much about the van.....maybe the tilt tray driver had someone lined up to take it though, who knows.

« Reply #1293 on: November 05, 2018, 10:07:41 PM »
Jeepers Kev went and had some fun and found some nice oldies at Willowbank

« Reply #1294 on: November 06, 2018, 02:43:44 AM »
Stuffed if I know, how to get pics from my new phone to on here. Thanks boof.

Mark Georgette and the Fiat, what a pair.
We had a ripper chat about some of the old stuff and how little of it is left now.

When you look at the safety features of the old Fiat...... WOW

To bring the car up to current specs would ruin it.

« Reply #1295 on: November 06, 2018, 07:24:09 AM »
[quote ]

When you look at the safety features of the old Fiat...... WOW

To bring the car up to current specs would ruin it.

Sounds a lot like this bloke and the tech inspection scene in the movie https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-7juUCcSoU

« Reply #1296 on: November 07, 2018, 02:25:48 PM »
car collection for sale in the USA.

https://vimeo.com/298620014

« Reply #1297 on: November 10, 2018, 08:59:55 AM »
A couple of good mates are giving Drag Challenge a crack in a 37 Willys this week.  I'm going to be on the other side of Vic for work this week, but hoping to make it out to Calder next Friday.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1298 on: November 10, 2018, 11:25:41 AM »
I love Drag Challenge..... I wish it was around back in the 90's.

I met an 80 year old today, as he was about to head out in his 1929 Chev Roadster.
He still drives it once a week.  8)

Original paint, original number plate from 1929, original hood material..... just a great old car.
I won't post a pic out of respect, but I did send it to Edz, friggin 'ell, I had to show someone, as no bastard would believe me.

Within, maybe 2 klm from my front gate.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2018, 11:27:33 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1299 on: November 10, 2018, 12:13:28 PM »
Brilliant survivor time capsule  it is too .. bit of age patina .. Would be  sacrilege to restore it .