Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 511646 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #950 on: June 06, 2018, 03:41:56 PM »
Go and have a look at the Lloyds Auction coming up soon.

Only 11 cars..... huuuuge prices.

« Reply #952 on: June 06, 2018, 06:12:19 PM »
We did  the M1 crawl southbound alongside one of these this arvo.. Our crawl mate was decidedly weathered though, Looked like a survivor car still with its very sun faded and thin surface rusted original paintwork in these colours ..
http://www.sportscarshop.com/1955-packard-clipper-constellation/

« Reply #953 on: June 07, 2018, 04:41:51 AM »
1965 and still a flat head six...... can't be many around still a flattie in 65.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/dealer/amc/american/1994261.html

« Reply #954 on: June 07, 2018, 10:04:43 AM »
unmolested... 50k.
1971 VH valiant charger 265 hemi auto, this is a genuine one owner car (46 years ) genuine 96434kms always garaged, Unmodified ,

« Reply #955 on: June 07, 2018, 10:55:47 AM »
The big bucks are starting to entice owners to get  the survivors  out of the sheds .  8)

« Reply #956 on: June 07, 2018, 06:06:35 PM »
With Winter Sun 2.0 last weekend and "  Cooly Rocks On "  on  this weekend we have a few rods Muscle cars and O'l Skool cars out and about atm .
Just did had a bloke I know cruise past us in his as found condition Pontiac Silver Streak  sedan ..
Faded black like this one with undercoat showing through everywhere .

« Reply #957 on: June 07, 2018, 06:16:36 PM »

For those on Face crap go to LLOYDS  Auctions, They have the very 1st A9X Torana  that Holden built [ Authenticated etc ] up for Auction this month .  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOVouu7BTjg    .. $650K plus sale tag I would think

Same auction also has an XY HO tipped to go for 7 figures.

Also a full house XY GS ute once owned by Allan Moffat.

https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?smode=0&aid=8706&lid=1459948

An old friends father who has now passed claimed to have owned its sister ute. A True Blue version built for either Fred Gibson or Bo Seton, I can't remember which?  The guy he bought it from,  bought it off Fred or Bo and kitted it out in GT stripes and a shaker.  Buzz had it for a few years as a work ute and tow car for his gasser, before selling it to QLD farmer.
Wonder if its survived?

« Reply #958 on: June 07, 2018, 06:57:41 PM »
Its nuts what things go for now...
who would ever have thunked an XR75 would command over $6000....
'

Bugger me, we still have an original Yamaha (DT) 50 complete circa 1974ish  and an Suzuki RM80 circa 1977ish complete both from my childhood stored in a shed on a family property down NSW. Have taught many kids to ride on these bikes. May be worth more the the pocket money my brother and I saved together to buy these bikes as kids.

The shed is a place I will soon visit as my elder brother recently passed away leaving a collection of 9 1970s F100 and 250 along with 2 land cruisers. I guess my other brother and I will eventually need to sort through his stuff and make a decision on what to do with everything.

« Reply #959 on: June 09, 2018, 01:33:47 PM »
Been cruising past these 2 vehicles each morning the past week, they are a few streets away from the job I am currently doing. I stopped in the middle of the road to snap the pic, made it quick so owners didn’t think I was lining up to pinch them. Was a very nice split screen combi van up the road from my house this morning also, fully restored it was....no pic though sadly
« Last Edit: June 09, 2018, 01:35:57 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #960 on: June 09, 2018, 02:37:03 PM »
Nice 65 Ford Thunderbird and early X series Falcon wagon

« Reply #961 on: June 09, 2018, 03:40:45 PM »
Thunderbird could do with some air in the front tyre.

« Reply #962 on: June 09, 2018, 07:49:12 PM »
20k for this lovely?!

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1951-Mercury/173356289374?hash=item285cd70d5e:g:VE8AAOSwGqxbGk0V

Hi I’m selling this beautiful 1951 Mercury as have to many other projects on the go and I’m running out of room.

This car has had a full body off resto and all new floors, air ride, Frenched headlights, tail lights, bumpers, roof chopped, 350 Chev, turbo 350, fourlink rear, electric windows, power steering, air conditioning, Dakota dash, side pipes, spat’s, new Holley carb, MSD ignition, stall converter, custom interior 

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #963 on: June 09, 2018, 07:54:26 PM »
20k for this lovely?!

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1951-Mercury/173356289374?hash=item285cd70d5e:g:VE8AAOSwGqxbGk0V

Hi I’m selling this beautiful 1951 Mercury as have to many other projects on the go and I’m running out of room.

This car has had a full body off resto and all new floors, air ride, Frenched headlights, tail lights, bumpers, roof chopped, 350 Chev, turbo 350, fourlink rear, electric windows, power steering, air conditioning, Dakota dash, side pipes, spat’s, new Holley carb, MSD ignition, stall converter, custom interior

Not likely, more like 50k.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #964 on: June 09, 2018, 08:02:52 PM »
« Last Edit: June 09, 2018, 08:05:28 PM by Bird »

« Reply #965 on: June 10, 2018, 12:28:24 AM »
90k..

1940 Ford Pickup

335 Chev, Turbo 400
9 inch diff
Chopped 4 1/2"
Channeled 4 1/2"
Glass guards - Front widened 2 1/2"
Custom pickup bed
L300 Front end - Mx5 steering rack
Ford discs front - Rx7
Ford drums rear
Chassis - 1940 Ford boxed "C" notched
Electric power steering
Ididit tilt column
So Cal gauges and switches
El Falcon bench seat - modified
Custom door panels and flooring
Custom billet shifter
American racing wheels - custom paint
Rear- 20 x 8.5
Front- 18 x 7

« Reply #966 on: June 10, 2018, 08:02:03 PM »
Not sure if this car is an improvement to a Nissan or Holden.
Small | Large
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #967 on: June 10, 2018, 11:10:52 PM »
I think I can identify with this guys thinking  ;D  Built this about 18 years ago  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX62PnR4io8

« Reply #968 on: June 11, 2018, 12:48:08 PM »

« Reply #970 on: June 11, 2018, 01:43:46 PM »
We had this turn up on Sunday for the Cars N Coffee monthly meet.

Bit of a time capsule, with mud flaps, Elstar wheels etc.
He paid a $1,000 for it 20 years ago.

« Reply #971 on: June 11, 2018, 03:50:38 PM »
At our local bakery Sunday just gone. No idea how original.

« Reply #972 on: June 11, 2018, 04:01:15 PM »
Younger brother to this one   8)

« Reply #973 on: June 12, 2018, 07:15:17 AM »
At our local bakery Sunday just gone. No idea how original.

No cage in it.........so I'd say a mock.........plus, it is supposed to have the standard VK grill not the Group A one....

Bit of a story on the original ones tho...

Mt Panorama museum had what was portrayed as the Brock #05 group C VK commy. It is in fact the John Harvey #25 car that is on show in Bathurst.
How do I know this you ask..........I was in Holden Sporting Car Club of Victoria for many years. Mr Walkinshaw took the #05 car to England where it raced for a number of years in their sports sedan class in Walkinshaw livery then was sold off. In the late '90s, a guy in the club bought this car and brought it back to Aus complete with log book history, which I have been privileged to see. I also have seen this car race at Winton quite a few years ago now in it's british colors.
No, I have no idea where it is now unfortunately as I moved to WA and left the club.

« Reply #974 on: June 12, 2018, 08:10:19 AM »
Peter Champion owns the other 84 VK and there is plenty of debate as to which one is the actual winner.

Champion claims to have 05, but not much on the car is original thanks to its time in England.  Brock, Bev and a few other HDT big wigs have said this is the winner.

Majority of the HDT mechanics, including Jeff Grech who stamped the cars. Along with John Harvey maintain to this day the Bathurst museum car is the winner.

Apparently record and document keeping wasn't a HDT strong point.