Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 512772 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2550 on: January 19, 2021, 01:35:19 PM »
not old .. but shows how much people value collectors items
https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/rare-hsv-gtsr-w1-maloo-sets-aussie-car-auction-record/news-story/e2c57d5d8341e13a45eef6d8a62c48dc

There is a new king of Aussie cars.

A secret Aussie ute has just set a record for an Australian-built car at auction with a bid of $1.035m.

And it could go even higher as there are still 12 days left before the online auction closes.

The car in question is a HSV GTSR W1 Maloo with only 681km on the clock. It is an ultra rare Holden Special Vehicles ute.

The Aussie outfit built 200 examples of the W1 sedan, which were available to the public and priced at $169,990 plus on-road costs.

The following users thanked this post: Niley

« Reply #2551 on: January 21, 2021, 10:30:55 AM »
Been a few of these lately - is the bubble about to burst on old cars and people are bailing early????

A collection of rare Australian muscle cars is about to be auctioned, with one car alone expected to break records at $1,000,000.
The pristine 1971 Ford Falcon, and 7 more vehicles, comes with a colourful history.

https://www.facebook.com/7NEWSsydney/videos/758417948130743

« Reply #2552 on: January 21, 2021, 10:56:43 AM »
This guy owes around $240,000,000, so its a bigger bubble for him than just the cars.

« Reply #2553 on: January 28, 2021, 05:20:12 AM »
didn't work.....
move along.
Ok, it did work... twice  ???
4 and bit years and 20,000 miles ago, when our big ol  Fleetwood arrived on Aussie soil.
Turned some heads in Tin Can Bay running Californian number plates too.  :cup:

][URL=http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Cars/CADDY/Bob%20Bliss/ede36e9c-ad8f-4b49-88fe-8544a02eb3d1_zpsest6ru1y.jpg.html][/url]

« Last Edit: January 28, 2021, 05:31:01 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #2554 on: February 04, 2021, 03:56:01 PM »
Nice XR.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

« Reply #2555 on: February 04, 2021, 04:19:42 PM »
Very cool looking wagon huh.

Not overdone, wouldn't cost an arm and leg to do if you were careful with the dollars.

« Reply #2556 on: February 04, 2021, 05:29:36 PM »
Spotted this on Wed!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #2557 on: February 04, 2021, 05:57:37 PM »
When did you open your boarders up to Mexico 😉
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2558 on: February 09, 2021, 03:05:42 PM »
Parked out the front of our house, on the school run.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline Cookie120

« Reply #2559 on: February 09, 2021, 07:38:29 PM »
ZD Fairlane. 71 going by the plate. 302 or 351????

« Reply #2560 on: February 09, 2021, 08:48:58 PM »
ZD Fairlane. 71 going by the plate. 302 or 351????

Looks like a "V8" badge on the front guard, so I'd say it was originally a 302. Who knows what's in it now....

My old uncle bought a silver 302 ZD new in '71.

« Reply #2561 on: February 11, 2021, 09:27:45 AM »
Go the cop car :D

« Reply #2562 on: February 11, 2021, 09:56:14 AM »
At least it's not an auto.... ha ha ha. wouldn't catch anything with an old hydrahorrible in it.

Offline DandyD

« Reply #2563 on: February 11, 2021, 09:58:00 AM »
Just watching Red Dog on the telly.

The Land Rover in that picture is the spitting image of the one in the film.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2021, 09:59:43 AM by DandyD »

« Reply #2564 on: February 17, 2021, 12:25:27 PM »
Ford Falcon GTHO Phase III sets new auction record: $1.15 million

Other cars sold included a 1977 Holden Torana A9X ($435,500), a 2017 HSV Maloo GTSR with 20km on the odometer ($230,500), a Bathurst edition Valiant Charger ($253,000), a 2017 HSV GTSR W1 (build number 206) fetched $365,000, and a 1971 Holden HQ Monaro – the only vehicle not to be reconditioned – sold for $171,500.

https://www.caradvice.com.au/925823/ford-falcon-gtho-phase-iii-sets-new-auction-record-1-15-million/

« Reply #2565 on: February 17, 2021, 01:19:59 PM »
A huge amount of money for a car you can't/shouldn't drive. (new owner would need to be loaded)

Sales tax, would be killer if it gets rego on it.

As soon as you start driving it, the value goes down as the mileage goes up.

I'd rather $300,000 worth of cars use the rest on property.

« Reply #2566 on: February 17, 2021, 01:33:09 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
A huge amount of money for a car you can't/shouldn't drive. (new owner would need to be loaded)

I'd like the A9X Torana or Charger personally.

The following users thanked this post: NZMarkb

« Reply #2567 on: February 17, 2021, 02:02:07 PM »
I'd like the A9X Torana or Charger personally.

Agree with the feathered one...……..

But then this '58 Buick I spotted can grace my driveway at anytime...…...

« Reply #2568 on: February 17, 2021, 03:10:34 PM »

Sales tax, would be killer if it gets rego on it.

As soon as you start driving it, the value goes down as the mileage goes up.

I'd rather $300,000 worth of cars use the rest on property.

The brother puts 20km on his two Falcs once a month, plus the odd car show / coffee run . A lot of money sitting in the man cave to be concerned over keeping it safe .

« Reply #2569 on: February 17, 2021, 03:21:55 PM »

The brother puts 20km on his two Falcs once a month, plus the odd car show / coffee run . A lot of money sitting in the man cave to be concerned over keeping it safe .

Yep.... I had the Fleetwood at Woolies yesterday, up to Shane's and back the week before.

Just use 'em and enjoy them.

« Reply #2570 on: February 17, 2021, 03:49:29 PM »

Agree with the feathered one...……..

But then this '58 Buick I spotted can grace my driveway at anytime...…...
agree
but for 22k

« Reply #2571 on: February 17, 2021, 07:41:05 PM »

2017 HSV Maloo GTSR with 20km on the odometer ($230,500)

Mates got a Dec17 one with 600km.

Not a bad investment for $75K purchase, financed through his business.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2572 on: February 18, 2021, 07:36:21 AM »
agree
but for 22k

nice...…...tank Fairlane with a fat lip...…..

22k at the moment would get ya a rusted out hk Belmont sedan shell...…...

« Reply #2573 on: February 18, 2021, 08:45:46 AM »
Quote from: doc evil
nice...…...tank Fairlane with a fat lip...…..
22k at the moment would get ya a rusted out hk Belmont sedan shell...…...

yea I love those old wings and tail lights...  but you got more chance to get a blinker lens for the HK than you do the Tanky :'(
that price has to be a misprint... If its as good as it looks I'd have thought 40k

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2574 on: February 28, 2021, 06:00:52 PM »
Cool story - Bloke makes dwarf-sized working replica cars out of old fridges.

https://fb.watch/3X1xCkI-ww/