Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506531 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1000 on: June 15, 2018, 04:22:40 PM »

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #1001 on: June 15, 2018, 09:04:15 PM »
A creative grill treatment to scare the kiddies away.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1002 on: June 16, 2018, 02:56:56 PM »
some massive bids at Lloyds today.,

$1,030,000 for an XY GT.
$500,000 for a torana, $300,000 for another......  8)

« Reply #1003 on: June 16, 2018, 07:52:51 PM »

$1,030,000 for an XY GT.
drug money

« Reply #1004 on: June 17, 2018, 04:46:46 AM »
Its not mower man money, that's for sure.

A little bit of trivia for you all.

Did you know, Cadillac was the first car ever, to be fitted with a starter motor allowing the car to be started from inside and the first car the first car to be fitted with a switch, allowing the headlamps to be turned on whilst still in the car.

Is there anything a Cadillac can't do? (Oh, except get good fuel mileage.)

« Reply #1006 on: June 19, 2018, 09:22:18 AM »

« Reply #1007 on: June 19, 2018, 09:56:05 AM »
some strange prices there
HR Holden for $10,500??? was it just a shell?

FPV ute? Whats so special?

Meanwhile a Ford FPV Pursuit utility (lot 220) found a new owner at an impressive $75,000.
It seems a race heritage worked for the Cosworth Ford Sierra road car (lot 221), which went for $60,000.

One real curiosity left till second-last was an XY GS Falcon ute (lot 335), built for Allan Moffatt and used by him as a tow car. It went for a healthy $162,000.

Here is the full list of top bids.

100 1979 Mazda RX7 $36,500

101 1964 Honda S600 convertible $18,500

102 1962 Morris Mini 850 $14,200

103 1983 Datsun 280ZX $18,500

108 1966 Holden HR 66A sedan $10,500

109 1975 Holden HJ Kingswood sedan $5900

110 1976 Holden HJ utility $13,500

111 Holden VQ Statesman Caprice HSV 5000 $16,000

112 1979 Holden Sandman utility $33,000

113 1985 Holden VK Calais $20,500

114 1981 Holden WB van $8000

117 1971 Holden HG SSA drag car $17,000

1977 Holden Torana Prototype A9X 4-door touring car $300,000

200 1977 Holden Torana SS A9X hatchback GMP&A $500,000

201 1978 Holden Torana LX SS hatchback $59,300

202 1976 Holden Torana LX SLR5000 $80,000

205 1973 Holden Torana LJ GTR XU-1 $150,000

206 1971 Holden Torana LC GTR XU-1 $59,000

207 1972 Holden Torana LJ GTR Xu-1 replica $43,500

208 1971 Holden HQ Monaro GTS coupe $110,000

209 1974 Holden Monaro sedan $70,000

210 1988 Holden VL Walkinshaw Perkins engine $156,000

211 1996 Holden HSV Commodore GTS-R $91,000

212 1986 Holden VL Commodore Group A $96,000

215 1984 Holden VK SS Group 3 $64,500

219 1969 Ford XW Falcon wagon $21,500

220 2007 Ford BF Falcon Mk2 FPV Pursuit utility $75,000

221 1988 Ford Sierra Cosworth $60,000

222 1970 Ford XW Falcon GT sedan $112,000

333 1971 Ford XY Phase 3 GT-HO $1.030 million

334 1971 Ford XY Falcon GT wild violet $250,000

335 1970 Ford XY Falcon utility Moffatt history $162,000

336 1977 Ford XC Falcon hardtop Dick Johnson racer $330,000

« Reply #1008 on: June 19, 2018, 01:03:58 PM »
Jeepers,

Is this gunna bite people, or is it just the yanks getting worried?

https://www.hemmings.com/blog/2018/06/18/proposed-tariffs-on-imported-cars-could-halt-all-international-collector-car-trade/

I'm watching this with plenty of interest.....

« Reply #1009 on: June 19, 2018, 06:25:59 PM »
Jeepers,

Is this gunna bite people, or is it just the yanks getting worried?

https://www.hemmings.com/blog/2018/06/18/proposed-tariffs-on-imported-cars-could-halt-all-international-collector-car-trade/

At first glance, it's cars and parts entering USA. 
It doesn't specify if it includes parts specifically made for American vehicle Manufacturers, or if it's aimed at all vehicles or parts for anything .

« Reply #1010 on: June 19, 2018, 06:55:09 PM »

$1,030,000 for an XY GT.

https://www.9news.com.au/motoring/2018/06/18/12/32/jeff-thomson-car-sells-1-million-dollars-at-auction-caradvice

Ford GT was owned by Jeff Thomson, looks real clean and shiny in the video of the article.
The Torana is supposed to have completed 14 Klm.  An A9X model.

« Reply #1011 on: June 20, 2018, 05:58:45 AM »
How friggin tough is this thing.....
Very streetable, Qld rego, oh screw it, just watch the video.....  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:  :cup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlJI4C4b8vs

« Reply #1012 on: June 20, 2018, 06:05:39 AM »
A couple of pics...

« Reply #1013 on: June 21, 2018, 01:33:48 PM »
Interesting

The Golden Sahara II – A Self-Driving Custom Car From The 1950s

The Golden Sahara II is remembered as one of the most important custom cars of the 1950s – and it only came to be because George Barris and a friend accidentally drove a brand new 1953 Lincoln Capri Hardtop under the back of a hay truck – guillotining the roof off.

Fortunately the two men ducked and kept their heads, but the Lincoln was beyond repair.

Barris recounted the story himself years later in an interview with Jonnie King in his “Hall of Fame Legends” series – “I was towing a guy’s car back because he blew the engine, and we just bumpered it together and back over to Ridge Route—that’s all we had, we didn’t have trailers in those days,” he explained. “Regretfully, we slid under a hay truck with it, and we came out of it alright, but the hay truck bed went over the top and peeled the top off, so the rest of the car was good, but the top was gone.”

George Barris was to become perhaps the most well-known and prolific custom car builders in the United States – including his work designing the first Batmobile in the 1960s. His new and now decapitated car presented a remarkable opportunity to Barris – he had a perfect platform for customization, he just needed someone to foot the bill.

This is where Jim Street comes in, born James Skonzakes, Street agreed to pay for the build, and the two men collaborated to create one of the most significant custom cars of the decade. George and his team, headed by Bill De Carr, set to work on the car once the design was complete.

http://autoweek.com/article/classic-cars/basement-find-golden-sahara-back-public-eye?ite=27730&ito=1250

Offline MattNQ

• My website
« Reply #1014 on: June 22, 2018, 10:43:12 AM »
Jeepers,
Found a good sideline business idea for you. Just need to buy this Caddy.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1015 on: June 22, 2018, 11:08:36 AM »
Reckon it’d be a dead end job, might help him kill some time though ;D

« Reply #1016 on: June 22, 2018, 01:50:38 PM »
I love a nice hearse too.....  8)

« Reply #1017 on: June 22, 2018, 01:58:55 PM »
I love a nice hearse too.....  8)
Only if you're driving it I hope! ;D ;D

« Reply #1018 on: June 22, 2018, 03:16:58 PM »
I've driven a few hearses back in the day.
I had a really good name for myself doing car repairs and use to look after some funeral homes.

It was one to start, then one told another... you get the idea.

There was Hartnett's @ Mater Hill....Cannon and Cripps @ on Kelvin Grove road, Hislop and Sons @ South Brisbane and Funerals of distinction @ Buranda.
Geez, they are probably all under one name these days..... Funerals R Us or something.

Offline MattNQ

• My website
« Reply #1019 on: June 22, 2018, 04:35:15 PM »
I've driven a few hearses back in the day.
I had a really good name for myself doing car repairs and use to look after some funeral homes.

It was one to start, then one told another... you get the idea.

There was Hartnett's @ Mater Hill....Cannon and Cripps @ on Kelvin Grove road, Hislop and Sons @ South Brisbane and Funerals of distinction @ Buranda.
Geez, they are probably all under one name these days..... Funerals R Us or something.

I am surprised there aren't more interesting hearses around.
Reckon a lot of families would love something a bit different than a stretched holden or ford wagon .

This one is maybe over the top a little for funeral duties.....

https://youtu.be/1f-boapQHrY
« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 04:37:48 PM by MattNQ »

« Reply #1020 on: June 22, 2018, 09:26:08 PM »
How friggin tough is this thing.....
Very streetable, Qld rego,

Don't know how Qld works, but in NSW we have to get a pink slip EVERY year. Would be fun while it lasted....could be a day or maybe even a week before the cops nabbed you !!   ;D ;D

« Reply #1021 on: June 23, 2018, 02:50:48 AM »
No yearly road worthy certs in the Sunshine State

Any Mini owners on here?
I've got an opportunity to buy a pretty tidy 1967 Mini Deluxe at what I think is a pretty good price.

I'm looking for info on trouble spots to look for when I check it out shortly. IE unusual spots to look for rust....quirky things to double check.
So far, I've only seen a few photos of it.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2018, 05:07:21 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1022 on: June 23, 2018, 04:15:56 PM »
Where the engine and rear suspension cradles bolt in, top of the inner guards to scuttle panel, Door pillars, firewall seam, rear wheel arch lower 1/4's, floor side sill seams inner / outer / boot pans and seams, under the fuel tank, around the door seams / rubbers etc  ..
For a start . Windscreen to wiper cowl scuttle corners ..
Take a fridge magnet to check for bog etc .. rear vertical seam edge of front guards , lower 1/4.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2018, 04:27:48 PM by edz »

« Reply #1023 on: June 23, 2018, 05:54:23 PM »
Where the engine and rear suspension cradles bolt in, top of the inner guards to scuttle panel, Door pillars, firewall seam, rear wheel arch lower 1/4's, floor side sill seams inner / outer / boot pans and seams, under the fuel tank, around the door seams / rubbers etc  ..
For a start . Windscreen to wiper cowl scuttle corners ..
Take a fridge magnet to check for bog etc .. rear vertical seam edge of front guards , lower 1/4.

So all of it then?  ;D

« Reply #1024 on: June 23, 2018, 06:23:05 PM »
Nooo  ;D  the glass is usualy Ok though the windscreens are usualy trashed with wiper arm scratches and the sealed beam headlights stand up to the test of time pretty well .. can be lucky and not have the indicator lenses all crazy cracked or bleached,  Ohh and the areas covered in oil from the motor and gearbox should be ok for no rust ... :D :D
Check the drive shaft to diff rubber X flex joints and U bolts, usual CV bearing click and play, gear selection, engine mount rubbers, Steering  rack,  Hydrostatic shocks for leaks if work at all,  excess movement / cracks in the rear suspension rubber bellows ..
Matt Read the Mini Man would be a go to guy .Used to race with us at Lakeside back in the day, built a Leyland 4.4 lt east west V8 powered mini  .....    https://www.facebook.com/Readspeed-688922494518057/    ...
http://minibits.com.au/products.php?make=mini   ...
« Last Edit: June 23, 2018, 11:27:00 PM by edz »